Response to Amendment
The submission entered December 8, 2025 in response to an Office Action mailed June 17, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-32 are pending. Claim(s) 1-19 is/are cancelled. Claim(s) 20-32 is/are newly presented.
The objections to the specification presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
The objections to the drawings presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “device configured to generate a media flow…further configured to add a carrier additive to the media flow” [Claim 24], “device configured to move the channel” [Claim 26] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
See “device configured to generate the media flow” in claim 22 with “device” being the generic placeholder and “configured to generate the media flow” being the modifying functional language. The specification discloses a compressor.
See “device for generating a media flow” in claim 23 with “device” being the generic placeholder and “for generating a media flow” being the modifying functional language. The specification discloses a compressor.
See “device configured to generate a media flow…further configured to add a carrier additive to the media flow” in claim 24 with “device” being the generic placeholder and “configured to generate a media flow…further configured to add a carrier additive to the media flow” being the modifying functional language. The specification discloses a compressor for generating a media flow but fails to disclose structure that both generates a media flow and adds a carrier additive.
See “device configured to move the channel” in claim 26 with “device” being the generic placeholder and “configured to move the channel” being the modifying functional language. The specification fails to disclose a corresponding structure.
It is noted that “device for transporting a plurality of insects” in claim 23 is not being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because the claim recites a “channel”, which is considered to be sufficient structure for the function of “transporting”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 recites “device configured to generate a media flow…further configured to add a carrier additive to the media flow”. While the specification provides support for a device configured to generate a media flow (the disclosed compressor), the specification fails to support a device that both generates a media flow and adds a carrier additive. As such, the claim language lacks support in the specification and is considered to be new matter.
Regarding Claim(s) 26, the claim recites “a device configured to move the channel”, however, the specification fails to disclose a corresponding structure for performing the function. As such, the claim language lacks support in the specification and is considered to be new matter.
Claims 25-32 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 24-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim(s) 24, claim limitation “device configured to generate a media flow…further configured to add a carrier additive to the media flow” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While the specification provides support for a device configured to generate a media flow (the disclosed compressor), the specification fails to support a device that both generates a media flow and adds a carrier additive. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding Claim(s) 25, the language “the channel being configured to selectively connect the chamber with one of multiple chambers or locations’ renders the claim indefinite because the language does not clearly delineate between chambers. Descriptive language such as “first chamber” and “second chamber” is suggested to clearly delineate between chambers.
Claims 25-32 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stark (USPN 10647527).
Regarding Claim(s) 24, Stark (USPN 10647527) teaches a device for transporting a plurality of insects from a chamber (container 2) to a location (receptacle 11) through a channel (conveyor line 4), the device comprising: a media-flow generating device (compressor 8) configured to generate a media flow suitable for transporting the plurality of insects at least partially actively from the chamber to the location; the media-flow generating device being further configured to add a carrier additive (water through humidifier 9) to the media flow, the carrier additive being suitable for protecting the plurality of insects during transport and an amount of the carrier additive being metered as a function of an amount of the transported insects. The device is used to transport plastic pellets. Water is added to the pipe (1) through humidifier (9), the water being considered a carrier additive. The water protects the pellets by reducing abrasion on the pellets. The amount of water is dependent on the amount of pellets to control the humidity content of the pellets [Col. 3:45-56]. It is noted that recitations toward the transporting of insects are considered to recitations of intended use and recitations directed toward the material operated upon, neither of which are considered to structurally limit the invention. See MPEP 2111.02 and MPEP 2115. The device of Stark would be capable of transporting insects.
Regarding Claim(s) 25, Stark teaches multiple chambers and/or locations [Col. 4:65-67, “a plurality of containers to one or a plurality of receptacles”; at least one introduction opening for at least one chamber (there would inherently be an opening where the conveyor line meets the receptacle), the at least one introduction opening being suitable for feeding insects; and the channel being configured to selectively connect the chamber with one of the multiple chambers or locations [Col. 4:61-67, “conveyor line 4 may have a sequential and/or branched configuration”, “conveyor line formed of a plurality of conveyor sections is in particular used to connect one or a plurality of containers 2 to one or a plurality of receptacles 11”].
Regarding Claim(s) 27, the claim recites the manner of operating the device, which does not differentiate the claimed device from the prior art. See MPEP 2114.
Regarding Claim(s) 28, Stark teaches a compressor station (compressor 8).
Regarding Claim(s) 31, Stark teaches the device of claim 24; therefore, Stark teaches the station of claim 31.
Regarding Claim(s) 32, Stark teaches the device of claim 24; therefore, Stark teaches the installation of claim 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Sundholm (US Pub 20150246773 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 26, Stark teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach a device configured to move the channel at least partially in a direction of at least one chamber or location. Sundholm (US Pub 20150246773 A1) teaches a device (drive means 10) configured to move a channel (pipeline 2) to connect the channel with different containers (50A-D). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a device configured to move the channel at least partially in a direction of at least one chamber or location since the elements were known in the art and one of ordinary skill, using known methods, could have combined the elements and achieved predictable results. The device would allow material to move to multiple locations as needed.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Clancy et al. (USPN 4014577).
Regarding Claim(s) 29, Stark teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach the compressor station is a selected from a group consisting of a side-channel compressor and piston compressor. Clancy et al. (USPN 4014577) teaches a piston compressor (10) to generate an air flow. Using a piston compressor to generate an air flow is well-known in the pneumatic conveying arts, as shown by Clancy et al. Using a piston compressor in place of the compressor of Stark would amount to nothing more than simple substitution. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a piston compressor for the compressor of Stark as simple substitution. One of ordinary skill would select the compressor based on factors such as availability and economic viability.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark.
Regarding Claim(s) 30, Stark teaches the limitations described above and teaches the channel including bends (13), yet fails to teach the channel including bends having a bend radius greater than 0.5 meters. However, a change in the size of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the bend radius of a bend as engineering expedient in order to fit the channel within the space confines of the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a method for transporting a plurality of insects, the method comprising generating a media flow that acts on the plurality of insects; and adding a carrier additive to the media flow, combined with the rest of the claim language. Andreev et al. discloses generating a media flow that acts on a plurality of insects, but fails to teach adding a carrier additive to the media flow.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653