DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on August 06, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on August 21, 2026.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed on August 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is specifically based on the following limitations:
(a) receiving a notification including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node, in a wireless communication network of which the network node and the unmanned aerial system are part, for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier, wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node; and
(b) updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system, the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node.
Regarding claim limitation (a),
(1) the applicant argued that Zhou does not disclose the claim features (Applicant, page 7-18, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated August 06, 2026). The applicant stated “claim 1 does not recite that a terminal changes network or that location service information is transferred between different network systems. Claim 1 recites that a notification indicative of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node in the wireless communication network”.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. In fact, it is commonly known (well known) in the art that “a wireless communication network (system)” comprises one or more sub-networks of different radio access technologies (3G, 4G, 5G,NTN). Therefore, the applicant needs to include a specific feature “a wireless communication network does not comprise one or more sub-networks of different radio access technologies (3G, 4G, 5G,NTN)” or “ a wireless communication network of 5G RAT” in the claim.
(2) the applicant also stated “Zhou’s MME in a 4G network is neither an AMF node nor an SMF node”.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. The functionality of MME is the same as the functionality of AMF. In addition, Zhou describes both 4G to 5G handover and 5G to 4G handover conditions. Therefore, MME is a new serving anchor node in 5G to 4G handover and AMF is a new serving node in 4G to 5G handover.
As a support of evidence, Zhou discloses:
“Executing the location service in this application means an operation performed by the terminal, the core network element, or another related network element to implement the location service. It should be noted that, when the location service is executed by the terminal, executing the location service may also mean supporting (support) the location service. When the location service is executed by the mobility management network element, executing the location service may also mean managing (manage) the location service. When the location service is executed by the capability exposure network element, executing the location service may also mean providing (provide) the location service to the client. In the 5G network, an operation of executing the location service by the terminal, an operation of executing the location service by the AMF, an operation of executing the location service by the LMF, an operation of executing the location service by the NEF, an operation of executing the location service by the GMLC, and the like are mainly defined in the 3GPP standard TS23.273. In the 4G network, an operation of executing the location service by the terminal, an operation of executing the location service by the MME, an operation of executing the location service by the E-SMLC, an operation of executing the location service by the SCEF, and the like are mainly defined in the 3GPP standard TS23.271” (paragraph [0138]).
“FIG. 8 is a schematic flowchart of a terminal positioning method according to an embodiment of this application. The method may be applied to the system shown in FIG. 1b . For example, the first network is a 5G network, the second network is a 4G network, the capability exposure network element of the second network is an SCEF, and the mobility management network element of the second network is an MME” (Fig.8, paragraph [0249]).
“S801: When registering with the 5G network, a terminal receives indication information from the 5G network, and learns that the current 5G network does not support handover of an N26 interface” (Fig.8, paragraph [0250]).
“S802: In a process in which the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network, the terminal sends a second indication to the MME, and the MME receives the second indication from the terminal. The second indication is used to indicate that there is a location service for the current terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [0252]).
“In an example, the terminal sends the second indication to the MME by using an attach request. The MME determines, based on the attach request or the second indication, that the terminal is handed over to the 4G network” (Fig.8, paragraph [0254]).
S803: The MME sends a third indication to the SCEF, and the SCEF receives the third indication from the MME. The third indication is used to indicate that there is the location service for the terminal from 5G” (Fig.8, paragraph [0255]).
“The third indication may be a location service handover indication (indication 3) negotiated by a sender and a receiver of the third indication, may be a bit with a preset value, or may be a preset information element, in a message, that can indicate that there is the location service for the terminal from 5G” (Fig.8, paragraph [0256]).
“In an example, the MME sends the third indication to the SCEF by using an LDR handover notification” (Fig.8, paragraph [0257]).
“S804: The SCEF sends a first notification to an NEF, and the NEF receives the first notification from the SCEF. The first notification is used to indicate to send first information to the MME, and the first information is used to execute the location service for the terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [0258]).
“The first notification includes an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME, and optionally includes the third indication” (Fig.8, paragraph [0259]).
“S805: The NEF determines, based on the first notification, that there is the location service for the terminal in the 5G network” (Fig.8, paragraph [0262]).
“S806: The NEF sends the first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF” (Fig.8, paragraph [0264]).
“The first information may include information required for executing the location service. For example, when the location service is an LDR service, the first information may include LDR request information. The LDR request information may be included in a location request of the LDR service, and the location request of the LDR service may be sent by the client to the 5G network when the client requests to provide the LDR service for the specific terminal. Specifically, the information required for executing the location service may be some or all of information used to indicate a triggering event, information used to indicate positioning accuracy, or information used to indicate a reporting periodicity. The triggering event is an event that triggers sending of a location report to the client. For example, the terminal moves out of or moves to an area, or a moving distance of the terminal reaches a threshold distance. When the location event is satisfied, a core network triggers the sending of the location report to the client. The positioning accuracy is used to describe accuracy of positioning the terminal. The reporting periodicity refers to a periodicity during which location information of the terminal is sent to the client based on a specific periodicity. When the periodicity expires, the core network triggers the sending of the location report to the client” (paragraph [0155]).
