Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom (US 2017/0033417) in view of Lee (WO 2018/124494).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Eom discloses a battery module comprising:
a sub-module stack formed by stacking a plurality of sub-modules, each of the plurality of sub-modules comprising at least one cooling member having a coolant flow path and a plurality of battery cells disposed on opposite surfaces of the at least one cooling member (see Fig. 5 which illustrates a sub-module stack which comprises a plurality of battery cells 100 that are disposed on either side of a cooling plate 210/220, see Fig. 6 for an exploded view of this layout); and
Eom teaches a battery module but is silent regarding the configuration of how the battery cells are interconnected. More specifically, Eom does not teach: a pair of bus bar frame assemblies coupled to a first side and a second side of the sub-module stack to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells.
Lee also discloses a battery module (see abstract)
Lee teaches a plurality of stacked cells (C) that are electrically connected to each other via a plurality of bus bar frames (120, 130) that are situated on a first and second side, (see Fig. 3 in which bus bar frames 120, 130 are configured such that they are on opposite ends of the cell stack C). Lee teaches such a configuration in order to place the bus bars (121 and 122, for example) in place such that they electrically connect the plurality of battery cells via electrode tabs T1 and T2, see lines 348-357).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the bus bar frame of Lee to the module of Eom in order to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells.
Eom further discloses the at least one cooling member comprises: a first flow path plate having a first flow path groove; and a second flow path plate having a second flow path groove coupled to the first flow path groove to form the coolant flow path (see paragraph 58 and annotated Fig. 3 below which discloses that the cooling channel is formed by sandwiching two cooling plates together, each having a flow path therein and the first and second flow path plates each contain grooves, as illustrated in annotated Fig. 3 below).
Annotated Fig. 3
Eom further discloses the first flow path plate comprises ultrasonic welding bases formed at opposite sides of the first flow path groove (the bases and ribs are formed by beading portions B that can provide a base for welding when the two plates are brought together, as depicted in annotated Fig. 8 below and the bases and ribs are on opposite sides of the groove that is formed in between them). It is noted, however, that Applicant has not claimed that the base is actually ultrasonic welded.
Annotated Fig. 8
Eom further discloses the second flow path plate comprises a plurality of welding ribs formed at opposite sides of the second flow path groove (see annotated Fig. 3 below which illustrates a plurality of welding ribs/beads B on opposite sides of a groove).
Annotated Fig. 3
Eom further discloses the coolant flow path is at least partially formed from the first flow path plate being coupled at the welding bases to the second flow path plate at the welding rib (the two plates of Eom are indeed coupled to each other and a flow path is formed in between. These two plates, and as a result, the ultrasonic welding bases (B) of the first plate and the ultrasonic welding ribs (B) of the second plate are coupled to each other. It is noted that stating that these objects are coupled at the ribs/bases is different than stating that the ribs and bases are welded to each other. Coupling is interpreted as being brought into contact with each other and held there. In this instance, the coupling is brought about by the stacking of the plates and the fixation of the stacking, and in turn the bases and ribs, by the bolts depicted in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Eom further discloses a first module terminal and a second module terminal electrically connected to the sub-module stack (see Fig. 11 which illustrates two external terminals on the top side of the battery module which connect to the submodule stack inside the battery module), wherein the first module terminal and the second module terminal are provided on a same surface of the battery module (top surface).
Regarding claim 16, Eom further discloses the at least one cooling member is a plurality of cooling members, and wherein the plurality of cooling members and the plurality of sub-modules are alternately stacked (see Fig. 1 which illustrates a plurality of cooling members 200 and sub-module stacks 100 are alternately stacked).
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20180091600 with references made to the machine translation) in view of Lee (WO 2018/124494 with references made to the machine translation) and Mazza (US 2020/0227794).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a battery module comprising:
a sub-module stack formed by stacking a plurality of sub-modules, each of the plurality of sub-modules comprising at least one cooling member having a coolant flow path and a plurality of battery cells disposed on opposite surfaces of the at least one cooling member (see Fig. 2 which illustrates a sub-module stack which comprises a plurality of battery cells 10 that are disposed on either side of a cooling plate 200).
Lim teaches a battery module where the electrode tabs are situated on opposite ends of the cell (see annotated Fig. 7 below) but is silent regarding the configuration of how the battery cells are interconnected. More specifically, Lim does not teach: a pair of bus bar frame assemblies coupled to a first side and a second side of the sub-module stack to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells.
