Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2023 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meijers et al. (US 2013/0214909 A1; hereinafter “Meijers”), in view of LaLonde et al. (US 7978062 B2; hereinafter “LaLonde”).
Regarding claim 1, Meijers teaches a method in a system (FIG. 2 system 200) including a network comprising at least two network nodes (FIG. 2 broadcast receivers 142 or mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138) and at least one personal device (FIG. 2 the wireless identity transmitter (WIT) 110) with short-range wireless communication capabilities ([0058] The term "broadcast message" is used herein to refer to short-range wireless broadcast signals broadcast by wireless identity transmitter), the method comprising:
transmitting, from a personal device (FIG. 2 the wireless identity transmitter 110), at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal ([0103] wireless identity transmitters 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114);
receiving, by at least one node of the at least two network nodes (FIG. 2 receivers 138 and/or 142), said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal ([0104] The short-range wireless signal 114 is received by proximate proximity broadcast receivers, such as stationary proximity broadcast receivers 142 and/or mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138);
transmitting, from said personal device (FIG. 2 WIT 110) and via said established short-range wireless communication link, a message to said connection node ([0104] The WIT 110 transmits a short-range wireless signal 114. The signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138, [0103] broadcast messages to the central server 120 via a plurality of mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138);
receiving, by said connection node (FIG. 2 receivers 138), said message, wherein said message contains data including at least one of status data, sensor data and event data associated with said personal device ([0104] The short-range wireless signal 114 is received by proximate proximity broadcast receivers, such as mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138, [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, battery status information);
transmitting, from the assigned connection node (FIG. 2 receivers 138) to the controller node (FIG. 2 the central server 120) for said personal device, data including said at least one of status data, sensor data and event data associated with said personal device ([0163] the proximity broadcast receiver 138 transmits the sighting message to a central server 120, such as via a cellular or other network and the Internet, [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, battery status information, [0103] WIT 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114 collected automatically by any proximity broadcast receiver);
enabling, by said personal device (FIG. 2 WIT 110), the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and a mobile communications device ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138); and
establishing a short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and a mobile communications device communicatively coupled to a cellular-type mobile communications network ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 may be an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138 that may be acting as proximity broadcast receivers (i.e., mobile proximity broadcast receivers), [0159] The receiver 138 includes a cellular network module 626 for processing communications corresponding to various cellular and similar long-range wireless networks (e.g., LTE-D, etc.))
However, Meijers does not teach assigning one node among the at least two network nodes to be controller node for said personal device; assigning a connection node for establishing a short-range wireless communication link between said connection node and said personal device; establishing, by said assigned connection node, a short-range wireless communication link with said personal device.
In an analogous art, LaLonde teaches assigning one node among the at least two network nodes to be controller node for said personal device (FIG. 1A; Col. 7, Lines 52-59; The LCN (Life Critical Network) 200 employs a central authority 16 to manage access to the network infrastructure. This involves cryptographically validating and authenticating content from a potential node prior to allowing access. The LCN 200 preferably supports the concept of classification of nodes on the network 200 into a specific hierarchy of access abilities, Col. 10, Lines 36-38; Each PPC (portable patient communicator) 14 is uniquely assigned to a particular patient 12A, preferably through a process generally referred to herein as "pairing");
assigning a connection node for establishing a short-range wireless communication link between said connection node and said personal device (Col. 10, Lines 36-41; Each PPC 14 is uniquely assigned to a particular patient 12A, the PPC 14 paired with a respective medical device(s) 13 serves to wirelessly communicate, Col. 36, Lines 62-63; PPC 800 can be paired/assigned to the patient and the PIMD (patient implantable medical device) at the time of implant),
establishing, by said assigned connection node, a short-range wireless communication link with said personal device (Col. 2, Lines 61-66; effecting communications between the PIMD and the first radio of the PPC in accordance with program instructions of the medical firmware. Data from the PIMD is received via the first radio, Col. 37, Lines 1-2; The PPC 800 can be used as a "smart wand" that communicates with the PIMD via telemetry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of enabling, by said personal device, the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138) is in response to and triggered by a timer duration period of a timer of said personal device is exceeded without said personal device receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link ([0418] the signaling transmitter waits for a period. In an embodiment, the period is a time period greater than a time period that wireless identity transmitters are known to sleep (e.g., a duration for a sleep cycle), [0421] If no input is received (i.e., determination block 3108="No"), the signaling transmitter determines whether the transmit mode is "on.").