“Through this step, the location service for the terminal is resubscribed in the 4G network” (paragraph [0266]).
“According to the foregoing method, in a process in which the terminal is handed over from 5G to 4G, the terminal indicates, to the MME, that there is the location service for the terminal, the MME further notifies the SCEF that there is the location service for the terminal from the 5G network, the SCEF provides the identifier of the MME to the NEF, and the NEF sends, to the MME, the first information required for executing the location service. In this way, after the terminal is handed over from 5G to 4G, the 4G network can still execute the location service for the terminal. This maintains continuity of the location service for the terminal” (paragraph [0271]).
Accordingly, Fig. 8 illustrates the following: (1) the terminal registers with the 5G network (a serving anchor node, AMF) at S801; when the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network, there is a change of anchor node for location service from AMF at 5G network to MME (a new anchor node) at 4G network; (2) at S802, sends a notification of changing serving anchor node to the MME indicating that the terminal is handover to the 4G network and MME is the new anchor node; (3) at 803, the MME sends a location service notification to the SCEF indicating that the MME (with the identifier) is the new anchor node of the terminal (with an identifier) for providing location service; (4) at 804, the SCEF sends location service handover notification to the NEF indicating a change of serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) for the terminal to provide location service; (5) at 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME; NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME); and (6) at 806, the NEF sends the information required for executing the location service to the MME (new anchor node) to maintain continuity of the location service for the terminal.
Regarding claim limitation (b),
(3) the applicant argued that “Zhou fails to disclose updating a stored context to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node. Updating inherently requires the pre-existence of something that is modified (updated) into a new version of that something (Applicant, page 8-18, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated August 06, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
In the previous filing, the applicant stated “the context is created rather than updated after handover”. The examiner clarified that “a new context is created by updating the information”. “Updating” can be reasonable interpreted as “creating a new context and removing an old context”.
In fact, the applicant’s statement “Updating inherently requires the pre-existence of something that is modified (updated) into a new version of that something” is the same as the examiner’s explanation ““Updating” could also mean creating a new context (new serving anchor node) and removing an old context (old serving anchor node)”.
As a support of evidence, Zhou discloses:
“In an example, the MME sends the third indication to the SCEF by using an LDR handover notification” (Fig.8, paragraph [0257]).
“S804: The SCEF sends a first notification to an NEF, and the NEF receives the first notification from the SCEF. The first notification is used to indicate to send first information to the MME, and the first information is used to execute the location service for the terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [0258]).
“The first notification includes an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME, and optionally includes the third indication” (Fig.8, paragraph [0259]).
“The identifier of the MME may be any information that can uniquely identify the MME, for example, may be information such as an ID of the MME or an address of the MME” (Fig.8, paragraph [0260]).
“The identifier of the terminal may be any information that can uniquely identify the terminal, for example, may be information such as an IP address of the terminal, an international mobile subscriber identification number (IMSI) of the terminal, a temporary mobile subscriber identity (TMSI) of the terminal, a globally unique temporary UE identity (gGUTI) of the terminal, a domain name of the terminal, or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal” (paragraph [0207]).
“S805: The NEF determines, based on the first notification, that there is the location service for the terminal in the 5G network” (Fig.8, paragraph [0262]).
“S806: The NEF sends the first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF” (Fig.8, paragraph [0264]).
Accordingly, Zhou describes location service handover from 5G to 4G network. Obviously, there is a change of serving anchor node which provides location service in respective networks. At 804, the SCEF sends location service handover notification to the NEF indicating a change of serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) for the terminal to provide location service. At 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME; NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME). At 806, the NEF sends the information required for executing the location service to the MME (new anchor node) to maintain continuity of the location service for the terminal.
It is clear that Zhou discloses “receiving a notification including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node, in a wireless communication network of which the network node and the unmanned aerial system are part, for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier, wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node;” and “updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system, the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node”.