Lee also discloses a battery module (see abstract)
Lee teaches a plurality of stacked cells (C) that are electrically connected to each other via a plurality of bus bar frames (120, 130) that are situated on a first and second side, (see Fig. 3 in which bus bar frames 120, 130 are configured such that they are on opposite ends of the cell stack C). Lee teaches such a configuration in order to place the bus bars (121 and 122, for example) in place such that they electrically connect the plurality of battery cells via electrode tabs T1 and T2, see lines 348-357).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the bus bar frame of Lee to the module of Lim in order to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells.
Lim, however, is silent regarding the claimed structure of the cooling plates. More specifically, Lim is silent regarding:
a first flow path plate having a first flow path groove; and
a second flow path plate having a second flow path groove coupled to the first flow path groove to form the coolant flow path,
wherein the first flow path plate comprises ultrasonic welding bases located along opposite sides of the first flow path groove,
wherein the second flow path plate comprises at least one ultrasonic welding rib located along opposite sides of the second flow path groove, and
wherein the coolant flow path is at least partially formed from the first flow path plate being coupled at the ultrasonic welding bases to the second flow path plate at the at least one ultrasonic welding rib.
Mazza also discloses a battery with a cooling system (paragraph 33).
Mazza teaches a cooling plate (2) that is formed from two plates (as depicted in Fig 5) and teaches:
a first flow path plate having a first flow path groove (as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below); and
a second flow path plate having a second flow path groove coupled (via adhesive layer 20) to the first flow path groove to form the coolant flow path (as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the first flow path plate comprises ultrasonic welding bases located along opposite sides of the first flow path groove (as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below),
wherein the second flow path plate comprises at least one ultrasonic welding rib located along opposite sides of the second flow path groove (as depicted in annotated Fig. 5 below), and
wherein the coolant flow path is at least partially formed from the first flow path plate being coupled at the ultrasonic welding bases to the second flow path plate at the at least one ultrasonic welding rib (see annotated Fig. 5 below which illustrates adhesive 20 that couples the two plates together in the regions labeled “ultrasonic welding bases” and “ultrasonic welding rib”).
Mazza teaches such a configuration in order to form a cooling plate that prevents leakage and provides for a structure that is lighter and improves voltage isolation within the battery (see paragraphs 34 and 35).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the cooling plate of Lim with the cooling plate of Mazza in order to form a cooling plate that prevents leakage and provides for a structure that is lighter and improves voltage isolation within the battery. Furthermore, such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known cooling plate structure for another to yield entirely predictable results.
Annotated Fig. 5 of Mazza
Regarding claim 2, Lim further discloses a pair of electrode leads provided in each of the plurality of battery cells extend in opposite directions to each other along a width direction of the at least one cooling member (as depicted in annotated Fig. 7 below), and wherein the plurality of battery cells is disposed along a longitudinal direction of the at least one cooling member on the opposite surfaces of the at least one cooling member (see Fig. 7 where a plurality of battery cells are disposed along a longitudinal direction).
Annotated Fig. 7
Regarding claim 3, Lim further discloses the coolant flow path reciprocates between a first side and a second side in the longitudinal direction of the at least one cooling member (see Fig. 3 which illustrates the cooling channel going out and back/reciprocate between each end of the cooling plate in the longitudinal direction) and extends from a first side to a second side in the width direction of the at least one cooling member (see Fig. 3 where the cooling channel 230 flows from one side of the cooling plate to the other in the width direction).
Regarding claim 11, Lim, as modified above, teaches a bus bar frame that interconnects all the battery cells but does not explicitly teach the pair of bus bar frame assemblies connect a pair of battery cells of the plurality of battery cells facing each other with the at least one cooling member interposed therebetween in parallel, connect the battery cells of the plurality of battery cells adjacent to each other along a longitudinal direction of the at least one cooling member in series, and connect adjacent sub-modules of the plurality of sub-modules to each other in series.
Lee teaches the bus bar frames are situated such that the busbar frames provide serial/parallel connection between the cells and this parallel/serial connection can be freely changed depending on need of voltage/capacity (lines 241-245).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the busbar frame of modified Lim to achieve the desired parallel/serial configuration between the battery cells, as suggested by Lee to arrive at a desired voltage/capacity of the battery module.
Regarding claim 13, Lim further discloses a module inlet and a module outlet connected to the coolant flow path, wherein the module inlet and the module outlet are provided on a same surface of the battery module (see Fig. 3 in which the inlet/outlet of the cooling channels 210, 220 are arranged on the same side of the plate/module).
Regarding claim 16, Lim further discloses the at least one cooling member is a plurality of cooling members, and wherein the plurality of cooling members and the plurality of sub-modules are alternately stacked (see Figs. 2 and 4 which illustrates a plurality of cooling members 200 alternately stacked with a plurality of sub-modules 110).
