DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 24-46 are pending, claims 1-23 have been cancelled, and claims 24-46 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous USC 112 Rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 45-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Applicant disagrees with the proposition that it would be obvious to move the power regulator of the auxiliary component of Zhao to the main device part of Ouyang….The only apparent reason to do so is hindsight based on Applicant’s disclosure” (on pg. 7 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhao teaches the power regulator (160, figure 9) to regulate the voltage and/or current which is supplied to electronic components, such as the imaging sensor (140, figures 8-9) and the light source (110, figures 8-9). The modified endoscope has an image sensor and light emitter (camera assembly, lighting elements [0114]; Ouyang) at the distal end of the insertion tube. It would make sense to provide a safety circuit/power regulator (160, figure 9) of Zhao in the main device part of Ouyang because that is where the imaging sensor and light source are located.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Applicant further disagrees…But leaving the power regulator in the auxiliary component accomplishes the same thing without adding cost to the disposable part and therefore the rationale does not provide a reason to move the power regulator while not moving it is consistent with the design intent” (on pg. 7 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Similar to the reasons stated above, the modified endoscope has an image sensor and light emitter (camera assembly, lighting elements [0114]; Ouyang) at the distal end of the insertion tube. It would make sense to provide a safety circuit/power regulator (160, figure 9) of Zhao in the main device part of Ouyang because that is where the imaging sensor and light source are located.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 16, the limitation “the live video the battery” to “the live video; and the battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-31 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 30, the limitation “the initial settings data” lacks antecedent basis (i.e., not previously recited). Claim 31 is rejected due to being dependent on claim 30.
Regarding claim 45, the limitation “the second coupling part” is unclear. It is unclear if the second coupling part is referring to the second main device coupling part or a different feature. Claim 46 is rejected due to being dependent on claim 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-25, 33, 36, and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858), in view of Zhao (US 2019/0142256).
Regarding claim 24, Ouyang discloses an endoscope (100, figure 1) comprising: a main device part (see 102 and 104, figure 1) including a main coupling part (104, figure 1) and an insertion tube (102, figure 1) extending distally from the main coupling part (see figure 1), the main device including, at a distal end of the insertion tube (120, figure 1), an image sensor and a light emitter (camera assembly, lighting elements [0114]), the main device part also including the main coupling part comprising one or more main terminals (connector 106, figure 1) electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (connector 106…to the cannula [0142]); an auxiliary component (108, figure 1) comprising a battery (220, figure 3) and an auxiliary coupling part (see 108, figure 1) configured to be removably attached to the main device coupling part (see figure 34), the auxiliary coupling part comprising one or more auxiliary terminals (3410, figure 34) adapted to connect to the one or more main terminals of the main coupling part (pin sockets…the cannula [0142]); the battery (220, figure 3) being connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to power the endoscope (supplying power to the cannula…[0142]). Ouyang is silent regarding a safety circuit configured to prevent excessive current flow to the light emitter and/or the image sensor, the one or more main terminals electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor via the safety circuit; the auxiliary component further including a device transceiver and a device processor communicatively connected to the device transceiver and electrically connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to receive therefrom image data from the image sensor, the image data corresponding to live video captured by the image sensor, the device processor configured to cause the device transceiver to transmit the image data wirelessly to a monitor transceiver of a monitor device configured to cause presentation of the live video.
