Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 6-9 concerning claims 1 and 12
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been considered, deemed persuasive and overcome the rejection on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (WO 2020107234 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses:
A radars system for the detection of surroundings (Liu, Abstract, A radar system (500), comprising a grouping unit (501) which divides multi-transmitting antennas of the radar system (500) into multiple groups of transmitting antennas; and a control unit (502) which controls one transmitting antenna in each group of transmitting antennas to transmit a chirp signal. Chirp signals transmitted by a transmitting antenna i and a transmitting antenna i + 1 which transmit the chirp signals adjacent in time satisfy the following relationships: first, an initial frequency in which the transmitting antenna i + 1 transmits the chirp signal is: a difference value between a cut-off frequency in which the transmitting antenna i transmits the chirp signal plus the initial frequency in which the transmitting antenna i + 1 transmits the chirp signal and the cut-off frequency in which the transmitting antenna i transmits the chirp signal; second, the slopes of waveforms of the chirp signals transmitted by the transmitting antenna i +1 and the transmitting antenna i are the same. Hence, the chirp signal sent on the time Treset is achieved),
the system comprising (Liu, Abstract):
at least one transmitting-receiving unit for transmitting and receiving radar signals (Liu p.2 lines 2-5: A grouping unit is used to divide the multiple transmitting antennas of the radar system into M groups of transmitting antennas; each group of the M groups of transmitting antennas includes K transmitting antennas; the M is an integer greater than 1, and the K is greater than An integer of 0) and (further reference p. 3 lines 6-14),
which is configured to transmit a plurality M of physical angle-modulated signals comprising physical chirps (Liu, p. 3, line 23- p. 4 line 1: A control unit for controlling the K transmitting antennas of the radar system to transmit the J-segment sub-chirp signal, where J=A*K, the K is an integer greater than 1, and the A is a positive integer;
Among them, the sub-chirp signals transmitted by the transmitting antenna j and the transmitting antenna j+1 of the K transmitting antennas that are temporally adjacent to each other satisfy the following relationship: slope .sup.j+1 = slope .sup.j. Among them, the PCTCN2018117762-appb-000021.tif Is the starting frequency of the sub-chirp signal transmitted by the transmitting antenna j+1, the PCTCN2018117762-appb-000022.tif Is the cutoff frequency of the sub-chirp signal transmitted by the transmitting antenna j, and slope .sup.j+1 and slope .sup.j are the slopes of the waveforms of the sub-chirp signals transmitted by the transmitting antenna j+1 and the transmitting antenna j, respectively. PCTCN2018117762-appb-000023.tif Is the difference between the start frequency of the sub-chirp signal transmitted by the transmitting antenna j+1 and the cut-off frequency of the sub-chirp signal transmitted by the transmitting antenna j, PCTCN2018117762-appb-000024.tif Any real number. In this embodiment, the signals transmitted by multiple transmitting antennas are regarded as a virtual chirp signal, and the slope of each sub-chirp signal of the chirp signal is the same, so that the signal when using multiple antennas to measure the angle is as compact and different The interval time between the sub-chirp signals is the antenna switching time, which is ns level, which is much smaller than the μs level of T .sub.reset and T .sub.dwell , so that the transmission signal time of multiple transmitting antennas used for angle measurement is compressed and reduced as much as possible Effect of speed on angle measurement:
from which a plurality N of virtual angle-modulated signals (Liu, p. 3, line 23- p. 4 line 1),
are formed, wherein each virtual signal distributed over the physical chirps (Liu, Figs. 8 and 9, and p. 10, lines 12-24: As shown in FIG. 8, offset .sub.s is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 or the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2; the signal transmitted by the antenna 3 The cutoff frequency of is equal to the start frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal or the start frequency of the antenna 3 transmitting signal is equal to the cutoff frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal. The above offset .sub.g is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 3. The signals transmitted by the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 are adjacent in time and the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 belong to different groups, respectively.
