DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1A and 1B should be designated by a legend such as – Prior Art – because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/136306 A1 (herein “Nokia”, cited on the IDS submitted 10/24/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Nokia discloses in Figs. 4a and 4B:
A waveguide display apparatus for correcting curved surface reflection distortion, the waveguide display apparatus comprising:
a waveguide (401) configured to guide light (402) inputted from an outside of the waveguide (401);
a first diffractive optical element (401a) disposed on the waveguide (401), the first diffractive optical element (401a) configured to diffract the light (402) inputted from the outside of the waveguide (401) to an inside of the waveguide (shown in Fig. 4A); and
a second diffractive optical element (401c) disposed on the waveguide (401), the second diffractive optical element (401c) configured to diffract the light guided by the waveguide (401) to output a plurality of diffracted lights (403) in a direction of a curved surface reflector (405) located outside of the waveguide (401),
wherein the second diffractive optical element (401c) has a structure of a diffraction grating corresponding to a curvature of the curved surface reflector (405) such that the waveguide (401) is configured to reflect the plurality of diffracted lights (403) at different locations of the curved surface reflector (405) in directions parallel (406) to each other (wherein the beams 406 reflected by reflector 405 are collimated, and thus parallel; p. 4, lines 29-32; p. 6, lines 14-18 – wherein collimated means parallel rays).
Regarding claim 2, Nokia discloses in Figs. 4a and 4B: the structure of the diffraction grating includes one or more of; a pitch of the diffraction grating or a slanted angle of the diffraction grating (p. 5, lines7-10, wherein the spacing between the grooves of the grating is the pitch).
Regarding claim 5, Nokia discloses in Figs. 4a and 4B: the curved surface reflector (405) is spaced apart from the waveguide (401) and is located outside of the waveguide (401).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/136306 A1 (herein “Nokia”, cited on the IDS submitted 10/24/2024) in view of CN 110161680 A (herein “Liu”, cited on the IDS submitted 10/24/2024).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Nokia is silent as to the first and second diffractive optical elements being holographic optical elements, and the embodiment used shows a curved waveguide. However, holographic optical elements are commonly used in HUDs. Liu gives an example of a HUD using holographic diffractive elements (104, 105) with a waveguide (104) having a flat plate shape. Liu discloses in Fig. 1, the first and second diffractive optical elements being holographic optical elements (104, 105), with a waveguide (104) having a flat plate shape. Nokia teaches that this arrangement results in enlarging the viewing angle and large exit pupil. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the holographic diffractive elements and flat plate shaped waveguide, so as to increase the viewing angle and thus improve the viewer’s experience.
Conclusion
/MARY A EL-SHAMMAA/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874