DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/277437 filed on 06/02/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 13-17, 19, and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over He et al. (U.S 20200137462, Apr. 30, 2020) in view of FREDA et al. (US 20190320467, Oct. 17, 2019).
Regarding Claim 1, He discloses a method implemented by a Wireless Transmit Receive Unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving, from a peer WTRU, a first request message to establish a direct communication with the peer WTRU, the first request message including an indication of first user information of the peer WTRU, the first user information being associated with a first application or a first application identity(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering(peer networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP));
transmitting, to the peer WTRU, information indicating a first Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the first user information or the first application identity (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering);
receiving, from the peer WTRU, a second request message to associate a second application with the direct communication, the second request message including an indication of second user information of the peer WTRU, the second user information being associated with the second application or a second application identity(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, an implicit multicast configured to be used when two or more WTRUs are watching the same video content at approximately same time(application with the direct communication), the ICN use a gateway, the gateway configured as an access gateway configured to handle IP transmission provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering with all WTRU HTTP requests to a server, and identify the WTRUs requesting an identical content from the server within a given time window to determine WTRUs viewing the same content at the same time, the NAP send a request to the server, and the system provide an implicit multicast to deliver the requested content to some or all WTRUs).
He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmitting, to the peer WTRU, a first response message including an indication of acceptance of establishment of the direct communication with the peer WTRU; transmitting, to the peer WTRU, a second response message including a second IP address associated with the second user information or the second application identity; and communicating, with the peer WTRU using the direct communication, data related to the first application using the first IP address and data related to the second application using the second IP address.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches transmitting, to the peer WTRU, a first response message including an indication of acceptance of establishment of the direct communication with the peer WTRU(Freda, page 25, par (0341), line 1-10, a WTRU decode PDCCH, using an ID that derived from the selected preamble sequence, a WTRU determine the eRAR is intended for it, by determining the ID included in the payload matches (Peer WTRU) a permanent ID configured at the WTRU (direct communication with the peer WTRU)); transmitting, to the peer WTRU, a second response message including a second IP address associated with the second user information or the second application identity; and communicating, with the peer WTRU using the direct communication, data related to the first application using the first IP address and data related to the second application using the second IP address (Freda, page 6, par (0066-0067), line 1-20, The SMF connected to an AMF in the CN via an NI I interface. The SMF also be connected to a UPF in the CN via an N4 interface. The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF managing and allocating UE IP address(first application using the first IP address), managing PDU sessions, a PDU session type on IP-based(second application to manage the PDU session by using the second IP address), the UPF connected to one or more of the gNBs in the RAN via an N3 interface, which provide the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c with access to packet-switched networks(peer WTRUs network), such as the Internet, to facilitate communications between the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and IP-enabled devices).
He and FREDA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first response message including an indication of acceptance of establishment of the direct communication with the peer WTRU the teaching of He to include the WTRU determine the eRAR is intended for it, by determining the ID included in the payload matches teaching of FREDA because it is providing the WTRUs with access to packet-switched networks, such as the Internet, to facilitate communications between the WTRUs and IP-enabled devices.
Regarding Claim 2, He discloses the second IP address corresponds to the first IP address (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering).
Regarding Claim 3, He discloses the second IP address corresponds to a new allocated IP address (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment).
Regarding Claim 4, He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving information indicating any of an allocation of a new IP address associated with the second user information and the second application identity.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches receiving information indicating any of an allocation of a new IP address associated with the second user information and the second application identity (page 6, par (0066), line 1-10, The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF, the SMF
perform other functions, such as managing and allocating UE IP address (new IP address), managing PDU sessions, controlling policy enforcement and QoS, providing downlink data notifications, and the like).
Regarding Claim 5, He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except storing any of the second user information and the second application identity in association with the second IP address.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches storing any of the second user information and the second application identity in association with the second IP address (page 6, par (0066), line 1-10, The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF, the SMF perform other functions, such as managing and allocating UE IP address).
Regarding Claim 7, He discloses receiving, from transmitting, to the peer WTRU, information indicating to trigger at the peer WTRU, an authentication procedure with the peer WTRU, on condition that the direct communication is not security protected(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering(peer networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP)).
8. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 9, He discloses relaying, by the WTRU, the communicated data, related to the first and second applications: (1) to the peer WTRU via the direct communication between the WTRU and the peer WTRU or (2) from the peer WTRU via a further direct communication between the WTRU and a further peer WTRU (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, two or more WTRUs are watching the same video content at approximately same time. The ICN use a gateway, the gateway configured as an access gateway from two or more customers to a network (first application and the second application). The NAP configured to handle all protocols like IP protocol (first IP address) provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), and dynamic IP address assignment (second IP address). The ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP).