As shown in FIG. 9, the above offset .sub.s is slope*T .sub.s_dwell , that is, the starting frequency of the antenna 1 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the starting frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal is The .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 1 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell ; the start frequency of antenna 3 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the start frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal is antenna 3 .sub.Sum of the cutoff frequency of the transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell . The above offset .sub.g is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 3. The signals transmitted by the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 are adjacent in time and the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 belong to different groups, respectively ),
and at least one evaluation unit configured to determine at least one object parameter from a radar signal reflected from an object of the surroundings (Liu, p. 3, lines 7-20: The above control unit is also used to control the multiple receiving antennas to receive the signal obtained by reflecting the chirp signal i from the detected object, the chirp signal i being the signal transmitted by the above transmitting antenna i;
A mixer, configured to mix the signals received by the multiple receiving antennas with the chirp signal i respectively to obtain difference frequency signals of multiple receiving channels;
Analog-to-digital converter, used to convert the difference frequency signals of the multiple receiving channels into digital signals of the multiple receiving channels;
The digital signal processor is used to perform distance Fourier transform on the digital signals of the multiple receiving channels to obtain Δf, which is the frequency domain representation of the above-mentioned difference frequency signal; according to the Δf, the target distance is obtained, and the target distance is The distance between the radar system and the detected object) and (further reference p. 4, lines 8-18) Examiner interprets the digital signal process as the evaluation unit and the target distance as an example of a parameter,
the radar signal received by the transmitting-receiving unit (Liu, p. 3, lines 7-20),
wherein the evaluation unitis configured to determine the at least one object parameter using sampling points from within a respective physical signal as well and sampling points within a respective virtual signal (Liu, p. 3, lines 6-20 and line 23- p. 4 line 1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the at least one transmitting-receiving unit is configured to adjust at least one of the virtual or physical signals to a specification for a parameter comprising a resolution (Liu, p. 3, lines 6-20 and line 23- p. 4 line 1),
an accuracy (Liu, p. 3, lines 6-20) Examiner recognized the accuracy of measuring the distance,
a unique distance (Liu, p. 3, lines 6-20) Examiner interprets target distance as an example of unique distance,
a velocity,
or time-on-target.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses:
The system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein at least one of the physical or virtual signals are modulated in frequency (Liu, p. 3, line 23- p. 4 line 1),
comprising a frequency ramp (Liu, p. 1, lines 5-19: Vehicle-mounted millimeter-wave radar is an indispensable sensor in automatic driving and can be used to provide all-weather obstacle detection. The principle is that the radar sends a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW), and the distance, speed, azimuth and other information of the obstacle are obtained by measuring the reflected echo of the obstacle. The FMCW waveform has the function of bandwidth compression, that is, the transmitted signal is scanned through a large bandwidth through chirp, and the received signal and the transmitted signal are mixed to obtain the difference frequency, making the intermediate frequency bandwidth much lower than the transmitted signal bandwidth. The bandwidth of the IF signal is related to the slope of the chirp and the distance to the maximum target, Δf .sub.max = slope*(2*max_range)/c, where Δf .sub.max is the maximum difference frequency, subject to the bandwidth of the IF, and slope is linear continuous frequency modulation The slope of the wave B/T .sub.ramp , that is, the bandwidth B scanned within the time T .sub.ramp , max_range is the distance from the farthest detection target to the radar, and c is the speed of light. At present, the time T (usually 10 to 100 μs) occupied by a fast chirp signal sent by any antenna usually includes the time T .sub.ramp from the linear sweep of the frequency f .sub.start to the frequency f .sub.end , and the T .sub.reset time, Sometimes also includes a period of constant frequency T .sub.dwell . T .sub.reset represents the time required for the end frequency f .sub.end of the transmitted signal to quickly return to the start frequency f .sub.start . This time is because the FMCW waveform needs to be transmitted through a phase locked loop (PLL) to obtain a signal frequency with better linearity. The PLL needs a certain time to stabilize, usually within 10μs. The chirp signal can be sent using the rising ramp shown in FIG. 1 for measurement, or the chirp signal can be sent using the falling ramp shown in FIG. 2 for measurement. Corresponding to the way of ascending ramp, f .sub.start <f .sub.end , for descending ramp, f .sub.start > f .sub.end . Since the time for the PLL to stabilize is related to the bandwidth f .sub.end -f .sub.start , the working time of the device cannot be fully utilized, so the time during T .sub.reset cannot be used for measurement)
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the evaluation unit is configured to determine a distance (d) or a variable based thereon (Liu, p. 1, lines 5-19) Examiner notes distance and speed,
and a velocity (v) or a variable dependent based thereon (Liu, p. 1, lines 5-19),
