DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9, and the election of species SEQ ID NO: 51 and SEQ ID NO: 61, in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7, 10-14, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
In view of the prior art search, the species election is expanded to include SEQ ID NOs: 57 and 152.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/GB2022/050427 (2/17/2022) which claims priority to GB2102208.2 (2/17/2021) as reflected in the filing receipt issued on 11/7/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 8/16/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding written description, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112 require that the "specification shall contain a written description of the invention ...." This requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention (MPEP § 2163(I)).
MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(i and ii) states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., .759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
In the instant case, claim 8 is directed to an ADAMTS 13 variant comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 60% identity to elected SEQ ID NO: 61. There is not sufficient written description support for an amino acid sequence having 60% identity to SEQ ID NO: 61 which maintains enzyme function. As set forth in the instant specification, p. 61, a “variant” refers to a protein that shares sequence identity and maintains the ability to perform a function performed by the reference protein. However, there is no disclosure of which regions or structural elements of SEQ ID NO: 61 are required or essential for activity, and which regions can be modified, to produce a variant having the recited sequence identity and enzyme function.
SEQ ID NO: 61 has 1353 amino acid residues. This means that anywhere from 1-541 residues may be substituted or modified, with 19 potential amino acids at any given position, within the scope of 60% identity. Thus, 60% identity encompasses a vast number of potential sequences, and it would not be clear to a skilled artisan which of these potential variants would retain enzyme function. There are no examples in the specification directed to variants of SEQ ID NO: 61, other than the specifically claimed substitutions (i.e., recited in claims 2-5), which retain the claimed activity, or any indication of which residues can or cannot be modified.
For this reason, it is not clear that applicant was in possession of the full scope of the invention, a functional ADAMTS13 enzyme having a sequence with 60% identity to SEQ ID NO: 61. Thus, claim 8 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 comprise the L3 subregion of ADAMTS13, with a sequence X1X2X3X4GRTTATX5AGASLEWSQARGLLFSX6AX7QX8RRLLX9GX10 (see specification Sequence Table pp. 12-13, 58).
X1-X10 correspond to positions A1144, A1145, A1146, P1147, P1154, P1171, P1173, P1175, P1180, and P1182 in the WT ADAMTS13 sequence, respectively. In both SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156, X1- X3 may be A and X4- X10 may be P (see specification Sequence Table pp. 12-13, 58; instant SEQ ID NO: 1). If X1- X3 in SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 are A and X4- X10 are P, this is the same as the WT SEQ ID NO: 48. However, the ADAMTS13 variant of claim 1 requires at least one substitution in the region corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 48 (see Sequence Table p. 12). Therefore, it is unclear whether SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 require a substitution in the region corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 48 or not, as the variable amino acids may be the same as the wild type amino acids at those positions. For this reason, claim 3 is indefinite.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 recites SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156. As discussed in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above, SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 have variable amino acids at the positions recited in claim 2. However, variable positions X1- X3 may be A and X4- X10 may be P, making SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 identical to the wildtype sequence (see specification Sequence Table pp. 12-13, 58). As claim 1, upon which claim 3 depends, requires a substitution in the region corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 48, claim 3 does not further limit claim 1 as it includes sequences that are identical to the WT in the region according to SEQ ID NO: 48 (i.e., do not have a substitution).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roose et al., TH Open; 2(01):e8-15.
Regarding claim 1, Roose teaches human ADAMTS13 with a substitution at residue 1177 (R1177Q) relative to the wildtype sequence (Roose “Abstract”; p. e10 “Expression of Wild Type (WT), p.A900V, p.R1177Q, and p.A900V/R1177Q ADAMTS13”). Residue 1177 is located in the third linker region of the ADAMTS13 sequence (Roose p. e11 “ADAMTS13-Related Parameters in Acute and Remission Samples” para. 2).
Instant SEQ ID NO: 48 corresponds to the linker 3 region of the WT ADAMTS13 sequence, residues 1131 to 1190 (see instant specification p. 66 lines 13-16). The substitution at position 1177 as taught by Roose is therefore in the region corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 48 relative to the wild-type sequence, in the linker 3 region between residues 1131-1190.
Regarding claim 3, SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 have variable amino acids at the positions recited in claim 2. Variable positions X1- X3 may be A, and positions X4- X10 may be P, making SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 identical to the wildtype sequence (see specification Sequence Table pp. 12-13, 58; instant SEQ ID NO: 1). Therefore, SEQ ID NOs: 50 and 156 include the wildtype ADAMTS13 sequence. Roose teaches wildtype human ADAMTS13 (Roose p. e10 “Expression of Wild Type (WT), p.A900V, p.R1177Q, and p.A900V/R1177Q ADAMTS13”).
