DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant’s remarks submitted November 21, 2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0347394 A1 (hereinafter “Yasukawa”), alternatively in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0045103 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”), and in further view of either U.S. Patent No. 9,794,767 (hereinafter “Harada”) or U.S. Publication No. 2019/0320467 A1 (hereinafter “Freda”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6: Yasukawa teaches communication device comprising: a processor configured to autonomously determine a first resource to be used for transmission; a transmitter configured to transmit data to another communication device by using the first resource (see, e.g., [0005]-[0007], [0013]; a transmitting UE autonomously determines a resource used for transmitting to a receiving UE); and
a receiver configured to receive feedback information corresponding to the data by using a second resource that is autonomously or heteronomously determined by the another communication device (see, e.g., [0013]-[0016]; the receiving UE sends feedback on a determined resource).
To the extent the system taught by Yasukawa does not inherently teach or include the feature wherein the second resource is autonomously or heteronomously determined (see, e.g., resource configurations for feedback beginning at [0057], also [0116]), this feature is nevertheless taught by Kim (see, e.g., [0099]-[0105], [0126]; both transmitting and receiving UEs determine resources autonomously; note also overlapping teachings with respect to resource determination and feedback). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Kim, such as the resource determination functionality, within the system of Yasukawa, in order to reduce collisions and/or improve spectrum utilization.
Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim does not explicitly state transmission of a “preamble signal.” However, this feature is taught by Harada (see, e.g., col. 5:35 – 6:14; col. 13:25 – col. 14:32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Harada, such as the indication functionality, within the system of Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, in order to improve signal detection.
Alternatively to Harada, the said feature is taught by Freda (see, e.g., [0254]-[0257]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Freda, such as the indication functionality, within the system of Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, in order to improve signal detection.
The rationale set forth above regarding the device of claim 1 is applicable to the method of claim 6.
Regarding claim 2: Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, and further Harada or Freda, further teaches wherein the receiver assumes that the second resource is arranged in a period that starts from a time at which the first resource is arranged (see, e.g., Yasukawa [0059]-[0066], note also figures 3-7; and/or Kim [0101], [0162], [0172]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3: Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, and further Harada or Freda, further teaches wherein the processor determines the second resource to be used for reception of the feedback information corresponding to the data, based on a timing of a beam of the another communication device, the transmitter transmits information indicating the second resource to the another communication device, and the receiver receives the feedback information by using the second resource (see, e.g., Yasukawa [0065]; also Kim [0099]-[0105], [0126]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4: Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, and further Harada or Freda, further teaches wherein the control unit determines a resource group that includes candidates of the second resource to be used for reception of the feedback information corresponding to the data, the transmitter transmits, to the another communication device, information indicating the resource group, the another communication device autonomously determines the second resource from among the resource group, and the receiver receives the feedback information by using the second (see, e.g., Yasukawa [0057]-[0066], [0135], [0195]-[0196]; also Kim [0118], [0157]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 5: Yasukawa alternatively modified by Kim, and further Harada or Freda, further teaches wherein the transmitter retransmits the data to the another communication device by using a resource for retransmission of the data included in the feedback information in a case where the receiver receives the feedback information indicating a reception failure of the data (see, e.g., Yasukawa [0016], [0051]; also Kim [0099]-[0101]). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 5.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476