DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to amendment filed 01/22/2026. Applicant's arguments have been carefully and fully considered; but they are not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-13 have been amended. Claims 18-19 have been added. Claims 1-19 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji et al. (JP 2012-145263 A -hereinafter Yuji) in view of Takenaka et al. (WO 2015/129390 A1 -hereinafter Takenaka -Note: As the machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 1, Yuji teaches:
A control device applied to a heat source system including a plurality of heat source machines connected in series (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”), the control device comprising:
a setting unit that sets an outlet setting temperature of a heat medium in each of the heat source machines on the basis of a measured value of a heat medium flow rate (see page 13, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The chilled water outlet temperature of the refrigerator, which is the high temperature side / low temperature side cold heat source Ra, Rb, is set according to the measured value of the chilled water return temperature measured by the temperature sensor 4 and the chilled water flow rate measured by the flow sensor 3”), a measured value of an inlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source machine (see page 5, first paragraph; Yuji: “The cold water return temperature (cold water return temperature) measured by the sensor 54 is used.”), and a required outlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source system. (see page 3, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The set value of the R cold water outlet temperature (outward temperature) can be changed.”)
However, Yuji does not explicitly teach: wherein a process of setting a most downstream outlet setting temperature for a most downstream heat source machine among the plurality of heat source machines connected in series is different from a process of setting an outlet setting temperature for each of the heat source machine.
Takenaka from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein a process of setting a most downstream outlet setting temperature for a most downstream heat source machine among the plurality of heat source machines connected in series is different from a process of setting an outlet setting temperature for each of the heat source machine. (see page 10, paragraph 5; Takenaka: “When cold water of 20 [° C.] exceeding the rated load of the air flows in, the outlet set temperature of the upper heat source unit 2a is 20 [° C.] − 5.9 [° C.] = 14.1 [° C.] outlet. The outlet set temperature of the lower side heat source unit 2b is set to the outlet set temperature of 14.1 [° C.] − 5.1 [° C.] = 9.1 [° C.]. See page 3, paragraph 5: “when two heat source units are connected in series and the system chilled water inlet temperature is 15 ° C. and the chilled water required outlet temperature is 4 ° C., the chilled water outlet temperature of the upper heat source unit is, 9.5 °C. (= 15 − ((15-4) / 2)), and the cold water outlet temperature of the lower heat source unit is set to 4 ° C.”) [That is, the lower side heat source unit reads on ‘a most downstream heat source machine’]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Yuji to include Takenaka’s features of wherein a process of setting a most downstream outlet setting temperature for a most downstream heat source machine among the plurality of heat source machines connected in series is different from a process of setting an outlet setting temperature for each of the heat source machine. Doing so would operate each heat source machine in an efficient operation region and effectively reduce power consumption. (Takenaka, page 6, paragraph 9)
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yuji and Takenaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Yuji further teaches wherein the setting unit sets the outlet setting temperature in each of the heat source machines (see page 3, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The set value of the R cold water outlet temperature (outward temperature) can be changed.”) such that the outlet setting temperature in each of the heat source machines becomes lower as the measured value of the heat medium flow rate becomes lower. (see page 4, paragraph 7; Yuji: “The chilled water outlet temperature of the refrigerator, which is the high temperature side / low temperature side cold heat source Ra, Rb, is set according to the measured value of the chilled water return temperature measured by the temperature sensor 4 and the chilled water flow rate measured by the flow sensor 3. Each value can be lowered.”)
Regarding Claim 6, Yuji teaches a heat source system comprising:
a plurality of heat source machines connected in series; and (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”)
the control device according to Claim 1. (see Claim 1 rejection)
Regarding Claim 7, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji and Takenaka as discussed connection with claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji and Takenaka as discussed connection with claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Yuji teaches a heat source system comprising:
a plurality of heat source machines connected in series; and (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”)
the control device according to Claim 2. (see Claim 2 rejection)
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji in view of Takenaka in view of Saito et al. (US20160237910A1 -hereinafter Saito).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yuji and Takenaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, Yuji does not explicitly teach: wherein the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate, and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature.
Saito from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate (see [0049]; Saito: “The temperature difference calculation unit 113 calculates the temperature difference between the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35 on the basis of the pressure ratio of the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35 and the IGV opening degree of the boost compressor 35.”), and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature. (see [0059]-[0060]; Saito: “Then, the control unit 116 performs feedback control by using the temperature information for feedback control such that at least one of the inlet temperature and the outlet temperature of the boost compressor 35 approaches the setting value. More specifically, the subtraction unit 114 calculates the inlet temperature setting value of the boost compressor 35 on the basis of the outlet temperature setting value of the boost compressor 35 and the temperature difference between the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Yuji and Takenaka to include Saito’s features of the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate, and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature. Doing so would accurately perform temperature control and prevent damage. (Saito, [0006] and [0008])
Regarding Claim 9, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji, Takenaka, and Saito as discussed connection with claim 3.
