DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed as May 26, 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 19, 22, 23, 25, 26 have been amended, claims 4-18 have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-3, 19-23, and 25-26 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 8 of the remarks that the objection made on the specification should be withdrawn. Applicant’s response is persuasive; previous specification objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the of the remarks that the 112(b)-rejection made on Claim 1 shown be withdrawn. Applicant’s response is persuasive; previous 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on page 9-10 of the remarks that the 101-rejection made needs to be withdrawn. Applicant’s response is not persuasive, previous 101-rejections has been amended as the new limitation of wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing a rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise does not happen in result of something but is a function of comparing the detected accumulated dust amount. Also, the claim does not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a fan motor to perform steps that define the abstract idea of the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on the air volume calculated by the rotation speed of the fan motor, the dust collection efficiency of the filter, and the use time of the filter detected by the time measurement portion provided in the mask device. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Applicant argues on page 11-13 of the remarks that the 103-rejection made does not read on the limitations of the claim 1 “wherein the information on the filter remaining life is calculated based on a dust holding capacity and an accumulated dust amount of the filter,
wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on an air volume calculated by the rotation speed of the fan motor, a dust collection efficiency of the filter, and a use time of the filter, and wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise in the new amended claim 1. However, the applicant has amended the claims and the 103 rejection stated below addresses the new limitation of the claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) dependent from the independent claim have been considered but are not persuasive as addressed above.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 22, line 10, ”the fan motor” should read as “a fan motor”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22-23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims recite a system and method satisfying two of the statutory categories; therefore, the claims pass step 1 of the eligibility analysis. For step 2A, the claim(s) are directed to a method for controlling a mask device. The claims recite an abstract idea in the form of detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device, comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter, and providing replacement notification information of the filter based on a comparison value between the detected accumulated dust amount and the dust holding capacity of the filter.
This represents a mental processes because it can equivalently be done by a person simply observing the output of a signal on a user and the readings from the mask device, detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device, comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter are actions that a person could do purely in the mind. If a claim recites a limitation, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The claims recite a system and method satisfying two of the statutory categories; therefore, the claims pass step 1 of the eligibility analysis. For step 2A, the claim(s) are directed to a method for controlling a mask device. The claims recite an abstract idea in the form of detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device, comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter, and providing replacement notification information of the filter based on a comparison value between the detected accumulated dust amount and the dust holding capacity of the filter.
This represents a mental processes because it can equivalently be done by a person simply observing the output of a signal on a user and the readings from the mask device, detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device, comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter are actions that a person could do purely in the mind. If a claim recites a limitation, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Using Claim 22, as a representative example that is applicable to claims 23-26, the abstract idea is defined by the elements of:
A method for controlling a mask device, comprising:
detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device;
comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter;
and providing replacement notification information of the filter based on a comparison value between the detected accumulated dust amount and the dust holding capacity of the filter,
wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on an air volume calculated by a rotation speed of the fan motor, a dust collection efficiency of the filter, and a use time of the filter, and wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing a rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise.
The above bolded limitations recite a detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device and comparing the accumulated dust to holding capacity, that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. The process of detecting an accumulated dust amount and comparing the accumulated dust holding capacity and provide a replacement notification can be carried out in a person’s mind. This is further defining the abstract idea. Furthermore, this is a process known to be capable of being performed by people mentally, and not limited to be carried out via computer for automation. People (patients or doctor or caregivers) are capable of detecting, comparing, and then providing or replacement notification through observations of accumulated dust amount in a filter. This is further defining mental process in the form of observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. This is considered longstanding practice that is the focus of the (patent ineligible) claimed invention and is further defining the abstract idea. The mere nominal recitation of “filter” and “mask device”, does not take the claim out of the group of mental processes.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (2nd prong of eligibility test for step 2A ) because the additional elements of the claim amount to the use of “mask device “are field of use and/or extra solution activity these are merely being used as a tool to execute the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, “mask device” of high-level of generality shown in (US 9492690 B2; Col. 4 lines 5-17). which is used for extra solution data gathering. Additionally, the use of “filter” are field of use and/or extra solution activity these are merely being used as a tool to execute the abstract idea with high-level of generality shown in US 20180289988 A1; para. 0018, see MPEP 2106.05(f). “fan motor” which is routine and conditional using as shown in US 20130263640 A1 (para. 0057) and “time measurement portion” shown in US 20070272082 A1 (para. 0052). This is indicative of the fact that the claim has not integrated the abstract idea into a practical application and therefore the claim is found to be directed to the abstract idea identified by the examiner. These are all considered nothing more than a general link to a technological environment and generic computing devices to perform generic communicating functions such as storing data and instructions, transmitting and receiving data between computers. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea identified by the examiner.