Zhao teaches an endoscope (12, figure 1) with a wireless imaging unit (20, figure 1). The wireless imaging unit has a housing (90, figure 8) that can be hermetically sealed ([0087]). The housing contains PCBs (120, figure 8) with a number of electronic circuitry components which control and power the wireless imaging unit ([0088]). The PCBs includes a system controller (130, figure 8) and a power controller (131, figure 9). The system controller includes a microprocessor (132, figure 9), a wireless transceiver (146, figure 9), and a storage device (134, figure 9). The system controller includes an input-output I/O Port (156, figure 9) is capable of supplying power to the imaging unit as well as providing power to recharge a battery (162, figure 9). The power controller includes a power regulator (160, figure 9), which regulates the voltage and/or current which is supplied to electronic components ([0093]). Data can be set to one or more external devices (25, figure 1), such as docking station (26, figure 1) with an integrated display unit (28, figure 1) or an external display (30, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Ouyang with the wireless imaging unit (20, figure 1), specifically the systems controller (130, figure 9) and power controller (131, figure 1) and I/O port (156, figure 9), and one or more external devices (25, figure 1) as taught by Zhao. Doing so would provide control and power to the auxiliary component ([0088]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the main device part with a power regulator (160, figure 9) as taught by Zhao. Doing so would regulate the voltage and/or current supplied to the light emitter and/or image sensor ([0093]). The modified endoscope would have a safety circuit (160, figure 9; Zhao | modified endoscope would have the safety circuit in the main device part) configured to prevent excessive current flow to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (regulates the voltage and/or current…[0093]; Zhao), the one or more main terminals electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor via the safety circuit (supplied to such electronic components [0093]; Zhao | the modified power regulator 160 is located in the main device part and would between the one or more main terminals and the light emitter/image sensor); the auxiliary component further including a device transceiver (146, figure 9; Zhao) and a device processor (132, figure 9) communicatively connected to the device transceiver and electrically connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to receive therefrom image data from the image sensor (see arrows to and from 132, figure 9; Zhao), the image data corresponding to live video captured by the image sensor (image from the region of interest [0077]; Zhao), the device processor configured to cause the device transceiver to transmit the image data wirelessly to a monitor transceiver of a monitor device configured to cause presentation of the live video (see 146 to external device 25, figure 9; Zhao | see 28 or 30, figure 1; Zhao).
Regarding claim 25, Zhao further teaches the device processor is configured to encode the image data with a wireless video transmission protocol (post-processing unit…[0030]; Zhao) to generate encoded image data and to cause the device transceiver to transmit the encoded image data (encodes…for wireless transmission [0030]).
Regarding claim 33, Ouyang and Zhao further disclose the auxiliary component comprises an auxiliary housing (see 108, figure 1; Ouyang | 20 and 90, figure 8; Zhao) enclosing the device processor and the device transceiver, the auxiliary housing being fluid-tight to withstand wet cleaning (seal….sterilized…[0152]; Ouyang).
Regarding claim 36, Ouyang discloses a medical visualisation system comprising the endoscope of claim 24 (see claim 24 rejection above) and the monitor device (see 25, figure 1; Zhao).
Regarding claim 42, Zhao further teaches the monitor device comprises a component socket adapted to engage with the auxiliary component (I/O port…external device…USB interface [0092]; Zhao).
Regarding claim 43, Zhao further teaches the monitor device comprises a charging circuit (I/O port…to an external device [0092]; I/O port…supplying power to the imaging unit [0093]; Zhao | interpreted the external device has circuitry to supply power to the auxiliary component) configured to charge the battery of the auxiliary component when the auxiliary component is engaged with the component socket (recharge the battery [0093]; Zhao).
Regarding claim 44, Zhao further teaches the monitor device comprises a monitor processor (see computers 34 and 38, figure 1; Zhao | computers…[0073]) configured to pair the device transceiver with the monitor transceiver when the auxiliary component is engaged with the component socket (I/O port…supplying power to the imaging unit [0093]; Zhao | interpreted the auxiliary component is able to wireless transfer image data while being powered through the I/O port).
Claim(s) 26-31 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claims 24 and 36 above, and further in view of Amling (2010/0141744).
Regarding claim 26, Ouyang and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 24. They are silent regarding main device part comprises a device identifier comprising device identifier information, wherein the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier, and wherein the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information.
Amling teaches an endoscope system (10, figure 1) for wirelessly transmitting energy and data ([0044]). A camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) mounted on a detachable camera head ([0044]). The camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) is connected to CCU (16, figure 1). A memory device (22, figure 1) is programmed with electronic representations of parameters and data specific to that particular endoscope, where these parameters may include the optical properties, serial number, model number, maintenance schedule, required camera settings, required equipment settings, malfunction codes and other such characteristics and parameters ([0066]). Upon the camera head being powered on, the endoscope memory device provides the endoscope parameters to the camera head transceiver ([0067]). The CCU identifies the endoscope in use ([0067]) and adjusts video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the main device part of Ouyang and Zhao to have a memory device (22, figure 1) with programmed electronic representation of parameters and data specific to the endoscope ([0066]). Doing so would provide the endoscope parameters that can be used to adjust video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]). The modified endoscope would have the main device part comprises a device identifier (memory device 22, figure 1; Amling) comprising device identifier information (parameters…[0066]), wherein the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier (CCU identifies the endoscope [0067]), and wherein the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information (CCU adjust…settings [0072]; Amling | modified endoscope system would have the CCU/external device adjust the settings through the wireless transceiver 146, figure 9 of Zhao).
