Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 4/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirohige JP2012156109 in view of Sawada et al. WO 2019/216216 (see English US 2021/0184219)
With respect to claim 1, Shirohige discloses a conductive undercoating agent, comprising:
a conductive carbon material (flaked graphite);
a binding agent [0058]; and
a solvent (water) [0048-0052],
wherein the conductive carbon material is flaked graphite having an average thickness of from 10 nm to 200 nm (0.08µm, “overlap 3.5 µm or less”). [Abstract; 0012-0013; 0045-0046]
Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g
Sawada et al. disclose a conductive undercoating agent, comprising:
a conductive carbon material [0011-0016]; a binding agent [0037- 0060]
wherein the conductive carbon material is graphite [0037- 0060] having a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g [0060]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the graphite has a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g, as disclosed in Sawada et al., in order to allow for further enhanced conductivity and handleability during production.
With respect to claim 5, Shirohige discloses wherein the binding agent contains a styrene-butadiene elastomer [0058-0069]
With respect to claim 6, Shirohige discloses wherein a mass ratio between the flaked graphite and the binding agent is from 99:1 to 50:50. [0058-0069]
Claim(s) 3 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirohige JP2012156109 in view of Sawada et al. WO 2019/216216 (see English US 2021/0184219) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Takeuchi et al. (US 2014/0205532)
With respect to claim 3, Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass.
Takeuchi et al. discloses a conductive agent comprising graphite wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass. [0060-0061]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass, as disclosed in Takeuchi et al., in order to allow for increase safety.
With respect to claim 4, Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5.
Takeuchi et al. discloses disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5. [0106-0117; Table 1]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5, as disclosed in Takeuchi et al., in order to allow for increase safety.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirohige JP2012156109 in view of Sawada et al. WO 2019/216216 (see English US 2021/0184219) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Aoki et al. (US 20180254486)
With respect to claim 2, Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.03 g/cm3
Aoki et al. discloses a conductive agent comprising graphite wherein the graphite has a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.30 g/cm3 [Abstract]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the flaked graphite has a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.03 g/cm3, as disclosed in Aoki et al., in order to allow for a larger contact area.
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751