DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tieman (US 2013/0203365) & in U.S. Pat. No. 7,132,762 to Metlitzky et al.Tieman cites 7132762 and incorporates it by reference – paragraph 17.
Regarding Claim 5, Tieman discloses an electromagnetic relay (Figures 1-6) comprising:
an electromagnetic unit comprising an electromagnet (comprising solenoid in 16, Figure 1),
a contact unit that is configured to contact or separate a movable contact and fixed contacts depending on energization state of the electromagnet (comprising 24 in 16, Figure 1) such that a magnetic attraction generated by an energization of the electromagnet draws the movable contact into contact with the fixed contact (comprising solenoid in relay module 14, Figure 1);
a control unit (comprising 26, 34, 20, Figure 1) comprising a signal receiving unit to receive a signal from an external device and to authenticate the received signal (signal receiving unit comprising cellular network RX/TX 42 in 34 and authorize/authenticate the signal and transmit to 20, Figure 1), the control unit is configured to connect to both side terminals of the electromagnetic unit (26 in control unit configured to directly connect a first terminal of electromagnetic unit/relay coil and connect to the second terminal via its coupling to ground terminal, Figure 1) and the control unit energizes the electromagnetic unit only upon an authentication of the received signal (upon authenticating/receiving the authorization signal 22 from 36, 20, processor 26 in the control unit energizes the electromagnetic unit, Figure 1, Paragraphs 14, 21, Paragraph 23, “….may include operating the processor 26 to close-circuit the signal path or current path between the solenoid connections 18a and 18b so the switch 24 can be operated by applying a suitable signal to the solenoid connections 18a and 18b”) to prevent unauthorized use of the electromagnetic relay (Paragraph 18, “…controlling the operation of relays such as these, the vehicle 10 may be disabled so it cannot be driven by an unauthorized operator…”);
a power source switching unit connected to the control unit and the contact unit (comprising diode network 52 coupled to power supply terminals V+, V- and to 26, 24, Figure 1), configured to supply power to the control unit by selecting one or other of, or switching between, power to the electromagnetic unit and power to the contact unit to ensure that power to the control unit is always maintained (switching between power to solenoid connections 18a, 18b or relay connections 18c, 18d, Figure 1, Paragraphs 13, 15-16, Paragraph 17, “…Electrical power for operating the processor 26 and other electrical devices within the relay module 14 may be drawn from the solenoid connections 18a and 18b and/or switch connections 18c and 18d using diode network 52 to provide voltages V+ and V-, ….”); and
wherein the power source switching unit (comprising diode network 52, power source V+, V- terminals, and terminal connections 18a, 18b, 18c, 18d, Figure 1) is configured to connect side terminals of the contact unit (side terminals 18a, 18b of the electromagnetic unit and side terminals 18c, 18d of the contact unit 24, Figure 1); and
in order to ensure supply of power to the control unit, when the side terminals of the electromagnetic unit are de-energized, the power source switching unit acquires power from the side terminals of the contact unit and supplies the control unit with power to perform its control functions (when solenoid/electromagnetic unit is de-energized, there is no current path via diode network from 18a, 18b and V+/V-, and electrical power for 26 is drawn from 18c, 18d via the diode network, Figure 1, Paragraph 17, “…Electrical power for operating the processor 26 and other electrical devices within the relay module 14 may be drawn from the solenoid connections 18a and 18b and/or switch connections 18c and 18d using diode network 52 to provide voltages V+ and V-“), and when the side terminals of the electromagnetic unit are energized, the power source switching unit acquires power from the side terminals of the electromagnetic unit and supplies the control unit with power for performing its control functions (when solenoid/electromagnetic unit is energized, 18a, 18b connected via diode network, electrical power for 26 is drawn from 18c, 18d via the diode network, Figure 1Paragraph 17, “…Electrical power for operating the processor 26 and other electrical devices within the relay module 14 may be drawn from the solenoid connections 18a and 18b and/or switch connections 18c and 18d using diode network 52 to provide voltages V+ and V-, or other known polarity corrections techniques-, or other known polarity corrections techniques such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,132,762 to Metlitzky et al., issued Nov. 7, 2006, the entire contents of which are hereby incorporated by reference herein”).