Regarding Claim 15, Yuji teaches a heat source system comprising:
a plurality of heat source machines connected in series; and (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”)
the control device according to Claim 3. (see Claim 3 rejection)
Claim(s) 4, 10-11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji in view of Takenaka in view of Fumitake et al. (JP2008175476A -hereinafter Fumitake -Note: As per machine translation attached).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yuji and Takenaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above however, Yuji does not explicitly teach further comprising: an update unit that compares an outlet setting temperature based on a heat medium flow rate set for the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series with the required outlet temperature, and updates a higher temperature as an outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine on the most downstream side.
Fumitake from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an update unit that compares an outlet setting temperature based on a heat medium flow rate set for the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series with the required outlet temperature (see page 11, third paragraph; Fumitake: “And after driving | running in this state, each actuator is controlled according to an apparatus operating state. First, the rotation speed of the compressor 3 is controlled so that the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 detected by the temperature sensor 15h becomes a preset target value. If the rotation speed of the compressor 3 is high, the refrigerant flow rate increases, the cooling capacity of the apparatus increases, and the water is further heated, so the water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 rises.”), and updates a higher temperature as an outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine on the most downstream side. (see page 10, paragraph 6; Fumitake: “With the operation of the refrigeration cycle 2b, the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 is reset, and the rotation speed of the compressor is set so that the chilled water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 becomes the target value in each refrigeration cycle. Control is implemented.” See page 10, last paragraph and page 11, first paragraph: “Accordingly, in the refrigeration cycle 2b in which the water heat exchanger 9 is arranged upstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is set to 40 + 2.5 = 42.5 ° C. In the refrigeration cycle 2a in which 9 is disposed downstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9a is set to 42.5 + 2.5 = 45 ° C. This is naturally the hot water temperature supplied to the load side device. Equal to the target value of.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Yuji and Takenaka to include Fumitake’s features of an update unit that compares an outlet setting temperature based on a heat medium flow rate set for the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series with the required outlet temperature, and updates a higher temperature as an outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine on the most downstream side. Doing so would achieve high-efficiency operation. (Fumitake, page 6, third paragraph)
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji, Takenaka, and Fumitake as discussed connection with claim 4.
Regarding Claim 11, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji, Takenaka, and Fumitake as discussed connection with claim 4.
Regarding Claim 16, Yuji teaches a heat source system comprising:
a plurality of heat source machines connected in series; and (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”)
the control device according to Claim 4. (see Claim 4 rejection)
Claim(s) 5, 12-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji in view of Takenaka in view of Fumitake in view of Suzuki et al. (US20120219399A1 -hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yuji and Takenaka teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above; however, Yuji does not explicitly teach further comprising: an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines other than the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series, by using the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine calculated on the basis of a result of distributing a difference between the inlet temperature of the heat medium of the heat source system and the required outlet temperature according to the rated capacity ratio.
Fumitake from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an update unit that … updates a higher temperature… the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series (see page 10, paragraph 6; Fumitake: “With the operation of the refrigeration cycle 2b, the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 is reset, and the rotation speed of the compressor is set so that the chilled water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 becomes the target value in each refrigeration cycle. Control is implemented.” See page 10, last paragraph and page 11, first paragraph: “Accordingly, in the refrigeration cycle 2b in which the water heat exchanger 9 is arranged upstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is set to 40 + 2.5 = 42.5 ° C. In the refrigeration cycle 2a in which 9 is disposed downstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9a is set to 42.5 + 2.5 = 45 ° C. This is naturally the hot water temperature supplied to the load side device. Equal to the target value of.”), by using the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine calculated on the basis of a result of distributing a difference between the inlet temperature of the heat medium of the heat source system and the required outlet temperature according to the rated capacity ratio. (see page 3, paragraph 4; Fumitake: “the heat exchange rate ratio on the horizontal axis in FIG. 5 is: heat exchange rate ratio≈cold water temperature difference at the entrance / exit of the water heat exchanger 9b / cold water temperature at the entrance / exit of the heat source unit 1. The chilled water temperature difference at the inlet / outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is defined by the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b by operation control, and the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is set high.”)
The same motivation to combine Yuji, Takenaka, and Fumitake a set forth for Claim 4 equally applies to Claim 5.