taking into account a slow-time frequency (fslow) and a fast-time frequency (ffast) and a sweep rate of the virtual signals (pP) and a sweep rate of the physical signals (pR) and a signal duration (TP) of the virtual signals (Liu, p. 8, lines 17-22: Due to the improvement of the PLL's ability, the chirp signal scans hundreds of MHz or even 4GHz bandwidth in the time range of 10~100μs. Due to the Doppler effect, the frequency change introduced within a chirp signal period relative to the target distance can be ignored . Therefore, in a chirped signal, the target distance is obtained by analyzing the frequency of the signal in the intermediate frequency bandwidth. The commonly used algorithm is fast Fourier transform (fast Fourier transform, FFT), where FFT is also called distance-fast Fourier Leaf (range-FFT). The speed information of the target is obtained through the phase change between multiple chirped signals. The commonly used algorithm is FFT. The FFT here is also called Doppler-Fast Fourier (doppler-FFT)) and (Liu, p. 1, lines 5-19) Examiner interprets sweep of frequency as sweep rate of chirp signal,
and the a mean RF transmission frequency (fe) (Liu, p. 3, lines 7-20)
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the at least one transmitting-receiving unit forms a portion of a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) radar system (Liu, p. 2, lines 27-32; At present, the virtual MIMO antenna transmission can use time division, frequency division, and code division. The time division method is the simplest, that is, the transmission antenna transmits chirp signals in sequence, and the signal processing is performed at the receiving end by receiving signals from different receiving channels. However, the time-divided MIMO radar signal is sent in a single ascending or descending ramp, and the time-division antennas transmit signals in sequence (as shown in Figure 3), that is, assuming there are 4 transmitting antennas, and the time for each antenna is T, then The period of 4 transmitting antennas is 4*T. Since there is T .sub.reset time in the transmission of each antenna, a total of 4*T .sub.reset time in 4*T will be wasted and cannot be used for measurement).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the at least one transmitting-receiving unit is configured to operate in relation to at least two transmitting channels to establish time division multiplexing (Liu, p. 2, lines 27-32) Examiner recognizes time division as an example,
such that the corresponding transmitted signals form the same virtual signals (Liu, p. 2, lines 27-32).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the at least one transmitting-receiving unit is configured to operate in relation to at least two transmitting channels configured for to establish frequency division multiplexing (Liu, p. 2, lines 27-32) Examiner recognizes frequency division,
with the frequency division multiplexing comprising at least one of fast-time ) frequency division multiplexing or slow-time frequency division multiplexing ) (Liu, p. 1, lines 20—26) and (p. Examiner interprets range as a fast-time component of frequency division multiplexing.
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract)),
wherein the evaluation unit is configured to define at least two groups of virtual or physical signals which are interleaved by multiplexing (Liu, p. 2, lines 3-5: A grouping unit is used to divide the multiple transmitting antennas of the radar system into M groups of transmitting antennas; each group of the M groups of transmitting antennas includes K transmitting antennas; the M is an integer greater than 1, and the K is greater than An integer of 0) and (p. 3, line 23- p. 4 line 1).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses:
The system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein a distance between respective physical signals is equidistant (Liu, p.10, lines 12-37: As shown in FIG. 8, offset .sub.s is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 or the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2; the signal transmitted by the antenna 3 The cutoff frequency of is equal to the start frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal or the start frequency of the antenna 3 transmitting signal is equal to the cutoff frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal. The above offset .sub.g is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 3. The signals transmitted by the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 are adjacent in time and the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 belong to different groups, respectively.
As shown in FIG. 9, the above offset .sub.s is slope*T .sub.s_dwell , that is, the starting frequency of the antenna 1 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the starting frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal is The .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 1 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell ; the start frequency of antenna 3 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the start frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal is antenna 3 .sub.Sum of the cutoff frequency of the transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell . The above offset .sub.g is 0, that is, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 3. The signals transmitted by the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 are adjacent in time and the antenna 2 and the antenna 3 belong to different groups, respectively.
As shown in FIG. 10, the above offset .sub.s is 0, the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2 or the start frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 1 is equal to the cutoff frequency of the signal transmitted by the antenna 2, and the signal transmitted by the antenna 3 The cutoff frequency of is equal to the start frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal or the start frequency of the antenna 3 transmitting signal is equal to the cutoff frequency of the antenna 4 transmitting signal. The above offset .sub.g is slope*T .sub.g_dwell , that is, the starting frequency of the antenna 3 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.g_dwell , where the antenna 2 and antenna 3 transmitted signals are adjacent in time And antenna 2 and antenna 3 belong to different groups.