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of enabling, by said personal device, the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device is followed by the step of ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138):
receiving, by said personal device and from a mobile communications device, a connection request in the form of a broadcast signal for establishing a short-range wireless communication link with the mobile communications device ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138, [0141] the configuration message includes an indicator that the wireless identity transmitter is available to receive configuration settings. Proximity broadcast receivers, transmit responses that request the list of configuration parameters, [0206] based on the installed application, the mobile device functions as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver. Application is waiting to receive such a broadcast message in response to initiating registration operations).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of enabling, by said personal device, the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138) is in response to and triggered by a timer duration period of a timer of at least one of said assigned connection node, said assigned controller node and a locally-installed or remote processing arrangement communicatively coupled to said controller node is exceeded without said assigned connection node receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link ([0418] the signaling transmitter waits for a period. In an embodiment, the period is a time period greater than a time period that wireless identity transmitters are known to sleep (e.g., a duration for a sleep cycle), [0421] If no input is received (i.e., determination block 3108="No"), the signaling transmitter determines whether the transmit mode is "on." If the transmit mode is not "on", the signaling transmitter generates a signal and broadcast the generated signal, [0434] the received script may include variables, codes, flags, or other indicators that instruct the proximity broadcast receiver to schedule the execution of the script to request a new script from the central server after a period of time has elapsed).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of enabling, by said personal device, of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device is in response to and triggered by ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages):
receiving, by said personal device and via said established short-range wireless communication link with said connection node assigned to said personal device, a message containing data adapted to instruct said personal device to enable a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device ([0104] The wireless identity transmitter 110 transmits a short-range wireless signal 114, such as a broadcast message, which is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138 [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said message and/or instruction data is transmitted from at least one of said controller node assigned to said personal device and a locally-installed or remote processing arrangement which is communicatively coupled to said controller node assigned to said personal device ([0454] the central server transmits the return message with the generated script to the proximity broadcast receiver. The return message includes scheduling instructions and other conditions for executing the script, [0434] the received script may include variables, codes, flags, or other indicators that instruct the proximity broadcast receiver to schedule the execution of the script to request a new script from the central server after a period of time has elapsed).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of establishing a short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and the mobile communications device is preceded by and in response to the following steps ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138):
transmitting, from said personal device, at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag indicating that said personal device allows the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device ([0104] The wireless identity transmitter 110 transmits a short-range wireless signal 114, such as a broadcast message, [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions); and
receiving, by a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network, said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing said flag ([0206] the user's mobile device receives the broadcast message, the mobile device functions as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver, waiting to receive a broadcast message, [0159] The receiver 138 includes a cellular network module 626 for processing communications corresponding to various cellular networks (e.g., LTE-D, etc.)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said mobile communications device transmits a connection request to said personal device ([0141] any responding devices, such as proximate proximity broadcast receivers, may transmit responses that request the list of configuration parameters) in response to receiving said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing said flag indicating that said personal device allows the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with the mobile communications device ([0206] the user's mobile device receives the broadcast message, the mobile device functions as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver, waiting to receive a broadcast message, [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said flag of said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal is adapted to indicate only to a mobile communications device which is associated with, or known to, the personal device that said personal device allows said establishing of a short-range wireless communication link ([0118] only an authorized user (i.e., someone who knows the access code, password, or other secret code associated with a particular wireless identity transmitter 110) can obtain information regarding a given wireless identity transmitter 110 even though data is being gathered continuously, [0253] the central server compares the rolling identifier with code calculated by an algorithm shared with the wireless identity transmitter. If the received identifier matches, the central server associates the matching identifier with the wireless identity transmitter), and
wherein said flag does not indicate to other mobile communications devices which are not associated with said personal device that they can establish a short-range wireless communication link with said personal device ([0118] only an authorized user can obtain information, [0253] the central server compares the rolling identifier. If the received identifier matches, the central server associates the matching identifier and any associated data. Otherwise, no match).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said step of transmitting at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag is preceded by the step of ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages):
