DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 5-8, and 12 in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged. The most recent claim set submitted on 07/30/2024 is considered with the claims 1, 5-8, and 12 examined below and claim 14-23 and 26-29 as withdrawn without traverse.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 3, Figure 4a, Figure 4b, and Figure 4c are blurry and hard to read.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites "a candidate drug that has been confirmed to be a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel opener", however, it should recite "a candidate drug that has confirmed to promote proton (H+) leakage through a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel".
Claim 5 recites “… a method …”, however, it should recite “… the method…”.
Claim 12 recites “… a glioma patient when: the drug….”, however, it should recite “… a glioma patient when the drug….”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
1. Step 1: Claim 1 recites at least one step or act. Thus, the claim is to a method, which is one the statutory categories of invention. Claim 5 is dependent on Claim 1. (Step 1: Yes).
2. Step 2A Prong One: Claim 1 recites a judicial exception and identify the abstract idea/law or nature/natural phenomenon. Claim 1 recites “detecting” and “comparing” H+ of the sample with and without the drug. This would be considered an evaluation (mental step) and therefore an abstract idea. Claim 5 also recites a “detecting” the presence of glioma suppression. This would be considered an evaluation (mental step) and therefore an abstract idea. (Step 2A -Prong 1: Yes)
3. Step 2A Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claim 1 does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. There appears to be no additional steps which are significantly more than the abstract idea. It only generally describes detecting and comparing H+ but does not indicate how that is done in a practical step. Once the abstract ideas are complete, nothing is done. Therefore, there appears to be no integration much less a particular practical application. Claim 5 also does not add any practical application for the detection step and afterwards (Step 2A -Prong 2: No)
4. Step 2B: Claim 1 does not have any steps or feature which are significantly more and are well known in the art as taught in the prior art. Claim 1 is ineligible. Claim 5 does not appear to have ‘significantly’ more and all steps in the method in Claim 1 are well understood routine and conventional. Claim 1 and 5 are ineligible because, the step of comparing the difference is claimed at a high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation claimed, such as a particular or unconventional machine or transformation of a particular article. Claim 6-8 recite parameters of the method in claim 1, however, that does not include any practical application for the detecting and comparing steps recited in claim 1. Claim 12 recite a step of administering the identified candidate drug from claim 1, however, that does not include any practical application for the detecting and comparing steps recited in claim 1. (Step 2B: No).
Thus, claim 1 and 5 are ineligible. Claims 6-8 and 12 a dependent on Claim 1, therefore are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "SMV membrane" in step b. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a " in step a which reads as a singular preparation, however, in step b and c ‘SMV’ are plural. Claim 1 recites “SMV(s)” in step b and c, however, it is unclear ‘SMV’ is referring to SMV membrane recited in step b or the SMV preparation in step a. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Furthermore, Claim 1 recites the limitation "H+ level" in step d. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5 step a, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the glioma" which is not mentioned in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the glioma" which is not mentioned in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the leak channel opener". That limitation is not mentioned in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purpose the claim 12 was reads as “… comprising administering the candidate drug to a…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over non-patent literature "Antiinfectives targeting enzymes and the proton motive force" by Feng et al. and further in view of Gribkoff et al. (US20130273557).
Regarding claim 1, Feng teaches a method for identifying a candidate anti-glioma drug that promotes proton (H+) leakage through an ATP Synthase ion channel (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion and Table 1), the method comprising:
a. providing an admixture comprising:
i. a candidate drug (pg E7076, left column);
ii. membrane vesicles (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion);
iii. an H+ probe (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion);
b. contacting the admixture with adenosine triphosphate (ATP), wherein the presence of ATP promotes translocation of protons across the membrane and into the internal space of the membrane vesicle (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion).
c. detecting H+ external to the member vesicles with the H+ probe, and determining a value of H+ external to the membrane vesicle (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion).
d. comparing the H+ level determined at step c) with that of a corresponding reference H+ level for a control admixture that lacks the candidate drug (pg E7075, Table 1); and
i. identifying the drug as a candidate anti-glioma drug that promotes H+ leakage, when the H+ level is higher compared to the reference H+ level for the control admixture (pg E7075, Table 1); or
ii. identifying that the drug is not a candidate anti-glioma drug that promotes H+ leakage, when the H+ level is the same or lower compared to the reference H+ level for the control admixture (pg E7075, Table 1).
Although Feng teaches ATP synthase ion channel and membrane vesicles, Feng does not teach a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel and submitochondrial vesicles and their preparation.
However, Gribkoff teaches a method of identifying compound including drugs that can bind to an ATP synthase complex for increasing the bioenergetic efficiency (Abstract). Gribkoff teaches a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel (para 0052-0058) and submitochondrial vesicles (para 0060) and their preparation (para 0210). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Feng with the a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel and submitochondrial vesicles and their preparation as taught by Gribkoff because F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel has binding specificity with certain compounds (para 0048) and submitochondrial vesicles have similar membrane current to membrane in mitochondria (para 0200).
Regarding claim 5, Feng further in view of Griboff teaches claim 1. Feng furth teaches screening method for identifying an anti-glioma drug, the method comprising:
a. obtaining a candidate drug that has been confirmed to be a mitochondrial F1Fo ATP Synthase c-subunit leak channel opener preferably by a method according to claim 1 (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion);
b. contacting an isolated glioma sample with the candidate drug, and incubating the sample (pg E7080, Fig. 5);
c. detecting the presence or absence of glioma suppression when compared to a control glioma sample incubated in the absence of the candidate drug (pg E7080, Fig. 5); and
i. identifying the candidate drug as suitable for use as an anti-glioma drug when suppression is detected (pg E7080, Fig. 5 and left column); or
ii. identifying the candidate drug as unsuitable for use as an anti-glioma drug when suppression is not detected.
Regarding claim 6, Feng teaches the H+ probe is 9-Amino-6- chloro-2-methoxyacridine (ACMA) (pg E7075, Section: Results and Discussion).
Regarding claim 8, Feng teaches the glioma is glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) (pg E7079, Section: Targeting Prenyl Synthases).
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches administering the candidate drug to a glioma patient when: the drug is identified as a candidate anti-glioma drug that promotes H+ leakage (pg E7081, Section: Conclusion).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over non-patent literature "Antiinfectives targeting enzymes and the proton motive force" by Feng et al. and Gribkoff et al. (US20130273557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Towner (US20200215015).
Regarding claim 7, Feng in view of Gribkoff teaches the instant invention in claim 1.
Feng does not teach the glioma is temozolomide (TMZ) resistant.
However, Towner teaches a drug treatment for the treatment of temozolomide drug resistant gliomas. Temozolomide is commonly used as an anti-glioma agent (para 0018), however, glioblastoma may be temozolomide resistant (para 0027). Towner teaches TMZ-resistant glioblastoma cells (para 0044). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Feng in view of Gribkoff with the glioma being temozolomide resistant as taught by Towner for the benefit of identifying a candidate drug that that works on glioblastomas that are TMZ-resistant (para 0027).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798