DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the secondary particle median size D50". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the carbon content". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the Zr thickness". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “x≥55.0 mol %” which does not specify an upper range and, thus, fails to further limit the range recited in claim 18 “Ni in a content x between 50.0 mol % and 75.0 mol %, relative to M′”.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “x≤72.0 mol %” which does not specify a lower range and, thus, fails to further limit the range recited in claim 18 “Ni in a content x between 50.0 mol % and 75.0 mol %, relative to M′”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JP2021197209A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0187628A1).
Regarding claim 28, Fujimoto discloses a method for the manufacturing of a positive electrode active material for solid-state batteries (Method for Producing Positive Electrode Active Material for Lithium Ion Secondary Battery [0094]-[0140], Fig. 1), comprising the consecutive steps of
preparing a lithium transition metal-based oxide compound (lithium transition metal composite oxide synthesizing process S3 [0098]),
mixing said lithium transition metal-based oxide compound with a source of Zr, thereby obtaining a mixture (particles of the lithium transition metal composite oxide obtained in the lithium transition metal composite oxide synthesizing process S3 are mixed with a liquid coating agent containing a lithium compound and a zirconium compound [0099], [0119]-[0126]), and
heating the mixture in an oxidizing atmosphere in a furnace at a temperature between 350° C. and less than 500° C., for a time between 1 hour and 20 hours so as to obtain the positive electrode active material (heat-treated at a temperature of 300° C. or more and 600° C. or less, and for 1 to 5 hours [0099], [0127]-[0141]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 29, Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses the method comprises a further step, before heating said mixture, of drying said mixture (dried [0099], [0133]-[0134]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JP2021197209A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0187628A1), as applied to claims 28-29 above, in view of Wu et al. (CN110957474A, refer to English equivalent US2021/0111405A1).
Regarding claim 30, Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses the method comprises a further step, before heating said mixture, of drying said mixture (dried [0099], [0133]-[0134]), but does not disclose by means of vacuum heating.
Wu discloses a positive active material including an inner core and a coating layer, and preparation method thereof (Title, Abstract), wherein the method for preparing a positive active material includes a step of vacuum drying the inner core of the positive active material prior to secondary sintering with a surface coating-forming compound to form a coating layer of the positive active material ([0009]).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JP2021197209A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0187628A1), as applied to claims 28-29 above, in view of JP2004311408A, refer to English machine translation by EPO.
Regarding claim 31, Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses the positive electrode active material is a positive electrode active material comprising Li, M′, and oxygen (lithium transition metal composite oxide [0058]-[0087]), wherein M′ comprises:
Ni in a content x between 50.0 mol % and 85.0 mol %, relative to M′ (nickel content is 1-x-y, wherein 0<x≤0.22 and 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.);
Co in a content y between 0.0 mol % and 40.0 mol %, relative to M′ (cobalt content is x, wherein 0<x≤0.22 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.);
Mn in a content z between 0.0 mol % and 40.0 mol %, relative to M′,
D in a content a between 0.0 mol % and 2.0 mol %, relative to M′, wherein D comprises at least one element of the group consisting of: Al, B, Ba, Ca, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mo, Nb, S, Si, Sr, Ti, Y, V, W, and Zn, and (element M, which may be selected from a group including Mg, Al, Ca, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mo, Nb, Si, Ti, V, W, and Zn, has a content of y, wherein 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.),
wherein the positive electrode active material comprises secondary particles having a plurality of primary particles (secondary particles formed by aggregating primary particles [0074]),
wherein said primary particles have an average diameter of between 170 nm to 340 nm as determined by measuring primary particle size in an image taken by SEM (primary particles with particle size of 0.1 micrometer to 2.0 micrometers [0074]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Although Fujimoto further discloses a zirconium content of 0.13 mmol or more and 0.30 mmol or less per 1 m2 of a surface of the particles or 0.90 mass % measured using ICP ([0078]-[0081], [0182]) and the positive electrode active material has a Zr content ZrB, wherein ZrB is determined by XPS analysis, wherein ZrB is expressed as molar fraction compared to the sum of molar fractions of Co, Mn, Ni, and Zr as measured by XPS analysis (ratio Zrs/Nis+Cos+Zrs of a sum of substance quantities of Ni, Co, Zr and a substance quantity of Zr existing on a surface of the positive electrode active material measured using XPS, see Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]), the reference does not expressly disclose Zr in a content b between 0.1 mol % and 5.0 mol %, relative to M′, wherein x, y, z, a, and b are measured by ICP, wherein x+y+z+a+b is 100.0 mol %, wherein the ratio ZrB/ZrA>50.0.
