DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. Claims 1-9 are pending in this office action. Priority 3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement 4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted August 15, 2023; November 13, 2023; and, January 31, 2025, have been received and considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 5. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 7. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 8. Claim s 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (CN110436531A) in view of Zhang et al. (CN106941162A) . With regard to Claim 1, Fang et al. disclose a preparation method of a single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material, comprising the following steps: (1) mixing a precursor of ternary nickel-cobalt-manganese , a lithium source of lithium hydroxide and a nano-oxide additive , and performing primary sintering treatment in an oxygen-containing atmosphere to obtain a primary sintered material; and (2) mixing the primary sintered material obtained in step (1) with a titanium source in an amount of 0.1-1 wt% (paragraph 0027), called a coating agent , and performing secondary sintering treatment in an oxygen-containing atmosphere to the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material (paragraph 0017). Fang et al. do not specifically disclose mixing the primary sintered material obtained in step (1) with a titanium source and a cobalt source , and wherein a mass ratio of the primary sintered material, the titanium source and the cobalt source in step (2) 1:(0.001-0.006):(0.001-0.015) . Zhang et al. disclose a lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide ternary cathode material prepared by the method of mixing a coated Li Ni x Co 1-x-y Mn y O ₂ , an M source, more specifically cobalt hydroxide, and a titanium source, more specifically titanium dioxide, and calcining the same at 400-800 °C for 10 to 20 hours under an oxygen atmosphere, so as to obtain a positive electrode material coated with Li 2 MTiO 4 , more specifically Li 2 CoTiO 4 , on the surface, the amount of the substance of Li 2 CoTiO 4 nanoparticles being 0.001-5% of the amount of LiNi x Co1 -x-yMn y O ₂ , wherein the mass ratio of the material to be coated, titanium dioxide and cobalt hydroxide if about 1:(0.000008-0.04):( 0.00000 9 -0.04 7) (paragraphs 0011-0020) , which meets the claimed limitation of a mass ratio of the primary sintered material, the titanium source and the cobalt source in step (2) being 1:(0.001-0.006):(0.001-0.015). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Fang et al. to include mixing the primary sintered material obtained in step (1) with a titanium source and a cobalt source , and wherein a mass ratio of the primary sintered material, the titanium source and the cobalt source in step (2) 1:(0.001-0.006):(0.001-0.015) , because Zhang et al. teach that these steps reduce the amount of residual lithium on the surface of the positive electrode materials, thereby reducing the surface alkalinity , inhibiting water absorption, and improving processing performance (paragraph 0023). W ith regard to Claim 2, Fang et al. disclose wherein the precursor in step (1) comprises Ni 0.85 Co 0.1 Mn 0.05 (OH) 2 (paragraph 0048), which meets the claimed limitation of Ni x Co y Mn z (OH) ₂ , x≥0.8, 0.2≥y≥0, 0.2≥z≥0, and x+y+z=1. With regard to Claim 3 , Fang et al. disclose wherein the nano-oxide in step (1) comprises any one or a combination of at least two of zirconium oxide, titanium oxide, aluminum oxide or yttrium oxide (paragraph 0019) . With regard to Claim 4 , Fang et al. disclose wherein the nano-oxide accounts for 0.1-1.0 wt% (paragraph 0017), which meets the claimed limitation of 0.05%-0.3% of the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material by mass. With regard to Claim 5 , Fang et al. disclose wherein a temperature of the primary sintering treatment in step (1) is 700-100 0°C and a time of the primary sintering treatment is 6-30 h (paragraphs 0017, 0025), which meets the claimed limitation of 800-950°C and a time of the primary sintering treatment is 5-15 h. With regard to Claim 6 , Fang et al. disclose wherein a temperature of the secondary sintering treatment in step (2) is 300-800 °C and a time of the secondary sintering treatment is 6-24 h (paragraphs 0017, 0029), which meets the claimed limitation of 500-850°C and a time of the secondary sintering treatment is 4-20 h. With regard to Claim 7 , Fang et al. disclose a single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material, which is prepared by the preparation method noted above (paragraph 0017). With regard to Claim 8 , Fang et al. disclose a positive electrode sheet, comprising the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode noted above , and a specific surface area of the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material is 0-1 m²/g , which meets the claimed limitation of 0.5-0.8 m²/g; a pH of the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material is 11.30~11.70, which meets the claimed limitation of less than or equal to 11.8; and, a residual alkali of the single-crystal high-nickel positive electrode material is less than or equal to 3 0 00 ppm , made up of OH being less than 1500 ppm and CO 3 2- being less than 1500 ppm (paragraph 0023) . With regard to Claim 9 , Fang et al. disclose a lithium-ion battery, comprising the positive electrode sheet noted above (paragraph 0002). Conclusion 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KARIE O APICELLA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8614 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday thru Friday; 8:00AM to 5:00PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Nicole Buie-Hatcher can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3879 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725