DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed on September 5, 2025 has been entered. The examiner
acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 13, the cancellation of claims 7, 12, 19, 24.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C § 112(b): Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 13 have rendered those claims not indefinite, thus rejection under 35 U.S.C § 112(b) for these claims is withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant argues a difference in technical problems to be solved, and a difference in the technical features employed. Applicant claims a system for golf cart management that includes a golf cart monitoring module and is therefore not an abstract idea. Examiner disagrees, noting that the monitoring module provides information back to a central system and claim 13 analysis show a number of abstract ideas from managing personal behavior in keeping golfers on schedule to following rules or instructions in operating the golf course, to mental processes underlying a number of the claimed actions. It must be noted that control of the golf cart remains with the human “caddie” assigned to it. Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the invention must include either a practical application or an enhancement to the functioning of a computer system. It appears that the system provides valuable information, equipment status, and location information for humans to conduct golf course operations but there is no indication of an improvement to the computer system or a practical application where the invention executes actions. The invention appears to provide information to the caddie for implementation or execution. As a result, the invention provides information to a human for action and this becomes a case of “Apply it”, or running software on a generic processor. This falls short of a practical application, and as a result, 101 rejections will not be withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s argues that the pending application cites a technical problem different from the prior art, noting that prior art supports golfers driving the cart and the pending application assumes the caddie is controlling the cart. Examiner notes that the technical elements cited in the claims are already taught by prior art and the claims do not disclose the caddie as an element of the invention. Claims portray the invention as an interconnected network of information for golf course management, but each of those capabilities have been taught by prior art and the specific novelty of the invention is not readily apparent. Arguments in favor of claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are not compelling as the claims are rearranged but essentially unchanged from the previous examination. Distinguishing features are not evident. The rejections to claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 will not be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed
to non-statutory subject matter. The claims, 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, abstract idea) without providing significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis per MPEP § 2106.03, required the claims to be a process, machine, manufacture or a composition of matter. Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are directed to a process (method) and machine (system) which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are directed to abstract ideas, as explained below.
Prong one of the Step 2A analysis requires identifying the specific limitation(s) in the claim under examination that the examiner believes recites an abstract idea, and determining whether the identified limitation(s) falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas of mathematical concepts, mental processes, and certain methods of organizing human activity.
Step 2A-Prong 1
The claims recite the following limitations that are directed to abstract ideas, which can be summarized as being directed to a method, the abstract idea, managing aspects of a golf course by applying IoT solutions to current management challenges..
Claim 13 discloses a method, comprising: A method for golf course management comprising the steps of:
Storing and processing data corresponding to operations of the golf course; (observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), collecting golf cart location which is related to the location of the corresponding golf cart and the battery data which is related to the operating status of the golf cart battery; (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), sending a request for generating light or sound to the golf cart at least when the corresponding operating golf cart moves slower than the predetermined moving schedule for generating signal light or reminder sound, (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), sending at least the confirmation information of the golf cart start operation, the confirmation information of the golf cart stop operation, and the additional services information, the foods ordering information, or the same information, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), determining the location of the golf cart, at least the golf cart location data of the operating golf carts which are in the status of using for carrying the golfers, and utilizing the operating golf cart locations to draw a map which includes at least the operating golf carts for displaying to the marshal, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), wherein, the operating golf carts displayed on the map will be assigned the first, second, or third colors due to the corresponding actual moving status of each golf cart to the predetermined moving schedule of the golf cart, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion), operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a first color if the corresponding golf cart moves faster than the predetermined moving schedule, operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a second color if the corresponding golf cart moves as appropriate as the predetermined moving schedule, operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a third color if the corresponding golf cart moves slower than the predetermined moving schedule; (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion).
Additional limitations employ the method to remind golfers, if they are moving slower than the schedule, regarding a violation beyond the scheduled time, a warning of a continuing violation, and if ignored, a violation report will be created, (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 14), enabling golf course management to communicate with the golf cart, (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 15), determining if a hole is available, busy, or duration of a busy hole before becoming available based on the schedule, and new players can be assigned, (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 16), where non-operating carts are assigned a fourth color representing not assigned, and capable for assignment by golf course management, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 17), where the first color is green, the second color is yellow, the third color is red, and the fourth color is grey, (following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 18), where the method includes the ability to book a game, or see information related to the golf course, (marketing or sales activities, managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 20), where the method scores the golfers by comparing move time of the golf cart to the schedule plus the scores of golfers who are ahead of schedule, (managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 21), where the operating time of the golf cart will be used to remind staff for periodic maintenance, (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 22), where the operating time history is used for suggesting a maintenance or an error correction or replacing a new cart battery, (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior, following rules or instructions, observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion - claim 23),
Each of these claimed limitations employ methods of organizing human activity, fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial interactions- marketing or sales activities, and mental processes involving judgement, observation, evaluation and opinion.