As shown in FIG. 11, the above offset .sub.s is slope*T .sub.s_dwell , that is, the starting frequency of antenna 1 transmitting signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 2 transmitting signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the starting frequency of antenna 2 transmitting signal is The .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 1 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell ; the start frequency of antenna 3 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell , or the start frequency of antenna 4 transmitted signal is antenna 3 .sub.Sum of the cutoff frequency of the transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.s_dwell . The above offset .sub.g is slope*T .sub.g_dwell , that is, the starting frequency of the antenna 3 transmitted signal is the .sub.sum of the cut-off frequency of the antenna 2 transmitted signal and slope*T .sub.g_dwell , where the antenna 2 and antenna 3 transmitted signals are adjacent in time And antenna 2 and antenna 3 belong to different groups) and (Figs. 8-11)
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses:
the system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the at least one object parameter comprises a distance or a speed (Liu, p. 3, lines 7-20),
or a parameter based on the distance or the speed (Liu, p. 1, lines 20—26: In recent years, vehicle-mounted millimeter-wave radars have also been evolving. For example, the frequency band has gradually evolved from 24GHz to 77GHz/79GHz, and higher range resolution can be obtained through a larger scanning bandwidth. On the waveform, the chirp signal (chirp) scan period is a few ms level, reduced to dozens of μs level, so that the measurement distance and measurement speed are decoupled. This reduces the probability of false targets and effectively avoids non-ideal characteristics near DC. The number of channels has also evolved from a single-transmit multiple-receive (single input multiple output (SIMO)) mode to a multiple-transmit multiple-receive (multiple input multiple output (MIMO)) mode, and the antenna scale continues to expand, making virtual MIMO (Virtual MIMO) obtainable The aperture of the virtual antenna is enlarged, thereby improving the angular resolution).
Claim 12 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses:
the method of claim 12 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the physical and virtual signals are modulated in frequency (Liu, p. 3, line 23- p. 4 line 1).
Claim 15 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 7.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 8.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses:
the method of claim 12 (Liu, Abstract),
wherein the surroundings are surroundings of a vehicle (Liu, p. 2, lines 20-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al WO , hereinafter Liu in view of Stettiner et al (US 20210156982 A1), hereinafter Stettiner
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses:
The system according to claim 1 (Liu, Abstract),
Stettiner discloses:
wherein a distance between respective physical signals is non-equidistant (Stettiner, paras [0127], Note, however, that time multiplexed MIMO is associated with several problems including coupling between Doppler and the spatial directions (azimuth and elevation). In one embodiment, this is addressed by applying a nonlinear (e.g., random) order to the TX array element transmission. Starting with a nonlinearly ordered transmit sequence which cycles over all TX elements, then repeats for the CPI duration a ‘REUSE’ number of times. The TX sequence in each repetition is permuted nonlinearly (e.g., randomly). Each repetition uses a different permutation. Thus, it is ensured that each TX element transmits the same number of times during a CPI and that the pause between transmission, per each TX element, is never longer than two periods. This is important in order to keep Doppler sidelobes low. It is marginally beneficial though not necessary to change the permutations from one CPI to the next.
[0128] The decoupling effectiveness is largely determined by the number of chirps in the CPI. Hence, this is another incentive for using short duration chirps. Doppler ambiguities occur at lower target speeds. In one embodiment, this is solved by using a nonlinear (e.g., random) transmit (TX) sequence (as described supra) and by using relatively short chirps. A lower bound on chirp duration is the propagation delay to the farthest target plus reasonable overlap time. In one embodiment, a PRI of seven usec is used to cover targets located up to 300 meters away. Note that shorter chirps also increase the required sampling rate as explained in more detail infra) and (para [0135], Regarding MBC, the total bandwidth is broken into separate yet partially overlapping bands where each chirp has a nonlinear (e.g., random) start frequency and relatively low bandwidth (e.g., 50, 75, 100, 125 MHz). All chirps, once aggregated, cover a much larger total bandwidth (e.g., 1 GHz)) Examiner notes that non-linear or random signals relate to non-equidistant signals.
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu with Stettiner to incorporate the features of: wherein a distance between respective physical signals is non-equidistant. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose vehicle-mounted radar systems with MIMO. Liu discloses physical (chirps) and virtual signals; however, does not disclose wherein a distance between respective physical signals is non-equidistant as within Stettiner. The modification would render the predictable results of improved angular resolution; improved multi-target discrimination; and improved reduction of false target detection.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 10.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lin et at al US 20210132185 A1 discloses FMCW and MIMO
Kamo et al US 20200076038 A1 discloses a waveguide device with interleaved multiplexing such as FDM
Ray US 20200309933 A1 discloses cooperative FMCW radar systems via phased array that with chirp slope and accuracy via standard deviation
Hammond et al US 20200036487 A1 discloses multidimensional shares spectrum access with OFDM and FDM
Hammes et al US 20200011968 A1 discloses a system and method for obtaining an adaptive angle-doppler ambiguity function in MIMO radars that provide better angular resolution, and low cost FMCW
Prados et al US 10365364 B1 discloses a MIMO radar system for detecting objects, and noted center frequencies
Behrens et al US 20190187246 A1 discloses a frequency modulates signal cancellation in variable power mode for radar applications
Antonik et al US 20120146846 A1 discloses apparatus for producing SAR and moving target indication which produces synthetic radar image and moving target indications from data derived from compressed pulses
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648