DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is directed toward an apparatus (i.e., a liquid heating device) while claim 1 includes a process limitation (“in a process in which….”) which renders the claim indefinite as a mixed-type claim (see MPEP 2173.05(p) II: Product and Process in the Same Claim A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).) Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-4 are rejected for at least the reason of their respective dependencies from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (JP 2019196878) in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 2020/0296802).
With regard to claim 1, Kawai teaches liquid heating device (FIG. 2) comprising: a container (2a/20) having an internal space, and an inlet (10) and an outlet (12) for a liquid which communicate with the internal space (FIG. 2, pg. 2, ln. 50 to pg. 3, ln. 5, pg. 3, ln. 17-21); and a ceramic heater (3) of which a front-end portion is located in the internal space (FIG. 2) and of which a base-end portion is retained by the container so that the ceramic heater (3) is attached to the container (2a/20) (FIGS. 2 & 4; pg. 2, ln. 50 to pg. 3, ln. 5, pg. 3, ln. 17-21), the ceramic heater (3) including a ceramic base (30) extending in an axial-line direction (FIG. 2) and a ceramic sheet (31) which has a heat generation portion (32; FIG. 8) wherein a gap (S1/S2) is formed between the container (2a/20) and the ceramic heater (3)(FIG. 2), in a process in which the liquid is introduced from the inlet (10) and flows through the internal space to the outlet (12), the liquid is heated by the ceramic heater (3) (pg. 2, ln. 45-49), the outlet (12) is located apart from the inlet (10) in the axial-line direction (FIG. 2), and a first-axis direction in a vicinity of an opening end facing the internal space, of the outlet (12), crosses the axial-line direction (FIG. 2), and a front end of the heat generation portion (end of the ceramic heater, opposite to the end where the leads 33 are located) is located on the base-end portion side relative to the outlet (12)(FIG. 2).
Kawai does not explicitly teach the ceramic sheet is wrapped around an outer circumference of the ceramic base such that, at a wrap-meeting part of the ceramic sheet, a slit extending in the axial-line direction is formed as a non-heat generation portion; however, Nakanishi directed toward the same field of endeavor of a fluid heating device teaches the aforementioned limitation: the ceramic sheet (61) is wrapped around an outer circumference of the ceramic base (17) such that, at a wrap-meeting part of the ceramic sheet, a slit (21, FIG. 2) extending in the axial-line direction is formed as a non-heat generation portion (FIG. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Kawai reference, to include the ceramic sheet is wrapped around an outer circumference of the ceramic base such that, at a wrap-meeting part of the ceramic sheet, a slit extending in the axial-line direction is formed as a non-heat generation portion, as suggested and taught by Nakanishi, for the purpose of providing heating at predetermined locations.
With regard to claim 2, with regard to the limitation of the ceramic heater has a watt density not less than 100 W/cm2, it is submitted that although the primary prior art citation does not provide the specific heating value, it is submitted that such an adaptation of the heater of Kawai would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as a result-effective variable to achieve a desired heating of a predetermined liquid/fluid within the container of the heating device.
With regard to claim 3, Kawai teaches a plurality of the ceramic heaters are provided in the container, and the ceramic heaters extend in the same direction, and the front ends of the heat generation portions of all the ceramic heaters are located on the base-end portion side relative to the outlet (“Further, in the fluid heating device 1 of the above-described embodiment (see FIG. 7 and the like), as the ceramic heater 3, an internal hollow metal or ceramic case member 31 is used as a frame, and the metal body layer 32 is formed as a molded product. However, the configuration of the ceramic heater 3 is not limited to this, and for example, a plurality of ceramic heater bodies 30 are fixed by the metal layer 32. Alternatively, the ceramic heater main body 30 may be configured to be covered only with the metal body layer 32 without using the case member 31. The same applies to the ceramic heater 4. “, pg. 6, ln. 1-5).
With regard to claim 4, Kawai teaches the heat generation portion (32) is embedded in the ceramic sheet (31) (“A metal or ceramic case member 31, and a metal body layer 32 formed by sintering and / or melting metal powder between the ceramic heater body 30 and the case member 31, The outer surface and the lower surface of the ceramic heater body 30 are covered with the metal body layer 32, and the ceramic heater body 30 and the case member 31 are fixed.”).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761