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 recite similar abstract ideas as those identified with respect to claims 13-23.
Thus, the concepts set forth in claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 recite abstract ideas.
Step 2A-Prong 2
As per MPEP § 2106.04, while the claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements such as a central server, allowing terminal devices capable of accessing and transceiving data with the central sever; the golf cart monitoring module disposed on each golf cart, including a golf cart positioning unit, communication unit, a storage, GPS, a control and golf cart battery protection unit for controlling and determining the operating status of the golf cart battery, the central sever communication unit for communicating with the central sever via the radio communication, the storage for storing at least pre-recorded audio files, the golfer communication unit including at least light and/or sound generator for generating light or sound from pre-recorded audio files stored in the storage, the golf course management terminal devices which are capable of accessing and transceiving data with the central server, real time location, these limitations are not sufficient to qualify as a practical application being recited in the claims along with the abstract ideas since these elements are invoked as tools to apply the instructions of the abstract ideas in a specific technological environment. The mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.05 (f) & (h)).
Evaluated individually, the additional elements do not integrate the identified abstract ideas into a practical application. Evaluating the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
The claims do not amount to a “practical application” of the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 are directed to abstract ideas.
Step 2B
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The analysis above describes how the claims recite the additional elements beyond those identified above as being directed to an abstract idea, as well as why identified judicial exception(s) are not integrated into a practical application. These findings are hereby incorporated into the analysis of the additional elements when considered both individually and in combination.
For the reasons provided in the analysis in Step 2A, Prong 1, evaluated individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception.
Evaluating the claim limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. In addition to the factors discussed regarding Step 2A, prong two, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely amount to instructions to implement the identified abstract ideas on a computer.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-18, 20-23 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 13-16, 20-21, and 1-4, 8-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being taught by
Wehrlen, (US 20070233339 A1), hereafter Wehrlen, “Method and System for Golf Cart Control,” in view of Mizumura, (JPH09113596A), hereafter Mizumura, “Mobile Data Communication System,” in further view of Thompson, (US 20210129004 A1), hereafter Thompson, “Systems and Methods for Providing Recreational Assistance,” in further view of Stephens, (US 20180093158 A1), hereafter Stephens, “Golf Course Pace of Play Management System and Method.”
Regarding Claim 13, A method for golf course management, Wehrlen teaches, (golf course management are provided with a convenient system for managing golf cart movement on a golf course that reduces incidents of damage, injury and theft, and also educates golfers on proper golf course procedures, [0011], comprising the steps of:
storing and processing, by the central sever, data corresponding to operations of
the golf course, wherein the central sever allowing terminal devices capable of accessing
and transceiving data with the central sever, (Remote design and selection of limited access areas is supported through a golf course management server 56 that, for instance, allows interaction with access configuration module 52 from a local area network or the Internet, [0024]), wherein the terminal devices include at least caddie terminal devices Wehrlen does not teach, Mizumura teaches, (The mobile terminal as in the above embodiment can be carried by the caddy or mounted on the golf cart 4 so that the player can wear the GPS terminal, [p.11]), and golf course management terminal devices; Wehrlen teaches, (status module 64 tracks golf cart status based on information processed by limited access controllers 12 from on board controllers 24. Thus, for instance, a marshal may impose movement restrictions on selected golf carts through base station access control module58 based on status and alarm information, [0025], and overall golf course management is provided by a base station 48 that communicates with golf carts 10 through a wireless network 50, [0024]).
