DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 3/25/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-5, 7, 14, 16 and 17 are amended, claim 15 is canceled, claim 18 is new, and claims 1-14 and 16-18 are currently pending.
Claim objections have been withdrawn based on the newly filed amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been fully considered and are persuasive, therefore claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirch et al. (US 20200314651 A1 and Pirch hereinafter), in view of Luscher et al. (US 20210377738 A1 and Luscher hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Pirch teaches an access control terminal (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0040; reader 110) configured to provide physical access to an access controlled area to a person or vehicle in possession of an ultra-wideband mobile communication device with access permission (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0028; user with UWB [ultra-wideband] device intended to enter a secured area based on user’s access permission), wherein the access control terminal (Figures 1 and 11) includes an ultra-wideband transceiver (Figures 1 and 11, Paragraph 0028; communication transmission or exchange between reader and key-device via a communication protocol such as UWB), the ultra-wideband transceiver comprising an electronic circuit (Figures 1 and 11, Paragraphs 0120 and 0122; circuit; hardware processor 1102) and a data store (Figure 11 and Paragraph 0122; mass storage 1116. Figure 2C and Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices), wherein the electronic circuit is configured to:
receive wirelessly from the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figures 2A-2D and Paragraph 0041; key-device) an ultra-wideband transmission (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0028; in a second transmission or exchange with the key-device via a communication protocol with increased accuracy and precision (e.g., UWB). Figure 7 and Paragraph 0091; receive a set of messages from the wireless key device using a UWB wireless connection);
determine from the ultra-wideband transmission a distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0049; to track the movement of key device A 230, the reader 210 is continually communicating with the key device A 230 to determine the distance. Figure 4 and Paragraph 0059; timing of the release of credentials and unlocking of the doorway may be determined by the data received through the ranging and localization performed through UWB. The intent may be altered by radii of distance from the reader), and device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices. Examiner asserts that when the reader 210 stores credentials for different key devices 240, the reader stores a form of device identification information to distinguish different key devices 240);
determine whether the distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver is within a defined zone boundary of the ultra-wideband transceiver (Paragraph 0026; identifying a physical location of a key device with UWB may be more accurate, and providing both range and direction to the reader. Several zones may be defined, such as different ranges of distance from the reader, to provide different contexts for understanding user intent. Figures 2A-2D and Paragraph 0049; To track the movement of key device A 230, the reader 210 is continually communicating with the key device A 230 to determine the distance. Figure 9 and Paragraphs 0106 and 0108; determine the key device is within a first range radius of a plurality of range radii using the second wireless connection, wherein the plurality of range radii extend from a wireless key device reader. The PACS may identify distance ranges from the reader. For example, the PACS may designate three ranges, the first is within a five foot radius of the reader, the second is within a five to ten foot radius of the reader, and the third is within a ten to fifteen foot radius of the reader); and
maintain in the data store the inventory list of ultra-wideband mobile communication devices, by storing in the inventory list the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device in response to the distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver being within the defined zone boundary (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraph 0045; key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0111; remove the validation token and credential from the cache when key device moves from a closer distance range to a further distance range, thus increasing the probability that the user is not intending to access the asset, and thus the stored information, such as the credential and validation token, are removed from the cache. Examiner asserts that only when the distance is within a range and getting closer to the assets, the stored information is saved in the reader), wherein the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device comprises the device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices. Examiner asserts that when the reader 210 stores credentials for different key devices 240, the reader stores a form of device identification information to distinguish different key devices 240) and the distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices. Key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device).
Pirch does not explicitly teach determine whether the distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device is within a defined zone boundary of the ultra-wideband transceiver prior to storing an entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device in an inventory list of ultra-wideband mobile communication devices. However, Pirch discloses an example machine 1100 upon which any one or more of the techniques (e.g., methodologies) discussed herein may be capable of executing instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that machine (Paragraph 0119). And further, in an analogous art, Luscher teaches determine whether the distance of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device is within a defined zone boundary of the ultra-wideband transceiver prior to storing an entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device in an inventory list of ultra-wideband mobile communication devices (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0046; the distance is used to determine whether the mobile device 2 is within the proximity range P. Paragraph 0047; if the mobile device 2 is within the proximity range P, the access control terminal generates one or more update messages 131 comprises access rights data for the respective mobile device 2. The update messages 131 are generated by the processor 14 using access rights data received from an access rights authority 4 via the network 3. In one embodiment, the access rights authority 4 generates the updated message 131 and transmits them to access control terminal 1, which stores them in the data store 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pirch and Luscher because it would prevent issues that arises of how and when to update the database of access rights in each access control terminal, in addition to limited memory storage of each access control device (Luscher, Paragraphs 0003 and 0004).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches not storing the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, in response to the distance, of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver not being within the defined zone boundary (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraph 0045; key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0111; remove the validation token and credential from the cache when key device moves from a closer distance range to a further distance range, thus increasing the probability that the user is not intending to access the asset, and thus the stored information, such as the credential and validation token, are removed from the cache).