Regrading Claim 6, Tieman discloses the electromagnetic relay of Claim 5, wherein the electromagnetic unit and the contact unit are electrically isolated (only magnetic coupling between the electromagnetic unit and contact unit and are electrically isolated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tieman (US 2013/0203365) and Metlitzky (US 7132762) in view of Kamiya (US 2015/0001924).
Regarding Claim 7, Tieman discloses an electromagnetic relay comprising:
an electromagnetic unit comprising an electromagnet, a latching mechanism equipped with a set/reset coil (comprising solenoid in 16, Figure 1), and
a contact unit that is configured to contact or separate a movable contact and fixed contacts depending on energization state of the electromagnet (comprising 24 in 16, Figure 1);
a control unit (comprising 26, 34, 20), after receiving a signal from an external device, is configured to authenticate the received signal (signal 38 from 44, 46, Figure 1), and to energize of the electromagnetic unit based on the analysis result after receiving signal 38 from external device 44, 46, determining and outputting authorization signal 22 to 20, Figure 1, Paragraph 21), and energizing the electromagnetic unit only upon an authentication of the received signal (36, 34 outputting authorization signal 22 to 20, 26, Figure 1, Paragraphs 14, 21), the control unit being configured to connect to both side terminals of the electromagnetic unit (26 in control unit configured to directly connect a first terminal of electromagnetic unit/relay coil and connect to the second terminal via its coupling to ground terminal, Figure 1);
a power source switching unit, connected to the control unit and the side terminals of the contact unit (comprising diode network 52, power source V+, V’ terminals, and terminal connections 18a, 18b, 18c, 18d, Figure 1), configured to supply power to the control unit by selecting one or other of, or switching between, power to the electromagnetic unit and power to the contact unit (switching between power to solenoid connections 18a, 18b or relay connections 18c, 18d, Figure 1, Paragraphs 13, 15-17); and
wherein the electromagnetic unit is energized to close the contact unit by energization of the set/reset coil and the electromagnetic unit is de-energized to open the contact unit by energization of the set/reset coil (Figure 5, Paragraphs 17, 23).
Tieman does not specifically disclose an additional coil to have a set coil and a reset coil.
Kamiya discloses an electromagnetic relay (Figures 1-3) comprising an electromagnetic unit comprising an electromagnet, a latching mechanism equipped with a set coil and a reset coil (comprising set coil 5a, reset coil 5b and associated armatures, Figure 1), and a contact unit that contacts or separates a movable contact and fixed contacts (part of the relay switch in 5, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the electromagnetic relay of Tieman, an additional coil (to have separate set coil and reset coil) as taught by Kamiya, such that opening and closing of the contacts can be separately controlled.
Regrading Claim 8, combination of Tieman and Kamiya discloses the electromagnetic relay of Claim 7, wherein the electromagnetic unit and the contact unit are electrically isolated (only magnetic coupling between the electromagnetic unit and contact unit and are electrically isolated).
Regarding Claim 9, combination of Tieman and Kamiya discloses the electromagnetic relay of Claim 7,
wherein the latching mechanism is configured to control open/close of the contact unit by performing a polarity reversal to energize/de-energize the electromagnetic unit (Figure 5, Paragraph 17, “…Electrical power for operating the processor 26 and other electrical devices within the relay module 14 may be drawn from the solenoid connections 18a and 18b and/or switch connections 18c and 18d using diode network 52 to provide voltages V+ and V-, or other known polarity corrections techniques…”, Paragraph 23).
Regrading Claim 10, combination of Tieman and Kamiya discloses the electromagnetic relay of Claim 9, wherein the electromagnetic unit and the contact unit are electrically isolated (only magnetic coupling between the electromagnetic unit and contact unit and are electrically isolated).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or rendered moot in view of the current rejection addressing the amended limitations.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Page 5 of the Remarks toward the disclosure in Paragraphs 24-25 of Tieman, examiner respectfully notes that in Figure 3 of Tieman discloses the processor detects at 520, authorization signal to close the relay switch at 530.