Wehrlen and Mizumura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of recreational support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the mobile data and communication features of Mizumura in order to provide a convenient and flexible mobile communication data system by combining the coordinate detecting and transmitting means of a mobile terminal, the receiving means of a center device, and a reporting means reporting the received data to the user of the mobile terminal, [Abstract].
disposing a golf cart battery unit on each golf cart, wherein the golf cart battery
unit has a golf cart monitoring module integrated therein; Wehrlen teaches FIG. 1,
a functional block diagram of a golf cart having a limited access controller, [0014], GPS receiver, [ 0018], access controller, [0011], communication module [0023], on board controller, [0022], and battery [0022].
collecting, by the golf cart monitoring module at least the golf cart location data (a method and system for control of a golf cart based on location of the golf cart, [0003]), which is related to the real time location of the corresponding golf cart and the battery data which is related to the operating status of the golf cart battery, and sending the golf cart location data and the battery data to the central sever; Wehrlen teaches, (status module 64 tracks golf cart status based on information processed by limited access controllers 12 from on board controllers 24, [0025], referring now to FIG. 4, a graphical user interface is depicted as an example of the status presentation available from status module 64. Each active golf cart is identified by a cart number with position, playing pace, playing status, battery charge and fault information displayed in a tabular format, [0028]),
wherein:
the golf cart monitoring module includes a golf cart positioning unit, a central sever communication unit, a golfer communication unit, a control and golf cart battery protection unit, and a non-transitory storage medium,
the golf cart positioning unit is configured to determine the real time location of the corresponding golf cart via GPS, (a GPS receiver operable to determine the golf cart position on the golf course, [claim 33]),
the control and golf cart battery protection unit is configured to control and
determine the operating status of the golf cart battery, Wehrlen teaches, (a graphical user interface is depicted as an example of the status presentation available from status module 64, [0028], status module 64, (see FIG. 2), tracks golf cart status based on information processed by limited access controllers 12 from on board controllers 24, [0025], each active golf cart is identified by a cart number with position, playing pace, playing status, battery charge and fault information displayed in a tabular format. More specific information about a selected golf cart is displayed automatically if a critical situation arises or by selection of the golf cart identifier. For instance, golf cart 21 has a pop-up window that displays a critical battery status. [0028]),
the central sever communication unit is configured to communicate
with the central sever via the radio communication, (Communications module 36 (FIG. 1), communicates with a base station to allow centralized tracking of golf cart movement and status, updates to limited access map 16, and direct override from the base station of driver inputs, Wehrlen, [0023]),
the non-transitory storage medium is configured to store at least pre-recorded audio files, temporarily storing data sending/receiving to/from the central sever if the golf cart moving within a region with weak 3G/4G signals, Wehrlen does not teach, Thompson teaches, (while playing a round of golf, participants may use various devices to determine/measure the distances (e.g., from their current location to a green), play audio files (e.g., music or golfing tips), keep score and/or play various types of games against other golfers, order refreshments, call for assistance (e.g., if their cart breaks down), etc., [0012], The golfing assistant device may further include a wireless communications receiver connected to the frame and in operable communication with the at least one processor. The wireless communications receiver may be configured to receive data from a computing device in a vicinity of the frame, wherein the data comprises the at least one audio file, [0027]. The computer program product may include a computer readable storage medium (or media) having computer readable program instructions thereon for causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention, [0082], and the assistant device provides other functionality, perhaps utilizing the wireless communication transceiver in combination with another computer device (e.g., a mobile phone, a tablet device, a golf cart equipped with various computing devices and other components, etc.) in the vicinity of the assistant device (or frame). For example, audio files may be transmitted from the other computing device to the assistant device and rendered by the speaker(s) (e.g., music may be “streamed” from a user's mobile phone or tablet device, transmitted to the wireless communication transceiver, and played by the speaker(s)), [0020]). Other features may include, for example, an internal memory, [0015]).
Wehrlen and Thompson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of recreational support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the communication and assistance features of Thompson in order to enhance their round of golf as desired, Thompson, [0013].
the golfer communication unit including at least light and/or sound generator for
generating light or sound from pre-recorded audio files stored in the non-transitory storage medium storage whenever there is a request for generating light or sound sent from the central sever; Wehrlen teaches, (Golf cart movements on a golf course are managed by defining limited access areas with associated golf cart movement restrictions [ ]. Limited access area violations are managed by restricting movement of the golfcart to prevent or minimize the violations, or issuing visual and/or audible alerts to a golfer or to course personnel, [0018]),
sending, by the central sever, a request for generating light or sound to the golf
cart monitoring module at least when the corresponding operating golf cart moves slower than the predetermined moving schedule for generating signal light or reminder sound via light and/or sound generator, wherein the reminder sound is pre-recorded in an audio file stored in the non-transitory storage medium of the golf cart monitoring module; Wehrlen does not teach, Stephens teaches, the computing device wirelessly actuates a visual signal to the golfer group by a signal light on the golf course when the elapsed time for completion of the number of segments by the user golfer group is greater than the total assigned time for the number of segments completed, [Abstract]).