The applicant further argued that Karampastsis describes “unmanned aerial system”, but the reference fails to remedy the deficiencies of Zhou (Applicant, page 8-18, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated August 06, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
Karampatis further discloses:
While depicted as a standalone network function, in an alternative deployment of the system 100, the UAS-NF 147 may be implemented as a service offered by NEF 146. The UAS-NF 147 is supported by the NEF 146 (or by both an NEF and Service Capability Exposure Function (“SCEF”)-denoted “NEF/SCEF”) and is used for external exposure of services to the USS. In some embodiments, the UAS-NF 147 uses existing NEF/SCEF exposure services for UAV authentication/authorization, for UAV flight authorization, for UAV/UAV-C pairing authorization, and related revocation: for location reporting, and control of QoS/traffic filtering for Command and Control (“C2”) communication” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0056]).
“Continuing on FIG. 2C, at Step 17, the UE 201 (e.g., the NAS layer in the UE 201) includes within a UL NAS Transport message a UAV payload container including the requested information (i.e., CAA Level UAV ID and/or Flight Authorization ID or Flight Information Details, if the UAV requests flight authorization within the PDU session establishment request according to step 2) (see messaging 257)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0101]).
“At Step 18, the AMF 207 forwards the UAV payload container to the UAS-NF 213 within a Namf_Communication_N1N2_messagetransfer notify message (see messaging 259)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0102]).
“At Step 31, the USS/UTM server 205 sends a Naf_UAV_Auth_response to the UAS-NF 213 with the authorization result that includes an authorization token and/or a flight authorization ID (see messaging 285)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0116]).
“At Step 32, the UAS-NF 213 stores the authorization result in its local database (see block 287). The internal database may include information that a 3GPP UAV identifier or a CAA-Level UAV identifier has a valid UUAA or C2 authorization” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0117]).
“The message, in some embodiments, may be transported via an NEF. The USS/UTM server authorizes the request and provides the response to the UAS-NF. If the UUAA is carried out at the S-NSSAI level, the USS/UTM server provides a list of the authorized S-NSSAIs. The UAS-NF stores the authorization results in its local database, i.e., stores that the CAA-Level UAV ID and 3GPP UAV ID have a valid UUAA. The UAS-NF responds to the AMF with the authorization result within a Nuavnf_UAV_operation response message. The AMF stores in the UE context that the UAV has a valid UUAA (e.g., stores that the SUPI has a valid UUAA)” (paragraph [0127]).
Accordingly, Karampatsis specifically describes the UAS-NF is implemented as a SCEF+NEF in primary reference Zhou. The AME/MME (serving anchor node) sends the notification to the UAS-NF indicating a 3GPP UAV identifier or a CAA-Level UAV identifier of the terminal (UAV) and a Flight authorization ID. The UAS-NF stores the 3GPP UAV identifier or CAA-Level UAV identifier of the terminal (UAV) and the AMF/MME as its serving anchor node. Therefore, it implies that UAS-NF updates the stored identifiers of the serving anchor node and the terminal when there is a change of serving anchor node.
Accordingly, Zhou in combination with Karampatsis teaches the claim features.
Regarding Claims 2, 5-9, 11 and 14-18, the features that Applicant’s arguing are disclosed by Zhou in combination with Karampastsis as responded above for a similar rationale as that discussed. The dependent claims 2, 5-9, 11 and 14-18 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive.
Clarifying the fundamental difference between applicant's functionality and the cited reference’s functionality by incorporating allowable subject matter directed in dependent claims 3 and 12 (allowable subject matter indicated in this office action) could overcome the current outstanding rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0159542 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Karampastsis et al. (US 2024/0322898 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/137,039 filed on January 13, 2021), hereinafter “Karampastsis”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method, performed by a network node storing a context for at least one unmanned aerial system (Fig. 1b, 2, 6, 8, system architecture according to positioning method), the method comprising:
receiving a notification (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], SCEF receives the third indication from the MME) including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], identifier of the terminal) and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249], [0252], [0255], [0257], [0259], location service handover indication), in a wireless communication network of which the network node and the unmanned aerial system are part (Fig. 1b, 2, 8, the first network is a 5G network, the second network is a 4G network, the capability exposure network element of the second network is an SCEF, and the mobility management network element of the second network is an MME), for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier (Fig. 1b, 2, 8, first anchor AMF), wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], anchor node as an access and mobility management function node); and
updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system (Fig.8, paragraphs [0207], [0260], [0262], [0264], any information that can uniquely identify the terminal, for example, a globally unique temporary UE identity of the terminal, or a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal), the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0207], [0260], [0262], [0264], first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF).
[Note: Accordingly, Fig. 8 illustrates the following:
(1) the terminal registers with the 5G network (a serving anchor node, AMF) at S801; when the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network, there is a change of anchor node for location service from AMF at 5G network to MME (a new anchor node) at 4G network;
(2) at S802, sends a notification of changing serving anchor node to the MME indicating that the terminal is handover to the 4G network and MME is the new anchor node;
(3) at 803, the MME sends a location service notification to the SCEF indicating that the MME (with the identifier) is the new anchor node of the terminal (with an identifier) for providing location service;
(4) at 804, the SCEF sends location service handover notification to the NEF indicating a change of serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) for the terminal to provide location service;
(5) at 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME; NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME); and
(6) at 806, the NEF sends the information required for executing the location service to the MME (new anchor node) to maintain continuity of the location service for the terminal].
