DETAILED ACTION
This office action is response to applicant’s amendment filed on 11/5/2025. Claims 1-6 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As stated in the previous office action, claim 1 defines a mode conversion device comprising a long period grating. To make the claimed long period grating, one would need to be able to calculate the grating pitch Λ and the grating coupling length Lc. Although value ranges have ben provided for FWHM, coupling efficiency C, and core diameter, the equations in claim 1 and 7 remain indefinite because there are more unknown variables than equations.
The propagation constant β can be solved with
β
=
n
e
f
f
2
π
λ
; the effective refractive index neff requires at least ncore or ncladding known. Thus, the propagation constant is indefinite.
There is no defined value or range for β , Lc, and Lg, which renders the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite.
For the reasons above, the claims remain indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urushibara et al. (US 2019/0187365 A1, herein “Urushibara”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Urushibara discloses a mode conversion device (91 in Fig. 1) comprising a long period grating (LPG for the mode converter, Para [0052]) at a core of the optical fiber (Fifth Embodiment teaches the mode converter 91 is a grating that is formed using a CO2 laser or a UV laser to change the refractive index, Para [0068]) from one mode to another mode (LP01 and LP11a LP11b, Para [0045]-[0048]). Urushibara implicitly teaches altering the refractive index of the core of the fiber in the disclosure of the bending species of the mode converter (Para [0069]). Furthermore, the mode conversion of interest is guided within the core. By matching the grating pitch of the LPG with
2
π
Δ
β
mode coupling between modes can occur (Para [0055]). Fig. 6 further shows the center wavelengths of three different fiber core diameters (8.4 microns, 12 microns, and 13.4 microns) are greater than 1250 nm and their respective refractive index difference is greater than 0.28% (1.0%, 0.5%, and 0.4%). Therefore, the examiner considers the mode converter 91 as disclosed by Urushibara inherently has values that meet the equations set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urushibara in view of Grubsky et al. (US 2002/0122629 A1, herein “Grubsky”).
Urushibara discloses the invention of claim 1, however, Urushibara does not teach a tap waveguide that is at a rear stage of the long period grating in a propagation direction of light and outputs from a side surface of the optical fiber, light with a desired wavelength converted from one mode to another mode by the long period grating in light propagating through the core of the optical fiber.
Grubsky teaches mode conversion device comprising a tap waveguide (18 in Fig. 1A) that is at a rear stage of the long period grating (22) in a propagation direction of light and outputs, from a side surface of the optical fiber, light with a desired wavelength converted from one mode to another mode by the long period grating in light propagating through the core of the optical fiber (Para [0027], [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission line with mode converter of Urushibara with a tap waveguide to transfer light at a desired and selected wavelength from the core of one optical fiber into the core of another optical fiber through a coupling region. One motivation would be to efficiently transmit the selected wavelength out of a transmission fiber that carry many optical channels which have application in communication systems that use wavelength division multiplexing (Para [0003] and [0009]).
Claim 3. Urushibara in view of Grubsky (herein “Urushibara / Grubsky”) teach a set of long period grating and the tap waveguide is vertically aligned in the optical fiber (Grubsky: Fig. 1a).
Claim 4. Urushibara / Grubsky teach the long period grating has different design parameters so that wavelengths of light converted from the one mode to the other mode are different from each other. Grubsky teaches the general condition of phase matching condition between the two coupled optical modes. This happens when the period of the grating GAMMA, satisfies the phase-matching condition. For given values of effective refractive index of the core, effective refractive index of the clad, and wavelength, the phase matching condition predicts a certain value for the resonant wavelength lambda. Therefore, long-period gratings are wavelength-selective elements. In other words, converted wavelengths of light from the one mode to the other mode are different from each other (Grubsky: Para [0042-0043]).
Claim 5. Urushibara / Grubsky teach the general condition for varying the long period grating length GAMA. Moreover, Grubsky discloses coupling efficiency between different mode converters through experimentation, and found coupling efficiency may varies (e.g., 99% in Para [0047]), and 16% in Para [0050]). Thus, Grubsky teaches the grating length Lg of the long period grating is different so that a wavelength of light to be converted from one mode to another mode is identical and the coupling efficiency is different.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New ground of rejection to over Urushibara teach the fiber having the characteristics as recited in claim 1 and claim 6, thus Urushibara inherently has values that meet the equations set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874