DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on November 24, 2025 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12 and 14 have been amended.
4. Claims 4 and 13 were cancelled.
5. Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
6. The applicant's arguments filed on November 24, 2025 regarding claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Zhou in view of Karampastsis will continue to be used to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the applicant argued that Zhou does not disclose the claim features “receiving a notification including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node, in a wireless communication system network of which the network node and the at least one unmanned aerial system are part, for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier from a first anchor node to a second anchor node in the wireless communication system, wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node”; and “updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system, the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node”. (Applicant, page 7-9, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated November 24, 2025 ).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
As a support of evidence, Zhou discloses:
“FIG. 8 is a schematic flowchart of a terminal positioning method according to an embodiment of this application. The method may be applied to the system shown in FIG. 1b . For example, the first network is a 5G network, the second network is a 4G network, the capability exposure network element of the second network is an SCEF, and the mobility management network element of the second network is an MME” (Fig.8, paragraph [00249]).
“S801: When registering with the 5G network, a terminal receives indication information from the 5G network, and learns that the current 5G network does not support handover of an N26 interface” (Fig.8, paragraph [00250]).
“S802: In a process in which the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network, the terminal sends a second indication to the MME, and the MME receives the second indication from the terminal. The second indication is used to indicate that there is a location service for the current terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [00252]).
“S803: The MME sends a third indication to the SCEF, and the SCEF receives the third indication from the MME. The third indication is used to indicate that there is the location service for the terminal from 5G” (Fig.8, paragraph [00255]).
“The third indication may be a location service handover indication (indication 3) negotiated by a sender and a receiver of the third indication, may be a bit with a preset value, or may be a preset information element, in a message, that can indicate that there is the location service for the terminal from 5G” (Fig.8, paragraph [00256]).
“In an example, the MME sends the third indication to the SCEF by using an LDR handover notification” (Fig.8, paragraph [00257]).
“S804: The SCEF sends a first notification to an NEF, and the NEF receives the first notification from the SCEF. The first notification is used to indicate to send first information to the MME, and the first information is used to execute the location service for the terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [00258]).
“The first notification includes an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME, and optionally includes the third indication” (Fig.8, paragraph [00259]).
“S805: The NEF determines, based on the first notification, that there is the location service for the terminal in the 5G network” (Fig.8, paragraph [00262]).
“S806: The NEF sends the first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF” (Fig.8, paragraph [00264]).
Accordingly, Fig. 8 illustrates the following:
(1) the terminal registers with the 5G network (a serving anchor node, AMF) at S801;
(2) the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network (a new anchor node, MME) and sends a notification of changing serving anchor node to MME at S802;
(3) the MME sends a handover notification to the SCEF indicating that the MME (an identifier of the terminal at S803;
(4) at 804, the SCEF sends a notification to the NEF indicating a change of serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) for the terminal;
(5) at 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME; NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME); and
(6) at 806, the NEF sends the notification to the MME (new anchor node) about the completion of transfer control of the terminal to the new anchor node.
It is clear that Zhou discloses the “receiving a notification including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node, in a wireless communication system network of which the network node and the at least one unmanned aerial system are part, for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier from a first anchor node to a second anchor node in the wireless communication system, wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node”; and “updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system, the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node”.
Karampatis further discloses:
“While depicted as a standalone network function, in an alternative deployment of the system 100, the UAS-NF 147 may be implemented as a service offered by NEF 146. The UAS-NF 147 is supported by the NEF 146 (or by both an NEF and Service Capability Exposure Function (“SCEF”)-denoted “NEF/SCEF”) and is used for external exposure of services to the USS. In some embodiments, the UAS-NF 147 uses existing NEF/SCEF exposure services for UAV authentication/authorization, for UAV flight authorization, for UAV/UAV-C pairing authorization, and related revocation: for location reporting, and control of QoS/traffic filtering for Command and Control (“C2”) communication” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0056]).
“Continuing on FIG. 2C, at Step 17, the UE 201 (e.g., the NAS layer in the UE 201) includes within a UL NAS Transport message a UAV payload container including the requested information (i.e., CAA Level UAV ID and/or Flight Authorization ID or Flight Information Details, if the UAV requests flight authorization within the PDU session establishment request according to step 2) (see messaging 257)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0101]).
“At Step 18, the AMF 207 forwards the UAV payload container to the UAS-NF 213 within a Namf_Communication_N1N2_messagetransfer notify message (see messaging 259)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0102]).
