DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/6/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-11, 13, and 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of Egilsson (20090036999).
The Applicant argues that Egilsson’s liner does not teach microchannels that work against gravity, and instead only discloses radial movement of droplets, and further that Aviles also fails to disclose microchannels and a capillary-driven against-gravity transport mechanism. A new interpretation of Egilsson has been set forth below with the microchannels being interpreted as the “network of pores, gaps and/or tunnels” in porous layer 62, wherein each microchannel is formed with soft hydrophilic material (74; [0031])) in such a way that, when the microchannel receives a liquid droplet, the microchannel is configured to exert a force on the liquid droplet so as to direct the liquid droplet against gravity to the liquid-retentive portion ([0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9-10, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Egilsson (20090036999).
With regards to claim 1 , Egilsson discloses a prosthetic liner (63) for a prosthetic limb (FIG 11) having an interior surface (70) forming an interior cavity (FIG 11), the prosthetic liner comprising: a liner body, the liner body formed in a shape resembling a shape of at least a portion of the interior surface of the prosthetic limb ([0002]), the liner body having: a top section for receiving an insertion of a body part of a user (see annotated figure below) and a bottom section opposite to the top section (see annotated figure below), wherein the liner body includes: a liquid-retentive portion (62) formed in the top section of the liner body (FIG 11), the liquid-retentive portion (62) configured to collect liquid (FIG 11; [00105]), the liquid-retentive portion formed using liquid retentive materials ([0028]); and a plurality of microchannels (network of pores, gaps and/or tunnels in porous layer 62) formed along an inner surface of the liner body (FIG 11, [0064]), the plurality of microchannels connected at one end to the liquid-retentive portion (FIG 11), wherein each microchannel is formed with soft hydrophilic material (74; [0031])) in such a way that, when the microchannel receives a liquid droplet, the microchannel is configured to exert a force on the liquid droplet so as to direct the liquid droplet against gravity to the liquid- retentive portion ([0064]).
With regards to claim 5, Egilsson discloses a prosthetic liner for a prosthetic limb, the prosthetic limb having an interior surface forming an interior cavity (FIG 11), the prosthetic liner comprising: a liner body, the liner body formed in a shape resembling a shape of at least a portion of the interior surface of the prosthetic limb (FIG 11), the liner body configured to be housed in the interior cavity of the prosthetic limb ([0004]), the liner body having a top section for receiving an insertion of a body part of a user (see annotated figure below) and a bottom section opposite to the top section (see annotated figure below), wherein the liner body includes: a liquid-retentive portion (62) formed in the top section of the liner body (FIG 11), the liquid-retentive portion configured to collect liquid (FIG 11; [0064]), the liquid retentive portion formed using liquid retentive materials (74, [0113]); an inner surface (66) formed between the top section and bottom section, the inner surface of the liner body for contacting with at least a portion of the body part of the user ([00105]), the inner surface of the liner body including: a plurality of microchannels (network of pores, gaps and/or tunnels in porous layer 62; [0064]) formed along the inner surface (66) of the liner body (FIG 11), the plurality of microchannels connected at one end to the liquid-retentive portion ([00105]), wherein each microchannel is formed with soft hydrophilic material (74, [0031], [0113]) in such a way that, when the microchannel receives a liquid droplet, the microchannel is configured to exert a force on the liquid droplet so as to direct the liquid droplet against gravity to the liquid-retentive portion ([0064]); and an outer surface (64) opposite to the inner surface of the liner body (FIG 11), the outer surface of the liner body facing the interior surface of the prosthetic limb and provided in the interior cavity of the prosthetic limb ([0004]).
With regards to claim 9, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 5, wherein at least a portion of the bottom section of the liner body includes a second liquid-retentive portion (FIG 11, see annotated figure below).
With regards to claim 10, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 9, wherein the second liquid-retentive portion is formed using liquid absorbent or retentive materials ([0028]).
With regards to claim 13, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 5, wherein the outer surface (64) of the liner body includes: a plurality of second microchannels ([0064]) formed along the outer surface (64) of the liner body ([00105]), the plurality of second microchannels connected at one end to the liquid-retentive portion (FIG 11), wherein each of the plurality of second microchannels is formed with soft hydrophilic material (74, [0113]) in such a way that, when the second microchannel receives a liquid droplet, the second microchannel is configured to exert a force on the liquid droplet so as to direct the liquid droplet against gravity to the liquid-retentive portion ([0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egilsson (20090036999).
With regards to claim 6, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 5, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of microchannels has a width of not more than 0.2 mm. There is no evidence of record that establishes that an angle ranging from 10 to 15 degrees would result in a difference in the function of Egilsson’s prosthetic liner. A person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying Egilsson’s prosthetic liner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the device would function as intended. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the cohesiveness “may” be within the claimed range (specification pg 7), and therefore there appears to be no criticality places on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prosthetic liner of Egilsson to have a width of not more than 0.2 mm as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
With regards to claim 14, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of second microchannels has a width of not more than 0.2 mm. There is no evidence of record that establishes that an angle ranging from 10 to 15 degrees would result in a difference in the function of Egilsson’s prosthetic liner. A person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying Egilsson’s prosthetic liner, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the device would function as intended. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, indicating that the cohesiveness “may” be within the claimed range (specification pg 7, and therefore there appears to be no criticality places on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prosthetic liner of Egilsson to have a width of not more than 0.2 mm as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 3, 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egilsson (20090036999) as applied to claims 1, 5, 9 above, and further in view of Aviles (20190000691).
With regards to claim 3, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the liquid-retentive portion includes super absorbent polymers.
Aviles also discloses an absorbent article (10) comprising a liquid retentive portion (30). Aviles teaches the liquid-retentive portion (30) includes super absorbent polymers ([0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Egilsson’s liquid-retentive portion to include super absorbent polymers, as taught by Aviles, in order to provide a liquid retentive portion that is compressible, conformable, non-irritating to the wearer's skin, and capable of absorbing and retaining liquids ([0110]).
With regards to claim 8, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 5, but fails to disclose wherein the liquid-retentive portion includes super absorbent polymers.
Aviles also discloses an absorbent article (10) comprising a liquid retentive portion (30). Aviles teaches the liquid-retentive portion (30) includes super absorbent polymers ([0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Egilsson’s liquid-retentive portion to include super absorbent polymers, as taught by Aviles, in order to provide a liquid retentive portion that is compressible, conformable, non-irritating to the wearer's skin, and capable of absorbing and retaining liquids ([0110]).
With regards to claim 11, Egilsson discloses the prosthetic liner according to claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the second liquid-retentive portion includes super absorbent polymers.
Aviles also discloses an absorbent article (10) comprising a second liquid retentive portion. Aviles teaches the second liquid-retentive portion includes super absorbent polymers ([0110]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Egilsson’s second liquid-retentive portion to include super absorbent polymers, as taught by Aviles, in order to provide a second liquid retentive portion that is compressible, conformable, non-irritating to the wearer's skin, and capable of absorbing and retaining liquids ([0110]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774