However, it does not explicitly teach: an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines…,
Suzuki from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines… (see [0047];Suzuki: “the control unit 302 compares the outer air temperature on the air-outlet side detected by the temperature sensor 205 with the outer air temperature on the air-inlet side detected by the temperature sensor 305, and selects the higher one.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Yuji, Takenaka, and Fumitake to include Suzuki’s features of an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines. Doing so would operate machine safely in a low-temperature environment and provide a low-cost method for realizing the purpose. (Suzuki, [0007])
Regarding Claim 12, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji, Takenaka, Fumitake, and Suzuki as discussed connection with claim 5.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations in this claim is taught by the combination of Yuji, Takenaka, Fumitake, and Suzuki as discussed connection with claim 5.
Regarding Claim 17, Yuji teaches a heat source system comprising:
a plurality of heat source machines connected in series; and (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”)
the control device according to Claim 5. (see Claim 5 rejection)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji in view of Saito et al. (US20160237910A1 -hereinafter Saito).
Regarding Claim 18, Yuji teaches:
A control device applied to a heat source system including a plurality of heat source machines connected in series (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”), the control device comprising:
a setting unit that sets an outlet setting temperature of a heat medium in each of the heat source machines on the basis of a measured value of a heat medium flow rate (see page 13, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The chilled water outlet temperature of the refrigerator, which is the high temperature side / low temperature side cold heat source Ra, Rb, is set according to the measured value of the chilled water return temperature measured by the temperature sensor 4 and the chilled water flow rate measured by the flow sensor 3”), a measured value of an inlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source machine (see page 5, first paragraph; Yuji: “The cold water return temperature (cold water return temperature) measured by the sensor 54 is used.”), and a required outlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source system, (see page 3, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The set value of the R cold water outlet temperature (outward temperature) can be changed.”)
However, Yuji does not explicitly teach: wherein the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate, and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature.
Saito from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate (see [0049]; Saito: “The temperature difference calculation unit 113 calculates the temperature difference between the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35 on the basis of the pressure ratio of the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35 and the IGV opening degree of the boost compressor 35.”), and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature. (see [0059]-[0060]; Saito: “Then, the control unit 116 performs feedback control by using the temperature information for feedback control such that at least one of the inlet temperature and the outlet temperature of the boost compressor 35 approaches the setting value. More specifically, the subtraction unit 114 calculates the inlet temperature setting value of the boost compressor 35 on the basis of the outlet temperature setting value of the boost compressor 35 and the temperature difference between the inlet and the outlet of the boost compressor 35.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Yuji to include Saito’s features of the setting unit calculates a value obtained by multiplying a temperature difference between a rated inlet temperature and a rated outlet temperature of the heat source machine by a correction coefficient that is a ratio of a rated value of the heat medium flow rate to the measured value of the heat medium flow rate, and sets the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine by subtracting the calculated value from the measured value of the inlet temperature. Doing so would accurately perform temperature control and prevent damage. (Saito, [0006] and [0008])
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuji in view of Fumitake et al. (JP2008175476A -hereinafter Fumitake -Note: As per machine translation attached) in view of Suzuki et al. (US20120219399A1 -hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 19, Yuji teaches:
A control device applied to a heat source system including a plurality of heat source machines connected in series (see page 13, third paragraph; Yuji: “FIG. 8 is a configuration diagram of the heat source system N3 according to the third embodiment of the present invention. The heat source system N3 of the third embodiment is obtained by connecting an arbitrary number of cold heat sources R (Ra, Rb...) in series in the heat source system N2 of the second embodiment.”), the control device comprising:
a setting unit that sets an outlet setting temperature of a heat medium in each of the heat source machines on the basis of a measured value of a heat medium flow rate (see page 13, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The chilled water outlet temperature of the refrigerator, which is the high temperature side / low temperature side cold heat source Ra, Rb, is set according to the measured value of the chilled water return temperature measured by the temperature sensor 4 and the chilled water flow rate measured by the flow sensor 3”), a measured value of an inlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source machine (see page 5, first paragraph; Yuji: “The cold water return temperature (cold water return temperature) measured by the sensor 54 is used.”), and a required outlet temperature of the heat medium in the heat source system, (see page 3, paragraph 6; Yuji: “The set value of the R cold water outlet temperature (outward temperature) can be changed.”)
However, Yuji does not explicitly teach: an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines other than the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series, by using the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine calculated on the basis of a result of distributing a difference between the inlet temperature of the heat medium of the heat source system and the required outlet temperature according to the rated capacity ratio.
