DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 8/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Claims 10-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration as detailed in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/7/2026.
Applicants amendments to the drawings have failed to overcome all of the drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/7/2026.
Applicants amendments to the abstract have failed to overcome all of the abstract objections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/7/2026. The abstract objection of “the container” in previous line 7, now line 5 of the abstract, was not overcome as detailed below.
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/7/2026.
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112 previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 4/7/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “item 150” has been used to designate both internal ribs in figure 9 and a lip in figure 15.
[AltContent: oval]
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 5 recites “the milk container opening”. Line 4 recites “a container opening”. It is unclear if the opening in line 4 and line 5 are intended to be the same. Examiner suggests replacing “the milk container opening” with “the container opening” to put the abstract in clearer form.
Line 5 (previous line 7 of the abstract) recites “In this way, the container”. Line 3-4 recites “a milk container”. Examiner suggests replacing “In this way, the container” in line 5 with “In this way, the milk container” to put the abstract in clearer form and clearly refer to the milk container of line 3-4.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renz (U.S. PG publication 20050154349).
In regard to claim 1,
Renz discloses a diaphragm (figure 14, item 3600) for a breast pump (figure 13, item 3200; Examiner notes “for a breast pump” is a functional limitation and the breast pump is not positively required by the claim), formed of a flexible membrane (paragraph [0109]), the diaphragm comprising:
a cavity (see cavity formed by item 3600 which is the opening that extends through item 3600 in figure 13 and 14 and forms an upper insert volume 3615 and a lower insert volume 3650) for receiving a nipple of a user (paragraph [0110]), said cavity having an open end (see figure 14 above: end which breast is received through; paragraph [0110]; see figure 13 and 14) and a closed end (see figure 14 above: end of cavity closed by valve 3683 which is closed as shown in figure 13 and 14) and said cavity being arranged to deform when a vacuum or an overpressure is applied (paragraph [0112]; Examiner notes “arranged to deform when a vacuum or an overpressure is applied” is a functional limitation. Due to the material/structure of the diaphragm which forms the cavity, the cavity is fully capable of the recited function);
a valve closure element (see figure 14 above) for forming part of a valve (see figure 14 above), the valve for controlling a flow path to a milk container (figure 14, item 3900; Examiner notes “for controlling a flow path to a milk container” is a functional limitation and the milk container is not positively required by the claim) through a first part of a container opening (see opening of item 3900 which item 3683 extends through as shown in figure 13; paragraph [0112]) of the milk container; and
a lid (figure 14, item 3681) for closing a second part of the container opening (see figure 13 wherein item 3681 closes a second part of the container opening as shown in figure 13).
In regard to claim 2,
Renz discloses the diaphragm of claim 1, wherein the valve closure element extends from a bottom edge of the open end (see figure 14 above).
In regard to claim 3,
Renz discloses the diaphragm of claim 1, wherein the valve closure element is hinged at an edge where the valve closure element connects to the lid (see figure 14 above; paragraph [0112]; Examiner notes the valve is a duckbill valve and the valve closure element is hinged at an edge where the valve closure element connects to the lid to enable the duckbill valve to open and close).
In regard to claim 4,
Renz discloses the diaphragm of claim 1, further comprising a positioning tab (figure 13, item 3625) extending from a top edge of the open end (see figure 13).
In regard to claim 5,
Renz discloses the diaphragm of claim 1, further comprising a connecting portion (figure 13, item 3625) for connecting the diaphragm to a breast shield and/or a vacuum cover of the breast pump (see figure 13; Examiner notes “for connecting the diaphragm to a breast shield and/or a vacuum cover of the breast pump” is a functional limitation. The connecting portion is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure. The breast shield and/or a vacuum cover of the breast pump are not positively required by the claim. The connecting portion could be connected to an appropriately sized breast shield for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renz (U.S. PG publication 20050154349) further in view of Silver (U.S. PG publication 20110071466).
In regard to claim 6,
Examiner notes an alternative interpretation of Renz in regard to the closed end is being used to reject claim 1 for the rejection of claim 6.
