DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 20-31 and 38-40 are pending, claims 27-28 have been withdrawn from consideration, claims 1-19 and 32-37 have been cancelled, claim 40 has been added, and claims 20-26, 29-31, and 38-40 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20-26 and 29-39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of “the socket (of the monitor electrical connector) is arranged at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires” (claim 22) and “a plug at a proximal end…a second socket at a distal end…the socket is configured to receive the plug” (claim 23) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a wearing element” in claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 22, the limitation “the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, wherein the socket is arranged at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the one or more monitor terminals are electrically connected to the monitor processor through the one or more flexible monitor wires” is not disclosed in the specification. The specification describes a coupling socket 468 of a monitor device 200, where the coupling socket 468 is coupled to the coupling part 130 of flexible device wire 470 ([0119] and [0120]). The specification does not describe 1) the flexible monitor wires of the monitor electrical connector being external to the first housing, and 2) the socket of the monitor electrical connector arranged at the distal end of the flexible monitor wires. Therefore, the specification does not describe the subject matter of claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, a plug at a proximal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and a second socket at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the socket is configured to receive the plug and electrically connect the second socket with the socket” is not disclosed in the specification. The specification describes a coupling socket 468 of a monitor device 200, where the coupling socket 468 is coupled to the coupling part 130 of flexible device wire 470 ([0119] and [0120]). The specification does not describe 1) the flexible monitor wires of the monitor electrical connector being external to the first housing, 2) a plug at a proximal end of the wires, 3) a second socket at the distal end of the wires, 4) the socket receives the plug and electrically connect the second socket with the socket. Therefore, the specification does not describe the subject matter of claim 23. Claim 24 is rejected due to their dependency on claim 23.
Claims 22-24, 29-31, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 22, the limitation “the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, wherein the socket is arranged at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the one or more monitor terminals are electrically connected to the monitor processor through the one or more flexible monitor wires” is unclear. It is unclear which socket is being referred to (i.e., the monitor electrical connector’s socket or the auxiliary electrical connector’s socket).
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, a plug at a proximal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and a second socket at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the socket is configured to receive the plug and electrically connect the second socket with the socket” is unclear. It is unclear which plug is being referred to (i.e., the endoscope plug or the plug at the proximal end of the flexible monitor wires). It is unclear which socket is being referred to (i.e., the monitor electrical connector’s socket or the auxiliary electrical connector’s socket or the second socket). Claim 24 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, the limitation “the plug” is unclear. It is unclear which plug is being referred to (i.e., the endoscope plug or the plug at the proximal end of the flexible monitor wires).
Regarding claims 29-30, the limitation “the main electrical connector” lacks antecedent basis and is unclear. This feature has not been previously recited and is unclear which structure it would be referring to. Claim 31 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 30.
Regarding claim 29, the limitation “the one or more main terminals” lacks antecedent basis and is unclear. This feature has not been previously recited and is unclear which structure it would be referring to.
Regarding claim 30, the limitation “the main device processor” lacks antecedent basis and is unclear. This feature has not been previously recited and is unclear which structure it would be referring to.
Regarding claim 38, the limitation “the main device” lacks antecedent basis and is unclear. This feature has not been previously recited and is unclear which structure it would be referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-21, 26, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2020/0405425), in view of Kim (US 2016/0331213).