Regarding claim 27, Amling further teaches the device identifier comprises an electronically readable memory (memory device 22, figure 1; Amling) connected to the one or more main terminals (the memory device 22 is in the endoscope and would be connected to the one or more main terminals).
Regarding claim 28, Zhao and Amling further teach the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the image sensor (CCU adjust…settings [0072]; Amling), wherein the settings of the image sensor comprise one or more of color, contrast, gain, or exposure (gain…others [0089]; Zhao).
Regarding claim 29, Zhao and Amling further teach the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the light emitter (CCU adjust…light sources [0072]; Amling), wherein the settings of the light emitter comprise one or more of current, brightness, or pulse-width-modulation (adjust intensity or brightness…[0088]; Zhao).
Regarding claim 30, Ouyang and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 24. They are silent regarding the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the light emitter, wherein the settings of the light emitter comprise one or more of current, brightness, or pulse-width-modulation.
Amling teaches an endoscope system (10, figure 1) for wirelessly transmitting energy and data ([0044]). A camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) mounted on a detachable camera head ([0044]). The camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) is connected to CCU (16, figure 1). A memory device (22, figure 1) is programmed with electronic representations of parameters and data specific to that particular endoscope, where these parameters may include the optical properties, serial number, model number, maintenance schedule, required camera settings, required equipment settings, malfunction codes and other such characteristics and parameters ([0066]). Upon the camera head being powered on, the endoscope memory device provides the endoscope parameters to the camera head transceiver ([0067]). The CCU identifies the endoscope in use ([0067]) and adjusts video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the main device part of Ouyang and Zhao to have a memory device (22, figure 1) with programmed electronic representation of parameters and data specific to the endoscope ([0066]). Doing so would provide the endoscope parameters that can be used to adjust video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]). The modified endoscope would have the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the light emitter (CCU adjust…light sources [0072]; Amling), wherein the settings of the light emitter comprise one or more of current, brightness, or pulse-width-modulation (adjust intensity or brightness…[0088]; Zhao).
Regarding claim 31, Zhao further teaches the safety circuit comprises a current driver (power regulator 160, figure 9; Zhao) configured to change current flow (regulates…current…[0093]) to the light emitter based on the one or more of current (regulates…current [0093]), brightness, or pulse-width-modulation settings.
Regarding claim 39, Ouyang and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 36. They are silent regarding the main device part comprises a device identifier comprising device identifier information, the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier, the monitor device and the auxiliary component are configured to form a short-range pairing circuit configured to exchange datalink setup information to establish a downstream communication channel and an upstream communication channel, the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information, the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the image sensor and/or the light emitter, the downstream communication channel configured to transmit the image data, and the upstream communication channel is configured to transmit the initial settings data.
Amling teaches an endoscope system (10, figure 1) for wirelessly transmitting energy and data ([0044]). A camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) mounted on a detachable camera head ([0044]). The camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) is connected to CCU (16, figure 1). A memory device (22, figure 1) is programmed with electronic representations of parameters and data specific to that particular endoscope, where these parameters may include the optical properties, serial number, model number, maintenance schedule, required camera settings, required equipment settings, malfunction codes and other such characteristics and parameters ([0066]). Upon the camera head being powered on, the endoscope memory device provides the endoscope parameters to the camera head transceiver ([0067]). The CCU identifies the endoscope in use ([0067]) and adjusts video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the main device part of Ouyang and Zhao to have a memory device (22, figure 1) with programmed electronic representation of parameters and data specific to the endoscope ([0066]). Doing so would provide the endoscope parameters that can be used to adjust video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]). The modified endoscope would have the main device part comprises a device identifier (memory device 22, figure 1; Amling) comprising device identifier information (parameters…[0066]), the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier (CCU identifies the endoscope [0067]), the monitor device and the auxiliary component are configured to form a short-range pairing circuit (wireless bi-directional data communication [0073]; Zhao | the external devices 25 may be in short range; see figure 1) configured to exchange datalink setup information to establish a downstream communication channel and an upstream communication channel (bi-directional data communication [0073]), the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information (CCU adjust…settings [0072]; Amling | modified endoscope system would have the CCU/external device adjust the settings through the wireless transceiver 146, figure 9 of Zhao), the initial settings data is configured to adjust settings of the image sensor and/or the light emitter (adjust…settings [0072]; Amling), the downstream communication channel configured to transmit the image data (stream image data…[0090]; Zhao), and the upstream communication channel is configured to transmit the initial settings data (CCU adjust…settings [0072]; Amling).
