DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 04/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ arguments are not found persuasive because the office action as discussed below did point out the special technical feature linking the inventions, such as a Pt and/or Pd, CeO2, MnO2, and a Cu or Fe substituted zeolite taught by Qi et al (US 2012/0167553 A1), and Chen et al. (WO 2015/172000 A1), does not provide a contribution over the prior art, and no single general inventive concept exists. Therefore, restriction is appropriate.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore is made FINAL.
The claims 12-14 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 15 has been previously canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qi et al. (US 2012/0167553 A1, applicants substituted in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Qi et al. teach a catalyst comprising
(a) Pt/Pd/Rh (1 to about 7 g/L, about 28.3-198.2 g/ft3) ([0031]),
(b) Pr6O11-CeO2 ([0034]),
(c) MnOx-CeO2 ([0034]) (1.0≤X≤3.5), and
(d) a Cu or Fe substituted Chabazite zeolite ([0011] and [0034]) as the instant claim (claims 1-11).
The phrase of " A catalyst for the oxidation of ammonia (AMOX catalyst) recites in claim 1 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Qi et al. teach the same composition as the instant claims, the catalyst would expect to be capable of performing the specific chemical oxidation of ammonia reactions as per applicant claim 1. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises Pt ([0004], [0010], [0031] and claim 9).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises MnOx-CeO2 as the instant claim ([0034]).
Regarding claim 10 , as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises Cu or Fe substituted Chabazite zeolite as the instant claim ([0011], [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises a support substrate as the instant claim ([0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises Pt/Pd/Rh (1 to about 7 g/L, about 28.3-198.2 g/ft3) ([0031]) which overlaps the instant claimed ranges of 0.1 to 30 g/ft3.
The references differ from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 7 and 9 , as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Qi et al. comprises MnOx-CeO2 ([0034]) (1.0≤X≤3.5), wherein x value encompasses the instant claimed range (x=2). It is known MnO2 is a common stable form for manganese oxide.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2015/172000 A1, applicants substituted in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. teach a catalyst comprising a supported platinum and/or palladium on a high porosity substrate (page 10, lines 16-page 11, line 30), at least one of oxides selected from neodymium (Nd), cerium (Ce), Manganese (Mn), tantalum (Ta) page 12, lines 6-20), and a Cu substituted zeolite (page 8, line 16-Page 9, line 21) as the instant claim (claims 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine metal oxides of Nd, Ce, Mn and Ta to obtain the invention as specified in the claim 1, in particular view MPEP 2144.06, “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (in this case used as metal promoters).... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850,205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)”
The phrase of " A catalyst for the oxidation of ammonia (AMOX catalyst) recites in claim 1 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Chen et al. teach the same composition as the instant claims, the catalyst would expect to be capable of performing the specific chemical oxidation of ammonia reactions as per applicant claim 1. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Chen et al. is loaded about 0.1-1%wt of Pt or 0.1-1%wt of Pd as the instant claims (page 13).
Regarding claim 4, the catalyst taught by Chen et al. do not describe the use of Rh metal. Therefore, the concentration of Rh in the catalyst taught by Chen et al. is considered les than 1%wt. as the instant claim.
Regarding claims 6-9, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Chen et al. comprises metal oxides of neodymium (Nd), cerium (Ce), Manganese (Mn), tantalum (Ta) as the instant claims Page 13, lines 6-19).
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Chen et al. comprises zeolite including CHA, AEI, etc. as the instant claim (page 7, line 23-page 12,line 31).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Chen et al. comprises a high porosity substrate as the instant claim.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738