determining, by said personal device, that said short-range wireless communication link is disconnected based on a preset timer duration period is exceeded without receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link ([0418] the signaling transmitter waits for a period. In an embodiment, the period is a time period greater than a time period that wireless identity transmitters are known to sleep (e.g., a duration for a sleep cycle), [0421] If no input is received (i.e., determination block 3108="No"), the signaling transmitter determines whether the transmit mode is "on." If the transmit mode is not "on", the signaling transmitter may be configured to not broadcast signals, the signaling transmitter is configured to not broadcast signals).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag is transmitted in response to said step of determining that said short-range wireless communication link is disconnected based on a preset timer duration period is exceeded without receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link ([0418] the signaling transmitter waits for a period. In an embodiment, the period is a time period greater than a time period that wireless identity transmitters are known to sleep (e.g., a duration for a sleep cycle), [0421] If no input is received (i.e., determination block 3108="No"), the signaling transmitter determines whether the transmit mode is "on." If the transmit mode is not "on", the signaling transmitter generates a signal and broadcast the generated signal).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches the following step after establishing of said short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and the mobile communications device ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138, [0421] If no input is received, the signaling transmitter determines whether the transmit mode is "on." If the transmit mode is not "on", the signaling transmitter generates a signal and broadcast the generated signal):
enabling, by said personal device, a second simultaneous short-range wireless communication link ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138, [0121] The central server 120 activates a webpage that presents a map of the search area and that is maintained in near-real time).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said second short-range wireless communication link is established in response to and following the further step of (Col. 24, Lines 41-42; In response to an alert condition, the PPC 14 first attempts to use the configured cellular/mobile data network interface):
determining, by said controller node, that the link condition of said short-range wireless communication link is poor based on at least one of low signal strength values and high packet loss rates over said short-range wireless communication link obtained by said connection node (Col. 31, Lines 13-14; determined based on the stability of signal strengths or other means, Col. 31, Lines 30-31; the display of the PPC 800 may display an indication to the patient about signal strength, Col. 7, Lines 57-59; The LCN 200 preferably supports the concept of classification of nodes on the network 200 into a specific hierarchy of access abilities, Col. 8, Lines 1-2; dynamically managed via the central authority 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag is transmitted in response to said step of determining (Col. 24, lines 18-21; the PPC 14 sets a unique identifier for the message to be delivered on all mediums. The same identifier is used on all of the messages triggered by the same event) that the link condition of said short-range wireless communication link is poor based on at least one of low signal strength values and high packet loss rates over said short-range wireless communication link obtained by said connection node (Col. 31, lines 11-14; It is desirable (or may be mandatory) that an active connection be established when both the PPC 800 and the PIMD 802 are not mobile, which may be determined based on the stability of signal strengths or other means).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said second short-range wireless communication link with the mobile communications device is established while said short-range wireless communication link with the connection node is still active and/or has not been actively disconnected (Col. 56, lines 41-45; PIMD communication can be adjusted to interleave an active cellular data call so that both can be active in different time slots. This would allow use of a common antenna multiplexed between the two radios when both are active, Col. 14, lines 25-28; With a constant or quasi-constant "live" connection with the remote server, it is possible to determine what event data for a given patient is presently stored on the server so that collection of duplicative data from the PPC 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PIMD communication as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches the following step preceding the step of transmitting at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag (Col. 24, lines 18-21; the PPC 14 sets a unique identifier for the message to be delivered on all mediums. The same identifier is used on all of the messages triggered by the same event):
transmitting, from said controller node via said connection node to said personal device, a message containing data instructing said personal device to enable the establishing of a simultaneous short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device (Col. 37, Lines 1-3;The PPC 800 can be used as a "smart wand" that communicates with the PIMD via telemetry and to the programmer user station via another RF link (e.g., Wi-Fi or Bluetooth), Col. 2, Lines 61-64; effecting communications between the PIMD and the first radio of the PPC, and effecting communications between the second radio of the PPC and the wireless network).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said personal device has an established short-range wireless communication link with the mobile communications device, further comprising the step of ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 may be an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138 that may be acting as proximity broadcast receivers, [0206] the user's mobile device receives the broadcast message, the mobile device functions as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver, waiting to receive a broadcast message):