Further, the fan motor or time measurement portion is not significantly more for the reasons set forth above concerning the mask device as a broad class. For step 2B, the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a fan motor to perform steps that define the abstract idea of the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on the air volume calculated by the rotation speed of the fan motor, the dust collection efficiency of the filter, and the use time of the filter detected by the time measurement portion provided in the mask device. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
For step 2B, the independent claim(s) Claim 22 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a computer to carry out the steps that define the abstract idea. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a computer without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea. The rationale set forth for the 2nd prong of the eligibility test above is also applicable to the entirety of the claims.
Likewise, the rationale set forth for the 2nd prong of the eligibility test above for claim 22 is also applicable to Claims 23, and 25-26 .
In regards to Claims 23, the applicant is reciting elements that further limit the claims to include herein the replacement notification information of the filter includes information on the filter remaining life calculated based on the dust holding capacity and the accumulated dust amount of the filter. This is further defining the abstract idea identified by the examiner. No new additional elements were introduced in these claims, therefore, the same rationale set forth for the 2nd prong of the eligibility test above for claim 22 can be applied to the following claims. Examiner further considers these claim limitations as pre-solution activity because it is collecting the reference data that is used to make the abstract determination and data gathering is indicative of not amounting to significantly more when considered as a whole. See MPEP 2106(g).
In regards to Claim 25, the claim recites a new additional element of “communication portion” as limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application because they are being recited at a high-level of generality as shown in US 20170182267 A1 (para. 0148) (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of communicating data between users) or US 20120118291 A1 (para. 0010; Examiner notes: that display/visual display elements are used for display and date entry) such that they amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, the processor is not significantly more for the reasons set forth above concerning the communication portion as a broad class. For step 2B, the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a communication portion to perform steps that define the abstract idea of transmits filter replacement notification information to at least one of a terminal and a mask storage device to display the filter replacement notification information in at least one of the terminal and the mask storage device. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
In regards to Claim 26, the claim recites a new additional element of “a filter replacement notification portion” which is routine and conditional using as shown in US 20060147003 A1 (para. 0037). Further, the filter replacement notification portion is not significantly more for the reasons set forth above concerning a filter replacement notification portion as a broad class. For step 2B, the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not amount to more than simply instructing one to practice the abstract idea by using a filter replacement notification portion to perform steps that define the abstract idea of providing replacement notification information of the filter. This does not render the claims as being eligible. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 19-23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mok (KR 20180092363 A), in view of Awiszus et al. (US 20190175411 A1), hereafter as Awiszus and You Yong (KR 20210128533 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Mok disclose a mask device (Fig. 1-7) comprising:
a mask cover (Fig. 1; at least the outside cover of 100) having an air suction opening (Fig 4. 101-103) and on which a filter (Fig. 6; 300) for filtering air introduced into the air suction opening is mounted Fig. 1-2);
a mask body (Fig. 1-2; 10) coupled to a rear side of the mask cover (Fig. 1-2) and having an air discharge opening (Fig. 2; 12) through which the air passing through the filter passes;
a fan module (Fig. 4; 200) composed of a fan and a fan motor (abstract), disposed between the mask body and the mask cover (Examiner notes: the fan and motor are inside 100) , and allowing the air passing through the filter to flow toward the air discharge opening (Figs. 1-4); and
a controller (Fig. 7; 111 or smartphone) configured to control the rotation speed of the fan motor (Examiner notes: this limitation is functional; claim 13; pg. 5 para. 7), predict information about the life of the filter, and provide information about the predicted life of the filter to a user (pg. 8, para. 3-5).
Mok does not disclose specifically wherein the information on the predicted life of the filter includes information on the filter remaining life wherein the information on the filter remaining life is calculated based on a dust holding capacity and an accumulated dust amount of the filter, wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on an air volume calculated by the rotation speed of the fan motor, a dust collection efficiency of the filter, and a use time of the filter, and wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise.
However, Awiszus teaches controller (PPEMS 6) that is able to predict information about the life of the filter, and provide information about the predicted life of the filter to a user, wherein the information on the predicted life of the filter includes information on the filter remaining life and information on the filter remaining time (Fig. 1, 14; 6; para. 0087-0091; Table 2) wherein the information on the filter remaining life is calculated based on the dust holding capacity and the accumulated dust amount of the filter (para. 0087; Awiszus) wherein the air volume is calculated based on the rotation speed of the fan motor (Fig. 1, 14; 6; para. 0087-0091; Table 2; Awiszus), wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on an air volume, a dust collection efficiency of the filter, and a use time of the filter (Fig. 1, 14; 6; para. 0087-0091; Table 2; Awiszus; Examiner notes: Awiszus teaches that t6 is used to detect usage statistics with many different parameters of the different components; para. 0087-0091).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Mok to predict information about the life of the filter, and provide information about the predicted life of the filter to a user, wherein the information on the predicted life of the filter includes information on the filter remaining life and information on the filter remaining time as taught by Awiszus for the purpose of determining when respirator is in need of maintenance or replacement and identify defects or anomalies (para. 0087-0090).