Regarding claim 20, Shelton discloses a medical visualisation system comprising: a monitor (hubs 13380, figure 6 | see 215 connected to 236, figure 9) including a first housing (see 13380, figure 6 | modular control tower 236 [0174]), a monitor wireless transceiver (wireless communication standards or protocols [0174]; see connections to 236, figure 9), a monitor processor (modular control tower 236 comprises…a computer system 210 to provide local processing [0175]), and a monitor electrical connector (wired communication standards…as described herein [0174]) including a socket with one or more monitor terminals (system bus…USB [0177] | USB port [0183]), an endoscope (239, figure 9 | a surgical tool…endoscope [0303]) comprising: a handle (see handle of 13374, figure 7), an insertion cord (see insertion cord/member of 13374, figure 7) comprising an image sensor (an imaging module…to an endoscope [0164] | sensors integrated with imaging devices [0166]) at a distal end of the insertion cord (image sensors receive light reflected…surgical field [0068] | interpreted the image sensor is at the distal end of the insertion cord) configured to generate image data indicative of a view from the distal end (image of the surgical site [0064]), and a light emitter (illumination sources [0068]) configured to illuminate the view, an endoscope plug (operating theater devices…wired channel [0168] | computer system 210…USB port [0183]) having one or more main terminals (USB [0177]), the endoscope plug being configured to be inserted in the socket of the monitor to electrically connect the endoscope with the monitor (operating theater devices…wired channel [0168] | computer system 210…USB port [0183]), and a cable (operating theater devices…wired channel [0168]) attached, at one end, to the handle and including, at an opposite end, the plug (wired channel [0168] | computer system 210…USB port [0183] | interpreted the plug is inserted into the USB port), the cable including wires extending from the handle to the plug (USB [0177] | interpreted there is wiring for the wire to connect to the USB port), and an auxiliary component (13362, figure 7) sized and configured to be worn by a user (see 13362, figure 7), the auxiliary component comprising: an auxiliary device wireless transceiver (wireless interactive displays 13362 [0131] | information...images on the display…control command for…[0132] | interpreted there to be information coming in/out of the auxiliary component). Shelton is silent regarding the auxiliary electrical connector comprising a socket with one or more auxiliary terminals, the socket being configured to receive the plug of the endoscope to electrically connect the auxiliary component with the endoscope and transfer the image data to the auxiliary component, the auxiliary device wireless transceiver configured to transmit the image data received from the endoscope to the monitor wireless transceiver, and a battery configured to power the endoscope, wherein the monitor is configured to cause a display to present a live representation of the image data as the image data is transmitted from the endoscope to the auxiliary component and from the auxiliary component to the monitor.
Kim teaches a portable endoscope system (300, figure 3) with an endoscope (310, figure 3) and an intelligent portable device (350, figure 3). The endoscope has a controller (320, figure 4) with a USB port (322, figure 4). The intelligent portable device (350, figure 3) and the controller (320, figure 40) can be electrically connected to each other through the USB cable (20, figure 3 | [0087]). The intelligent portable device includes a touch screen (352, figure 3) and may have a wireless communication function to download an endoscope driving application ([0089]). When the endoscope is electrically connected to the intelligent portable device, the touchscreen displays the current inspection image and the controller may continuously receive the current inspection image from the camera and transmit the image to the intelligent portable device ([0092]). Further, when the endoscope is electrically connected to the intelligent portable device, the intelligent portable device supplies power to the controller ([0091]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system, specifically the auxiliary component, to be electrically connected to the endoscope through a USB cable (20, figure 3) for providing power to the endoscope ([0091]) and receive/display the current image from the endoscope ([0092]). Doing so would supply power to the endoscope ([0038]) and display the current image captured by the endoscope ([0038]). The modified system would have the auxiliary electrical connector comprising a socket (see USB cable 20 connected to 350, figure 3; Kim) with one or more auxiliary terminals (within the USB port for 350, figure 3), the socket being configured to receive the plug of the endoscope to electrically connect the auxiliary component with the endoscope (see figure 3; [0087]) and transfer the image data to the auxiliary component (current inspection image [0092]), the auxiliary device wireless transceiver configured to transmit the image data received from the endoscope ([0092]; Kim) to the monitor wireless transceiver (wireless interactive displays 13362 [0131]; Shelton | the modified system can have the image wirelessly transmitted to the monitor/display; images on the display of the robotic surgical system [0132] of Shelton), and a battery (power supply source [0091]; Kim) configured to power the endoscope (power…operate the controller 320 [0091]; Kim), wherein the monitor is configured to cause a display (see 215 connected to 236, figure 9; Shelton) to present a live representation of the image data as the image data is transmitted from the endoscope to the auxiliary component (current inspection image [0092]; Kim) and from the auxiliary component to the monitor (wireless interactive displays 13362 [0131]; Shelton | the modified system can have the image wirelessly transmitted to the monitor/display; images on the display of the robotic surgical system [0132] of Shelton).
Regarding claim 21, Shelton further discloses the monitor comprises the display accommodated in the first housing (13380, figure 6 | hub…subsequent display to the surgeon [0064] | see 215 connected to 236, figure 9; Shelton).
Regarding claim 26, Shelton further discloses the auxiliary component comprises a wearing element (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a wristwatch | see 13362, figure 7; Shelton) configured to attach the auxiliary component to a person.
Regarding claim 38, Kim further teaches the main device (interpreted as the endoscope) is powered solely by the battery of the auxiliary component (power…operate the controller 320 [0091]; Kim).