receiving, by one of the at least two network nodes of said network, at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal from said personal device ([0103] WIT 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114 collected automatically by any proximity broadcast receiver, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138/stationary devices 142).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches determining, by the network, that the signal strength values of the at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal from said personal device is above a pre-determined signal strength threshold value or below a pre-determined packet loss threshold value (Col. 31, lines 11-14; It is desirable that an active connection be established when both the PPC 800 and the PIMD 802 are not mobile, which is determined based on the stability of signal strengths, Col. 47, lines 39-43; a dashboard application allows an authorized user to command the PPC 800 to effect a scan of the PPC's local environment for RF interference. Data acquired from this scan can be shown on an "interference" indicator of the dashboard),
establishing a new short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and said network by assigning a controller node and a connection node to said personal device (Col. 7, Lines 52-59; The LCN 200 employs a central authority 16 to manage access to the network infrastructure. This involves cryptographically validating and authenticating content from a potential node prior to allowing access. The LCN 200 preferably supports the concept of classification of nodes on the network 200 into a specific hierarchy of access abilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the LCN 200 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches determining, by said controller node, that the link condition of said short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and said connection node is above a pre-determined threshold value, again based on at least one of signal strength values and packet loss rates over said short-range wireless communication link obtained by said connection node (Col. 31, Lines 13-14; determined based on the stability of signal strengths or other means, Col. 31, Lines 30-31; the display of the PPC 800 may display an indication to the patient about signal strength, Col. 7, Lines 57-59; The LCN 200 preferably supports the concept of classification of nodes on the network 200 into a specific hierarchy of access abilities dynamically managed via the central authority 16); and
re-connecting said personal device to said network, wherein said re-connecting step is performed in response to and is preceded by said step of determining that the link condition is above a pre-determined threshold value (Col. 18, Lines 51-54; the PPC 14 includes a visual indicator prompting the patient to move to another location so that the PPC 14 can establish a connection, Col. 13, Lines 35-37; The PPC 14, prior to establishing communications with the medical device, is programmed to connect with the remote server and determine, Col. 13, Lines 56-57; The PPC 14 is programmed to establish communications in accordance with a pre-programmed schedule or in response to a remote command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PPC 14 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches disconnecting said short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and said mobile communications device (Col. 24, Lines 45-48; If the cellular/mobile medium or other data interface is not available, the PPC 14 attempts simpler form of data exchange, such as a store-and-forward exchange (e.g., SMS), Col. 47, Lines 50-58; The PPC 800 sends a command signal to the PIMD 802 to switch to a safe mode. During the diagnostic procedure, temporary settings are typically used. After completion, the PPC 800 transmits a command to cause the PIMD 802 to switch to a normal operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the PPC 14 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said short-range wireless communication link is disconnected in response to and following said establishing of a new short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and said network (Col. 24, Lines 41-48; the PPC 14 first attempts to use the configured cellular/mobile data network interface. If the cellular/mobile medium or other data interface is not available, the PPC 14 attempts simpler form of data exchange, such as a store-and-forward exchange (e.g., SMS), Col. 47, Lines 50-58; The PPC 800 sends a command signal to the PIMD 802 to switch to a safe mode. After completion, the PPC 800 transmits a command to cause the PIMD 802 to switch to a normal operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the PPC 14 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 22, Meijers teaches a personal device (FIG. 2 the wireless identity transmitter (WIT) 110) with short-range wireless communication capabilities ([0058] The term "broadcast message" is used herein to refer to short-range wireless broadcast signals broadcast by wireless identity transmitter) for use in a system (FIG. 2 system 200) including a local network comprising at least two network nodes (FIG. 2 broadcast receivers 142 or mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138),
wherein the connection node is responsible for establishing a short-range wireless communication link with their respective personal device ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138. Signal 114 is received by stationary receivers 142 and/or mobile receivers 138), and
each of said plurality of personal devices is configured to transmit short-range wireless broadcast signals while their respective established short-range wireless connection with their respectively assigned connection node is active ([0058] broadcast messages include identifiers, sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions. They are transmitted via a wireless communication protocol, such as Bluetooth, WiFi), [0103] WIT 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114 collected automatically by any proximity broadcast receiver within proximity, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is a periodic broadcast of a packet, which includes the wireless identity transmitter's identification code),
wherein said personal device (FIG. 2 WIT 110) is configured to:
transmit at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal ([0103] WIT 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114 collected automatically by any proximity broadcast receiver within proximity, [0104] WIT 110 transmits a short-range wireless signal 114, such as a broadcast message);
establish a first short-range wireless communication link with a connection node of the network ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138), and
transmit at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag indicating that the personal device allows the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network ([0206] the user's mobile device receives the broadcast message, the mobile device functions as a mobile proximity broadcast receiver, waiting to receive a broadcast message, [0058] broadcast messages include sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions).
