DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment 2. The applicant’s amendment dated 11 August 2023 is acknowledged. The applicant has cancelled Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15. Currently, Claims 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are pending and under examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 4. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . 5. Claims 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. and Farrington et al. Cho et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0020502 A1) is directed toward a high temperature fuel cell system (title). Farrington et al. (WO 2014/111745 A2) is directed toward fuel cell assemblies and preparation methods therefor (title). Regarding Claim 1 6 , Cho et al. discloses an electrochemical cell 1000 comprising: a membrane electrode assembly (“MEA”) depicted in FIG. 1 which includes: a proton exchange electrolyte membrane 10 and wo retaining plates 41 and 42 (¶21). Cho et al. further indicates the retaining plate 41 and 42 are situated on both sides of the membrane electrode assembly and have distribution channels for distributing reactive fluids to the electrodes as per ¶21. Cho et al. also discloses a single seal (i.e.: element 71 or 72 ) which is position ed along a thickness axis orthogonal to a main plane of the electrochemical cell, wherein said seal extends around the membrane electrode assembly in the main plane and is in contact with the two retaining plates (as depicted in FIG. 1). Cho et al. teaches the electrochemical cell has at least one intermediate leak-tight sheet (elements 51 and 52 ) , which is made of a leak-tight material with respect to the electrolyte in the distribution channels , with the intermediate leak-tight sheet extend ing around the membrane electrode assembly in the main plane and is between the membrane electrode assembly and the seal, and is joined in a leak-tight manner to the membrane and to the seal as depicted in FIG. 1 , FIG. 2 , and FIG. 3 . However , Cho et al. does not disclose the use of retaining ribs as required by Claim 16. Farrington et al. is directed toward fuel cell assemblies and preparation methods (title) making it analogous as to Cho et al. Farrington et al. further describes a fuel cell assembly with seals. F arrington et al. discloses the use of plastic (film) frames (elements 41 and 42 ) adhesively bound to the sealing features as depicted in FIG. 3 and explained on pg. 8 lines 14-15 as well a s pg . 10 lines 16-28. These plastic film frames are often employed at fluid transition areas as a means to prevent differential fluid pressure. A similar construction also with improved sealing is depicted in FIG. 4 of Farrington et al. On p g. 11 li n es 26-30, Farrington et al. indicates the film frames are held in tension by the fluid in the cavities improving the shear strength . Given the description of the plastic (film) frames, Farrington et al. discloses a part that is anal ogo u s to the retaining ribs of Claim 16. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell with different seals and leak-tight sheets with the retaining ribs (i.e.: the plastic film frame) taught by Farrington et al. with the reasonable expectation of improving the leak-proof nature of the electrochemical cell. In light of the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. the limitation of Claim 16 wherein the retaining plates include retaining ribs protruding with respect to the main plane and coming into contact with the seal; and the intermediate leak-tight sheet is joined to a surface of the seal, wherein the surface of the seal is situated: radially between the membrane electrode assembly and the retaining ribs; and radially at a non-zero distance from the membrane electrode assembly and the retaining rib s is met. Regarding Claim 17 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the intermediate leak-tight sheet is joined to the seal by bonding, overmolding , or welding as evidenced by ¶26 and ¶27 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 18 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the intermediate leak-tight sheet is bonded to the membrane with an adhesive material as evidenced by ¶23 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 19 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the intermediate leak-tight sheet is made of a different material from the material of the seal as illustrated by ¶23 and ¶24 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 20 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the membrane has two faces opposite each other and parallel to the main plane of the electrochemical cell, the intermediate leak-tight sheet extending over one of said faces of the membrane as depicted in FIG. 1 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 21 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 20, wherein the intermediate leak-tight sheet is made of a material different from the material of the seal and wherein the intermediate leak-tight sheet is bonded to one of said faces of the membrane as depicted in FIG. 1 and described in ¶23 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 22 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the peripheral leak-tight sheets extends in a peripheral zone of the electrochemical cell surrounding, in the main plane, an active zone where an electrochemical reaction is intended to occur as depicted in FIG. 1 , FIG. 2 , and FIG.3 of Cho et al . The different types of chemical reaction for fuel cells ( or electrolyzers ) are discussed in ¶5-11 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 23 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the retaining ribs are arranged offset from each other as depicted in FIG. 4 of Farrington et al. Regarding Claim 24 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16 , wherein the retaining ribs are arranged offset from each other as depicted in F IG 3 and FIG 4 in Farrington et al. with an explanation on pg . 10 lines 16-28 . Regarding Claim 25 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 16, wherein the membrane has first and second faces opposite each other and parallel to the main plane of the electrochemical cell, and having first and second intermediate leak-tight sheets superimposed on each other, each intermediate leak tight sheet being joined in a leak-tight way to the membrane and to the seal, the first intermediate leak-tight sheet extending over the first face of the membrane, and the second intermediate leak-tight sheet extending over the second face of the membrane as illustrated in FIG. 1 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 26 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of Claim 25, wherein the first intermediate leak-tight sheet is bonded to the first face of the membrane, and the second intermediate leak-tight sheet is bonded to the second face of the membrane as illustrated in FIG. 1 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 27 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses an electrochemical reactor comprised comprising a stack of electrochemical cells of Claim 16 as indicated in ¶21 of Cho et al. where multiple unit cells are stacked to make a fuel cell (i.e.: electrochemical reactor is a fuel cell as required by the limitations of Claim 27). Cho et al. further explains the types of chemical reactions that may be operation in a fuel cell (using hydrogen and air as fuel) in ¶5-10. Regarding Claim 28 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses a method for manufacturing an electrochemical cell according to C laim 16, comprising a first step of joining the intermediate leak-tight sheet to the seal, followed by a second step of joining the intermediate leak-tight sheet to the membrane as illustrated in FIG. 1 and explained in ¶21-32 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 29 , the combination of Cho et al. and Farrington et al. discloses the method of C laim 28, wherein the first assembly step is carried out by bonding, welding, or overmolding , and the second assembly step is carried out by bonding as evidenced by ¶26 and ¶27 of Cho et al. Regarding Claim 30 , Cho et al. in view of Farrington et al. discloses the method of C laim 29, wherein the second assembly step is carried out by bonding at a temperature lower than or equal to 200 degrees C as evidenced by ¶24-27 where the thermal decomposition of the gaskets are discussed as being greater than 130 degrees C and greater than or equal to 200 degrees C. It has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists when the range disclosed by the prior art overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I) - OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS Conclusion 6 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vanderleeden et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0224237 A1) is directed toward a membrane electrode assembly for an electrochemical fuel cell (title). 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KEVIN SYLVESTER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT 703-756-5536 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon - Fri 8:15 AM to 4:30 PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT James Lin can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8902 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. 8. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN SYLVESTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794 /JAMES LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794