DETAILED ACTION
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 02/09/2026.
Claims 19, 21-24 and 26-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 19, 21-24 and 26-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Note: the amendment filed on 02/09/2026 change the scope of invention.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 line 2 recites “KgNB key, KRRCenc key, a KRRCint Key, a KuPint key and a KUPenc key” suggest to spell out the abbreviation of “KgNB”, “KRRCenc”, “KRRCint”, “KuPint” and “KUPenc” for clarity purpose. Similar issues exists in claim 27.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the radio bearer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is unclear whether the radio bearer refers to “the Data Radio Bearer (DRB)”. Similar issue exists in claim 26 line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 23, 24 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230120096 A1) in view of Jeon et l. (US 2022/0046661 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses A method of a User Equipment (UE), (Fig. 19, ¶0309 illustrates an example of small data transmission (method/flow) initiated by the UE) the method comprising:
initiating a Small Data Transmission (SDT) procedure; (Kim Fig. 23, ¶0332 the UE in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive may send the RRC request message for small data transmission, indicates initiating SDT.)
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reject message; and (Fig. 23, ¶0333 The UE (UE-RRC layer) start an RRC timer (e.g., T300 or T319) after RRC request and based on receiving the RRC response message, the UE stop the RRC timer. ¶0338 When the RRC timer is running, the UE in an RRC inactive or idle state may receive an RRC reject message.)
re-establishing a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity for Data Radio Bearer (DRB) that is configured for the SDT procedure, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated. (Fig. 23, ¶0233 The UE-RRC layer in an RRC inactive or idle state may re-establish PDCP entities for one or more bearers. Based on performing the UP small data transmission, the UE-RRC layer may resume one or more SRB(s) and DRB(s). ¶0338 When the RRC timer (¶0333) is running, the UE in an RRC inactive or idle state may receive an RRC reject message. Based on the RRC reject message comprising an RRC suspend indication and the RRC request message being an RRC resume request message, the UE may perform at least one of: reset MAC; reestablish RLC for one or more radio bearers that are established)
Though Kim does not teaches performing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) suspend for the DRB, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated.
However, Jeon teaches the performing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) suspend for the DRB, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated (perform resource allocation based on wait time based on reception of a RRC connection rejection is transmitted, where the transmission is SDT transmission see Jeon: ¶[0223]; ¶[0207-0208]; ¶[0316-0317]; ¶[0320]) in order to reduce communication failure and reduced latency (see Jeon: ¶[0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to create the invention of Kim to include (or to use, etc.) the performing a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) suspend for the DRB, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated as taught by Jeon in order to reduce communication failure and reduced latency(see Jeon: ¶[0004]).
Regarding Claim 23, the modified Kim discloses claim 19. Kim further discloses:
resetting a Media Access Control (MAC) and releasing a default MAC cell group configuration, upon reception of the RRC Reject message. (¶0233 discloses the UE in an RRC inactive or idle (suspended) state may initiate the RRC connection resume procedure; and performing/initiating UP small data transmission. Based on performing the UP small data transmission, the UE-RRC layer may resume one or more SRB(s) and DRB(s). ¶0244 A UE-RRC layer in an RRC inactive or idle state may receive an RRC reject message in response to an RRC resume request message. Based on the RRC reject message, the UE-RRC layer may inform upper layers (e.g., UE-NAS layer) about the failure to resume an RRC connection. The UE-RRC layer may reset MAC and release the default MAC cell group configuration. ¶0338 also discloses based on the RRC reject message the UE in RRC idle or inactive state may perform at least one of: reset MAC; release default MAC configuration (parameters); delete (or discard) security keys; (re)suspend RRC connection; and stay in the RRC inactive state)
Regarding Claim 24, the modified Kim discloses A User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 15 ¶0207 wireless device 1502) comprising: a memory; (Fig. 15 ¶0210 memory 1524) and a processor (Fig. 15 ¶0210 processing system 1518) coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform the methods that do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 19. Therefore, claim 24 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 19.
Regarding Claim 28, Claim 28 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 23. Therefore, claim 28 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 23.
Claims 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230120096 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on June 17, 2024), hereinafter Kim, in view of Jeon et l. (US 2022/0046661 A1) and further in view of Shih et al. (US 20200170069 A1), hereinafter Shih.
Regarding Claim 21, the modified Kim discloses claim 19. Although the modified Kim discloses the small data transmission (SDT) may comprise early data transmission (EDT) (¶0315), Kim does not explicitly disclose:
suspending a Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) and the radio bearer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated.
Shih, additionally, discloses:
suspending a Signaling Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) and the radio bearer, upon reception of the RRC Reject message in a case where the SDT procedure is initiated. (¶0575 3> if the RRCConnectionReject is received in response to an RRCConnectionResumeRequest for EDT: ¶0576 4> perform the actions upon abortion of UP-EDT as specified in 5.3.3.9a; ¶0595 5.3.3.9a Abortion of UP-EDT ¶0596 The UE shall: [0599] 1> suspend all SRB(s) and DRB(s) except SRB0;)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Kim with the UE action of suspending bearer upon reception of the RRCConnectionReject as taught by Shih in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce power consumption for MTC UEs and NB-IoT UEs, Early Data Transmission (EDT) (Shih, ¶0779)
Regarding Claim 26, Claim 26 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 21. Therefore, claim 26 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 21.
Regarding Claim 29, the modified Kim taught the method according to claim 19 as described hereinabove. Jeon further comprising: transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) to a next generation Node B (gNB), where the SDT procedure is based on the BSR (transmitting MAC CE as the transmission (where includes buffer status report BSR) to gNB and where the transmission is SDT transmission see Jeon:¶[0082]; ¶[0092]; ¶[0206]) in order to reduce communication failure and reduced latency (see Jeon: ¶[0004]).
Regarding Claim 30, claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as the method of claim 29 as described hereinabove.
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230120096 A1, as provided by the IDS submitted on June 17, 2024), hereinafter Kim, in view of Jeon et l. (US 2022/0046661 A1) and further in view of Agiwal et al. (US 20230284329 A1), hereinafter Agiwal’329.
Regarding Claim 22, the modified Kim discloses in claim 19, further, although the modified Kim teaches based on the RRC reject message, the UE-RRC layer may discard current security keys [¶0245], the modified Kim does not specifically disclose:
discarding a current KgNB key, a KRRCenc key, a KRRCint key, a KUPint key and a KUPenc key, upon reception of the RRC Reject message.
Agiwal’329, however, discloses:
discarding a current KgNB key, a KRRCenc key, a KRRCint key, a KUPint key and a KUPenc key, upon reception of the RRC Reject message. (Agiwal’329 Fig. 1 ¶0142 During the RRC_INACTIVE, UE initiates RRC connection resumption, i.e., UE initiates transmission of RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 message. ¶0149 In the methods 1 to 4, upon initiating connection resume for small data transmission and transmitting uplink data together with RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1, if UE receives RRCReject message. UE stops the timer Timer-sdt (if running). ¶0150 In methods 1 to 4, upon initiating small data transmission procedure, if the timer started (i.e., T319 or Timer-sdt is expired), the UE operation is as follows: ¶0156 discard the KgNB key, the S-KgNB key, the S-KeNB key, the KRRCenc key, the KRRCint key, the KUPint key and the KUPenc key, if any; (or discard the security keys generated upon initiating small data transmission procedure).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Kim with the method of UE discarding security keys as taught by Agiwal’329. Doing so will allow the UE avoiding data loss in small data transmission procedure. (Agiwal’329 ¶0160)
Regarding Claim 27, Claim 27 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 22. Therefore, claim 27 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
August 18, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478