Wehrlen and Stephens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the pace of play features of Stephens in order to help golf course management better control player flow and speed of play, Stephens, [0013].
sending, by caddie terminal devices which are configured to access and transceive data with the central sever, at least the confirmation information of the golf cart start operation, the confirmation information of the golf cart stop operation, Wehrlen does not teach, Mizumura teaches, flexible mobile communication data system by combining the coordinate detecting means and the transmitting means transmitting coordinate data of a mobile terminal, the receiving means of a center device, and a reporting means reporting the received data to the user of the mobile terminal, [Abstract]),
Wehrlen and Mizumura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of recreational support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the mobile data and communication features of Mizumura in order to provide such a convenient and versatile mobile communication data system, [0003].
and the additional services information, the foods ordering information, or the same information to the central sever; Wehrlen does not teach, Thompson teaches, (while playing a round of golf, participants may use various devices to determine/measure the distances (e.g., from their current location to a green), play audio files (e.g., music or golfing tips), keep score and/or play various types of games against other golfers, order refreshments, call for assistance (e.g., if their cart breaks down), etc., Thompson, [0012]).
Wehrlen and Thompson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of recreational support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the communication and assistance features of Thompson in order to enhance their round of golf as desired, Thompson, [0013],
and
receiving, by the golf course management terminal devices which are configured
to assess and transceive data with the central sever, at least the golf cart location data of the operating golf carts which are in the status of using for carrying the golfers, and utilizing the operating golf cart locations to draw a map which includes at least the operating golf carts for displaying to the marshal, Wehrlen teaches, (a limited access controller installed on a golf cart communicates with a GPS receiver and a limited access area map to analyze golf cart GPS or dead reckoning position and velocity information and impose restrictions on golf cart movement if a limited access area is violated, [ ] A limited access configuration module associated with the base station provides a graphical user interface for defining limited access areas and associated movement restrictions and for deploying selected limited access areas for activation on one or more golf carts through a wireless network. Limited access areas are selectively activated based on time of day and course conditions. The base station also displays golf cart position and status information and permits direct application of golf cart movement restrictions to one or more golf carts through the wireless network, [0010], a golf cart's position is determined with a GPS receiver and compared with a limited access area map to determine if a limited access area has been entered or a violation is likely, [0018]),
wherein, the operating golf carts displayed on the map will be assigned the first,
second, or third colors due to the corresponding actual moving status of each golf cart to the predetermined moving schedule of the golf cart,
operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a first color if the corresponding golf cart moves faster than the predetermined moving schedule,
operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a second color if the
corresponding golf cart moves as appropriate as the predetermined moving schedule,
operating golf cart displayed on the map is assigned to a third color if the
corresponding golf cart moves slower than the predetermined moving schedule. Wehrlen teaches, (Referring now to FIG. 4, a graphical user interface is depicted as an example of the status presentation available from status module 64. Each active golf cart is identified by a cart number with position, playing pace, playing status, battery charge and fault information displayed in a tabular format. More specific information about a selected golf cart is displayed automatically if a critical situation arises or by selection of the golf cart identifier. For instance, golf cart 21 has a pop-up window that displays a critical battery status. If a golf cart violates a limited access area, the violation is highlighted by a different color, such as yellow or red, and in the case of critical violations, such as violation of a green or a selection of an emergency override by the driver, the golf cart is identified with a pop-up window. The golf course map is presented at the base station or a display in a marshal's cart to provide an intuitive and easy to understand presentation that allows a marshal or other golf course management to quickly assess the status of all golf carts in play, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 14, The method according to claim 13, wherein when the golf cart is determined as moving slower than the predetermined moving schedule, the golf cart monitoring module will generate a warning with a signal light for reminding the golfers regarding to a violation beyond the scheduled time, Wehrlen does not teach, Stephens teaches, (the computing device compares an elapsed time for completion of a number of segments with the total assigned time for the number of segments completed. The computing device wirelessly actuates a visual signal to the golfer group from a signal light of the spaced apart signal lights on the