DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
- Claims 1-30 are pending.
- Claims 1-6, 11-22 and 27-30 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11 ,13-14, 16-17, 19-20, 27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0264554 A1; hereinafter Hui) in view of Chang et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0163898 A1; hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Hui discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (See ¶0229, one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) and configured to: transmit, to at least one second UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), (See ¶0341, A first wireless device may transmit to at least one second wireless device, sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a zone, of a first zone configuration of the zone configurations, indicating a geographic location of the first wireless device; and a first communication range threshold of the first zone configuration of the sidelink transmissions.) an indication of at least one of a three-dimensional (3D) zone identifier (ID) associated with the first UE or a 3D communication range associated with the first UE; (See ¶00332, the one or more configuration parameters may comprise one or more zone configuration parameters indicating a zone configuration. In an example, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and a width parameter of the zone; the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The wireless device may use zone configuration parameters to determine a zone, in which the wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the wireless device's geographic location; The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone; an RP may map to one or more zones based on one or more RP configuration parameters, configuring the RP, comprising the zone IDs of the one or more zones; Interpreted this is a 3D zone is determined by width, length and height) and receive, from the at least one second UE, based on the indication of at least one of the 3D zone ID or the 3D communication range associated with the first UE, (See ¶0347, The sidelink transmission may comprise control information of a TB to the one or more Rx wireless devices. The sidelink transmission may further comprise the TB to the one or more Rx wireless devices. The control information may be a SCI. The control information may indicate the zone ID and the zone related parameters. The Tx wireless device may receive HARQ feedbacks from the one or more Rx wireless devices on a HARQ feedback channel, in response to the sidelink transmission; See ¶0352, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and/or a width parameter of the zone. In an example, the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone. The wireless device may use zone configuration parameters to determine a zone, in which the wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the wireless device's geographic location. The wireless device may use a zone identifier (ID) to identify the zone)
an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) based on whether the at least one second UE is in a communication range. (See ¶0334, an Rx wireless device, receiving a sidelink transmission from a Tx wireless device, may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device using an estimated distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device; in response to the estimated distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold, the Rx wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device.) range, wherein the communication range is indicated per flight level (FL). (See ¶0346, The Rx wireless device may determine a second zone ID of the second zone. The Rx wireless device may identify a first geographic location of the first zone via the first zone ID. The Rx wireless device may identify a second geographic location of the second zone via the second zone ID. The Rx wireless device may determine a distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device based on the first geographic location and the second geographic location. The Rx wireless device may compare the distance with the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine not to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being greater than the distance threshold; See ¶0352, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and/or a width parameter of the zone. In an example, the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone)
However, Hui fails to disclose transmit, to at least one second UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) format 2 (SCI-2) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)
Chang discloses transmit, to at least one second UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) format 2 (SCI-2) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (2023/0163898-See ¶0039, The zone ID and communication range requirement is sent in the 2B.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 2. The motivation to combine is configuration not only reduces the use of PSFCH resources, but it prevents the transmitting UE device from making unnecessary retransmissions where a NACK is received since the retransmission will likely not be successfully received by those far away receiving UE devices. (See ¶0019).
Regarding claim 3, Hui disclose 3D zone ID or 3D communication range
Hui fails to disclose the at least one processor being further configured to: encode the SCI-2 message, wherein the encoded SCI-2 message includes the indication of the at least one of the zone ID associated with the first UE or the communication range associated with the first UE.
Chang discloses encode the SCI-2 message, wherein the encoded SCI-2 message includes the indication of the at least one of the zone ID associated with the first UE or the communication range associated with the first UE. (See ¶0018, The SCI is encoded with a more robust modulation coding scheme (MCS) than the data so that the receiving UE devices will more easily receive this portion of the signal; See ¶0019, the transmitting UE device indicates its current Zone ID and a communication range requirement in the Sidelink Control Info (SCI); See ¶0039, 2nd-stage SCI (format A or B) is used and a second stage SCI is in the PSSCH indicates either format-2A for HARQ ACK/NACK and format-2B for NACK-only. The zone ID and communication range requirement is sent in the 2B.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 2. The motivation to combine is configuration not only reduces the use of PSFCH resources, but it prevents the transmitting UE device from making unnecessary retransmissions where a NACK is received since the retransmission will likely not be successfully received by those far away receiving UE devices. (See ¶0019).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Hui discloses the 3D communication range associated with the first UE is associated with one or more 3D zone IDs. (See ¶0355, control information may indicate: the zone of the first wireless device and the first communication range threshold mapped to the zone configuration.)