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “unmanned aerial system”.
However, Karampastsis from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “unmanned aerial system” (Figs. 1, 3B-3D, paragraphs [0056], [0102], [0117], AMF 207 forwards the UAV payload container to the UAS-NF 213 and UAS-NF 213 stores the authorization result in its local database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “an unmanned aerial system” as taught by Karampastsis, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide implementation of any particular wireless communication system architecture or protocol relates to receiving authorization for an unmanned aerial vehicle or uncrewed aerial vehicle (Zhou, paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the notification is received from at least one of a previous anchor node in the wireless communication network and the new anchor node (paragraphs [0255]-[0257], indication from MME).
Karampastsis from further discloses “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “unmanned aerial system” (Figs. 1, 3B-3D, paragraphs [0056], [0102], [0117], AMF 207 forwards the UAV payload container to the UAS-NF 213 and UAS-NF 213 stores the authorization result in its local database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “an unmanned aerial system” as taught by Karampastsis, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide implementation of any particular wireless communication system architecture or protocol relates to receiving authorization for an unmanned aerial vehicle or uncrewed aerial vehicle (Zhou, paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
9. Claims 5-9 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0159542 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Karampastsis et al. (US 2024/0322898 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/137,039 filed on January 13, 2021), hereinafter “Karampastsis” in view of Baskaran et al. (US 2024/0098494 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/135,511 filed on January 8, 2021), hereinafter “Baskaran”.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Karampastsis disclose the method according to claim 1.
Neither Zhou nor Karampastsis explicitly discloses “receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information; retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node; and sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information”
However, Baskaran from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information (Fig.2A, step 1, paragraph [0100], when the USS/UTM server 211 determines to revoke a UUAA, it sends a UUAA Revocation Request to the UAS-NF 209 (see messaging 215); here, the UUAA Revocation Request includes at least a 3GPP UAV ID (e.g., a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (“GPSI”)) and CAA-Level UAV ID);
retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node (Fig.2A, step 2, paragraph [0101], at Step 2 a, the UAS-NF 209 sends a Nudm_UECM_Get Request message to the UDM 207 with the received 3GPP UAV ID, and setting the NF type as ‘AMF’; alternatively, the UAS-NF 209 may fetch the (locally stored) SUPI corresponding to a received 3GPP UAV ID and send a Nudm_UECM_Get Request message to the UDM, said request containing the SUPI and having the NF type set as ‘AMF’; at Step 2 b the UAS-NF 209 receives the serving AMF information corresponding to the 3GPP UAV ID (or SUPI) from the UDM 207, i.e., in a Nudm_UECM_Get response message (see messaging 217)); and
sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information (Fig. 2A, step 3, paragraph [0102], UUAA Revocation to AMF 203).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information; retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node; and sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 5.
Baskaran further discloses the further node is an authorization node and the further information comprises authorization information (Fig. 2A, paragraph [0100], UAV USS authentication and authorization procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the further node is an authorization node and the further information comprises authorization information” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 6.
Baskaran further discloses the authorization information is indicative of one of re-authentication and revocation of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message (Figs. 2A-2B, 5A-5B, paragraphs [0100], [0170], at Step 10, the UAS-NF 209 sends the received UAS Re-auth/auth Request to the serving AMF 203 (and/or serving SMF) along with the 3GPP UAV ID, CAA-Level UAV ID, and Cause Value with ‘UAS AA/C2 Re-auth or Pairing Re-authorization/authorization or UAV-C Change’ (see messaging 525)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the authorization information is indicative of one of re-authentication and revocation of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 5.
Baskaran further discloses the request message is a request for a service (Figs. 2A-2B, 5A-5B, paragraph [0171],service for re-auth/auth request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the request message is a request for a service” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses the service is location tracking of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message (paragraphs [0265]-[0267], location service for the terminal).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3 and 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that the subject limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, and
(3) that all independent claims were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response.
[Note: In case of given the scope of the claimed amendments and/or the arguments would require further consideration or search may result in new ground(s) of rejection. The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.]
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 12, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “notifying a previous anchor node for the unmanned aerial system about completion of a transfer of control of the unmanned aerial system to the new anchor node, wherein notifying the previous anchor node comprises sending, to the previous anchor node, a de-registration request confirming a transfer of context control to the new anchor node”.
Conclusion
11. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414