Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 3/13/2026. Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2021/0112855 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a flavoring sheet (Para. [0182]) comprising a hydrocolloid material (Para. [0068]) configured for form a sheet (Para. [0182), a flavoring (Para. [0081]), and a plasticizer (Para. [0099]). Watanabe also teaches a powder-type material that remains on the surface of the flavoring sheet (Para. [0311]) and the powder-type material includes a bulking agent (Para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches that the hydrocolloid material includes modified cellulose (Para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches that the modified cellulose includes carboxylmethyl cellulose (Para. [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches the plasticizer includes glycerin (Para. [0099]).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches that the plasticizer (glycerin) is 30 parts by mass (Para. [0286]).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches the flavoring sheet is produced from sheet composition including a hydrocolloid material (Para. [0068]), a flavoring (Para. [0081]), a plasticizer (Para. [0099]), a solvent (Para. [0080]), and a powder material (Para. [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe teaches that the flavoring sheet comprising a hydrocolloid material (Para. [0068]), a flavoring (Para. [0081]), a plasticizer (Para. [0099]), and a solvent (Para. [0080]). The sheet is manufactured by spraying a powder-type material that remains on the surface of the flavoring sheet (Para. [0311]) so that it is applied to the surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2021/0112855 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches that the flavoring sheet will be cut (Para. [0129]), but does not say whether an amount of fine powder generated having a particle size of less than 600 µm is less than 2 wt% of the flavoring sheet. Since the flavoring sheet of Watanabe has the same structure has the flavoring sheet of the claim, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the yield when cut will have an amount of fine powder generated having a particle size of less than 600 µm is less than 2 wt% of the flavoring sheet.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches that the moisture content is less than 50 parts by weight (Para. [0055]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 5 to 20 parts by mass.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2021/0112855 A1) as applied to claim 9, and as evidenced by Calcium_Carbonate_ChemicalBook (ChemicalBook).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches that the solvent includes distilled water (Para. [0049]), but does not discuss the solubility of the calcium carbonate (Para. [0311]) as the powder-type material. As Watanabe uses calcium carbonate and a skilled artisan would know that calcium carbonate is insoluble in water as evidenced by ChemicalBook, which is less than 160 g/L, it is reasonably expected that the powder type material of the Watanabe would have a solubility in distilled water of 20 g/l at 25 degrees C which meets the claim limitations.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2021/0112855 A1) further in view of Takahashi (JP 2000-041648 - of Record).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches that the hydrocolloid material contains pectin (Para. [0068]), but does not describe the specific type of pectin.
In an analogous art, Takahashi teaches using pectin that is low methoxyl pectin (Para. [0022]) that has a carboxyl group percentage of 25% to 45% (Para. [0022]) and does not get gelated when cooled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Watanabe with Takahashi to use low methoxyl pectin. This is as low methoxyl pectin is preferred in the art for flavoring sheets (Takahashi; Para. [0022]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US 2021/0112855 A1) further in view of Tanaka (KR 2019-0077434 – of Record).
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe does not teach the flavoring sheet being used in a smoking article.
In an analogous art, Tanaka teaches a smoking article comprising a smoking material of cut pieces of a flavoring sheet and shredded tobacco (Para. [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Watanabe with Tanaka to used the flavoring sheet in a smoking article mixed with shredded tobacco-type material as this is a known way in the art to use flavoring sheets in smoking articles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749