Regarding claim 8, instant SEQ ID NO: 61 is 99.9% identical to the WT ADAMTS13 sequence (see WT ADAMTS13 sequence, instant SEQ ID NO: 1). The variant sequence taught by Roose differs from the WT by 1 amino acid, R1177Q. Thus, the variant taught by Roose has a sequence that is over 60% identical to SEQ ID NO: 61.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “displays increased proteolytic activity as compared to
wildtype human ADAMTS13” is a functional limitation of the ADAMTS13 variant of claim 1. Roose teaches an ADAMTS13 variant according to claim 1 as discussed above. Claim 1 encompasses ADAMTS13 variants with substitutions at any position in the linker 3 (SEQ ID NO: 48) region. Absent any missing essential unclaimed features, any ADAMTS13 variant having the structure of claim 1 must have the function of increased proteolytic activity as compared to wildtype human ADAMTS13. Therefore, the ADAMTS13 variant of Roose reads on claim 9.
Claims 1, 2, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheiflinger et al., US 7,763,430 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Scheiflinger teaches von Willebrand Factor-cleaving protease (“vWF-cp”, or ADAMTS13) proteins (Scheiflinger col. 1 lines 19-34). SEQ ID NO: 6 according to Scheflinger is 98.3% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 48, with one amino acid substitution (see sequence alignment below).
Regarding claim 2, SEQ ID NO: 6 of Scheiflinger comprises a substitution at position 43 of SEQ ID NO: 48 (see sequence alignment below). As set forth on p. 62 of the instant specification, SEQ ID NO:48 corresponds to positions 1131 to 1190 of SEQ ID NO:1 (wildtype ADAMTS13), with the alanine residue at position 14 of SEQ ID NO:48 corresponding to position 1144 of the WT sequence. Therefore, position 43 of SEQ ID NO: 48 corresponds to position 1173 of the WT sequence, and SEQ ID NO: 6 of Scheiflinger comprises a substitution at position P1173.
Regarding claim 8, instant SEQ ID NO: 61 is 99.9% identical to the WT ADAMTS13 sequence (see WT ADAMTS13 sequence, instant SEQ ID NO: 1). The variant sequence taught by Scheiflinger differs from the WT by 1 amino acid, P1173R. Thus, the variant taught by Scheiflinger has a sequence that is over 60% identical to SEQ ID NO: 61.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “displays increased proteolytic activity as compared to
wildtype human ADAMTS13” is a functional limitation of the ADAMTS13 variant of claim 1. Scheiflinger teaches an ADAMTS13 variant according to claim 1 as discussed above. Absent any missing essential unclaimed features, any ADAMTS13 variant having the structure of claim 1 must have the function of increased proteolytic activity as compared to wildtype human ADAMTS13. Therefore, the ADAMTS13 variant of Scheiflinger reads on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiflinger et al. as applied to claims 1, 2, and 8-9 above, in view of Zhang et al., Journal of molecular evolution; 50(1):56-68.
Scheiflinger teaches an ADAMTS13 protein with a substitution of proline for arginine at position 1173. Scheiflinger does not teach a substitution of proline to valine, isoleucine, or lysine.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches that amino acids are classified into groups based on physicochemical properties, and substitutions of amino acids within groups are considered conservative, whereas substitutions between groups are radical (Zhang p. 56 para. 1). A conservative substitution would be expected to maintain the physiochemical properties of the amino acid and therefore result in minimal change to the protein. Zhang teaches that proline, valine, and isoleucine are all neutral, nonpolar amino acids (Zhang p. 57 Fig. 1). Therefore, a substitution of proline to valine or isoleucine would be considered conservative and would not result in a change in physiochemical properties.
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan, with a reasonable expectation of success, to substitute the proline at position 1173 in the WT ADAMTS13 protein with a valine or isoleucine. Scheiflinger teaches substitution of the proline at this position of ADAMTS13, and a skilled artisan would therefore recognize that this position may be substituted. Substitution of proline to valine or isoleucine would be a conservative substitution, as taught by Zhang. Thus, introducing a substitution of valine or isoleucine at this position would be considered a simple substitution of one known element for another having similar properties, with a reasonable expectation that such a substitution would result in a protein having similar properties to the wildtype.
Regarding claim 5, instant SEQ ID NO: 57 is an ADAMTS13 variant L3 region with a substitution of P1173V, and SEQ ID NO: 152 is an ADAMTS13 variant L3 region with a substitution of P1173I. As discussed above, it would have been obvious to make these mutations in view of the teachings of Scheiflinger and Zhang. Therefore, an ADAMTS 13 variant comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 57 or 152 is obvious in view of the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
It appears that the elected species, an ADAMTS13 variant comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 51 (i.e., A1144 substitution) is free of the prior art. The closest prior art is Roose et al. and Scheiflinger et al. Roose teaches an ADAMTS13 variant with a substitution in the region according to SEQ ID NO: 48, but does not teach a substitution at position A1144. Scheiflinger teaches a substitution at position 1173, but not A1144. The prior art does not appear to teach a sequence corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 51, or an ADAMTS13 variant with a substitution at the position corresponding to A1144.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653