Regarding claim 17, Lim further discloses each of the plurality of cooling members has a pair of ports on a side of the cooling member (as depicted in Fig. 3 which illustrates an inlet and outlet 220, 210 on the side of the plate/member), and wherein an inlet pipe (500), an outlet pipe (600), and at least one connection pipe (30) are connected to the ports of the plurality of cooling members, the connection port connected to a first cooling port of a first cooling member of the plurality of cooling members and a first port of a second cooling member of the plurality of cooling members (the inlet pipe 500 is connected to the first port/inlet port of each of the cooling members).
Claim(s) 5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom (US 2017/0033417) in view of Lee (WO 2018/124494) and further in view of Shaaia (US 2016/0043454).
Regarding claim 5, Eom teaches cooling member that is made from aluminum (paragraph 59), but states that other materials may also be used. Eom, however, does not explicitly teach the first flow path plate and the second flow path plate are made of a resin material, and an ultrasonic welding portion is formed at a bonding interface between the first flow path plate and the second flow path plate.
Shaaia also discloses a battery cooling plate (see abstract).
Shaaia teaches a cooling plate (100) that is formed from resin (plastic, see abstract) and teaches that this resin can be sealed via ultrasonic welding (see paragraph 24). Shaaia teaches the use of plastic/resin in the construction of the cooling plate rather than metal as metal cooling plates can include more difficult manufacturing methods and may not provide the voltage isolation that plastic/resin cooling plates provide (paragraph 30).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the resin plates of Shaaia in the battery module of modified Eom in order to facilitate manufacturing as well as improving voltage isolation. Furthermore, such a modification also teaches ultrasonic welding of the two resin plates of modified Eom in order to seal the plates to each other.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Eom further discloses a depth of the first/second flow path groove is in the range of ½ to ⅕ of a thickness of the first/second flow path plate (see annotated Fig. 4 below which illustrates the thickness of both the depth of the groove and the depth of the flow path plate and illustrates a ratio that is clearly within the claimed range where the depth of the flow path groove is greater than 1/5 of the thickness of the flow path plate and less than ½ of the thickness of the flow path plate).
Annotated Fig. 4
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom (US 2017/0033417) in view of Lee (WO 2018/124494) and further in view of Ledbetter (US 2015/0194649).
Regarding claim 12, Eom further disclsoes a base plate (420) covering a lower surface of the sub-module stack;
a top plate (410) covering an upper surface of the sub-module stack; and
Eom, however, does not teach the claimed plurality of strap that compress the sub-module stack.
Ledbetter also discloses a battery module (see abstract).
Ledbetter teaches a plurality of straps (18) surrounding a circumference of the battery module so that the battery module is compressed and held together (paragraph 22).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the straps of Ledbetter to the sub-module stack of modified Eom in order to compress and hold together the stack of cells and cooling plates.
Relevant Prior Art
US 2006/0244416 - Discloses ultrasonic welding a protruding rib/ridge of a battery module to seal the battery module (paragraph 54) but is silent regarding the use of this technique in a cooling member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 10, Applicant argues that Eom does not teach flow path plates with flow path grooves. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. Eom does indeed teach flow path plates (each plate is 210 and 220) and each plate comprises a “groove” or a pathway that sits between two elevated surfaces. These elevated surfaces are produced by ribs B on plate 210. The generic term “groove” can be interpreted a number of ways including the type listed below in annotated Fig. 3.
Annotated Fig. 3
As can clearly be seen, Eom does indeed teach multiple grooves throughout each plate.
Next, Applicant argues, on page 10, that Eom does not disclose or suggest that a coolant flow path is at least partially formed from the first flow path plate being coupled at the ultrasonic welding bases to the second flow path plate at the at least one ultrasonic welding rib. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument. The coolant flow path of Eom is formed when the two plates are brought together (similar to how two plates are brought together to form the flow path of the instant disclosure). When they are brought together, a path is formed through which coolant flows. This flow path is defined by the grooves that are shown in annotated Fig. 3 above. Furthermore, the two plates of Eom are indeed coupled to each other. These two plates, and as a result, the ultrasonic welding bases (B) of the first plate and the ultrasonic welding ribs (B) of the second plate are coupled to each other. It is noted that stating that these objects are coupled at the ribs/bases is different than stating that the ribs and bases are welded to each other. Coupling is interpreted as being brought into contact with each other and held there. In this instance, the coupling is brought about by the stacking of the plates and the fixation of the stacking, and in turn the bases and ribs, by the bolts depicted in Fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW J MERKLING whose telephone number is (571)272-9813. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8am-6pm.
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725