Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirohige JP2012156109 in view of Yamami et al. US 2014/0134492
With respect to claim 1, Shirohige discloses a conductive undercoating agent, comprising:
a conductive carbon material (flaked graphite);
a binding agent [0058]; and
a solvent (water) [0048-0052],
wherein the conductive carbon material is flaked graphite having an average thickness of from 10 nm to 200 nm (0.08µm, “overlap 3.5 µm or less”). [Abstract; 0012-0013; 0045-0046]
Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g or wherein the flaked graphite has a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.03 g/cm3
Yamami et al. discloses a conductive undercoating agent, comprising:
a conductive carbon material (scaly graphite); [Abstract]
a binding agent [065]; and
a solvent [0065],
wherein the conductive carbon material is flaked graphite (scaly graphite) having, a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.30 g/cm3 (not less than 0.5g/cc) [0040], and a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g (5 to 15 m2/g).[0042].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the graphite has a specific surface area of from 10 m2/g to 40 m2/g and a bulk density of from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.30 g/cm3, as disclosed in Yamami et al., in order to allow for an excellent capacity retention rate.
With respect to claim 5, Shirohige discloses wherein the binding agent contains a styrene-butadiene elastomer [0058-0069]
With respect to claim 6, Shirohige discloses wherein a mass ratio between the flaked graphite and the binding agent is from 99:1 to 50:50. [0058-0069]
Claim(s) 3 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirohige JP2012156109 in view of Yamami et al. US 2014/0134492 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Takeuchi et al. (US 2014/0205532)
With respect to claim 3, Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass.
Takeuchi et al. discloses a conductive agent comprising graphite wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass. [0060-0061]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the flaked graphite has a content of iron of less than 30 ppm by mass, as disclosed in Takeuchi et al., in order to allow for increase safety.
With respect to claim 4, Shirohige does not disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5.
Takeuchi et al. discloses disclose wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5. [0106-0117; Table 1]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive undercoating agent of Shirohige to include wherein the flaked graphite has a carbon/oxygen element molar ratio (C/O ratio) of from 100/0 to 95/5, as disclosed in Takeuchi et al., in order to allow for increase safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takeuchi et al. US 2014/0134492
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751