However, Meijers does not teach said system is configured to assign a connection node among said at least two network nodes to said personal device.
In an analogous art, LaLonde teaches said system is configured to assign a connection node among said at least two network nodes to said personal device (Col. 10, Lines 36-41; Each PPC 14 is uniquely assigned to a particular patient 12A, the PPC 14 paired with a respective medical device(s) 13 serves to wirelessly communicate, Col. 36, Lines 62-63; PPC 800 can be paired/assigned to the patient and the PIMD at the time of implant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches a timer and configured to (Col. 47, line 61; a timer that is set to):
determine that said short-range wireless communication link with a connection node of the network is disconnected based on a preset timer duration period of the timer is exceeded without receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link (Col. 24, lines 30-34; The acknowledgement includes the unique identifier. When the PPC 14 receives the acknowledgement, it discontinues transmitting the urgent message. If the PPC 14 does not receive an acknowledgement, it continues to retry/transmit the urgent message at some regular interval, Col. 47, lines 61-64; As a fail-safe, a timer that is set to expire well after completion of a typical diagnostic procedure (e.g., 2-4 hours) is used to ensure that the PIMD 800 switches back to a normal operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PPC 14 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said personal device is further configured to transmit said at least one short-range wireless broadcast signal containing a flag in response to said step of determining that said short-range wireless communication link is disconnected based on a preset timer duration period is exceeded without receiving any messages over said short-range wireless communication link (Col. 24, lines 18-27; the PPC 14 sets a unique identifier for the message to be delivered on all mediums, The APM server 16A only acts on one of the messages--acting on more than one is redundant. A unique stamp may be used to verify this is the same message, albeit received from disparate mediums, Col. 47, lines 61-64; As a fail-safe, a timer that is set to expire well after completion of a typical diagnostic procedure (e.g., 2-4 hours) is used to ensure that the PIMD 800 switches back to a normal operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PPC 14 as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said personal device is configured to establish the short-range wireless communication link with the mobile communications device while said short-range wireless communication link with the connection node has not been actively disconnected by said personal device ([0084] clinician devices (including mobile devices) can receive alarms, trend data, parameter data directly from the patient monitoring devices, the clinician device can communicate directly with the patient monitoring device using Bluetooth, [0085] each patient device includes a network communications module that enables the patient device to communicate with the MNS over a network).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically Meijers teaches wherein said personal device is further configured to:
receive, from the assigned controller node via the established short-range wireless communication link with said connection node assigned to said personal device ([0035] An example SLA guarantee can be that alarms processed by the MNS 110 can be provided to clinician devices in the institutions 112, 114 within a specified period of time, [0085] each patient device includes a network communications module that enables the patient device to communicate with the MNS over a network), a message containing data instructing said personal device to allow for the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network ([0084] The clinician device can transmit an instruction input by the clinician to the patient monitoring device, [0032] patient devices 120 can output parameter data, trend data and/or alarms over the network 108 and then re-routed by the MNS 110 to mobile clinician devices 118); and
establish a second simultaneous short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network ([0050] Further embodiments of journaling and detecting clinician interactions with devices (including via RFID tags) are described. This information can be provided in real time, [0084] Clinician devices (including mobile devices) can receive alarms, trend data, parameter data from the patient monitoring devices).
Regarding claim 27, Meijers teaches a system (FIG. 2 system 200) including a local network comprising at least two network nodes (FIG. 2 broadcast receivers 142 or mobile proximity broadcast receivers 138) and at least one personal device (FIG. 2 the wireless identity transmitter (WIT) 110),
wherein the assigned connection node is responsible for establishing a short-range wireless communication link with their respective personal device ([0104] The short-range wireless signal 114 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138. The signal 114 is received by stationary receivers 142 and/or mobile receivers 138), and
each of the at least one personal device is configured to transmit short-range wireless broadcast signals while having an active short-range wireless connection with a connection node assigned to the personal device ([0058] broadcast messages include identifiers, sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions. They are transmitted via a wireless communication protocol, such as Bluetooth, WiFi), [0103] WIT 110 to transmit broadcast messages 114 collected automatically by any proximity broadcast receiver within proximity, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 is a periodic broadcast of a packet, which includes the wireless identity transmitter's identification code), said system is further configured to:
establish a short-range wireless communication link between a personal device and a connection node assigned to said personal device ([0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 may be an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138 that may be acting as proximity broadcast receivers (i.e., connection node);
transmit, from said controller node assigned to said personal device via said established short-range wireless communication link between said connection node and said personal device, a message containing data instructing said personal device to allow for the establishing of a short-range wireless communication link with a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network ([0058] broadcast messages include identifiers, sensor data, and/or commands or other instructions, [0120] the proximity broadcast receiver 138, 142 only complete communication handshaking or pairing with a device that broadcasts the target device ID, and ignore other pairing attempts, and modify the pairing process. Protecting against pairing with unauthorized devices), and
establish a second simultaneous short-range wireless communication link between said personal device and a mobile communications device connected to a cellular mobile communications network ([0071] WIT receives and enables wireless signals that enables to wireless identity transmitter to resume transmitting broadcast messages, [0104] the short-range wireless signal 114 from WIT 110 is an attempt to establish a wireless communication link with any of a plurality of mobile devices 138, [0121] The central server 120 activates a webpage that presents a map of the search area and that is maintained in near-real time).
