DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Ln. 7 recites “a user” which should read “the user” following after Ln. 2
Claim 3 accidentally ends with a double period
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “said exhalant is suctioned from the sealed volume through the exhaust port” in Ln. 8-9 which deems the claim indefinite. The active verbiage “is suctioned” leaves it indefinite whether the suction device, which would perform the suctioning, should be read as positively recited by the claim. For the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as reading “said exhalant is configured to be suctioned from the sealed volume through the exhaust port” in order to avoid needing to read the suction device as positively claimed.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “said nebulizer mask is further adapted to receive an aerosol into the nebulizer volume and expel the exhalant from the user into the sealed volume” in Ln. 4-6 which deems the claim indefinite. The claim recites functions of the nebulizer mask (i.e. receiving an aerosol and expelling the exhalant) without reciting any structure of the nebulizer mask to perform the claim functions. The claim is thus indefinite as it attempts to claim the structure of the nebulizer mask by what it does instead of what it is (see MPEP 2173.05(g)). The claim should be amended to recite an inlet of the nebulizer mask for receiving an aerosol and an outlet of the nebulizer mask for expelling the exhalant.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a structure configured to create a sealed volume when worn by a user” in claim 1.
The corresponding structure for the “structure” is best understood from the specification as at least: an outer shell mask, corresponding to outer shell 110 (Fig. 1), mask 210 (Figs. 2-3), or outer shell 410 (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moenning Jr. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0122705).
Regarding claim 1, Moenning Jr. discloses an apparatus (Figs. 4-5 #110; ¶0047-0054) comprising: a structure (Fig. 4 #112; ¶0053) configured to create a sealed volume when worn by a user (¶0038 – seal 20); and an exhaust port (Fig. 5 #22; ¶0052) disposed on the structure and sealably communicative through the structure with the sealed volume (Fig. 5) and further adapted to be connected to a suction device (¶¶0036, 0052; Fig. 5 – scavenger circuit 72), whereby, when worn by a user, the sealed volume collects and contains an exhalant from the user and said exhalant is configured to be suctioned from the sealed volume through the exhaust port (¶¶0036, 0052; Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brady et al. (U.S. Patent 12083273) in view of Moenning Jr. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0122705).
Regarding claim 1, Brady discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-3 #10; e.g. Col. 3-4) comprising: a structure (Fig. 1 #11; Col. 3) configured to create a volume when worn by a user (Fig. 1); and an exhaust port (Figs. 1-3 #21; Col. 3, Ln. 20-51) disposed on the structure and sealably communicative through the structure with the volume (Fig. 1) and further adapted to be connected to a suction device (Fig. 1 – vacuum tube; Col. 3, Ln. 20-39), whereby, when worn by a user, the volume collects and contains an exhalant from the user (Fig. 2 exhalant passes through two upper circular holes on existing mask when under vacuum) and said exhalant is configured to be suctioned from the sealed volume through the exhaust port (Fig. 1 – vacuum tube; Col. 3, Ln. 20-39). Note is also made to the embodiment of Fig. 12 of Brady.
Brady fails to disclose the structure creates a sealed volume when worn.
Moenning Jr. teaches a scavenging mask (Fig. 3 #10; ¶0033) which creates a sealed volume when worn (¶0034). Moenning Jr. teaches creating a sealed volume inside a scavenging mask as providing the benefit of ensuring all exhaled gases from a patient are drawn along a scavenger circuit to a vacuum pump instead of being able to escape into a room environment (¶¶0035-0036).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Brady the structure creates a sealed volume when worn in order to provide the benefit of ensuring all exhalant from the user is drawn by the suction device instead of being able to escape into a room environment in view of Moenning Jr.
Regarding claim 2, Brady teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a nebulizer mask (Figs. 1-3 “existing mask”) adapted to cover a nose and mouth of the user (Fig. 1) and defining a nebulizer volume, where the nebulizer volume is entirely contained within the sealed volume of the structure (Brady – Fig. 1 and Moenning Jr. – Fig. 3), and said nebulizer mask is further adapted to receive an aerosol into the nebulizer volume (Fig. 3 – from nebulizer) and expel the exhalant from the user into the sealed volume (Figs. 1-3 – exhalant passes through two upper circular holes on existing mask when under vacuum).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesti (U.S. Patent 4807617) in view of Moenning Jr. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0122705).
Regarding claim 3, Nesti discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-3 #14, 62; Col. 2-3) adapted for use in medical respiratory treatments that utilize a mask (Fig. 3 #12), the apparatus comprising: an outer shell (Fig. 3 #14; Col. 2) adaptable to enclose a mask (Figs. 1-4 #12) and configured to collect an exhalant from the mask (Fig. 4 via #54; Col. 3, Ln. 48-54); an inhalation tube (Fig. 3 #62; Col. 2, Ln. 65-68) disposed through the outer shell (Figs. 3-4) and configured to be sealably communicative with an inlet (Fig. 3 #26) of the mask (Col. 2, Ln. 65-68); an exhaust tube (Figs. 3-4 #18; Col. 2, Ln. 35-38) disposed through the outer shell and configured to be communicative with the exhalant from the mask and adapted to sealably connect to a suction device (Figs. 3-4 #18; Col. 2, Ln. 35-38 – vacuum hose leads to vacuum device). It is noted that the intention of the mask as a nebulizer mask is given limited patentable weight at least because a) the nebulizer mask is not positively recited by the claim, b) no nebulizer is positively recited, and c) there are no structures recited of the nebulizer mask which are only specific to a mask used for nebulizer treatment (see MPEP 2114).
Nesti fails to disclose at least one elastic strap attached to the outer shell and configured to keep the outer shell in place over the mask.
Moenning Jr. teaches a scavenging mask (Fig. 1 & 3 #10; ¶0033) including an elastic strap (Figs. 1 & 3 #34; ¶0037) attached to an outer shell (Fig. 1) and configured to keep the mask in place. Moenning Jr. teaches an elastic strap as providing the benefit of securing the mask to the patient’s head during use (¶0037).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Nesti at least one elastic strap attached to the outer shell and configured to keep the outer shell in place over the mask in order to provide the benefit of securing the apparatus to the patient’s head during use in view of Moenning Jr.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785