DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Request for Continued Examination dated 06/16/2026. Claims 1-7 are canceled. Claims 8 and 9 are amended. Claims 8-14 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's Amendments filed 05/08/2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/08/2026 have been fully considered and they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20230236088 (hereinafter, "Didcock"; previously of record), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20150212107 (hereinafter, "Sannodo"; previously of record), and in further view of U.S. Pat. No. 7016777 (hereinafter, "Suzuki"; newly of record).
Regarding claim 8, Didcock discloses a device for predicting a future actual speed of a motor vehicle, the device comprising:
a model, wherein the model is configured to predict the future actual speed depending at least on the target acceleration (“means for determining an acceleration value in consideration of probabilities resulting from the acceleration prediction model and the state vector, means for integrating the selected acceleration value over the current time interval in order to obtain a predicted speed value for a next future time interval” (para 0044)).
However, Didcock does not explicitly teach
an acceleration governor, wherein the acceleration governor is configured to predetermine a target acceleration of the motor vehicle in a time interval depending at least on the target speed of the motor vehicle, an actual speed of the motor vehicle, and a gain factor; and
a low-pass filter, wherein the low-pass filter is configured to filter a signal which is characteristic of a target speed of the motor vehicle and to provide the signal as the target speed of the motor vehicle;
Sannodo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a low-pass filter, wherein the low-pass filter is configured to filter a signal which is characteristic of a target speed of the motor vehicle and to provide the signal as the target speed of the motor vehicle (“when the detection value of the acceleration sensor 11 is used, the deceleration factor estimation apparatus 1 preferably uses a value obtained by correcting the detection value using a low pass filter as the acceleration” (para 0104));
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Didcock with the teachings of Sannodo in order to remove a high frequency component value using a low pass filter; see Sannodo at least at [0105].
Suzuki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
an acceleration governor, wherein the acceleration governor is configured to predetermine a target acceleration of the motor vehicle in a time interval depending at least on the target speed of the motor vehicle, an actual speed of the motor vehicle, and a gain factor (“Next, deceleration controller 10 enables at step S4 target deceleration calculation unit 23 to calculate the target deceleration Xg* according to the following expression (5): Xg*=K.times..DELTA.V/.DELTA.t (5) where .DELTA.V is a difference between the actual vehicle speed V and the target vehicle speed V* (.DELTA.V=V-V*); .DELTA.t is a predetermined time (to reduce the vehicle speed difference .DELTA.V to zero); and K is a gain factor. As is evident from the expression (5), the calculated target deceleration Xg* increases as the vehicle speed difference .DELTA.V becomes larger i.e. as the difference between V and V* becomes positively increased.” (Col. 5, lines 54-67)); and
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Didcock with the teachings of Suzuki in order to reduce the vehicle speed difference; see Suzuki at least at [Col. 5, lines 54-67].
Regarding claim 9, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 8. Additionally, Didcock discloses wherein: the model is configured to predict the future actual speed depending additionally on the actual speed (“multiple predicted speed values are in each case obtained for the same future time intervals based on the past speed curve so that statistical speed distributions are obtained for future time intervals” (para 0021)).
Regarding claim 10, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 9. Additionally, Didcock discloses wherein the device is configured:
to store as information each of the target speed, the actual speed, and the target acceleration for at least two time intervals, to select a first subset of the information, to train the model depending on the first subset, to select a second subset of the information, and to adjust the gain factor depending on the second subset, the model, and the acceleration governor (“the acceleration prediction model is based on a statistical evaluation of measured driving data of at least one real vehicle, wherein preferably the measured driving data of the at least one real vehicle only comprises a chronological sequence of speed values. Preferably, the driving data of the real vehicle measured under real driving conditions is used for model training, particularly for the determining of model parameters” (para 0033) and “A further aspect of the invention relates to a computer-readable medium on which a computer program product according to one of the cited embodiments is stored” (para 0043)).