Regarding claim 40, Zhao further teaches the monitor device and the auxiliary component comprise pairing terminals (see 146, figure 9 | wireless bi-directional data communication to one or more of the external devices 25 [0073], Zhao) configured to form the short-range pairing circuit (bi-directional data communication…[0073] | interpreted as a pairing circuit and can be in short range, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 41, Zhao further teaches the monitor device comprises a display affixed to the housing (see 28, 34, and 38, figure 1; Zhao).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francher (2019/0313881), in view of Zhao (US 2019/0142256).
Francher discloses an endoscope (figures 2) comprising: a main device part (104, figure 3) including a main coupling part (see 152, figure 3 | upper portion of the disposable shaft assembly [0087]) and an insertion tube (116, figure 3) extending distally from the main coupling part (see figure 3), the main device including, at a distal end of the insertion tube (114, figure 3), an image sensor and a light emitter (light emitter 360 and imaging device 362, figure 9 | imaging device…image sensor [0008]), the main device part also including the main coupling part comprising one or more main terminals (corresponding terminals of the disposable shaft assembly [0091]) electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (signal/power terminals…[0091] | interpreted the terminals connect to the light emitter/image sensor to provide power or transmit data); an auxiliary component (102, figure 3) comprising a battery (210, figure 6) and an auxiliary coupling part (see 102, figure 3) configured to be removably attached to the main device coupling part (see figure 3), the auxiliary coupling part comprising one or more auxiliary terminals (206, figure 6) adapted to connect to the one or more main terminals of the main coupling part (terminals 206…corresponding terminals of the disposable shaft assembly [0091]); the auxiliary component further including a device transceiver (wireless transmitter and/or receiver [0090]); the battery being connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to power the endoscope (210, figure 6). Ouyang is silent regarding a safety circuit configured to prevent excessive current flow to the light emitter and/or the image sensor, the one or more main terminals electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor via the safety circuit; the auxiliary component further including a device processor communicatively connected to the device transceiver and electrically connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to receive therefrom image data from the image sensor, the image data corresponding to live video captured by the image sensor, the device processor configured to cause the device transceiver to transmit the image data wirelessly to a monitor transceiver of a monitor device configured to cause presentation of the live video.
