Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character;
“1a” has been used to designate both proximal landing zone ¶[0061] and partially deployed balloon expandable device ¶ [0066].
“1b” has been used to designate both distal landing zone .
“2” has been used to designate both aneurysm sac ¶[0060] and barb ¶ [0062].
“4” has been used to designate both overlap zone, umbrella shaped end [0080], component ¶ [0080] and plug ¶ [0081].
“5” has been used to designate both second component ¶ [0080], central lumen ¶ [0082], in fig. 4A, it appears to be a balloon and in fig 6A it is unclear what it is pointing to.
“6” has been used to designate both inferior mesenteric artery ¶ [0061], filter ¶ [0068], cylindrical plug ¶ [0083] and in figs. 6a-6C it appears to be a flange.
“7” has been used to designate both lumbar arteries ¶ [0061] and reverse barbs [0068].
“8” has been used to designate both wire release mechanism ¶ [0068] and first component ¶ [0070].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 8b and 10.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 8 (wire release mechanism ¶ [0068]).
The drawings are objected to because figs. 7-9D need labels for the elements being depicted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims, 4, 10-11 and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cylindrical portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 10-11 are likewise rejected.
Claims 10 and 11 recite “a plurality of filters” in lines 1-2, it is unclear if this is the same plurality of filters in claim 4 or a separate and additional plurality of filters.
Claim 10 recites the filters “may be flat … and may be integrated” in line 2. The use of the word ‘may’ makes it unclear if the limitation is required or just an option.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the plug" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 15-18 are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwartz (US 2020/0085600 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schwartz teaches a device (20, device, fig. 6A) configured to be implanted to create a temporary or permanent connection between two hollow structures, comprising:
a stent (22, body, fig. 6A) configured to be disposed between an aortic or large vessel aneurysm sac and a large adjacent vein. The phrase “a stent configured to be disposed between an aortic or large vessel aneurysm sac and a large adjacent vein ” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the body is considered to be capable of being disposed between an aortic or large vessel aneurysm sac and a large adjacent vein.
Regarding claim 2, Schwartz further teaches the stent is either balloon expandable or self-expandable (¶ [0134]).
Regarding claim 3, Schwartz further teaches the stent is either an open cell stent without covering (¶ [0142]), or the stent is partially or fully covered with fabric or film (¶ [0146]).
Regarding claim 4, Schwartz further teaches the stent includes one or a plurality of filters at one or both ends thereof or within the cylindrical portion thereof (¶ [0185-0186]).
Regarding claim 6, Schwartz further teaches one or both ends of the stent are flanged (26, 28, anchoring features, fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 7, Schwartz further teaches a conical or umbrella shaped end of the stent (“flares”, ¶ [0156]) is attachable to either end or both ends of the aortic sac or the venous side. The phrase “a conical or umbrella shaped end of the stent is attachable to either end or both ends of the aortic sac or the venous side” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the flares are considered to be capable of attaching to either end or both ends of the aortic sac or the venous side.
Regarding claim 9, Schwartz further teaches at least a portion of the stent has at least one of a textured surface, a plurality of barb rows, a plurality of donuts, toroids, or undulations (¶ [0156]).
Regarding claim 10, Schwartz further teaches the one or a plurality of filters may be flat (56, filter, fig. 14), oriented antegrade or retrograde to flow (¶ [0186]), and may be integrated or detachable (56, filter, fig. 14).
Regarding claim 11, Schwartz further teaches the one or a plurality of filters is open cell, wire mesh or partially or completely fabric covered (¶ [0188]).
Regarding claim 12, Schwartz further teaches the stent includes at least one conical, tapered, or flared end (¶ [0156]) to facilitate future access to the aneurysm sac. The phrase “the stent includes at least one conical, tapered, or flared end to facilitate future access to the aneurysm sac ” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the flared end is considered to be capable of facilitating future access to the aneurysm sac.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz.
Regarding claim 5, a first embodiment of Schwartz fails to teach two or more stents. However, a second embodiment of Schwartz teaches two or more stents (662, first stent, 664, second stent, fig. 87) that can be joined to bridge different distances between the aneurysm sac and the vein (¶ [0180]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Schwartz to include two or more stents as taught by a second embodiment of Schwartz in order to extend the total length of the shunt (¶ [0180, Schwartz).
Regarding claim 8, a first embodiment of Schwartz fails to teach a valve. However, a 3rd embodiment of Schwartz teaches a flow-reducing valve or a plurality of valves is disposed at one or both ends of the stent, or within the stent (394, 369, valve, fig. 60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Schwartz to include a valve as taught by a 3rd embodiment of Schwartz in order to provide reduced PA pulse pressure, reduced mean PA pressure, and still maintain cardiac output (¶ [0241], Schwartz).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz in view of Faul (US 2012/0010556 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Schwartz fails to teach a plug. However, Faul teaches a shunt device implanted between two hollow structures that includes a plug (630, leaves, fig. 6) to reduce flow in the arterio-venous connection (¶ [0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Schwartz to include a plug as taught by Faul in order to change the cross section area of the lumen (¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 14, Schwartz fails to teach a plug configured to stop the flow. However, Faul further teaches the plug is configured to stop the flow in the arterio-venous connection (¶ [0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Schwartz to include the plug is configured to stop the flow as taught by Faul in order to change the cross section area of the lumen (¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 15, Schwartz fails to teach the plug includes and funnel or conical shape. However, Faul further teaches a funnel or conical shape on one or both sides (fig. 6), tapering to a wire-accessible central lumen. The phrase “the plug . . . tapering to a wire-accessible central lumen” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the plug is considered to be capable of being wire-accessible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Schwartz to include the plug includes a funnel or conical shape as taught by Faul in order to change the cross section area of the lumen (¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Schwartz further teaches the stent is composed of metal (¶ [0156]).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz in view of Faul as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Burnside (US 6,626,939 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Schwartz and Faul fails to teach the material is dissolvable. However, Burnside discloses a stent that teaches the use of dissolvable materials (col 2 line 57 – col 3 line 34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Schwartz and Faul to be dissolvable as taught by Burnside since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 18, Schwartz and Faul fails to teach the material is fully dissolvable. However, Burnside discloses a stent that teaches the use of a fully dissolvable materials (col 2 line 57 – col 3 line 34, fig. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stent of Schwartz and Faul to use a material that is fully dissolvable as taught by Burnside since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799