“At Step 31, the USS/UTM server 205 sends a Naf_UAV_Auth_response to the UAS-NF 213 with the authorization result that includes an authorization token and/or a flight authorization ID (see messaging 285)” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0116]).
“At Step 32, the UAS-NF 213 stores the authorization result in its local database (see block 287). The internal database may include information that a 3GPP UAV identifier or a CAA-Level UAV identifier has a valid UUAA or C2 authorization” (Figs.1,2C-2D, paragraph [0117]).
Accordingly, Karampatsis specifically describes the UAS-NF is implemented as NEF. The AMF (serving anchor node in 5G network) sends the notification to the UAS-NF indicating a 3GPP UAP identifier or a CAA-Level UAV identifier of the terminal (UAV) and a Flight authorization ID. The UAS-NF stores the 3GPP UAV identifier or the CAA-Level UAV identifier of the terminal (UAV) and the AMF as its serving anchor node.
It is clear that Zhou in combination with Karampatsis teaches the claim features.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the applicant further argued that Zhou does not disclose the claim feature (Applicant, page 10, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated November 24, 2025 ).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
As a support of evidence, Zhou discloses:
“In an example, the MME sends the third indication to the SCEF by using an LDR handover notification” (Fig.8, paragraph [00257]).
“S804: The SCEF sends a first notification to an NEF, and the NEF receives the first notification from the SCEF. The first notification is used to indicate to send first information to the MME, and the first information is used to execute the location service for the terminal” (Fig.8, paragraph [00258]).
“The first notification includes an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME, and optionally includes the third indication” (Fig.8, paragraph [00259]).
“S806: The NEF sends the first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF” (Fig.8, paragraph [00264]).
“In an example, the NEF sends the first information to the AMF by using an LDR service (configure the LDR service) configuration message” (Fig.8, paragraph [00267]).
Accordingly, at 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME. NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME). At 806, the NEF sends the notification to the MME (new anchor node) about the completion of transfer control of the terminal to the new anchor node.
Clearly, Zhou teaches the claim feature “notifying the previous anchor node about completion of a transfer of control of the unmanned aerial system to the new anchor node”.
Regarding Claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-12 and 14-18, the features that Applicant’s arguing are disclosed by Zhou in combination with Karampastsis as responded above for a similar rationale as that discussed. The dependent claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-12 and 14-18 are not patentable according to the solid prior art teachings.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 3, 10, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0159542 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Karampastsis et al. (US 2024/0322898 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/137,039 filed on January 13, 2021), hereinafter “Karampastsis”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method, performed by a network node storing a context for at least one unmanned aerial system (Fig. 1b, 2, 6, 8, system architecture according to positioning method), the method comprising:
receiving a notification (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], SCEF receives the third indication from the MME) including information indicative of an identifier of an unmanned aerial system (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], identifier of the terminal) and of a change of serving anchor node to a new anchor node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249], [0252], [0255], [0257], [0259], location service handover indication), in a wireless communication network of which the network node and the unmanned aerial system are part (Fig. 1b, 2, 8, the first network is a 5G network, the second network is a 4G network, the capability exposure network element of the second network is an SCEF, and the mobility management network element of the second network is an MME), for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier (Fig. 1b, 2, 8, first anchor AMF), wherein the serving anchor node is one of an access and mobility management function node or a session management function node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0249]-[0252], [0255]-[0259],[0264], anchor node as an access and mobility management function node); and
updating a stored context for the unmanned aerial system (Fig.8, paragraphs [0207], [0260], [0262], [0264], any information that can uniquely identify the terminal, for example, a globally unique temporary UE identity of the terminal, or a subscription permanent identifier of the terminal), the stored context including the serving anchor node for the unmanned aerial system, to indicate the new anchor node as the serving anchor node (Fig.8, paragraphs [0207], [0260], [0262], [0264], first information to the MME based on the identifier of the MME, and the MME receives the first information from the NEF).
[Note: Accordingly, Fig. 8 illustrates the following:
(1) the terminal registers with the 5G network (a serving anchor node, AMF) at S801;
(2) the terminal is handed over from the 5G network to a 4G core network (a new anchor node, MME) and sends a notification of changing serving anchor node to MME at S802;
(3) the MME sends a handover notification to the SCEF indicating that the MME (an identifier of the terminal at S803;
(4) at 804, the SCEF sends a notification to the NEF indicating a change of serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) for the terminal;
(5) at 805, the NEF determines the change of the serving anchor node (AMF) to a new anchor node (MME) based on the information including an identifier of the terminal and an identifier of the MME; NEF updates a stored context for the terminal by replacing information of the old serving anchor node (AMF) with the new serving node (MME); and
(6) at 806, the NEF sends the notification to the MME (new anchor node) about the completion of transfer control of the terminal to the new anchor node.]