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Hui discloses the 3D communication range associated with the first UE is a 3D communication range metric. (See ¶0354, Tx wireless device may determine zone related parameters indicating a zone configuration of the one or more zone configurations and a distance threshold of the one or more distance thresholds. The distance threshold may relate to an estimated CR.)
Regarding claims 13 and 29, Hui discloses the at least one of the 3D zone ID associated with the first UE or the 3D communication range associated with the first UE is associated with air-to-air (ATA) communication. (See ¶0326, A device-to-device (D2D) communication may comprise two radio interfaces (e.g., a Uu interface and a PC5 interface))
Regarding claims 16 and 30, Hui disclose an apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE),comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory (See ¶0229, one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) and configured to: receive, from at least one first UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), (See ¶0341, A first wireless device may transmit to at least one second wireless device, sidelink control information (SCI) indicating a zone, of a first zone configuration of the zone configurations, indicating a geographic location of the first wireless device; and a first communication range threshold of the first zone configuration of the sidelink transmissions.) an indication of at least one of a three-dimensional (3D) zone identifier (ID) associated with the at least one first UE or a 3D communication range associated with the at least one first UE; (See ¶00332, the one or more configuration parameters may comprise one or more zone configuration parameters indicating a zone configuration. In an example, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and a width parameter of the zone; the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The wireless device may use zone configuration parameters to determine a zone, in which the wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the wireless device's geographic location; The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone; an RP may map to one or more zones based on one or more RP configuration parameters, configuring the RP, comprising the zone IDs of the one or more zones; Interpreted this is a 3D zone is determined by width, length and height) determine whether the second UE is in a communication range based on the received indication of the at least one of the 3D zone ID associated with the at least one first UE or the 3D communication range associated with the at least one first UE; (See ¶0334, an Rx wireless device, receiving a sidelink transmission from a Tx wireless device, may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device using an estimated distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device; in response to the estimated distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold, the Rx wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device; See ¶0424, 4820, the first wireless device may transmit, to the second wireless device, a feedback in response to a distance determined based on the subzone ID; See ¶0371, The Tx wireless device may determine a zone, in which the Tx wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the zone configuration. The Tx wireless device may determine a zone ID of the zone. The Tx wireless device may determine a subzone of the zone, in which the Tx wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the subzone related parameters. The Tx wireless device may determine a subzone ID of the subzone. See ¶0387, a zone configuration of the zone configurations may comprise of a length parameter, a width parameter, and a height parameter.) and determine whether to transmit an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) based on whether the second UE is in the communication range. (See ¶0334, an Rx wireless device, receiving a sidelink transmission from a Tx wireless device, may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device using an estimated distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device; in response to the estimated distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold, the Rx wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device; See ¶0424, 4820, the first wireless device may transmit, to the second wireless device, a feedback in response to a distance determined based on the subzone ID; See ¶0371, The Tx wireless device may determine a zone, in which the Tx wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the zone configuration. The Tx wireless device may determine a zone ID of the zone. The Tx wireless device may determine a subzone of the zone, in which the Tx wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the subzone related parameters. The Tx wireless device may determine a subzone ID of the subzone. See ¶0387, a zone configuration of the zone configurations may comprise of a length parameter, a width parameter, and a height parameter.) range, wherein the communication range is indicated per flight level (FL). (See ¶0346, The Rx wireless device may determine a second zone ID of the second zone. The Rx wireless device may identify a first geographic location of the first zone via the first zone ID. The Rx wireless device may identify a second geographic location of the second zone via the second zone ID. The Rx wireless device may determine a distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device based on the first geographic location and the second geographic location. The Rx wireless device may compare the distance with the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine not to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being greater than the distance threshold; See ¶0352, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and/or a width parameter of the zone. In an example, the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone)
However, Hui fails to disclose receive, from at least one first UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) format 2 (SCI-2) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)
Chang discloses receive, from at least one first UE via a sidelink control information (SCI) format 2 (SCI-2) message in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (2023/0163898-See ¶0039, The zone ID and communication range requirement is sent in the 2B.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 2. The motivation to combine is configuration not only reduces the use of PSFCH resources, but it prevents the transmitting UE device from making unnecessary retransmissions where a NACK is received since the retransmission will likely not be successfully received by those far away receiving UE devices. (See ¶0019).
