DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0163379, filed on 11/24/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 requires that a, which indicates the atomic percent of Li in the compound, is between 1.0 and 1.3. This results in an Li/M ratio of 1.0-1.3, which is broader than that required by the parent claim (i.e., 1.03-1.05).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US20210135187A1 – refer to IDS filed 7/15/2025) in view of Takano (US20200251733A1 – refer to IDS filed 12/24/2024).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 5 and 7, Park discloses a method of preparing a positive electrode active material [pars. 0044-0048,0059-65,0068-70], comprising:
(S1) preparing a positive electrode active material precursor including nickel, cobalt, and manganese (i.e., preparing a precursor including 65 mol% or more of nickel with cobalt and manganese) [par. 0046] (claim 5);
(S2) mixing the positive electrode active material precursor and a lithium source (lithium raw material) to form a mixture and sintering the mixture to form a lithium transition metal oxide (lithium composite transition metal oxide) [par. 0046]; and
(S3) washing the lithium transition metal oxide with a washing solution (e.g., with water) [pars. 0068-70],
wherein the sintering is performed in an oxygen atmosphere (i.e., “more preferably in an oxygen atmosphere” as opposed to air atmosphere) [par. 0065],
a molar ratio (Li/M) of lithium (Li) of the lithium source to total metallic elements (M) of the positive electrode active material precursor is in a range of 1.03 to 1.05 (i.e., 1.02-1.03 [par. 0064], or 1.04 as exemplified in Example 6 [par. 0110]) (claims 1,2), and
the washing solution is used in an amount of 50 parts by weight to 110 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the lithium transition metal oxide [par. 0105] (i.e., 300 g of lithium composite transition metal oxide added to 300 mL of water for washing, as exemplified in Example 1, results in 100 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the lithium transition metal oxide) (claims 1,7).
Park teaches performing the sintering more preferably in an oxygen atmosphere, as opposed to an air atmosphere [par. 0065], but fails to explicitly teach wherein the sintering is performed in an atmosphere with an oxygen concentration of 85% or more. However, Tanako, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a highly enriched sintering atmosphere, noting that firing a high-nickel cathode material should occur in an oxygen atmosphere of preferably > 80%, or more preferably, > 95%, in order ensure certainty of nickel oxidation from Ni2+ to Ni3+ to suppress destructive lithium/nickel cation mixing in the crystal lattice structure resulting in stabilized structure phase purity of the single-particle oxide and improved charge-discharge characteristics [Tanako – pars. 0033-34,0082-888]. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled artisan to have modified the method of Park by optimizing the sintering atmosphere to have an oxygen concentration of 85% to 100% in order to ensure certainty of nickel oxidation from Ni2+ to Ni3+ to suppress destructive lithium/nickel cation mixing in the crystal lattice structure resulting in stabilized structure phase purity of the single-particle oxide and improved charge-discharge characteristics, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2144.05(II)] (claims 1, 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Park discloses wherein the sintering is performed at 870-900o C [par. 0065].
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses wherein the lithium transition metal oxide is a compound represented by Li1.04Ni0.82Co0.12Mn0.06O2 (i.e., as exemplified by Example 6) [pars. 0101-105,0110].
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751