golf course when the elapsed time for completion of the number of segments by the user golfer group is greater than the total assigned time for the number of segments completed. The actuated signal light is a warning to the proximate golfer group that they are playing too slowly, [0005]), if the golfer continues to violate then the golf cart monitoring module will generate a warning with an audio for reminding the golfers regarding to the continuing violation, (groups that are found to be slow due to their own pace of play are pushed by the system signals to make up for lost time and close the gap with the group ahead. In other words, time par for the group over successive several holes may be compressed to encourage a faster “catch-up” pace, [0033]), if the golfers ignore one or several warnings with the signal light or the audio, and continue to violate, violation report will be created and sent to the golf course management terminal devices. (For example, Jones' group has been warned and prompted by the signal light to increase the pace of play to the target pace, and hopefully close the gap with the group ahead as they proceed through subsequent holes. Course management may decide how they wish to enforce signal warnings. Depending on the circumstances, like the density of play, or the severity of the hold up, or the number of warnings involved with the same group, management may tailor their response. For example, on a light play day they may take no action. Or, when play is heavy, they may choose to become more actively involved and direct an At-Fault group to skip a hole, be penalized a stroke, have their name posted in the clubhouse or website, letter sent, golfing privileges suspended, not allowed to book future weekend morning tee times or similar action taken, [0080]).
Wehrlen and Stephens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the pace of play features of Stephens in order to help golf course management maximize throughput and revenue, Stephens, [0083].
Regarding claim 15, The method according to claim 13, wherein the golf cart monitoring module is configured to allow the golf course management terminal devices capable to communicate to the golf cart monitoring module, directly or via the central sever, Wehrlen teaches, (limited access controller 12 interfaces with the driver of golf cart 10 and with golf course management through a driver interface unit 34, a driver display 38 and a communication module 36.Driver interface unit 34 presents limited access information to a driver of golf cart 10 visually through display 38 and audibly through speaker 40. Driver inputs in response to limited access information is provided through an input interface 42, such as a touch screen or buttons associated with display 38,and through an emergency override 44 that allows a driver to override restrictions on movement of golfcart 10 imposed by limited access controller 12. Communications module 36 communicates with a base station to allow centralized tracking of golf cart movement and status, updates to limited access map 16, and direct override from the base station of driver inputs, [0023], and FIGs 1 and 2.)
Regarding claim 16, The method according to claim 13, wherein the status of the golf holes capable to determine based on the locations of the operating golf carts on the map, Wehrlen teaches FIG. 4, and the golf course map is presented at the base station or a display in a marshal's cart to provide an intuitive and easy to understand presentation that allows a marshal or other golf course management to quickly assess the status of all golf carts in play, [0028]), if a golf hole is without a presence of any operating golf cart being at the location of said golf hole then the golf hole is considered as an available golf hole, if a golf hole is with a presence of an operating golf cart being at the location of said golf hole then the golf hole is considered as a busy golf hole, wherein an estimated time duration for each busy golf hole becomes an available golf hole and each available golf hole becomes a busy golf hole are capable to determine based on the predetermined moving schedule of the operating golf cart being at the location of said golf hole or be going to move to the location of said golf hole, Wehrlen does not teach, Stephens teaches, (The pace is determined by management to be optimum for player enjoyment and course economics. Using integrated technologies, such as GPS and the Internet, the invention tracks golfers and makes intelligent decisions about whether a golfer group is playing at the speed it should be playing. If not, then it quickly, clearly and directly signals them to do so, [0015]), based on the status of golf holes, the assignment of the golf hole for new players on the golf course is capable to perform via the golf course management terminal devices. Wehrlen does not teach, Stephens teaches, (Applications 104 for desktop, tablet or smartphone are used by course management (starter, marshal, pro shop) to set and change system parameters, track all group movements, note anomalies and problem spots, and monitor at fault alerts in case a marshal's presence and intervention becomes necessary, [0020]. Course management may decide how they wish to enforce signal warnings. Depending on the circumstances, like the density of play, or the severity of the hold up, or the number of warnings involved with the same group, management may tailor their response. For example, on a light play day they may take no action. Or, when play is heavy, they may choose to become more actively involved and direct an At-Fault group to skip a hole, [0080]),
Wehrlen and Stephens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the pace of play features of Stephens in order to help golf course management maximize throughput and revenue, Stephens, [0083].