Regarding claim 17, Hui fails to disclose transmit, to the at least one first UE, an ACK or a NACK based on the determination of whether to transmit the ACK or the NACK.
Cheng discloses transmit, to the at least one first UE, an ACK or a NACK based on the determination of whether to transmit the ACK or the NACK. (See ¶0334, an Rx wireless device, receiving a sidelink transmission from a Tx wireless device, may determine whether to transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device using an estimated distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device; in response to the estimated distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold, the Rx wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device; See ¶0424, 4820, the first wireless device may transmit, to the second wireless device, a feedback in response to a distance determined based on the subzone ID.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 2. The motivation to combine is configuration not only reduces the use of PSFCH resources, but it prevents the transmitting UE device from making unnecessary retransmissions where a NACK is received since the retransmission will likely not be successfully received by those far away receiving UE devices. (See ¶0019).
Regarding claim 19, Hui disclose 3D range or 3D zone ID
Hui fails to disclose the at least one processor being further configured to: decode the SCI-2 message to retrieve the indication of the at least one of the zone ID associated with the first UE or the communication range associated with the first UE.
Chang discloses the at least one processor being further configured to: decode the SCI-2 message to retrieve the indication of the at least one of the zone ID associated with the first UE or the 3D communication range associated with the first UE. (See ¶0018, The SCI is encoded with a more robust modulation coding scheme (MCS) than the data so that the receiving UE devices will more easily receive this portion of the signal; When the receiving UE device cannot decode the SCI the receiving UE device does not send either ACK nor NACK.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 2. The motivation to combine is configuration not only reduces the use of PSFCH resources, but it prevents the transmitting UE device from making unnecessary retransmissions where a NACK is received since the retransmission will likely not be successfully received by those far away receiving UE devices. (See ¶0019).
Claim(s) 2, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Chang, and further in view of Kim (Pub. No. US 2023/0224931 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 18, Hui discloses at least one processor being further configured to: one or more parameters for the at least one of the 3D zone ID associated with the first UE or the 3D communication range associated with the first UE. (See ¶00332, the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The wireless device may use zone configuration parameters to determine a zone, in which the wireless device is geographically positioned, based on the wireless device's geographic location; The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone; an RP may map to one or more zones based on one or more RP configuration parameters, configuring the RP, comprising the zone IDs of the one or more zones; Interpreted this is a 3D zone, geographic area and height combined create a 3D volume )
However, Hui in view of Chang fails to disclose transmit, to the at least one second UE via an SCI format 1 (SCI-1) message in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH),
Kim discloses transmit, to the at least one second UE via an SCI format 1 (SCI-1) message in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), (2023/0224931-See ¶0119, the first UE may transmit a PSCCH (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI) or 1st-stage SCI) to a second UE based on the resource scheduling.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify discloses transmitting the sci that contains zone ID to include the sci message to format 1. The motivation to combine is the location information of a terminal and data transmission/reception direction information may be beneficial to efficient scheduling of a resource (See ¶0173).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view Chang, and further in view of Han et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0319618 A1; hereinafter Han).
Regarding claims 5 and 21, Hui in view of Chang fails to disclose the 3D zone ID associated with the first UE indicates a combination of a two-dimensional (2D) zone ID associated with the first UE and at least one flight level associated with the first UE.