In addition, Luscher also teaches not storing the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, in response to the distance not being within the defined zone boundary (Figure 3 and Paragraph 0046; the distance d is used to determine whether the mobile device 2 is within the proximity range P. If the mobile device 2 is not within the proximity range P, the access control terminal 1 reverts to step S1 and generates a new request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pirch and Luscher because it would prevent issues that arises of how and when to update the database of access rights in each access control terminal, in addition to limited memory storage of each access control device (Luscher, Paragraphs 0003 and 0004).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to determine whether the ultra-wideband mobile communication device has access permission, prior to storing the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Paragraph 0043; the reader may transmit the credential [of the key device] to the access control 225 for authorization. If the access control 225 determines that the key device is not authorized for entry to the doorway 205 associated with the reader 210, the credential is removed and the key device is not tracked), storing the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, in response to the ultra-wideband mobile communication device having access permission (Paragraph 0043; the reader 210 may transmit the credential to the access control 225 for authorization. If the access control 225 determines that the credential associated with a key device is authorized for entry to the doorway 205 associated with reader 210, access control 225 may provide a token to the reader 210 for that credential. The reader 210 may store each token with their respective credential).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to determine whether the ultra-wideband mobile communication device has access permission, establishing a secured communication session with the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Paragraph 0043; the reader 210 may transmit the credential to the access control 225 for authorization. If the access control 225 determines that the credential associated with a key device is authorized for entry to the doorway 205 associated with reader 210, access control 225 may provide a token to the reader 210 for that credential. The reader 210 may store each token with their respective credential. Examiner asserts that token may be used for secure communication session), in response to the ultra-wideband mobile communication device having access permission, and not establishing a secured communication session with the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, in response to the ultra-wideband mobile communication device not having access permission (Paragraph 0043; the reader may transmit the credential [of the key device] to the access control 225 for authorization. If the access control 225 determines that the key device is not authorized for entry to the doorway 205 associated with the reader 210, the credential is removed and the key device is not tracked).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to establishing a secured communication session with a defined maximum number of ultra-wideband mobile communication devices entered in the inventory list (Figures 2A-2D and Paragraph 0046; number of credentials [and/or key devices] at certain times), wherein priority for establishing a secured communication session is given to the ultra-wideband mobile communication devices reciprocal to the respective distance from the ultra-wideband transceiver (Figure 2D and Paragraphs 0046 and 0047; the reader 210 may continue tracking key device C 240 until it is out of range. Discarding credentials from the cache as soon as it is determined the credential is no longer needed, such as if the intent drops below a threshold value, based on confidence or intent for the person accessing the entry point. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0108; calculate a probability the user intends physically access the asset based on determining the wireless key device is within the second range radius. From the previous example, the key device has moved from a further distance range to a closer distance range, thus increasing the probability the user is moving toward the reader).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to perform an authentication protocol for establishing authenticity of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device prior to establishing the secured communication session with the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Paragraph 0043; the reader 210 may transmit the credential to the access control 225 for authorization. If the access control 225 determines that the credential associated with a key device is authorized for entry to the doorway 205 associated with reader 210, access control 225 may provide a token to the reader 210 for that credential. The reader 210 may store each token with their respective credential. Examiner asserts that token may be used for secure communication session).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to maintain the inventory list (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraph 0045; key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0111; remove the validation token and credential from the cache when key device moves from a closer distance range to a further distance range, thus increasing the probability that the user is not intending to access the asset, and thus the stored information, such as the credential and validation token, are removed from the cache. Examiner asserts that only when the distance is within a range and getting closer to the assets, the stored information is saved in the reader) by determining periodically for each of the ultra-wideband mobile communication devices the presence and distances from the ultra-wideband transceiver (Figure 2D and Paragraphs 0046 and 0047; the reader 210 may continue tracking key device C 240 until it is out of range. Discarding credentials from the cache as soon as it is determined the credential is no longer needed, such as if the intent drops below a threshold value, based on confidence or intent for the person accessing the entry point. Figure 1 and Paragraph 0049; to track the movement of key device A 230, the reader 210 is continually communicating with the key device A 230 to determine the distance).