Regarding claim 20, the method according to claim 13, wherein the method further including accessing, by user terminal devices, to the central sever for booking a game, seeing information related to the golf course, or the same information, Wehrlen does not teach, Thompson teaches, (the present invention relates in general to computing systems, and more particularly, to various embodiments for providing recreational assistance during various activities, such as playing golf, [0002], while playing a round of golf, participants may use various devices to determine/measure distances (e.g., from their current location to a green), play audio files (e.g., music or golfing tips), keep score and/or play various types of games against other golfers, order refreshments, call for assistance (e.g., if their cart breaks down), etc., [0003], and/or play various types of games against other golfers, [0012]).
Wehrlen and Thompson are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the communication and assistance features of Thompson in order to enhance their round of golf as desired, Thompson, [0013].
Regarding claim 21, The method according to claim 13, wherein the central sever further configured to score the golfers by comparing the moving time of the corresponding golf cart to the predetermined moving schedule, and plus the accumulative scores for golfers who have the corresponding golf carts moving faster than the predetermined moving schedule. Wehrlen does not teach, Stephens teaches, (an 18-hole course using the invention may be divided into segments. The segments may represent ball-landing/striking areas. For example, on a par 4 hole, there may be three segments, such as: tee complex 301; drive landing and fairway approach shot hitting area 302; and green complex 303. Each segment is outlined by the dotted lines representing geo-fenced boundaries for that segment. A time par is assigned to each segment. The sum of the time pars foreach segment equals the time par for the hole, [0022], and most recent pace of play may be calculated, for example, by determining the group's progress over the most recent several holes (e.g. current segment(s) on the current hole+all segments of, for example, the last 1 to 3 full holes) versus the cumulative time par for all those same segments, [0054]).
Wehrlen and Stephens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the playing time management techniques of Stephens to provide optimum player enjoyment and course economics, [0015]).
Claims 1-4 and 8-9 are rejected for reasons similar to those provided for Claims 13-16 and 20-21. In these claims, the addition of the system of claim 1, comprising a server and supporting modules, units, and storage does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 based on the referenced prior art. Wehrlen teaches a golf course management server with modules with access to a local area network or the Internet, [0024].
Claims 17, 18, 5, and 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being taught by Wehrlen,
(US 20070233339 A1), hereafter Wehrlen, “Method and System for Golf Cart Control,” in view of Mizumura, (JPH09113596A), hereafter Mizumura, “Mobile Data Communication System,” in further view of Thompson, (US 20210129004 A1), hereafter Thompson, “Systems and Methods for Providing Recreational Assistance,” in further view of Stephens, (US 20180093158 A1), hereafter Stephens, “Golf Course Pace of Play Management System and Method.” in further view of Davis, (US 10083493 B1), hereafter Davis, “Vehicle Fleet Management,” in further view of Bain, (US 20070016438 A1), hereafter Bain, “Method and System for Allocating Revenue Derived from the Use of GPS Golf Carts.”
Regarding claim 17, The method according to claim 13, wherein said map further displaying non-operating golf carts which is assigned to a fourth color, corresponding to the golf carts in the status that not assign for players to use, Wehrlen does not teach, Davis teaches, (FIG. 11 is an example of status and location map for a vehicle fleet. The location of each vehicle is graphically shown on the map, the status is shown by a respective color (i.e., off-duty vehicles are shown in Red). When a vehicle icon is pointed to, such as with a cursor controlled by a mouse, a pop-window identifies the vehicle, driver and status as shown. The data is real-time or near real-time. [12:32-39]).
Wehrlen and Davis are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf support management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the vehicle location techniques of Davis to enable a fleet manager to quickly and easily locate multiple types of information for each of its fleet vehicles, such as its location, Davis, [2:5-7]).
based on the non-operating golf cart information, the assignment of the golf cart for new players on the golf course is capable to perform via the golf course management terminal devices, Wehrlen does not teach, Bain teaches, (The course management portion of golf course information system includes a base station computer unit, receiver/transmitter unit and display monitor in the clubhouse, typically in the pro shop. The base station setup gives the course administrator better insight into daily operations and revenues through identification and monitoring play of every cart on the course in real-time, [0008]), it is the practice of golf courses to assign a cart to a golfer or pair of golfers desiring to play a round of golf on the course, for a preset cart rental fee in addition to the greens fee and perhaps other fees for the round, [0028].