Han discloses the 3D zone ID associated with the first UE indicates a combination of a two-dimensional (2D) zone ID associated with the first UE and at least one flight level associated with the first UE. (2023/0319618-See ¶0043, three-dimensional zone identification of the aerial UE 101A; See ¶0044, the three-dimensional zone identification=z1×64.sup.2×y1×64+x1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Hui to include the 3D zone ID includes both the x and y coordinates and z coordinates. The motivation to combine is efficiently transmit the measurement report based on the distance threshold see ¶0039.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Hui in view of Chang fails to disclose the 3D communication range associated with the first UE indicates one or more flight levels and one or more sets of 2D zone IDs, and each of the one or more flight levels corresponds to one of the one or more sets of 2D zone IDs.
Han discloses the 3D communication range associated with the first UE indicates one or more flight levels and one or more sets of 2D zone IDs, and each of the one or more flight levels corresponds to one of the one or more sets of 2D zone IDs. (2023/0319618-See ¶0043, three-dimensional zone identification of the aerial UE 101A; See ¶0044, the three-dimensional zone identification=z1×64.sup.2×y1×64+x1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed by Hui to include the 3D zone ID includes both the x and y coordinates and z coordinates. The motivation to combine is efficiently transmit the measurement report based on the distance threshold see ¶0039.
Claim(s) 12 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Chang, and further in view of Cheng et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0100070 A1; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claims 12 and 28, Hui in view of Chang fails to disclose the at least one processor being further configured to: identify at least one other communication range metric based on a radio resource control (RRC) message received from a base station.
Cheng disclose the at least one processor being further configured to:identify at least one other communication range metric based on a radio resource control (RRC) message received from a base station. (2020/0100070 A1-See ¶0047, the controller/processor 359 may provide RRC layer functionality associated with system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs); See ¶0054, or upper layer transmission, it may be translated to the lower layer configuration or parameters, such as to deliver the QoS requirements of the upper layer; See ¶0057, the QoS level can be related to the delay, reliability, or range requirements for particular packets or messages. For example, if the range or reliability requirements are high, then a lower modulation and coding scheme may be selected.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify disclose determine if the UE is in range in order to transmit the TB to include QOS level may also be used to determine if the UE is in range. The motivation to combine is group transmissions may be more efficient if the QoS level is increased because a higher modulation scheme.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed toward claims 1, 14, 16 and 30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Hui fails to disclose “wherein the communication range is indicated per flight level.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant. Hui discloses you need to two geographic locations in order to determine the communication range. Hui further discloses each location has a length, width and height. Interpreted the range has more than one flight level. (See ¶0346, The Rx wireless device may determine a second zone ID of the second zone. The Rx wireless device may identify a first geographic location of the first zone via the first zone ID. The Rx wireless device may identify a second geographic location of the second zone via the second zone ID. The Rx wireless device may determine a distance between the Tx wireless device and the Rx wireless device based on the first geographic location and the second geographic location. The Rx wireless device may compare the distance with the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being less than or equal to the distance threshold. The Rx wireless device may determine not to transmit a HARQ feedback to the Tx wireless device in response to the distance being greater than the distance threshold; See ¶0352, the zone configuration parameters may comprise a length parameter of a zone and/or a width parameter of the zone. In an example, the zone configuration may further comprise a height parameter of the zone. The zone configuration may determine a geographic area referred to as a zone)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0116974 A1)-See 0151, the second SCI may include a Zone ID and a communication range requirement based on the second SCI being the first format. For example, the second SCI may include at least one of a L1-source ID, a L1-destination ID, a HARQ process ID, a new data indicator (NDI), a redundancy version (RV), a Zone ID, a communication range requirement, and/or a HARQ feedback request field, based on the second SCI being the first format.
Ryu et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0050954 A1)-See 0154, the reception UE estimates the distance between the zone ID of the transmission UE and itself (the reception UE) and compares the distance with the range requirement so as to determine whether to transmit HARQ-NACK feedback, the reception UE should measure the distance between the transmission UE and the reception UE on the basis of its own current location and zone ID information received from the transmission UE.
/Tejis Daya/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472