DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lafzi et al. (J. Org. Chem. 2019, 84, 12120-12130).
Lafzi et al. teaches compound 18l, which has the structure
(Scheme 5). This compound anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, compound 18l has R2-R10 equal to hydrogen atoms and R1 equal to structural formula 3 with Y equal to a single bond, all R11-R13 equal to hydrogen atoms, and X5 and X6 equal to NR14 with R14 equal to a hydrogen atom.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 2012-0120886, cited on Applicants information disclosure statement, filed on 8/11/23).
Claims 1 and 2: Kim et al. teaches compound 35 which anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, variables R2-R10 are equal to hydrogen atoms, R1 is equal to Structural Formula 2 with Y equal to a single bond, X3 and X4 equal to S, and all R11-R13 equal to hydrogen atoms, thereby anticipating claims 1 and 2.
Claims 5-7: The compounds disclosed by Kim et al., which includes compound 35, are employed as host materials in organic electroluminescent devices. The exemplified devices comprise an anode, a hole transport region, an emission region comprising a host material and dopant, an electron transport region, and a cathode. The preparation of an organic electroluminescent device as taught by Kim et al. with any one of the explicitly taught compound as a host material, including compound 35, is at once envisaged. A device comprising compound 35 as a host material in the manner disclosed by Kim et al. satisfies all of the device limitations of claims 5-7.
Claim 9: Each of the layers in the organic electroluminescent devices taught by Kim et al. are exemplified to be applied via a deposition process, thereby anticipating claim 9.
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (WO 2021/150092). Copies of the original and a machine translation are included with this Office action.
Claim 1: Lee et al. teaches compounds which are employed as host materials in organic electroluminescent devices. Included in the explicitly taught compounds is the compound
(page 16). This compound anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, this compound has R1-R3 and R5-R10 equal to hydrogen atoms, R4 equal to Structural Formula 1 with X1 and X2 equal to O, all R11-R13 equal to hydrogen atoms, and Y equal to a deuterated anthracenyl group.
Claims 5-9: The device examples of Lee et al. are electroluminescent devices comprising an anode, a hole transport region, an emission layer comprising a host material which is one of the inventive compounds taught therein and a thermally activated delayed fluorescent material which is exemplified to be BD-A which has the structure
(page 188), an electron transport region, and a cathode. The employment of any one of the explicitly taught host materials of Lee et al., including the compound shown above, as a host material is at once envisaged. Such a device comprising the compound above and the boron-based dopant BD-A anticipates all of the device limitations of claims 5-9. As applied to claim 9 the dopant BD-A anticipates Formula D3 with X1 equal to B, Y1 and Y2 equal to N-R61 with R61 equal to p-tert--butylphenyl groups, T1 through T3 equal to benzene rings which are substituted with either t-butyl groups are diphenylamino groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR-20120120886).
The devices disclosed by Kim et al. are employed as organic electroluminescent devices. Because the devices taught by Kim et al. are light emitting devices, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a display device or lighting system comprising the devices taught by Kim et al.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (WO 2021/150092).
The devices disclosed by Lee et al. are employed as organic electroluminescent devices. Because the devices taught by Lee et al. are light emitting devices, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a display device or lighting system comprising the devices taught by Lee et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest compounds which satisfy Formula 1 where one of R1 through R10 is a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group as required by claim 3. The prior art also does not teach or fairly suggest the compounds of claim 4.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766