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 7, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to the inventory list (Figures 2C and 2D, Paragraph 0045; key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0111; remove the validation token and credential from the cache when key device moves from a closer distance range to a further distance range, thus increasing the probability that the user is not intending to access the asset, and thus the stored information, such as the credential and validation token, are removed from the cache. Examiner asserts that only when the distance is within a range and getting closer to the assets, the stored information is saved in the reader) by removing the entry of a particular ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the inventory list when the particular ultra-wideband mobile communication device is no longer present in a communication range of the ultra-wideband transceiver or the distance of the particular ultra-wideband mobile communication device from the ultra-wideband transceiver is not within the defined zone boundary (Figure 2D and Paragraphs 0046 and 0047; the reader 210 may continue tracking key device C 240 until it is out of range. Discarding credentials from the cache as soon as it is determined the credential is no longer needed, such as if the intent drops below a threshold value, based on confidence or intent for the person accessing the entry point).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to determine from the ultra-wideband transmission position information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 2C and Paragraph 0045; with UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection), and store the position information in the inventory list in the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 2C and Paragraph 0040; reader includes a cache 220 for storing credentials and other data received from key devices. Figure 2C and Paragraph 0045; In FIG. 2C, key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to: determine the position information periodically for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 2C and Paragraph 0045; key device A 230 and key device C 240 have moved closer to the reader 210 and UWB may be used for communication. With UWB, localization or ranging is possible. Location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection. Figure 1 and Paragraph 0049; to track the movement of key device A 230, the reader 210 is continually communicating with the key device A 230 to determine the distance); determine, from the position information, movement information for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 1 and Paragraph 0049; to track the movement of key device A 230, the reader 210 is continually communicating with the key device A 230 to determine the distance. Figure 2C and Paragraph 0045; location information for key device A 230 and key device C 240 is provided to reader 210. The location information may be used determine the intent of the person with each respective key device. The location information may be derived from UWB, such as by performing range detection); and store in the inventory list the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device depending on the movement information for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 2D and Paragraph 0046; key device A 230 and key device C 240 continue to move and the location information of their respective movement is provided to the reader 210 through the UWB communication. Key device C 240 moves away from the reader 210, and thus the determined intent of key device C 240 entering the doorway 205 is low. The reader 210 may continue tracking key device C 240 until it is out of range. The reader 210 may be battery conscious and hardware conscious to monitor the how power and processing is used. This may include discarding credentials from the cache as soon as it is determined the credential is no longer needed, such as if the intent drops below a threshold value. Figure 9 and Paragraph 0111; remove the validation token and credential from the cache when key device moves from a closer distance range to a further distance range, thus increasing the probability that the user is not intending to access the asset, and thus the stored information, such as the credential and validation token, are removed from the cache. Examiner asserts that only when the distance is within a range and getting closer to the assets, the stored information is saved in the reader).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Pirch teaches determine statistical information for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, the statistical information comprising at least a number of entries of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device in a defined zone around the ultra-wideband transceiver (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0081; determining the user intends to access the assets, include an operation to determine a set of location points of the key devices obtained through UWB. Calculate a probability the user will access the asset using the set of location points. The technique 500 may include an operation to determine the probability exceeds a predetermined threshold); store statistical information in the inventory list in the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0081; calculate a probability the user will access the asset using the set of location points. The technique 500 may include an operation to determine the probability exceeds a predetermined threshold. Paragraphs 0082 and 0083; probability exceed a predetermined threshold will provide access to the asset. Examiner asserts that the probability is stored); and store in the inventory list the entry for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device depending on the statistical information for the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0082 and 0083; when the probability exceeds a predetermined threshold, receive a validation indication from the access controller and permit access to the asset. Otherwise the credential is removed from cache. Examiner asserts that when credential is not removed from the cache, it is stored in the cache).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regrading claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regrading claim 1. Further, Pirch teaches an ultra-wideband transceiver (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0036 and 0040; reader 110. Figures 1 and 11, Paragraph 0028; communication transmission or exchange between reader and key-device via a communication protocol such as UWB) fixedly installed in a wall or ceiling of a room inside or adjacent to an access controlled area (Figures 2A-2D and Paragraphs 0015 and 0040; reader located on the wall adjacent to the locked door to the room), comprising an electronic circuit (Figures 1 and 11, Paragraphs 0120 and 0122; circuit; hardware processor 1102) and a data store (Figure 11 and Paragraph 0122; mass storage 1116. Figure 11 and Paragraph 0122; mass storage 1116. Figure 2C and Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices), wherein the electronic circuit is configured to execute the following steps:
providing access to the access controlled area for a person or a vehicle in possession of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device, provided the ultra-wideband mobile communication device has access permission (Paragraph 0047; key device A 230 continues to approach the doorway 205, thus the intent is high that key device A 230 will access the doorway 205. The reader 210 may release the token for key device A 230 to the access control 225. When access control 225 receives the token, access control 225 may transmit a command to the door lock 215 to unlock so that the person holding key device A 230 may enter doorway 205 with ease).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regrading claim 1. Further, Pirch teaches an ultra-wideband transceiver (Figures 1 and 11, Paragraphs 0028 and 0040; reader 110; communication transmission or exchange between reader and key-device via a communication protocol such as UWB), comprising an electronic circuit (Figures 1 and 11, Paragraphs 0120 and 0122; circuit; hardware processor 1102) and a data store (Figure 11 and Paragraph 0122; mass storage 1116. Figure 2C and Paragraphs 0040, 0045 and 0046; the reader 210 includes a cache 220 for storing credentials, locations, and other data received from the key devices), the ultra-wideband transceiver connected to an actuator configured to provide access through a barrier (Paragraph 0022; physical access control may include a range of systems and methods for governing access, for example by people, to secure areas. Physical access control may include identification of authorized users or devices (e.g., vehicles, drones) and actuation of a gate, door, or other facility used to secure an area), wherein the electronic circuit is configured to execute the following steps:
providing access through the barrier to the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Paragraph 0022; physical access control may include a range of systems and methods for governing access, for example by people, to secure areas. Physical access control may include identification of authorized users or devices (e.g., vehicles, drones) and actuation of a gate, door, or other facility used to secure an area), provided the ultra-wideband mobile communication device has access permission (Paragraph 0047; key device A 230 continues to approach the doorway 205, and thus the intent is high that key device A 230 will access the doorway 205. The reader 210 may release the token for key device A 230 to the access control 225. When access control 225 receives the token, access control 225 may transmit a command to the door lock 215 to unlock so that the person holding key device A 230 may enter doorway 205 with ease delay).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regrading claim 1. Further, Pirch teaches device identification information including one or more of: a persistent device identifier of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device or a communication address of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device (Paragraph 0022; physical access control may include identification of authorized devices (e.g. vehicles, drones). Paragraph 0037; the reader 110 may receive credentials and other identifying information from the key device).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirch in view of Luscher, as applied in claim 1 above, further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210014909 A1 and Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
The combination of Pirch and Luscher does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic circuit is configured to determine the device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device by determining a communication address of the ultra-wideband communication device in the ultra-wideband transmission. In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to determine the device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device by determining a communication address of the ultra-wideband communication device in the ultra-wideband transmission (Paragraph 0093; a record or profile may be created for associating each network ID with credentials of corresponding network devices and mobile device, the network devices associated with the network ID, such as MAC address or a serial number of a network device)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pirch, Luscher and Kim because it would allow user to control all of the network devices within the local area network (Kim, Paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Pirch and Luscher teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
The combination of Pirch and Luscher does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic circuit is configured to determine the device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device by determining in the ultra-wideband transmission a randomized unique identifier of the ultra-wideband communication device. In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the electronic circuit is configured to determine the device identification information of the ultra-wideband mobile communication device by determining in the ultra-wideband transmission a randomized unique identifier of the ultra-wideband communication device (Paragraph 0093; a record or profile may be created for associating each network ID with credentials of corresponding network devices and mobile device, the network devices associated with the network ID, such as MAC address or a serial number of a network device). Examiner asserts that a serial number of a network device may be a random and unique identifier of the device. Paragraph 0094; each of the first and second network IDs may include a unique number or alphanumeric string generated randomly). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pirch, Luscher and Kim because it would allow user to control all of the network devices within the local area network (Kim, Paragraph 0010).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Werner et al. (US 20200359170 A1) discloses identifying a second mobile device in a vicinity of a first mobile device by determining distance information between the mobile devices via ultra-wideband ranging, and display icon corresponding to the second mobile device based on the location of the second mobile device being within a spatial region.
Iwashita et al. (US 20190256047 A1) discloses determining legitimate communication has been performed on the basis of a measured distance from a ranging communication being within a threshold range, perform functions based on determination that the key is within threshold range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647