DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendments filed 05/18/2026 have been entered. Claims 6-11 are currently pending where claim 11 is newly added. Applicant’s amendments to 6 are sufficient to overcome the previous applied 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/25/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0076074 (Abe hereinafter) in view of US 2011/0214778 (Natsume hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Abe teaches a purging system that discloses a base to which two positioning pins to support a container to be purged are attached (Figures 2 and 5 with base 22 and positioning pins 22p for container 7); a nozzle unit (Figure 3 shows the nozzle unit 35/36) to connect to a gas inlet of the container supported by the two positioning pins (Nozzle 36 with gas inlet 72 in Figures 2 and 5); the nozzle including a gas introduction portion (Gas introduction portion 35 with Figure 2), wherein the main body portion includes two pin insertion holes at positions overlapping the two mounting holes (Holes for pins 22p to reside as interpreted form Figure 2), and the two positioning pins are inserted into the two pin insertion holes and the two mounting holes, respectively, to fix the main body portion to the base.
Abe is silent with respect to the nozzle including a main body portion attached to the base via the positioning pin, and a gas introduction portion coupled to the main body portion and provided with the nozzle, wherein the main body portion includes two pin insertion holes at positions overlapping the two mounting holes, and the two positioning pins are inserted into the two pin insertion holes and the two mounting holes, respectively, to fix the main body portion to the base.
However, Natsume teaches a purge system that discloses a nozzle (Nozzle 5 per Figure 3 and 4) and the nozzle including a main body portion attached to the base via the positioning pin (Figures 3 and 5 show equivalent main body 21 with the nozzle 5 being above the base 22 per ¶ 40). The resultant combination would then teach a gas introduction portion coupled to the main body portion and provided with the nozzle (Gas introduction portion 35 of Abe would be attached to the main body 21 of Natsume as added to Abe) such that wherein the main body portion includes two pin insertion holes at positions overlapping the two mounting holes (Matching insertion holes of the main body 21 for the pins 22p placed on 22 of Abe), and the two positioning pins are inserted into the two pin insertion holes and the two mounting holes, respectively, to fix the main body portion to the base (Evident of the combination of the combination for the pins 22p to be inserted into the main body such that the pins 22p are mounted to 22 of Abe and able to be inserted into 21 of Natsume).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the nozzle assembly of Abe with the additional main body of Natsume to allow for individual height adjustments per ¶ 40 of Natsume.
Regarding claim 7, Abe’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Abe and Natsume would further disclose that the main body portion includes a flat plate between a bottom surface of the container supported by the two positioning pins and the base (Figures 3 and 4 of Natsume show the flat surface with equivalent positioning pins 7 to 22p of Abe for supporting the container).
Regarding claim 8, Abe’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Abe and Natsume would further disclose that the gas introduction portion is integrated into the main body portion (Resultant combination of Abe Figures 2 and 5 with part 35 and main body 21 of Natsume in Figures 3 and 4), and the nozzle is fixed in a predetermined position with respect to the two positioning pins (Evident from Figures 2 and 5 of Abe).
Regarding claim 9, Abe’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Abe and Natsume would further disclose that the gas introduction portion includes an elastic body on an underside of the nozzle to support the nozzle, and the nozzle is energized upward by the elastic body and is movable up and down (Natsume 542 in Figure 7 of equivalent nozzle 5 along with ¶ 44 of Abe).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 10 recites “the gas introduction portion includes a rotary arm coupled to the main body portion via a rotary shaft extending horizontally therebetween and rotatable with respect to the main body portion, the rotary arm including a first end provided with the rotary shaft and a second end on a side opposite to the first end; and the nozzle is provided at the second end.” The addition of the rotating structure relative to the previously recited structure in claims 9 and 6 would require excessive modifications. The closest rationale the Examiner can find with art would be from US 5217053 (Foster) showing a rotating valve 18 with a linear actuator 19. An argument can be made that in order to go from linear motion to rotating motion there must be a transmission component that would act as the rotary shaft. However, any further structure would be reliant on hindsight and broad assumptions and therefore not be proper for a rejection. Therefore, dependent claim 10 is objected to as being allowable.
Claim 11 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. Claim 10 recites “the gas introduction portion includes a rotary arm coupled to the main body portion via a rotary shaft extending horizontally therebetween and rotatable with respect to the main body portion, the rotary arm including a first end provided with the rotary shaft and a second end on a side opposite to the first end; and the nozzle is provided at the second end.” A new reference would be required to reject the claim structure of claim 11 and the use of additional reference would require extensive modifications and therefore be non-obvious in the Examiner’s point of view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the proposed amendments to claim 1 are not taught however after reviewing the combination of Abe and Natsume, said arguments are not found to be persuasive. Applicant has included the following language in claim 1, “wherein the main body portion includes two pin insertion holes at positions overlapping the two mounting holes, and the two positioning pins are inserted into the two pin insertion holes and the two mounting holes, respectively, to fix the main body portion to the base.” The Examiner is of the position that the resultant combination would teach this limitation in the following way:
“wherein the main body portion includes two pin insertion holes at positions overlapping the two mounting holes” is taught with the positioning pins 22p on the structure 22 of Abe as modified with the main body 21 of Natsume would have mounting holes for the pins 22p as shown in Figure 2 of Abe where 22p appears to have a mounting structure underneath it to imply that mounting holes are needed/present and therefore the insertion holes would overlap with the mounting holes.
“the two positioning pins are inserted into the two pin insertion holes and the two mounting holes, respectively, to fix the main body portion to the base” is taught by the combination of Abe and Natsume. In continuum from section 9.a.i immediately above, the pins 22p are mounted in a mounting hole in Abe Figure 2 which would be applied to a base 21 of Natsume. The assembly step would be to place the pins 22p into the insertion holes and the mounting holes to therefore fix the main body portion to the base.
For at least this reason, Applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive and the Applicant is welcome to further amend to overcome the rejection of record currently set forth.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762