DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are pending, and claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 14, and 17-20 are currently under review.
Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claims 4, 9-13, and 15-16 are withdrawn.
Claims 17-20 are newly added.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-16 and newly submitted claim(s) 17-20 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome some of the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/02/2026.
Claim Objections
The status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number. See MPEP 1893.01(a)(4). The examiner notes that claims 4, 9-13, and 15-16 are not properly indicated as “withdrawn”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The term “high frequency” as claimed is interpreted to merely refer to a frequency region of 0.001 to 100 GHz as further recited in claim 1.
The term “main phase” is interpreted to refer to any phase of the magnetic material that includes R, Fe, M, and N and is also at least one of tretragonal, rhombohedral, hexagonal, or amorphous as expressly defined in [p.22 instant specification].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites that the main phase is amorphous, which is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires merely at least some degree of amorphous phases in said main phase, or some particular quantitative ratio of amorphous phases, or an entirely amorphous phase. The examiner interprets the claim to be met by any of the aforementioned interpretations.
The examiner notes that claim 17 further recites some degree of amorphous phase (ie. “homogeneous” in claim 17) which is sufficiently definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imaoka et al. (US 2010/0068512).
Regarding claim 1, Imaoka et al. discloses a magnetic material having a main phase having a composition represented by compositional formula RxFe(100-x-y)Ny, wherein x ranges from 3 to 30 atomic percent, y ranges from 1 to 30 atomic percent, and up to 50 atomic percent of the Fe can be replaced by Ti, V, Mo, etc. [0035-0037]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the ranges of Imaoka et al. and that as claimed are prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the magnetic material can further include amorphous phases, which meets the aforementioned claim interpretation of a main phase that further includes at least some amorphous portions (ie. sub-phases) as taught by Imaoka et al. [0103]. Imaoka et al. further teaches utilizing the magnetic material in a frequency range of 0.005 to 33 GHz, which meets the claimed range and limitation of “high frequency” [0042].
Regarding claim 2, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that up to 50 atomic percent of Fe can be replaced with Co or Ni [0037].
Regarding claim 3, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the rare earth component can include up to 50 atomic percent of Sm [0049].
Regarding claim 5, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the magnetic material has an in-plane magnetic anisotropy [0040].
Regarding claim 7, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that up to 50 atomic percent of N can be replaced with H, C, P, Si, and S [0038].
Regarding claim 8, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the magnetic material is a magnetic powder having a size of 0.1 to 2000 micrometers [0123].
Regarding claim 14, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the magnetic material is magnetically oriented [0050].
Regarding claim 18, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches that the main phase makes up at least 75 percent of the material [0103].
Regarding claim 20, Imaoka et al. discloses the material of claim 1 (see previous). Imaoka et al. further teaches a resistivity of 200 to 8000 micro-ohm-cm [0143].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 17 and 19 are directed to the magnetic material of claim 1, wherein the main phase is a homogenous amorphous phase and the magnetic material is magnetically isotropic. There is no prior art of record that teaches these features together.
The closest prior art of record is Imaoka et al. as relied upon in the above 103 rejections. However, Imaoka et al. does not teach or suggest the aforementioned claim features.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 regarding the 112b rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 6 has been cancelled and overcomes the previous 112b rejection. However, the features of claim 6 are now incorporated into amended claim 1, and claim 1 is indefinite for the same reasons as previously presented. Specifically, it is unclear whether the main phase must be entirely amorphous or whether the main phase merely needs to include at least some degree of amorphous portions to be considered “amorphous”. Applicant’s remarks do not further explain or rebut the examiner’s previous interpretation, such that the 112b rejections still stand insomuch as they pertain to amended claim 1.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Imaoka et al. does not teach an amorphous phase as claimed. The examiner cannot concur. As interpreted above, the instant claim can be met by a main phase which merely includes some degree of amorphous portions according to broadest reasonable interpretation, which is met by the disclosure of Imaoka et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734