In regard to claim 1,
Renz discloses a diaphragm (figure 14, item 3600) for a breast pump (figure 13, item 3200; Examiner notes “for a breast pump” is a functional limitation and the breast pump is not positively required by the claim), formed of a flexible membrane (paragraph [0109]), the diaphragm comprising:
a cavity (see cavity formed by item 3600 which is the opening that extends through item 3600 in figure 13 and 14 and forms an upper insert volume 3615 and a lower insert volume 3650) for receiving a nipple of a user (paragraph [0110]), said cavity having an open end (see figure 14 above: end which breast is received through; paragraph [0110]; see figure 13 and 14) and a closed end (see figure 14 above) and said cavity being arranged to deform when a vacuum or an overpressure is applied (paragraph [0112]; Examiner notes “arranged to deform when a vacuum or an overpressure is applied” is a functional limitation. Due to the material/structure of the diaphragm which forms the cavity, the cavity is fully capable of the recited function);
a valve closure element (see figure 14 above) for forming part of a valve (see figure 14 above), the valve for controlling a flow path to a milk container (figure 14, item 3900; Examiner notes “for controlling a flow path to a milk container” is a functional limitation and the milk container is not positively required by the claim) through a first part of a container opening (see opening of item 3900 which item 3683 extends through as shown in figure 13; paragraph [0112]) of the milk container; and
a lid (figure 14, item 3681) for closing a second part of the container opening (see figure 13 wherein item 3681 closes a second part of the container opening as shown in figure 13).
In regard to claim 6,
Renz discloses diaphragm of claim 1 (see alternative rejection of claim 1 above).
Renz is silent as to wherein the cavity comprises a ridge which extends from a base of the cavity towards a center of the cavity.
Silver teaches wherein the cavity (figure 11A, item 92) comprises a ridge (figure 11A, item 95’; see figure 11A where item 95’ is attached to item 91’ and a valve 94 is included) which extends from a base of the cavity towards a center of the cavity (see figure 11A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cavity of Renz to include a ridge which extends from a base of the cavity towards a center of the cavity and to also incorporate a dividing wall 91’ and valve 94 into the cavity directly next to the closed end of Renz, as taught by Silver, for the purpose of being reminiscent of a tongue of a baby to better express milk (paragraph [0020] and [0085]-[0087] of Silver).
In regard to claim 7,
Renz in view of Silver teaches the diaphragm of claim 6, comprising a first side flow path to a first side of the ridge (see figure 11A of Silver) and a second side flow path to an opposite second side of the ridge (see figure 11A of Silver).
In regard to claim 8,
Renz in view of Silver teaches the diaphragm of claim 6, wherein the ridge extends from the open end to the closed end (see figure 11A of Silver and analysis of claim 6 above wherein when the ridge is incorporated into Renz, it would extend from the open end to the closed end of figure 14 of Renz labeled above in the alternative rejection of claim 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renz (U.S. PG publication 20050154349) further in view of Alvarez (U.S. PG publication 20180078687).
In regard to claim 9,
Renz discloses the diaphragm of claim 1.
Renz is silent as to wherein the flexible membrane has a non-uniform thickness with locally thinner regions to define hinge points.
Alvarez teaches wherein the flexible membrane (figure 3b, item 305) has a non-uniform thickness (see figure 3B; paragraph [0040]) with locally thinner regions (item 354) to define hinge points (paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Renz to include wherein the flexible membrane has a non-uniform thickness with locally thinner regions to define hinge points, as taught by Alvarez, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of milk expression (paragraph [0006], [0040], and [0044] of Alvarez).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the drawings have been amended to address the Examiner’s objections. As indicated above, item 150 still remains in figure 15. Item 150 in figure 15 and figure 9 appears to denote two different structures. Accordingly, the objection still remains as item 150 appears to indicate two different structures.
Applicant argues regarding the abstract that the abstract has been amended consistent with the Examiner’s comments in the Office Action. It is noted that “the container” in previous line 7 of the abstract (now line 5) was objected to. Applicant amended “the container opening” in previous line 6-7. As indicated above, Examiner suggests amending “the milk container opening” in line 5 (previous line 6-7) to be “the container opening” and amending “In this way, the container” in line 5 (previous line 7) to be “In this way, the milk container”.
In regard to claim 1, Applicant argues that Renz fails to disclose a closed end of the cavity. Applicant argues an opening formed by the valve is at the remote end. Applicant further argues that claim 1 claims a closed end, not a closable end. It is noted that the closed end is not claimed as being permanently closed or unable to open for example. The end of the cavity is closed by valve 3683 being closed as shown in figure 13 and 14 of Renz. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to depending directly or indirectly on claim 1. See response to arguments above in regard to claim 1. Claim 1 is not currently allowable and therefore the dependent claims are not allowable due to their dependence on claim 1 as argued by Applicant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783