DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on 08/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome each and every 112(b) and claim objection previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 introduces “the treatment agent” in the claim amendments however the Examiner is unclear as to what treatment agent is being referred back to due to improper antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the term “the treatment agent” will be treated as “[[the]] a treatment agent”.
Claims 2-15 are rejected for being dependent from an unclear and indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu hereinafter) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Dedieu teaches a wood treating process that discloses a modification unit having at least one aperture (Fig 1A, unit 1 with aperture at least one aperture 18, 15, at 192/191, 11, and aperture connected to 20); a control valve coupled to the at least one fluid aperture (Control valve 191/192); and a fluid container coupled to the at least one fluid aperture via the control valve (Valve 192-192 with condenser 19 in Figure 1A and Reserve vessel 6 in Figure 2), and in the modification arrangement being adapted to: utilizing a compression apparatus, exert mechanical compression force upon the hygroscopic material sufficient to extract water therefrom (Compressor 20 per Column 4 Lines 23-32); and in response to opening of the control valve, receive fluid from the fluid container through said at least one fluid aperture into the modification unit, for cooling of the hygroscopic material disposed in the modification unit (Opening of valves 191 and 192 to allow for the condenser to cool per Column 6 Lines 17-25);
Dedieu is silent with respect to heat hygroscopic material is heated in the modification unit under ambient atmospheric pressure at least to a temperature sufficient to extract water from the hygroscopic material; and wherein the fluid including the treatment agent is absorbed into the hygroscopic material under ambient atmospheric pressure.
However, Tran teaches a method of treating lumber that discloses heating hygroscopic material is heated in the modification unit under ambient atmospheric pressure at least to a temperature sufficient to extract water from the hygroscopic material (¶ 26-27, 34, and 44-46 with Figure 1 in the step 110); and wherein the fluid including the treatment agent is absorbed into the hygroscopic material under ambient atmospheric pressure (¶ 33-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the treatment process of Dedieu with the ambient pressure range of Tran to dry and treat the hygroscopic material to impart a desired improved to a quality of the hygroscopic material per ¶ 44 of Tran.
Regarding claim 2, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose that the modification unit is configured for heating the hygroscopic material such that the modification unit is a drying oven which is able to heat air and circulate the air heated inside the modification unit (Dedieu Figure 1A with fan shown will recirculate the internal air which is heated to a specific temperature to cause drying of the wood).
Regarding claim 3, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose that the modification arrangement comprises a heater and a blower for heating the hygroscopic material inside the modification unit such that the blower is able to blow air towards the heater (Heating caused by the microwaves from 44/40 in Figure 1B of Dedieu and the blower shown in Figure 1A circulates the air as shown and towards/around the heater sections).
Regarding claim 9, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose a bottom part and a top part that detachable from each other (Dedieu door 16 and body 1 are separable from each other).
Regarding claim 10, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose that the fluid container is adapted to contain the treatment agent and water (Resultant combination would allow for the container of to contain the treatment agent and water).
Regarding claim 11, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose a steam generator for cooling the hygroscopic material with water and a watering valve coupled to the steam generator (Dedieu Column 6 Lines 17-25).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran) and further in view of US 2118966 (Card hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran fails to disclose that the modification arrangement comprises at least one meter to facilitate a time for beginning of opening of the control valve, the at least one meter selected from a thermometer in the modification unit, a hygrometer in the modification unit, and a clock.
However, Card teaches a wood treatment system that discloses measuring internal parameters to control the operation of the wood treatment that includes a thermometer and a hygrometer (Page 1, Right Column Lines 20-25). The resultant combination would therefore teach the at least one meter to facilitate a time for beginning of opening of the control valve of Dedieu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wood treatment system of Dedieu with the sensors of Card to allow for more precise control of the wood treatment process.
Regarding claim 13, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran fails to disclose that the heater is one of the following apparatus: an electrical resistance pack, or a radiator having a liquid circulation.