Zhao teaches an endoscope (12, figure 1) with a wireless imaging unit (20, figure 1). The wireless imaging unit has a housing (90, figure 8) that can be hermetically sealed ([0087]). The housing contains PCBs (120, figure 8) with a number of electronic circuitry components which control and power the wireless imaging unit ([0088]). The PCBs includes a system controller (130, figure 8) and a power controller (131, figure 9). The system controller includes a microprocessor (132, figure 9), a wireless transceiver (146, figure 9), and a storage device (134, figure 9). The system controller includes an input-output I/O Port (156, figure 9) is capable of supplying power to the imaging unit as well as providing power to recharge a battery (162, figure 9). The power controller includes a power regulator (160, figure 9), which regulates the voltage and/or current which is supplied to electronic components ([0093]). Data can be set to one or more external devices (25, figure 1), such as docking station (26, figure 1) with an integrated display unit (28, figure 1) or an external display (30, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Francher with the wireless imaging unit (20, figure 1), specifically the systems controller (130, figure 9) and power controller (131, figure 1) and I/O port (156, figure 9), and one or more external devices (25, figure 1) as taught by Zhao. Doing so would provide control and power to the auxiliary component ([0088]). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the main device part with a power regulator (160, figure 9) as taught by Zhao. Doing so would regulate the voltage and/or current supplied to the light emitter and/or image sensor ([0093]). The modified endoscope would have a safety circuit (160, figure 9; Zhao | modified endoscope would have the safety circuit in the main device part) configured to prevent excessive current flow to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (regulates the voltage and/or current…[0093]; Zhao), the one or more main terminals electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor via the safety circuit (supplied to such electronic components [0093]; Zhao | the modified power regulator 160 is located in the main device part and would between the one or more main terminals and the light emitter/image sensor); the auxiliary component further including the device transceiver (wireless transmitter and/or receiver [0090]; Francher | 146, figure 9; Zhao) and a device processor (132, figure 9) communicatively connected to the device transceiver and electrically connected to the one or more auxiliary terminals to receive therefrom image data from the image sensor (see arrows to and from 132, figure 9; Zhao), the image data corresponding to live video captured by the image sensor (image from the region of interest [0077]; Zhao), the device processor configured to cause the device transceiver to transmit the image data wirelessly to a monitor transceiver of a monitor device configured to cause presentation of the live video (see 146 to external device 25, figure 9; Zhao | see 28 or 30, figure 1; Zhao).
Claim(s) 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francher (2019/0313881) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Amling (2010/0141744).
Regarding claim 26, Francher and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 24. They are silent regarding main device part comprises a device identifier comprising device identifier information, wherein the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier, and wherein the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information.
Amling teaches an endoscope system (10, figure 1) for wirelessly transmitting energy and data ([0044]). A camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) mounted on a detachable camera head ([0044]). The camera head transponder/transceiver (24, figure 1) is connected to CCU (16, figure 1). A memory device (22, figure 1) is programmed with electronic representations of parameters and data specific to that particular endoscope, where these parameters may include the optical properties, serial number, model number, maintenance schedule, required camera settings, required equipment settings, malfunction codes and other such characteristics and parameters ([0066]). Upon the camera head being powered on, the endoscope memory device provides the endoscope parameters to the camera head transceiver ([0067]). The CCU identifies the endoscope in use ([0067]) and adjusts video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the main device part of Francher and Zhao to have a memory device (22, figure 1) with programmed electronic representation of parameters and data specific to the endoscope ([0066]). Doing so would provide the endoscope parameters that can be used to adjust video processing settings and light sources to optimize the video system ([0072]). The modified endoscope would have the main device part comprises a device identifier (memory device 22, figure 1; Amling) comprising device identifier information (parameters…[0066]), wherein the device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier (CCU identifies the endoscope [0067]), and wherein the device transceiver is configured to receive from the monitor transceiver initial settings data based on the device identifier information (CCU adjust…settings [0072]; Amling | modified endoscope system would have the CCU/external device adjust the settings through the wireless transceiver 146, figure 9 of Zhao).
Regarding claim 32, Francher further discloses the main device part comprises a handle (see 300, figure 7a; Francher) and a steerable bendable section (114, figure 7a), wherein the handle comprises a control button (broadly interpreted as a something that can be manipulated to produce a desired response | 320, figure 7a) adapted to receive a steering input in a first input direction (see 108 or 110, figure 1), and wherein the endoscope is configured, responsive to the steering input, to bend the steerable bending section in a first bending direction (knob…first plane…[0097]).
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Ochi (US 2018/0084986).
Regarding claim 34, Ouyang and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 33. They are silent regarding the auxiliary housing is surface coated with a sealing liquid to make the auxiliary housing fluid-tight.
Ochi teaches the use of a sealant to prevent fluid from physical or electrically interfering with an interposer ([0153]). The interposer is covered with a hydrophobic coating that is resistant to water, oils, and other liquids ([0153]).
It would have been obvious to modify the auxiliary housing to be coated in a sealant as taught by Ochi ([0153]). Doing so would prevent fluid from physically or electrically interfering with the auxiliary housing ([0153]). The modified auxiliary housing is surface coated with a sealing liquid (sealant….hydrophobic coating [0153]; Ochi) to make the auxiliary housing fluid-tight (prevent the fluid…[0153]).
Claim(s) 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Krupa (US 2008/0214896).
