DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 6 are currently pending in the instant application and are rejected.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 4 February 2026 have been fully considered and entered into the instant application. Applicant’s amendment to delete “the entire disclosures of which are incorporated herein by reference” from the cross reference to related applications paragraph of the specification has overcome the objection to the specification. The amendment to claim 1 and the cancelation of claim 5 has overcome the objections to claims 1 and 5. Applicant’s amendment has overcome the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-6 as being anticipated by LIU et al. as claim 1 has been amended to limit the nonsense-mediated mRNA decay related disease to muscular dystrophy or beta-thalassemia as LIU et al. discloses the treatment of ADPKD with the compound:
.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-4 and 7 as being anticipated by JIAJING CAI et al. as claim 1 has been amended to limit the nonsense-mediated mRNA decay related disease to muscular dystrophy or beta-thalassemia as JIAJINF CAI et al. discloses the treatment of triple-negative breast cancer with the compound:
. Additionally, claim 7 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) under as being anticipated by LAMMERDING et al. (WO 2020/060779, IDS filed 8/15/2023, Foreign Patent Documents Cite No. 4).
LAMMERDING et al. provides the compound NVP-BEZ235 in paragraph [0083], page 25, as the PIKK is ATR wherein the inhibitor may be an ATR inhibitor including NVP-BEZ235. LAMMERDING et al. provides that Limb-girdle muscular dystrophy is the laminopathy treated in paragraph [0056], page 18 and paragraph [0100] which discloses that the laminopathy is congenital muscular dystrophy or Limb-girdle muscular dystrophy. The claims provides a method of treating a laminopathy by administering an inhibitor wherein the laminopathy is congenital muscular dystrophy and limb-girdle muscular dystrophy (claim 9) and wherein the inhibitor is NVP-BEZ235 (claim 20). The compound NVP-BEZ235 is the compound 2:
, see page 8 of the instant specification which provides that chemical formula 2 is known as BEZ235 and Dactolisib.
In regards to the claims 2 and 3 which claim that the compound or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof inhibits nonsense-mediated mRNA decay (NMD) (instant claim 2) or inhibits phosphorylation of UPF1 (instant claim 3), a known use of a product in a disease is not rendered novel by a newly discovered mechanism of action as the claimed mechanism of action ,in vivo, i.e. inhibiting NMP or UPF1, is considered to be a characteristic inherent to the compound, even if this characteristic was not known in the prior art. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Additionally, see also In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.").
In regards to claim 4, muscular dystrophy is a genetic disease caused by NMD due to a premature termination codon (PTC) associated with a nonsense mutation or frameshift mutation, see pages 17-19 of the instant specification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 ____________________ 25 February 2026
Rebecca Anderson
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1626, Group 1620
Technology Center 1600