Modified Mok does not specifically wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise.
However, You Yong teaches wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise (Pg. 4 para. 6-10; Examiner notes: that the air volume can be at different stages and depending on what stage depends on dust concentration sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fan motor Modified Mok to include the wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise as taught by You Yong for the purpose of notifying the user of the replacement time of the mask at the different stages and able to detect how much more life it has (pg. 4 para. 10).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Mok discloses the mask device of claim 1, further comprising a filter replacement notification (alarms) portion for displaying information on the predicted life of the filter (pg. 8; para. 3-5; Mok).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Mok discloses the mask device of claim 1, further comprising a time measurement portion for measuring an operating time of the fan motor (Fig. 4; 200; Mok) and a use time of the filter (Fig. 6; 300; Mok) (6; para. 0087-0090; table 2; Awiszus).
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Mok discloses the mask device of claim 2, further comprising a communication portion (Fig. 1, 5; 115) for transmitting and receiving information on the life of the filter (pg. 8; para. 3-6; Mok),
wherein the controller (smartphone; Fig. 7) transmits information on the life of the filter (Fig. 6; 300; Mok) to at least one of a terminal (115) or
a mask storage device using the communication portion to display the information on the life of the filter in at least one of the terminal or the mask storage device (Fig. 7; Mok; pg.8; para. 4; claim 13) .
Regarding Claim 20, Modified Mok discloses the mask device of claim 1,
wherein the mask cover (Fig. 1, 3-4; 100) further includes a filter mounting portion defining a space in which the filter (Fig. 6; 300) is mounted and in which the air suction opening (Fig. 3; 101-103) is formed, and wherein a filter cover (Fig. 4; main body 130) having a plurality of air inlets for introducing outside air is mounted on the filter mounting portion (Fig. 3-4).
Regarding Claim 21, Modified Mok discloses the mask device of claim 20,
of wherein the mask body (Fig. 1-2; 10) further includes:
an air duct portion (11) through which the air forcedly flowing by the fan module (Fig. 4; 200) passes by connecting the air suction opening (Fig. 3; 101-103) and the air discharge opening; and an air outlet (105) for passing air discharged toward an external space (Fig. 1-4; 7; Mok).
Regarding Claim 22, Mok discloses a method for controlling a mask device, comprising:
and providing replacement notification information of the filter based on a comparison value between the detected accumulated dust amount and the dust holding capacity of the filter (Fig. 9; pg. 8 para. 3-6).
Mok does not specifically disclose detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device; comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter; wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on an air volume calculated by a rotation speed of the fan motor, a dust collection efficiency of the filter, and a use time of the filter.
However, Awiszus teaches detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device; comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter, wherein the accumulated dust amount is calculated based on the air volume calculated by the rotation speed of the fan motor, the dust collection efficiency of the filter, and the use time of the filter (Examiner notes: Awiszus teaches that t6 is used to detect usage statistics with many different parameters of the different components; para. 0087-0091; Fig. 1; 14; Table 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Mok to include the steps detecting an accumulated dust amount in a filter provided in the mask device by operating the mask device; comparing the detected accumulated dust amount with the dust holding capacity of the filter as taught by Awiszus for the purpose of determining when respirator is in need of maintenance or replacement and identify defects or anomalies (para. 0087-0090).
Modified Mok does not disclose specifically wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing a rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise.
However, You Yong teaches wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing a rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise(Pg. 4 para. 6-10; Examiner notes: that the air volume can be at different stages and depending on what stage depends on dust concentration sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fan motor Modified Mok to include the wherein the air volume represent changes in air volume generated by changing the rotation speed of the fan motor stepwise as taught by You Yong for the purpose of notifying the user of the replacement time of the mask (pg. 4 para. 10).
Regarding Claim 23, Modified Mok discloses the method controlling a mask device of claim 22, wherein the replacement notification information of the filter includes information on the filter remaining life calculated based on the dust holding capacity and the accumulated dust amount of the filter (Fig 1, 14; 6; para. 0078-0091; Table 2; Awiszus).
Regarding Claim 25, Modified Mok discloses the method controlling a mask device of claim 22,
wherein the mask further comprises a communication portion (Fig. 1, 5; 115) for transmitting and receiving replacement notification information of the filter (pg. 8; para. 3-6; Mok), and
wherein the method further comprises the communication portion (smartphone; Fig. 7) transmitting filter replacement notification information (Fig. 6; 300; Mok) to at least one of a terminal (115) or a mask storage device to display the filter replacement notification information in the at least one of the terminal or the mask storage device. (Fig. 7; Mok; pg.8; para. 4; claim 13).
Regarding Claim 26, Modified Mok discloses the method controlling a mask device of claim 22, wherein the mask further comprises a filter replacement notification portion for providing replacement notification information of the filter (Fig. 7; pg. 8 para. 3-7; Mok).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAAP ELLABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785