Wehrlen and Bain are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management and support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the revenue and cart assignment practices of Bain to enhance revenue enhance course revenues through advertising delivered to the cart monitors, [0008]).
Regarding claim 18, The method according to claim 17, wherein the first color is green, the second color is yellow, the third color is red, and the fourth color is grey. The determination of a specific set of colors for the graphics displayed on the course management terminal devices is a design choice with no benefit to the utility of the invention. Regardless, Wehrlen teaches that if a golf cart violates a limited access area, the violation is highlighted by a different color, such as yellow or red, [0028]. It would be a design choice to assign colors appropriate to information conveyed on the display and it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange parts of an invention, in this case choosing appropriate colors on the course map at the base station or on a marshal's cart to provide an intuitive and easy to understand presentation that allows a marshal or other golf course management to quickly assess the status of all golf carts in play, Wehrlen, [0028], (MPEP 2144.04 I, 2144.04 VI (C)).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected for reasons similar to those provided for Claims 17 and 18. In these claims, the addition of the system of claim 1, comprising a server and supporting modules, units, and storage does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 based on the referenced prior art. Wehrlen teaches a golf course management server with modules with access to a local area network or the Internet, [0024].
Claims 22, 23, 10, and 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being taught by
Wehrlen, (US 20070233339 A1), hereafter Wehrlen, “Method and System for Golf Cart Control,” in view of Mizumura, (JPH09113596A), hereafter Mizumura, “Mobile Data Communication System,” in further view of Thompson, (US 20210129004 A1), hereafter Thompson, “Systems and Methods for Providing Recreational Assistance,” in further view of Stephens, (US 20180093158 A1), hereafter Stephens, “Golf Course Pace of Play Management System and Method.” in view of Wade, (US 20110248678 A1), “Intelligent Battery Management System and Method.”
Regarding claim 22, The method according to claim 13, wherein the central sever utilizing the operating time history of the golf cart, when the planning time period is passed, a message will be sent automatically to the terminal device of the golf cart managing staff, for reminding a periodical maintenance schedule. Wehrlen does not teach, Wade teaches, (functionality to provide maintenance reminders for a device powered by batteries managed by the BMS. Such reminders may take the form of an onboard message to the operator, a message transmitted to a manager, or an entry in a data logon a server connected to the internet. The BMS may generate such maintenance reminders based on a predetermined maintenance plan, and a comparison with stored usage data. The communication of maintenance information to and from the powered device may occur via wireless, satellite, or local communication modes, [0022]).
Wehrlen and Wade are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management and support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the battery management systems of Wade as those would be
particularly useful in the management of fleets of electric vehicles or other mobile equipment, [0015].
Regarding claim 23, The method according to claim 13, wherein the central sever utilizing the operating time history and the operating status of the golf cart battery, for sending a message to the corresponding staff, suggesting for a maintenance or an error correction, or replacing a new golf cart battery. Wehrlen does not teach, Wade teaches, (there are provided a system and method for the automated collection and analysis of performance data of individual battery cells, connected in series, within battery packs. Such automated data collection and analysis functions, as well as other functions described below, may be particularly useful in the management of fleets of electric vehicles or other mobile equipment, [0015], and wherein the wireless communication equipment communicates the condition of the battery pack and the management of it to the remote user access, [claim 1], and functionality to provide maintenance reminders for a device powered by batteries managed by the BMS. Such reminders may take the form of an onboard message to the operator, a message transmitted to a manager, or an entry in a data log on a server connected to the internet. The BMS may generate such maintenance reminders based on a predetermined maintenance plan, and a comparison with stored usage data, [0022]).
Wehrlen and Wade are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of golf course management and support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the methods of golf cart control and course management of Wehrlen with the battery management system reminders of Wade to be in concert with a predetermined maintenance plan, [0022].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected for reasons similar to those provided for Claims 22 and 23. In these claims, the addition of the system of claim 1, comprising a server and supporting modules, units, and storage does not change the rational for the rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 based on the referenced prior art. Wehrlen teaches a golf course management server with modules with access to a local area network or the Internet, [0024].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as
set fort