Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 25-26, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "fractions (iii-2) and (iii-4)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "fractions (iii-2) and (iii-4)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "fractions (iii-2) and (iii-4)" in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "fraction (i)" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "fraction” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 32-33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 32, insert “comprising,” after claim 31. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 33, insert “the” after 18, wherein. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0252761 to Funke et al. with evidence provided by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0261341 to Lettmann et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0029971 to Rittsteiger et al.
As to claims 18-19, Funke discloses a process for the manufacture of isophorone diamine (IPDA) comprising providing an IPDA feed stream comprising cis-IPDA and trans-IPDA and purifying the feed stream into fractions of impurities having lower boiling points that trans-IPDA, a fraction of impurities having lower boiling points than trans-IPDA, a fraction of impurities having higher boiling points than cis-IPDA and fractions containing different isomeric ratios of cis/trans IPDA (Abstract), including a fraction that contains a higher mass fraction of IPDA.
Funke teaches a feed stream, but does not expressly disclose the feed steam comprising IPNA or IPAA. However, it is well known in the art that feed streams of IPDA designed to be purified contain isophorone amino alcohol (Lettmann, 0004-0005) and further contains impurities of IPNA (Lettmann, 0004 and Rittsteiger (0015-0018). Accordingly, the position is taken that when Funke describes a feed stream of IPA, the feed stream contains the high boilers, low boilers, as well as IPNA and IPAA as taught in Lettmann and Rittsteiger.
As to claims 20-21, Funke discloses fractioning impurities having lower and higher boiling points than trans-IPDA in organic and aqueous fractions (steps ia and ib).
As to claims 22-26, Funke disclose a recycle process and multiple distillation steps using single columns or additional/multi columns (0034-0036). Accordingly, the position is taken that the skilled artisan would continue to distill to higher concentrations of impurities and higher concentrations of IPDA in order to arrive at the desired purity levels, desired isomeric ratios, and desired fraction contents.
As to claims 27-28, Funke discloses IPDA fractions having a cis/trans ratio of >73/27 and <66/34 (iii, iv in Absract).
As to claims 29 and 31, Funke in view of Rittsteiger teach feed streams containing 75-100% of IPDA, 0-15% of water, 0-6% of low boilers, and 0-6% of high boilers (See 0015-0016 in Rittsteiger).
As to claims 30 and 33-34, Funke discloses a feed stream is obtained converting IPN in the presence of NH3 and a hydrogenation catalyst in single steps or multiple steps in a single reactor (0004-0010).
As to claim 32, Funke discloses processes of converting IPDA to isophorone diisocyanate with phosgene (0002).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763