DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 63-68) in the reply filed on 10/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 63-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (US Patent No.: 10439455).
For claim 63, Nakano et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a body (reference numeral 23) defining a segment of an annular ring (see figures 1, 2); and a pole tooth (reference numeral 23b) projecting radially from the body (see figures 2-4); the pole tooth comprising a pair of tooth tips (reference numeral 62) which have an initial configuration in which they extend longitudinally with respect to the pole tooth (see figures 3, 4) and an assembled configuration in which they extend transversely to provide a flange at a pole tooth end (i.e. figure 5(b) shows an assembled configuration where tooth tips 62, 26 are extending transversely to the pole tooth 61), wherein each tooth tip (reference numeral 62) comprises a web (reference numeral 24i, figure 4) contiguous with the pole tooth and a head (reference numeral 24m, figure 4) at a distal end of the web (see figure 4), and wherein the pole tooth has a recess (reference numerals 24c, 24d, see figure 4) in a shoulder proximal to each tooth tip (see figure 4), the recess defining a seat (i.e. seat formed by recess 24c, 24d) to receiving and aligning a portion of the head (reference numeral 24m) when the tooth tip is in the assembled configuration (i.e. figure 5(b) shows head 24m being received in the recess 24c, 24d in the assembled configuration), and wherein the head comprises a first portion proximal to the web (i.e. first portion 24g in figure 5(a) being proximal to the web 24i) and a second portion distal to the web (i.e. second portion 24m in figure 5(a) being distal to the web), and wherein in the assembled configuration the first portion engages the seat (i.e. first portion 24g engages the seat as shown in figure 5(b)) and the second portion extends transversely beyond the pole tooth (i.e. second portion 24m extending transversely beyond pole tooth 61 in figure 5(b)).
For claim 64, Nakano et al. disclose the first portion of the head (i.e. first portion 24g, figures 5(a), 5(b)) and the seat (i.e. seat formed by recess 24c, 24d) having complementary profiles which resiliently engage (i.e. figure 5(b) shows the first portion 24g and the seat 24c, 24d being complementary engaged).
For claim 65, Nakano et al. disclose the complementary profiles comprising an undercut portion on the seat (i.e. recess 24c, 24d can be considered an undercut portion on the seat, see figures 5(a), 5(b)) and a latch defined in the head for engaging the undercut (i.e. portion 24g of the head can be considered a latch for engaging the undercut, see figures 5(a), 5(b)).
For claim 66, Nakano et al. disclose the head proximal to the web (i.e. web 24i, figure 5(a)) defining a notch or barb to latch the undercut of the seat (i.e. portions 24g, 24f of the head can be considered a notch or barb to latch the undercut 24c, 24d, see figures 5(a), 5(b)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 67 and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano et al. as applied to claim 63 above, and further in view of Naganawa et al. (US Patent No.: 8354769).
For claim 67, Nakano et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a bobbin carrying a coil. Naganawa et al. disclose a bobbin (reference numeral 5) carrying a coil (reference numeral 6, see figures 5, 6), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bobbin with a coil as disclosed by Naganawa et al. for the invention of Nakano et al. for predictably having a functional stator configuration for the device.
For claim 68, Nakano et al. in view of Naganawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the bobbin resiliently engaging a distal end of the tooth tip when the tip is in the assembled configuration. Naganawa et al. further disclose the bobbin (reference numeral 5, figures 5, 6) resiliently engaging a distal end of the tooth tip (reference numerals 41a, 41b, see figures 5, 6) when the tip is in the assembled configuration (i.e. figure 6 shows the tooth tip 41a, 41b in the assembled configuration and engaging the bobbin 5), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bobbin engaged with the tooth tip as disclosed by Naganawa et al. for the bobbin and tooth tip of Nakano et al. in view of Naganawa et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper functioning of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of stator/winding configurations: US 10243439 B2 (Li; Yue et al.), US 10243438 B2 (Li; Yue et al.), US 9209659 B2 (Mori; Akio et al.), US 6242835 B1 (Uemura; Keiichi et al.), US 20150008785 A1 (MORI; Akio et al.), US 20110175485 A1 (NAGANAWA; Takashi et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834