Fumitake from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an update unit that … updates a higher temperature… the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series (see page 10, paragraph 6; Fumitake: “With the operation of the refrigeration cycle 2b, the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 is reset, and the rotation speed of the compressor is set so that the chilled water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9 becomes the target value in each refrigeration cycle. Control is implemented.” See page 10, last paragraph and page 11, first paragraph: “Accordingly, in the refrigeration cycle 2b in which the water heat exchanger 9 is arranged upstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is set to 40 + 2.5 = 42.5 ° C. In the refrigeration cycle 2a in which 9 is disposed downstream of the hot water flow path, the target value of the hot water temperature at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9a is set to 42.5 + 2.5 = 45 ° C. This is naturally the hot water temperature supplied to the load side device. Equal to the target value of.”), by using the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine calculated on the basis of a result of distributing a difference between the inlet temperature of the heat medium of the heat source system and the required outlet temperature according to the rated capacity ratio. (see page 3, paragraph 4; Fumitake: “the heat exchange rate ratio on the horizontal axis in FIG. 5 is: heat exchange rate ratio≈cold water temperature difference at the entrance / exit of the water heat exchanger 9b / cold water temperature at the entrance / exit of the heat source unit 1. The chilled water temperature difference at the inlet / outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is defined by the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b by operation control, and the chilled water temperature target value at the outlet of the water heat exchanger 9b is set high.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Yuji to include Fumitake’s features of an update unit that updates a higher temperature the heat source machine on the most downstream side among the heat source machines connected in series, by using the outlet setting temperature of each heat source machine calculated on the basis of a result of distributing a difference between the inlet temperature of the heat medium of the heat source system and the required outlet temperature according to the rated capacity ratio. Doing so would achieve high-efficiency operation. (Fumitake, page 6, third paragraph)
However, it does not explicitly teach: an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines…,
Suzuki from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines… (see [0047];Suzuki: “the control unit 302 compares the outer air temperature on the air-outlet side detected by the temperature sensor 205 with the outer air temperature on the air-inlet side detected by the temperature sensor 305, and selects the higher one.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Yuji and Fumitake to include Suzuki’s features of an update unit that compares the outlet setting temperature based on the heat medium flow rate with the outlet setting temperature based on a rated capacity ratio of each heat source machine and updates a higher temperature as the outlet setting temperature of the heat source machine in heat source machines. Doing so would operate machine safely in a low-temperature environment and provide a low-cost method for realizing the purpose. (Suzuki, [0007])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the second and third paragraphs of the 10 page of the remarks which recites:
“According to the claimed invention recited in claim 1, in a heat source system including a plurality of heat source machines connected in series, a process of setting an outlet setting temperature for the heat source machine on the most downstream side is different from a process of setting an outlet setting temperature for each of the heat source machines other than the heat source machine on the most downstream side (see Figs. 4 and 5 , paragraphs [0044]-[0055] of the specification, etc.).
In contrast, in Yuji, the set value of the cold water temperature for both the high temperature side cold heat source and the low temperature side cold heat source are set according to the control flow shown in Fig. 9.
Thus, the foregoing feature recited in claim 1 of the present application is not disclosed or suggested in Yuji.”
Examiner notes that the argument is persuasive, causing the new grounds of rejection. A new reference, namely Takenaka, has been relied upon to reject the limitations incorporated in the amendment.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the pages 12-13 of the remarks which recites:
“Saito discloses calculation of temperature difference based on pressure ratio, and not the correction based on flow rate ratio as in the present application. The Examiner has not shown any logical reason to apply the control logic of a gas turbine, which operates on completely different principles, to the system of Yuji.
Therefore, Saito is considered to be Non-Analogous Art, differing from the heat source system of new Claim 18 of the present application in both technical field and the problem to be solved. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Claim 18 is allowable over the prior art of record.”
In response to applicant's argument that Saito is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the understanding of the problem, based on applicant’s description, is calculating a value to set the outlet setting temperature. Yuji teaches setting temperature of the heat source systems connecting in series, but lacks use of calculation. Saito discloses setting temperature based on the calculated value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the calculation of Sait in the method of Yuji to accurately perform temperature control and prevent damage.
With respect to applicant’s argument located within the second paragraph of the page 14 of the remarks which recites:
“Applicant submits that Suzuki discloses that the control unit 302 compares the outer air temperature on the air-outlet side detected by the temperature sensor 205 with the outer air temperature on the air-inlet side detected by the temperature sensor 305, and selects the higher one (see paragraph [0047]). However, this configuration merely compares two detected temperatures.”
The Applicant’s argument has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. While Fumitake discloses updating target temperature value based on rate ratio and temperature difference, Suzuki discloses comparing temperature and selecting the higher one. Therefore, the combination of Yuji, Fumitake, and Suzuki still reads the limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nikaido (US9341401B2) discloses two heat source devices connected in series to a heat medium and can be efficiently operated.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.N.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117