However, Meijers does not teach said system is configured to assign a connection node among said at least two network nodes to each of the at least one personal device, obtain, by the connection node assigned to said personal device, signal strength values and/or packet loss rates over said short-range wireless communication link; determine, by the controller node assigned to said personal device, that a link condition of said short-range wireless communication link is poor based on at least one of the signal strength values and/or high packet loss rates obtained by the connection node; and in response to said determining that the link condition is.
In an analogous art, LaLonde teaches said system is configured to assign a connection node among said at least two network nodes to each of the at least one personal device (Col. 10, Lines 36-41; Each PPC 14 is uniquely assigned to a particular patient 12A, the PPC 14 paired with a respective medical device(s) 13 serves to wirelessly communicate, Col. 36, Lines 62-63; PPC 800 can be paired/assigned to the patient and the PIMD at the time of implant),
obtain, by the connection node assigned to said personal device, signal strength values and/or packet loss rates over said short-range wireless communication link (Col. 31, Lines 13-14; which may be determined based on the stability of signal strengths or other means, Col. 31, Lines 30-32; the display of the PPC 800 receives an indication to the patient about signal strength (e.g., signal strength bars));
determine, by the controller node assigned to said personal device, that a link condition of said short-range wireless communication link is poor based on at least one of the signal strength values and/or high packet loss rates obtained by the connection node (Col. 31, Lines 12-14; an active connection which is determined based on the stability of signal strengths, Col. 47, lines 39-43; a dashboard application allows an authorized user to command the PPC 800 to effect a scan of the PPC's local environment for RF interference. Data acquired from this scan can be shown on an "interference" indicator of the dashboard); and in response to said determining that the link condition is (Col. 24, Lines 41-48; In response to an alert condition, the PPC 14 first attempts to use the configured cellular/mobile data network interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Meijers and LaLonde, specifically LaLonde teaches wherein said assigned controller node is a different node from the assigned connection node (Col. 7, Lines 52-59; The LCN 200 employs a central authority 16 to manage access to the network infrastructure. It preferably supports the concept of classification of nodes on the network 200 into a specific hierarchy of access abilities), and said system is further configured to perform the following step before determining the link condition (Col. 31, lines 12-14; an active connection which is determined based on the stability of signal strengths, Col. 47, lines 39-43; a dashboard application allows a scan of the PPC's local environment for RF interference. Data acquired from this scan can be shown on an "interference" indicator of the dashboard):
transmit, or forward, by the assigned connection node, the obtained signal strength values and/or packet loss rates to the assigned controller node (Col. 9, lines 1-4; the source end represents a medical device that is used to communicate data and diagnostic information from other medical devices in a patient's environment, Col. 14, lines 16-17; selected blocks of data about the event may be selected for transfer to the PPC 14. Col. 14, lines 21-22; Histogram, event counter, alerts, and related data may also be transferred).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a PPC as taught by LaLonde within the parameter of Meijers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve data transmission efficiency and reliability with robust network (LaLonde Col. 22, lines 59-60).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2014/0370879 A1 (Redding et al.) discloses methods for provisioning devices associated with wireless identity transmitters.
US 2017/0280351 A1 (Skaaksrud) discloses technical solutions for enhanced communication management of wireless nodes are described.
US 2022/0132470 A1 (Wang et al.) discloses wireless communications, including transport block forwarding over different air interfaces.
Examiner interview