Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/291,958 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to compositions comprising overlapping amounts of (meth)acrylic modified polyurethane comprising polymerization units of anhydrosugar-alkylene oxide adducts, a (meth)acrylic monomer, an epoxy resin, an epoxy curing promoter, and a polymerization initiator. The difference in the claims lies in the future intended use of the composition, the instant claims are directed to coatings for metals and the copending claims are directed to compositions for bonding heterogenous materials.
The intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02. The compositions in both sets of claims are the same and thus an ordinary skilled artisan would find that the coating composition in the pending claims could be used as an adhesive.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0166642 to Inoue in view of JP-2013/142128 to Takahashi et al. with evidence provided by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0309670 to Yoo et al.
As to claims 1-3, 7, and 11, Inoue discloses a photosensitive coating composition comprising (A) 10 to 90% of epoxy (meth)acrylate resin, (B) 1 to 60 % of urethane (meth)acrylate resin (0064), (C) 1 to 50% of epoxy resin (0071), (D) 10 to 70 % unsaturated monomer diluent (0076), (E) 0.1 to 20% of thermal initiator or photopolymization initiator (Abstract), and imidazole epoxy curing agents wherein the contents are based 100 mass parts of the photocurable composition (0080).
The content of each component sits within a range value that overlaps or sits inside of the claimed ranges. It is well settled that where prior art describes components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05. In light of the cited patent case law, it would therefore have been obvious that in this particular instance to 10% of the epoxy (meth)acrylate to obtain a coating with desired heat resistance and flexibility (0047).
Inoue discloses a urethane (meth)acrylate comprising the reaction product of a diisocyanate, polyether polyol and a chain terminating hydroxy alkyl acrylate (0050-0060). Inoue does not expressly disclose a polyol derived from anhydrosugar alcohol-alkylene oxide adduct.
Within the same field of polyurethane coatings, Takahashi discloses an aqueous polyurethane coating comprising a prepolymer containing anhydrosugar alcohol backbones, in particular polyether adducts of isosorbide and ethylene oxide (0065).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the polyol of Inoue with the polyether sugar adduct of Takahashi to improve adhesion and heat resistance of the coating composition and for environmental concerns because anhydrosugar alcohols are renewable low-cost raw materials (0004, 0079, 0005 Yoo).
As to claims 4-5, Inoue discloses 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate or isophorone diisocyanate and 2-hydroxyethyln acrylate (0108).
As to claim 8, Inoue discloses (meth)acrylic monomers with 1 to 4 acrylic groups (0074).
As to claim 9, Inoue discloses difunctional epoxy resins (0070, Examples).
As to claim 12, Inoue discloses mixing the components at room temperature and curing under heat (0124-0125).
As to claim 13, Inoue discloses coating metallic surfaces with the coating composition (0003).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0166642 to Inoue in view of JP-2013/142128 to Takahashi et al. with evidence provided by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0309670 to Yoo et al. that has been explained above and is applied here as such in view of U.S> Patent Pub. No. 2018/0079935 to Ota et al.
As to claim 10, Inoue discloses a photosensitive coating composition comprising (A) 10 to 90% of epoxy (meth)acrylate resin, (B) 1 to 60 % of urethane (meth)acrylate resin (0064), (C) 1 to 50% of epoxy resin (0071), (D) 10 to 70 % unsaturated monomer diluent (0076), (E) 0.1 to 20% of thermal initiator or photopolymization initiator (Abstract), and imidazole epoxy curing agents wherein the contents are based 100 mass parts of the photocurable composition (0080). Inoue does not expressly disclose the claimed initiator.
Within the same field of photocurable (meth)acrylate urethane containing compositions, Ota discloses the use of the claimed organic peroxide initiators (0044-0046).
At the time of filing it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the initiator taught in Ota in the photocurable composition of Inoue to allow for lower temperature curability (Abstract, 0048).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763