Zhou does not explicitly disclose “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “unmanned aerial system”.
However, Karampastsis from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “unmanned aerial system” (Figs. 1, 3B-3D, paragraphs [0056], [0102], [0117], AMF 207 forwards the UAV payload container to the UAS-NF 213 and UAS-NF 213 stores the authorization result in its local database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “at least one unmanned aerial system” and “an unmanned aerial system” as taught by Karampastsis, in the system of Zhou, so that it would provide implementation of any particular wireless communication system architecture or protocol relates to receiving authorization for an unmanned aerial vehicle or uncrewed aerial vehicle (Zhou, paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the notification is received from at least one of a previous anchor node in the wireless communication network and the new anchor node (paragraphs [0255]-[0257], indication from MME).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou discloses notifying the previous anchor node about completion of a transfer of control of the unmanned aerial system to the new anchor node (paragraph [0267], NEF sends the first information to the AMF by using an LDR service (configure the LDR service) configuration message).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
10. Claims 5-9 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 2022/0159542 A1), hereinafter “Zhou” in view of Karampastsis et al. (US 2024/0322898 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/137,039 filed on January 13, 2021), hereinafter “Karampastsis” in view of Baskaran et al. (US 2024/0098494 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosures of provisional application number. 63/135,511 filed on January 8, 2021), hereinafter “Baskaran”.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Karampastsis disclose the method according to claim 1.
Neither Zhou nor Karampastsis explicitly discloses “receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information; retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node; and sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information”
However, Baskaran from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information (Fig.2A, step 1, paragraph [0100], when the USS/UTM server 211 determines to revoke a UUAA, it sends a UUAA Revocation Request to the UAS-NF 209 (see messaging 215); here, the UUAA Revocation Request includes at least a 3GPP UAV ID (e.g., a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (“GPSI”)) and CAA-Level UAV ID);
retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node (Fig.2A, step 2, paragraph [0101], at Step 2 a, the UAS-NF 209 sends a Nudm_UECM_Get Request message to the UDM 207 with the received 3GPP UAV ID, and setting the NF type as ‘AMF’; alternatively, the UAS-NF 209 may fetch the (locally stored) SUPI corresponding to a received 3GPP UAV ID and send a Nudm_UECM_Get Request message to the UDM, said request containing the SUPI and having the NF type set as ‘AMF’; at Step 2 b the UAS-NF 209 receives the serving AMF information corresponding to the 3GPP UAV ID (or SUPI) from the UDM 207, i.e., in a Nudm_UECM_Get response message (see messaging 217)); and
sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information (Fig. 2A, step 3, paragraph [0102], UUAA Revocation to AMF 203).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receiving a request message from a further node, the request message comprising information indicative of the identifier of the unmanned aerial system and further information; retrieving, from the stored context for the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message, the corresponding serving anchor node; and sending, to the corresponding serving anchor node, at least part of the further information” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 5.
Baskaran further discloses the further node is an authorization node and the further information comprises authorization information (Fig. 2A, paragraph [0100], UAV USS authentication and authorization procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the further node is an authorization node and the further information comprises authorization information” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 6.
Baskaran further discloses the authorization information is indicative of one of re-authentication and revocation of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message (Figs. 2A-2B, 5A-5B, paragraphs [0100], [0170], at Step 10, the UAS-NF 209 sends the received UAS Re-auth/auth Request to the serving AMF 203 (and/or serving SMF) along with the 3GPP UAV ID, CAA-Level UAV ID, and Cause Value with ‘UAS AA/C2 Re-auth or Pairing Re-authorization/authorization or UAV-C Change’ (see messaging 525)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the authorization information is indicative of one of re-authentication and revocation of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Karampastsis and Baskaran disclose the method according to claim 5.
Baskaran further discloses the request message is a request for a service (Figs. 2A-2B, 5A-5B, paragraph [0171],service for re-auth/auth request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the request message is a request for a service” as taught by Baskaran, in the combined system of Zhou and Karampastsis, so that it would provide Authentication, Authorization and Pairing related security aspects handling for uncrewed/unmanned aerial system (Baskaran, paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses the service is location tracking of the unmanned aerial system corresponding to the identifier in the request message (paragraphs [0265]-[0267], location service for the terminal).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
11. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414