JP2004311408A discloses a proportion of zirconium compound present on the surface of the lithium transition metal composite oxide measured by ICP is preferably 0.01 to 2 mol% of zirconium with respect to the lithium transition metal composite oxide, wherein a content of 0.01 mol% or more is preferable because zirconium can be present on the entire surface of the lithium transition metal composite oxide and 2 mol% or less is preferable because discharge capacity decreases, such that low temperature characteristics, cycle characteristics and thermal stability are improved, and high load characteristics and low temperature load characteristics are improved (see p.4). JP2004311408A further discloses determining the zirconium compound using ICP (see p.3,12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the zirconium content (mol%) in order to arrive at a desired balance between surface coverage and discharge capacity, leading to improvement in low temperature characteristics, cycle characteristics, thermal stability, high load characteristics and low temperature load characteristics (MPEP 2144.05).
Accordingly, the combination envisages ZrB between 0.80 and 0.97 (see Fujimoto: Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]) and ZrA between 0.01 to 2 mol%, i.e., between 0.0001 and 0.02 (see JP2004311408A: p.4) with the calculated ratio ZrB/ZrA between 40 and 9700 which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claim(s) 18-26, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JP2021197209A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0187628A1) in view of JP2004311408A, refer to English machine translation by EPO.
Regarding 18, Fujimoto discloses a positive electrode active material for solid-state batteries (Title, Abstract), wherein the positive electrode active material comprises Li, M′, and oxygen (lithium transition metal composite oxide [0058]-[0087]), wherein M′ comprises:
Ni in a content x between 50.0 mol % and 85.0 mol %, relative to M′ (nickel content is 1-x-y, wherein 0<x≤0.22 and 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.);
Co in a content y between 0.0 mol % and 40.0 mol %, relative to M′ (cobalt content is x, wherein 0<x≤0.22 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.);
Mn in a content z between 0.0 mol % and 40.0 mol %, relative to M′,
D in a content a between 0.0 mol % and 2.0 mol %, relative to M′, wherein D comprises at least one element of the group consisting of: Al, B, Ba, Ca, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mo, Nb, S, Si, Sr, Ti, Y, V, W, and Zn (element M, which may be selected from a group including Mg, Al, Ca, Cr, Fe, Mg, Mo, Nb, Si, Ti, V, W, and Zn, has a content of y, wherein 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.), and,
wherein the positive electrode active material comprises secondary particles having a plurality of primary particles (secondary particles formed by aggregating primary particles [0074]),
wherein said primary particles have an average diameter of between 170 nm to 340 nm as determined by measuring primary particle size in an image taken by SEM (primary particles with particle size of 0.1 micrometer to 2.0 micrometers [0074]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Although Fujimoto further discloses a zirconium content of 0.13 mmol or more and 0.30 mmol or less per 1 m2 of a surface of the particles or 0.90 mass % measured using ICP ([0078]-[0081], [0182]) and the positive electrode active material has a Zr content ZrB, wherein ZrB is determined by XPS analysis, wherein ZrB is expressed as molar fraction compared to the sum of molar fractions of Co, Mn, Ni, and Zr as measured by XPS analysis (ratio Zrs/Nis+Cos+Zrs of a sum of substance quantities of Ni, Co, Zr and a substance quantity of Zr existing on a surface of the positive electrode active material measured using XPS, see Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]), the reference does not expressly disclose Zr in a content b between 0.1 mol % and 5.0 mol %, relative to M′, wherein x, y, z, a, and b are measured by ICP, wherein x+y+z+a+b is 100.0 mol %, wherein the ratio ZrB/ZrA>50.0.
JP2004311408A discloses a proportion of zirconium compound present on the surface of the lithium transition metal composite oxide measured by ICP is preferably 0.01 to 2 mol% of zirconium with respect to the lithium transition metal composite oxide, wherein a content of 0.01 mol% or more is preferable because zirconium can be present on the entire surface of the lithium transition metal composite oxide and 2 mol% or less is preferable because discharge capacity decreases, such that low temperature characteristics, cycle characteristics and thermal stability are improved, and high load characteristics and low temperature load characteristics are improved (see p.4). JP2004311408A further discloses determining the zirconium compound using ICP (see p.3,12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the zirconium content (mol%) in order to arrive at a desired balance between surface coverage and discharge capacity, leading to improvement in low temperature characteristics, cycle characteristics, thermal stability, high load characteristics and low temperature load characteristics (MPEP 2144.05).