Regarding claim 39, Shelton further discloses the auxiliary component comprises a wristwatch (13362, figure 7; Shelton | 13362 is attached to the wrist).
Regarding claim 40, Shelton further discloses the auxiliary component (13362, figure 7; Shelton) comprises a secondary auxiliary coupling part including secondary auxiliary terminals configured to establish a wired connection with the socket of the monitor (operating theater devices…wired channel [0168]; Shelton | system bus…USB [0177] | computer system 210…USB port [0183] | interpreted there to be terminals to establish the USB connection from the auxiliary component to the socket of the monitor).
Claim(s) 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2020/0405425) and Kim (US 2016/0331213) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Tigert (US 2020/0208815).
Regarding claim 22, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 20. They are silent regarding the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, wherein the socket is arranged at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the one or more monitor terminals are electrically connected to the monitor processor through the one or more flexible monitor wires.
Tigert teaches a customizable illumination system (abstract), where a light source (200, figure 1) is coupled to a power module (300, figure 1). The power module has a power source (310, figure 1) and connecting cable (320, figure 1). Any configuration of an extension cord or cable can be added to the system to allow additional flexibility in placement of the light source with respect to the power supply ([0076]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system to have an additional extension cord/cable that can be added to the system as taught by Tigert ([0076]). Doing so would allow additional flexibility in placement of the monitor with respect to the endoscope ([0076]). The modified system would have the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing (system bus…USB [0177] | USB port [0183]; Shelton | extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified system would have monitor wires external of the first housing from the added extension cord), wherein the socket is arranged at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires (extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified extension cord would have a USB port or plug to connect the added cord on each ends), and wherein the one or more monitor terminals (system bus…USB [0177]) are electrically connected to the monitor processor through the one or more flexible monitor wires (wired channel [0168] | computer system 210…USB port [0183]).
Regarding claim 23, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 20. They are silent regarding the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing, a plug at a proximal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and a second socket at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the socket is configured to receive the plug and electrically connect the second socket with the socket.
Tigert teaches a customizable illumination system (abstract), where a light source (200, figure 1) is coupled to a power module (300, figure 1). The power module has a power source (310, figure 1) and connecting cable (320, figure 1). Any configuration of an extension cord or cable can be added to the system to allow additional flexibility in placement of the light source with respect to the power supply ([0076]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system to have an additional extension cord/cable that can be added to the system as taught by Tigert ([0076]). Doing so would allow additional flexibility in placement of the monitor with respect to the endoscope ([0076]). The modified system would have the monitor electrical connector comprises one or more flexible monitor wires external of the first housing (system bus…USB [0177] | USB port [0183]; Shelton | extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified system would have monitor wires external of the first housing from the added extension cord), a plug at a proximal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires (extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified extension cord would have a USB port or plug to connect the added cord on each ends), and a second socket at a distal end of the one or more flexible monitor wires (extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified extension cord would have a USB port/plug to connect the added cord), and wherein the socket is configured to receive the plug and electrically connect the second socket with the socket (see 112b rejection above | extension cord [0076]; Tigert | the modified extension cord would have a USB port/plug to connect the added cord | computer system 210…USB port [0183]; Shelton).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2020/0405425) and Kim (US 2016/0331213) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Farr (US 2010/0208054).
Regarding claim 24, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 23. They are silent regarding a sealed package enclosing the second socket and the one or more flexible monitor wires, and wherein the plug is arranged outside the sealed package.
Farr teaches an OE vision module (100, figure 1a) that can be housed with a disposable package or housing ([0030]). Flex circuitry can be used to provide power and control signals to the OE vision module and to transmit imaging signals to a portable control and display unit (110, figure 1a), where part of the cable (105, figure 1a) can be freely enclosed in the disposable package or housing ([0030]). Part of the cable may be outside the disposable device package ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system to have a part of the cable outside a package ([0030]) as taught by Farr. Doing so is an alternative way to package a cable ([0030]). The modified system would have a sealed package (package…[0030]; Farr) enclosing the second socket and the one or more flexible monitor wires (part of the cable can be enclosed in the disposable package [0030]), and wherein the plug is arranged outside the sealed package (part of the cable can be outside the package [0030]).
Claim(s) 25 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2020/0405425) and Kim (US 2016/0331213) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Shelton (US 2019/0200844).
Regarding claim 25, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 20. They are silent regarding the monitor processor is configured to perform an electronic analysis of the monitor electrical connector at predetermined intervals, and in accordance with registering a non-working condition of the monitor electrical connector, the monitor processor is configured to activate a warning indication.