Regarding claim 35, Ouyang and Zhao disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 24. They are silent regarding the auxiliary component comprises a battery indicator indicative of remaining battery capacity.
Krupa teaches an endoscope with indicators on the handle (112, figure 1), where the indicators can include a battery level indicator ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to modify the auxiliary component of Ouyang and Zhao to have a battery level indicator as taught by Krupa ([0031]). Doing so would provide an indication for how much battery is left ([0031]).
Claim(s) 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Hirayama (US 2017/0311777).
Regarding claim 37, Zhao further teaches the monitor device comprises a housing (see 26, figure 1; Zhao) enclosing the monitor transceiver (bi-directional data communication…transmit data to… [0073]; Zhao). Ouyang and Zhao are silent regarding the monitor device further comprising an antenna.
Hirayama teaches an antenna or transmitting and receiving sections (140, figure 2). The transmitting and receiving sections, specifically the antennas, are disposed in a freer position ([0036]). The flexibility of the position for disposing the antenna makes it possible to strengthen the stability of the communication.
It would have been obvious to modify the monitor device to have an antenna as taught by Hirayama ([0036]). Doing so would provide an antenna for transmitting and/or receiving information ([0036]).
Regarding claim 38, Hirayama further teaches the antenna is positioned outside the housing further than 2 meters (flexibility of the positions…[0036]; Hirayama | the antenna can be positioned from the housing a certain distance, like 2 meters).
Claim(s) 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang (US 2012/0289858) and Zhao (US 2019/0142256) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Shelton (US 2022/0104822).
Regarding claim 45, Ouyang further discloses a medical visualisation system (figure 1) comprising; the endoscope of claim 24 (see claim 24 rejection above); and a second main device part (handle is reusable [0152]; Ouyang | a second/different 102 and 104, figure 1) including an image sensor (camera assembly [0114]), a light emitter (lighting elements [0114]), and a second main device coupling part (another 104, figure 1), and a second safety circuit (another 160, figure 9; Zhao | modified endoscope would have the safety circuit in the main device part) configured to prevent excessive current flow to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (regulates the voltage and/or current…[0093]; Zhao), the second coupling part comprising one or more main terminals (connector 106, figure 1; Ouyang) electrically connected to the light emitter and/or the image sensor via the second safety circuit (connector 106…to the cannula [0142]; Ouyang), wherein the auxiliary component coupling part is configured to be removably attached to the second main device coupling part to form a visualization device (see figure 34; Ouyang). Ouyang and Zhao are silent regarding wherein one of the second main device part or the main device part is a more power consumptive device and the other of the second main device part or the main device part is a less power consumptive device, wherein the battery is configured to power the more power consumptive device, and wherein the safety circuit or the second safety circuit is configured to protect the less power consumptive device when it is coupled to the auxiliary component.
Shelton teaches a control circuit (150700, figure 53A-B) of a surgical instrument (150010, figure 49). A shaft assembly (150704, figure 53A) can communicate one or more of the power requirements with a power management controller (150716, figure 53B), and the power management controller may modulate the power output of the battery in accordance with the power requirements of the attached shaft assembly ([0691]).
It would have been obvious to modify the safety circuit and/or the second safety circuit with the power management controller (150716, figure 53B) as taught by Shelton ([0691]). Doing so would modulate the power output of the battery in accordance with the power requirements of the main or second device parts ([0691]). The modified system would have wherein one of the second main device part or the main device part is a more power consumptive device and the other of the second main device part or the main device part is a less power consumptive device (can have different power requirements [0691]; Shelton | handle is reusable [0152]; Ouyang | a second/different 102 and 104, figure 1), wherein the battery is configured to power the more power consumptive device (power requirements…[0691]; Shelton), and wherein the safety circuit or the second safety circuit is configured to protect the less power consumptive device when it is coupled to the auxiliary component (modulate the power output…in accordance with the power requirements of the attached shaft assembly [0691]; Shelton).
Regarding claim 46, Ouyang further discloses the second main device part (handle is reusable [0152]; Ouyang | a second/different 102 and 104, figure 1), when coupled with the auxiliary component, forms a video laryngoscope (interpreted as functional language | laryngoscopy [0260]; Ouyang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
March 4, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795