Regarding claim 11, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 11. Additionally, Didcock discloses further comprising:
an acceleration prediction unit, wherein the acceleration prediction unit is configured to determine a correction acceleration depending on the target speed (“the checking in step 203 show that the previously predicted speed values and corresponding time intervals do not meet the criteria of the RDE guidelines for the duration of highway driving at increased speed, the probability for an acceleration scenario is increased by the correction and the probability for a deceleration scenario is correspondingly reduced in step 204” (para 0065) and “In step 207, the corrected acceleration value a′.sub.t is integrated over the current time interval t in order to obtain a next predicted speed value v.sub.t+1 for a next time interval t+1 in the future” (para 0068)),
wherein the model is configured to predict the future actual speed depending additionally on the correction acceleration (“In step 207, the corrected acceleration value a′.sub.t is integrated over the current time interval t in order to obtain a next predicted speed value v.sub.t+1 for a next time interval t+1 in the future” (para 0068)).
Regarding claim 13, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 11. Additionally, Didcock discloses further comprising:
wherein the acceleration governor is configured to predetermine the target acceleration of the motor vehicle depending additionally on the filtered target speed of the motor vehicle (“at least one speed value associated with a current time interval and/or at least one past time interval, and using the state vector and a probability-based acceleration prediction model to determine an acceleration value for the current time interval” (para 0014)).
However, Didcock does not explicitly teach
a reference filter, wherein the reference filter is configured to determine a filtered target speed depending on the target speed,
Sannodo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
a reference filter, wherein the reference filter is configured to determine a filtered target speed depending on the target speed (“when the detection value of the acceleration sensor 11 is used, the deceleration factor estimation apparatus 1 preferably uses a value obtained by correcting the detection value using a low pass filter as the acceleration” (para 0104)),
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Didcock with the teachings of Sannodo in order to remove a high frequency component value using a low pass filter; see Sannodo at least at [0105].
Regarding claim 14, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 13. However, Didcock does not explicitly teach wherein the device is configured to automatically set the reference filter as a product of a transfer function of the acceleration prediction unit and a transfer function of the model.
Sannodo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein the device is configured to automatically set the reference filter as a product of a transfer function of the acceleration prediction unit and a transfer function of the model (“The deceleration factor estimation apparatus 1 can calculate a relationship between the driving force, the acceleration, and the speed during travel accurately by increasing the precision of the deceleration factor terms in Equation 1. As a result, when travel behavior of the vehicle is predicted during travel assistance, the travel behavior can be predicted accurately. By predicting the travel behavior accurately, travel assistance can be executed more appropriately. Here, when the detection value of the acceleration sensor 11 is used, the deceleration factor estimation apparatus 1 preferably uses a value obtained by correcting the detection value using a low pass filter as the acceleration” (para 0103-0104)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Didcock with the teachings of Sannodo in order to remove a high frequency component value using a low pass filter; see Sannodo at least at [0105].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20230236088 (hereinafter, "Didcock"; previously of record), in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20150212107 (hereinafter, "Sannodo"; previously of record), in further view of U.S. Pat. No. 7016777 (hereinafter, "Suzuki"; newly of record) as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. No. 20190100205 (hereinafter, "Kean"; previously of record).
Regarding claim 12, Didcock discloses the device as claimed in claim 11. However, Didcock does not explicitly teach wherein the device is configured to automatically define the acceleration prediction unit as a product of an inversion of a transfer function of the model and a causality factor.
Kean, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein the device is configured to automatically define the acceleration prediction unit as a product of an inversion of a transfer function of the model and a causality factor (“The average expected motor acceleration 326 with or without the time delay 328 affect is averaged with the predicted acceleration 340 and sent to the IMU 240 to be combined or processed with the IMU reading 344 as an estimated acceleration 350” (para 0064)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Didcock with the teachings of Kean in order to apply a time delay to the average expected motor acceleration to correlate the average expected motor acceleration; see Kean at least at [0061].
Conclusion
/ADAM M ALHARBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663