10-11. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 13, He discloses a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver and a processor, configured to receive, from a peer WTRU, a first request message to establish a direct communication with the peer WTRU, the first request message including an indication of first user information of the peer WTRU, the first user information being associated with a first application or a first application identity(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering(peer networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP));
transmit, to the peer WTRU, information indicating a first Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the first user information and/or the first application identity (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering);
receive, from the peer WTRU, a second request message to associate a second application with the direct communication, the second request message including an indication of second user information of the peer WTRU, the second user information being associated with the second application or a second application identity(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, an implicit multicast configured to be used when two or more WTRUs are watching the same video content at approximately same time(application with the direct communication), the ICN use a gateway, the gateway configured as an access gateway configured to handle IP transmission provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering with all WTRU HTTP requests to a server, and identify the WTRUs requesting an identical content from the server within a given time window to determine WTRUs viewing the same content at the same time, the NAP send a request to the server, and the system provide an implicit multicast to deliver the requested content to some or all WTRUs).
He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit, to the peer WTRU, a second response message including a second IP address associated with the second user information and/or the second application identity; and communicate, with the peer WTRU using the direct communication, data related to the first application using the first IP address and data related to the second application using the second IP address.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches transmit, to the peer WTRU, a second response message including a second IP address associated with the second user information or the second application identity(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, an implicit multicast configured to be used when two or more WTRUs are watching the same video content at approximately same time(application with the direct communication), the ICN use a gateway, the gateway configured as an access gateway configured to handle IP transmission provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering with all WTRU);
and communicate, with the peer WTRU using the direct communication, data related to the first application using the first IP address and data related to the second application using the second IP address (Freda, page 6, par (0066-0067), line 1-20, The SMF connected to an AMF in the CN via an NI I interface. The SMF also be connected to a UPF in the CN via an N4 interface. The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF managing and allocating UE IP address(first application using the first IP address), managing PDU sessions, a PDU session type on IP-based(second application to manage the PDU session by using the second IP address), the UPF connected to one or more of the gNBs in the RAN via an N3 interface, which provide the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c with access to packet-switched networks(peer WTRUs network), such as the Internet, to facilitate communications between the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c and IP-enabled devices).
He and FREDA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first response message including an indication of acceptance of establishment of the direct communication with the peer WTRU the teaching of He to include the WTRU determine the eRAR is intended for it, by determining the ID included in the payload matches teaching of FREDA because it is providing the WTRUs with access to packet-switched networks, such as the Internet, to facilitate communications between the WTRUs and IP-enabled devices.
Regarding Claim 14, He discloses the second IP address corresponds to the first IP address (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering).
Regarding Claim 15, He discloses the second IP address corresponds to a new allocated IP address (page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment).
Regarding Claim 16, He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the circuitry is configured to receive information indicating any of an allocation of a new IP address associated with the second user information and the second application identity.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches the circuitry is configured to receive information indicating any of an allocation of a new IP address associated with the second user information and the second application identity (page 6, par (0066), line 1-10, The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF, the SMF perform other functions, such as managing and allocating UE IP address (new IP address), managing PDU sessions, controlling policy enforcement and QoS, providing downlink data notifications, and the like).
Regarding Claim 17, He discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the circuitry comprises a memory configured to store any of the second user information and the second application identity in association with the second IP address.
FREDA is the same field of invention teaches the circuitry comprises a memory configured to store any of the second user information and the second application identity in association with the second IP address (page 6, par (0066), line 1-10, The SMF select and control the UPF and configure the routing of traffic through the UPF, the SMF perform other functions, such as managing and allocating UE IP address).
Regarding Claim 19, He discloses the circuitry is configured to: receiving, from transmit, to the peer WTRU, information indicating to trigger at the peer WTRU, an authentication procedure, with the peer WTRU, on condition that the direct communication is not security protected(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, the NAP configured to handle IP, and provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), dynamic IP address assignment, the ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering(peer networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP)).
20. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 21, He discloses the circuitry is configured to relay, by the WTRU, the communicated data, related to the first and second applications: (1) to the peer WTRU via the direct communication between the WTRU and the peer WTRU or (2) from the peer WTRU via a further direct communication between the WTRU and a further peer WTRU(page 3, par (0052), line 1-20, two or more WTRUs are watching the same video content at approximately same time. The ICN use a gateway, the gateway configured as an access gateway from two or more customers to a network (first application and the second application). The NAP configured to handle all protocols like IP protocol (first IP address) provide standard gateway functions such as network address translation (NAT), and dynamic IP address assignment (second IP address). The ICN network appear as a standard IP network to WTRUs and peering networks with a HTTP to ICN translation mechanism carried out by NAP).
22-23. (Cancelled).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9, 12-19 and 24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over He et al. (U.S 20200137462, Apr. 30, 2020) and FREDA et al. (US 20190320467, Oct. 17, 2019).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 6 or 12 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 13 would be allowable if (i) claims 18 or 24 are incorporated into the independent claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464