However, Card teaches a wood treatment system that maintains the heat of the treatment chamber using a heat pump with circulating liquid (Heating within coil 12 per “Located within and adjacent the inner periphery of the container 10 are heating coils 12 connected with any suitable source of heat, as, for example, a supply of live steam” of Page 1 Left Column Lines 16-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the microwave heating of Dedieu with the heat coils of Card via simple substitution to obtain the well-known and predictable result of heating the interior of the wood treatment chamber.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran) and further in view of US 2014/0370320 (Humphrey hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the treatment agent includes at least one of the following ingredients: a preservative, a dye, a pigment, an aroma, an odor eliminator, a pesticide, an impregnation ingredient, and a fire retardant.
However, Humphrey teaches a wood treatment system that discloses that the treatment agent includes at least one of the following ingredients: a preservative, a dye, a pigment, an aroma, an odor eliminator, a pesticide, an impregnation ingredient, and a fire retardant (Table 1 in ¶ 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the treatment agent of Dedieu and Tran with the specific treatment agent of Humphrey to further extend the life of the hygroscopic material.
Regarding claim 15, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the treatment agent includes at least one of the following ingredients as the preservative: creosote, copper, copper chrome arsenic, copper chrome boron, acid cupric chrome, zinc, oxide copper, copper naphthenic acid, glycol, or a silicate.
However, Humphrey teaches a wood treatment system that discloses the use of the treatment agent includes at least one of the following ingredients as the preservative: creosote, copper, copper chrome arsenic, copper chrome boron, acid cupric chrome, zinc, oxide copper, copper naphthenic acid, glycol, or a silicate (Table 1 in ¶ 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the treatment agent of Dedieu and Tran with the specific treatment agent of Humphrey to further extend the life of the hygroscopic material.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran) and further in view of US 7987614 (Erickson hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran fails to disclose that the compression apparatus is a hydraulic press.
However, Erickson teaches a wood treatment system that discloses a compression apparatus to apply an exertion of force upon the hygroscopic material such that water is extracted from the hygroscopic material (Press 28 in Figure 1 per Column 8 Lines 5-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wood treatment system of Dedieu with the press of Erickson to maintain the shape of the hygroscopic material while assisting in removing excess water
Regarding claim 7, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran fails to disclose a weight that is moveable on the hygroscopic material such that an exertion force caused by the weight extracts water from the hygroscopic material.
However, Erickson teaches a wood treatment system that discloses a compression apparatus to apply an exertion of force upon the hygroscopic material such that water is extracted from the hygroscopic material (Press formed by 94 and weights 88A and 88B in Figure 7 per Column 10 Line 54 through Column 11 Line 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wood treatment system of Dedieu with the press of Erickson to maintain the shape of the hygroscopic material while assisting in removing excess water
Regarding claim 8, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 7 where the combination of Dedieu, Tran, and Erickson would further disclose that the weight comprises a pallet (Broadest reasonable interpretation of the panel/bar 94 in Figure 7 of Erickson), weight material (Weights 88A and 88B attached to the pallet/panel 94), and thermal insulation around the weight material (Also under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the insulation of the medication unit of Dedieu would be “around” the weight material of Erickson in the combination set forth).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran) and further in view of US 2003/0060504 (Yoshida hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Barnisin fails to disclose that the treatment agent is lead in aerosol form into the modification unit.
However, Yoshida teaches a wood treatment system that discloses aerosolizing a treatment agent to be applied to the wood/hygroscopic material (¶ 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the wood treatment system of Dedieu/Tran with the aerosolized treatment of Yoshida to allow for easy application to the wood.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6473994 (Dedieu) in view of US 2018/0207834 (Tran) and further in view of US 5071447 (Koppelman hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Dedieu’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dedieu and Tran would further disclose a steam generator (Figure 1A of Dedieu with steam generator 2).
Dedieu is silent with respect that the steam generator is coupled via a watering valve to a mixing pipe and a fluid container is coupled via the control valve to the mixing pipe.
However, Koppelman teaches a method of drying lumber that a discloses steam generator (Figure 2, steam generator 213) is coupled via a watering valve to a mixing pipe (Watering valve 234 and mixing pipe being the piping at 219) and a fluid container is coupled via the control valve to the mixing pipe (Fluid container 215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid flow path of the steam generator of Dedieu with the teachings of Koppelman to allow for the reuse of liquid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762