Shelton teaches a computer-implemented interactive surgical system (100, figure 1) that includes one or more surgical systems (102, figure 1) and a cloud-based system (cloud 104, remote server 113, and storage device 105, figure 1). During a given surgical procedure, a large amount of data associated with the surgical procedure can be generated and captured to be communicated to a surgical hub ([0561]). When a failure event associated with the surgical procedure is detected and/or identified (0561]), a notification can be provided ([1209]). The captured data can be time-stamped either before or after being received at the surgical hub ([0561]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system, specifically the monitor processor, of Shelton 2020 and Kim to be able to monitor for failure events of different devices ([0560]) as taught by Shelton. Doing so would notify a user that a failure event has occurred ([1209]). The modified system would have the monitor processor is configured to perform an electronic analysis of the monitor electrical connector (failure event…detected [0561]; Shelton 2019) at predetermined intervals (during a surgical procedure…time-stamped [0561]; Shelton 2019), and in accordance with registering a non-working condition of the monitor electrical connector (captured data…[0561]; Shelton 2019), the monitor processor is configured to activate a warning indication (notification…[1209]; Shelton 2019).
Regarding claim 30, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 20. They are silent regarding the main electrical connector comprises a device identifier indicative of device identifier information, and wherein the main device processor is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier.
Shelton 2019 teaches a computer-implemented interactive surgical system (100, figure 1) that includes one or more surgical systems (102, figure 1) and a cloud-based system (cloud 104, remote server 113, and storage device 105, figure 1). Components of the system may have an encrypted serial number and a source ID stored on an electronic chip (i.e., memory) in the component ([0627]). Upon connection of the component to a surgical hub (206, figure 9), the surgical hub may read the encrypted serial number and the source ID from the electronic chip ([0627]).
It would have been obvious to modify the main electrical connector to have a serial number and source ID stored on an electronic chip ([0627]) as taught by Shelton to be read by the main device processor of Shelton and Kim. Doing so provides control over which components are being utilized in the system by authenticating the component and/or its supplier/manufacturer ([0627]). The modified system would have the main electrical connector comprises a device identifier (serial number and source ID on an electronic chip [0627]; Shelton 2019) indicative of device identifier information, and wherein the main device processor (see 112b rejection above | modular control tower 236 comprises…a computer system 210 to provide local processing [0175]; Shelton 2020) is configured to obtain the device identifier information from the device identifier (connection...surgical hub…may read…[0627]; Shelton 2019).
Regarding claim 31, Shelton 2019 further teaches the device identifier includes an electronically readable memory (electronic chip, i.e., memory [0627]; Shelton 2019) connected to the one or more main terminals (connection…surgical hub…[0627]; Shelton 2019).
Claim(s) 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 2020/0405425) and Kim (US 2016/0331213) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 2019/0142256).
Regarding claim 29, Shelton and Kim disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 20. They are silent regarding the main electrical connector comprises a safety-circuit configured to prevent excessive current from flowing to the light emitter and/or the image sensor, and wherein the one or more main terminals are electrically connected to the light emitter and the image sensor via the safety circuit.
Zhao teaches a system (10, figure 1) with an endoscope (12, figure 1) and a wireless imaging unit (20, figure 1) capable of wireless bi-directional data communication (24, figure 1) to one or more external devices (25, figure 1). The wireless imaging unit (20, figures 8-9) has a system controller (130, figures 8-9), where the system controller has an image processing unit (142, figure 9). The wireless imaging unit has PCBs (120, figure 8). At least one of the PCBs include a power controller (131, figure 9). The power controller has a rechargeable battery (162, figure 9), an inductive charger (164, figure 9), and a power regulator (160, figure 9) that regulates the voltage and/or current which is supplied to the electronic components in the imaging unit ([0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system with a power regulator (160, figure 9) as taught by Zhao. Doing so would regulate the voltage/current supplied to the endoscope ([0030] and [0093]). The modified system would have the main electrical connector (see 112b rejection above) comprises a safety-circuit (160, figure 9; Zhao) configured to prevent excessive current from flowing to the light emitter and/or the image sensor (regulates the current…electronic components [0093]; Zhao), and wherein the one or more main terminals are electrically connected to the light emitter and the image sensor via the safety circuit (interpreted the USB cable to have terminals or be connected to terminals on the monitor).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
August 24, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795