Accordingly, the combination envisages ZrB between 0.80 and 0.97 (see Fujimoto: Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]) and ZrA between 0.01 to 2 mol%, i.e., between 0.0001 and 0.02 (see JP2004311408A: p.4) with the calculated ratio ZrB/ZrA between 40 and 9700 which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 19, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujimoto further discloses the ratio ZrB/ZrA is at least 80 (ZrB between 0.80 and 0.97, see Fujimoto, Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]; ZrA between 0.0001 and 0.02, see JP2004311408A, p.4; calculated ratio ZrB/ZrA between 40 and 9700 which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 220, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujimoto further discloses the ratio ZrB/ZrA is at most 500 (ZrB between 0.80 and 0.97, see Fujimoto, Abstract, [0084]-[0085], [0183]; ZrA between 0.0001 and 0.02, see JP2004311408A, p.4; calculated ratio ZrB/ZrA between 40 and 9700 which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 21, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses x≥55.0 mol % (nickel content is 1-x-y, wherein 0<x≤0.22 and 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 22, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses x≤72.0 mol % (nickel content is 1-x-y, wherein 0<x≤0.22 and 0≤y≤0.15 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 23, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses 0 mol %≤y≤20 mol % (cobalt content is x, wherein 0<x≤0.22 [0059]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 24, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. JP2004311408A further discloses b is at least 0.10 mol % and at most 1.00 mol %, relative to M’ (0.01 to 2 mol%, see p.4; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 25, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses the secondary particle median size D50 is at least 2.0 μm and at most 15.0 μm, as determined by laser diffraction particle size analysis (secondary particle with a particle size of 3 to 15 micrometers [0074]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses the carbon content is at least 600 ppm and at most 3000 ppm, as determined by carbon analyzer (carbon content is 0.05 to 0.40 mass% [0090]; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.).
Regarding claim 32, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses a solid-state battery comprising the positive electrode active material according to claim 18 (all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery [0160]-[0161]; see rejection of claim 18 above).
Regarding claim 33, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses said solid-state battery comprises a sulfide based solid electrolyte comprising Li, P, and S (sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0157]).
Regarding claim 34, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujimoto further discloses an electric vehicle or a hybrid electric vehicle comprising the battery according to claim 32 (electric vehicle [0163]; see rejection of claim 32 above).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto (JP2021197209A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0187628A1) in view of JP2004311408A, refer to English machine translation by EPO, as applied to claims 18-26, 32-34 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2017/0133672A1).
Regarding claim 27, modified Fujimoto discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, modified Fujimoto does not further disclose the Zr thickness is at least 10 nm, as determined by TEM-EDS measurement.
Song discloses a positive electrode active material including a zirconium-containing coating layer (see Title, Abstract), wherein the coating layer has a thickness in the range of 1 nm to 20 nm ([0037]).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-33 of copending Application No. 18/277,393 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 18, claim 18 of the reference application discloses the positive electrode active material recited in claim 18 of the instant application with the exception of the claimed Ni content range.
Claim 18 of the reference application discloses a Ni content range that overlaps with instant claim 18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding instant claims 19-27, claims 19-27 of the reference application discloses the claimed ratio ZrB/ZrA, x, y, b, secondary particle median size, carbon content and Zr thickness.
Regarding instant claims 28-31 directed to a method, claims 27-30 of the reference application discloses the claimed method.
Regarding instant claims 32-34 directed to a solid-state battery, and electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle, claims 31-33 of the reference application discloses a solid-state battery, and electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 18-26, 28-34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-34 of copending Application No. 18/277,543 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 18, claim 18 of the reference application discloses the positive electrode active material recited in claim 18 of the instant application with the exception of the claimed Ni content range and primary particle average diameter range.
Claim 18 of the reference application discloses a Ni content range that overlaps with instant claim 18 and a primary particle average diameter range that overlaps with instant claim 18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding instant claims 19-20, claims 20-21 of the reference application discloses the claimed ratio ZrB/ZrA.
Regarding instant claim 21, claim 22 of the reference application discloses x≥77 mol% which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding instant claim 22, claim 23 of the reference application discloses x≤91 mol% which overlaps with the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding instant claim 23, claim 24 of the reference application discloses the claimed y content.
Regarding instant claim 24, claim 25 of the reference application discloses the claimed b range.
Regarding instant claim 25, claim 26 of the reference application discloses the claimed secondary particle median size.
Regarding instant claim 26, claim 27 of the reference application discloses an overlapping carbon content range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding instant claims 28-30 directed to a method, claims 28-31 of the reference application discloses the claimed method.
Regarding instant claims 31-33 directed to a solid-state battery, and electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle, claims 32-34 of the reference application discloses a solid-state battery, and electric vehicle or hybrid vehicle.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 27 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18-34 of copending Application No. 18/277,543, as applied to claims 18-26, 28-34 above, in view of Song et al. (US 2017/0133672A1).
Regarding claim 27, claim 18-34 of the copending application discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, claim 18-34 of the copending application does not further disclose the Zr thickness is at least 10 nm, as determined by TEM-EDS measurement.
Song discloses a positive electrode active material including a zirconium-containing coating layer (see Title, Abstract), wherein the coating layer has a thickness in the range of 1 nm to 20 nm ([0037]).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 2/25/2026