Applicant argues, on Page 5 of the Remarks that Tieman’s relay module is directed to determining if vehicle’s engine has been started, and the claimed invention is directed to solving completely different problem of providing an electromagnetic relay that controls the permissibility of the energization of the electromagnetic unit to prevent unauthorized use of the electromagnetic relay.
In response, examiner respectfully notes that as discussed above, in Figure 3 of Tieman discloses the processor detects at 520, authorization signal to close the relay switch at 530. It is further respectfully noted that in Paragraph 18, Tieman discloses, “…controlling the operation of relays such as these, the vehicle 10 may be disabled so it cannot be driven by an unauthorized operator…”.
Applicant argues, on Page 5 of the Remarks that although Tieman describes in paragraph [0017] that the power for operating the processor 26 and other electrical devices within the relay module 14 may be drawn from solenoid connections 18a and 18b and/or switch connections 18c and 18d, Tieman does not teach or suggest that Tieman's diode network 50 (allegedly equivalent to the claimed power source switching unit) is configured to ensure that the power to the control unit is always maintained, as required in pending claims 5 and 7.
In response, examiner respectfully notes that the instant application, by providing two options/alternative connections of the terminals, to power the processor, similarly to Tieman, to ensure power to the control unit is maintained. It is further respectfully noted that instant application specification does not specifically recites, any one of the steps/terminal connections as for “to ensure power to the control unit is maintained”.
Examiner further respectfully notes, as discussed previously, that though the block diagram model of the claimed invention in Figure 1 shows the electromagnetic unit 110, 100 connected only to control unit 300, the detailed circuit diagram in Figure 2 (comparable to Tieman’s Figure 1 including diode network) does shows 100, 110 connected to transistor Q3 and via diode network D1-D4 to terminals A, B and via D9-D10 to other components of the circuitry, no direct connection of 110 and control unit (not identified in Figure 2) shown. It is further respectfully noted that Tieman shows the details of the telematics included in the control unit that receives and authenticate/authorize the received signal to send the processor authenticated/authorized 22, whereas the instant application Figure1 shows only an antenna 310 coupled to the control unit and no details of the control unit. It is further respectfully noted that signal being sent/received by device 46 and signal 38 sent/received by 44 and 42 are wireless signals which is authenticated by 36 and transmitted as authenticated signal 22.
Applicant’s arguments toward the secondary reference Kamiya, used in the rejection of Claims 7-10 are directed toward the arguments toward Tieman and in response examiner respectfully notes that Kamiya is relied upon for the teaching of an additional coil recited in Claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Joyce (US 3,801,832) discloses relay circuits and teaches in the background section that in electromagnetic relays, electromagnetic unit is isolated from contact unit (Column 1, lines 15-21, “… relays have a coil which, when energized from a controlling source of power, produces a magnetic field that actuates a magnetic armature which usually is electrically isolated from the coil. The armature in turn actuates mechanical contacts, either to open or to close them, and some or all of these contacts are isolated from the armature and the coil”); Tieman (US 10,211,020) discloses an electromagnetic relay (Figures 1-9) comprising: an electromagnetic unit comprising an electromagnet, a latching mechanism equipped with a set coil and a reset coil (comprising set coil assembly in 42 connected to ON output of 30 and reset coil assembly in 42 connected to Off output of 30), and a contact unit that contacts or separates a movable contact and fixed contacts depending on energization state of the electromagnet (comprising 44 in 42); a control unit (comprising RF transceiver 28 and relay controller 30), after receiving a signal from outside and analyzing the received signal (signal from 34), configured to control electromagnetic unit to control the contact unit (after receiving signal from 34, 28 outputting control signal 40 to 30 to control coil assembly in 42, Figure 1); Wu (US 10,734,177) discloses an EM relay circuit (Figures 1-3) comprising a control circuit (60, Figures 1-2) and an electromagnetic unit (solenoid in 50, 52, Figures 1-2), wherein the control unit is configured to connect to both side terminals of the electromagnetic unit (60 configured to connect to both side terminals of the solenoid in 50, 52, Figures 1-2).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 1/05/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838