CTNF 18/277,509 CTNF 82721 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a2 as being anticipated by Hettler et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0328412 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Hettler discloses a light emitter (FIGS. 7, 12 and 41), comprising: a substrate (a base plate 4, FIG. 12, [0119]) including a first surface (a top surface of the base plate, FIG. 12); a first light-emitting element (a first laser 6, FIG. 7, [0122]) inside an element sealing area (a recess formed by a housing cap 3, FIG. 12) on the first surface; a second light-emitting element (a second laser 7, FIG. 7, [0122]) inside the element sealing area; a cladding (a common fiber cladding of fibers 73/74/75, FIG. 41, [0049], [0209] and [0212]) on the first surface; a first core (a first core of the fiber 73, FIG. 41, [0049]) inside the cladding, the first core being configured to receive light from the first light-emitting element (the first core of the fiber 73 is optically connected to the laser 6, FIG. 41); a second core (a second core of the fiber 74, FIG. 41, [0049]) inside the cladding, the second core being configured to receive light from the second light-emitting element (the second core of the fiber 74 is optically connected to the laser 7, FIG. 41); a lid (a housing cap 3, FIG. 12, [0119]) on the cladding, the lid defining the element sealing area together with the cladding; a first light-receiving element (a first monitor diode 21, FIG. 12, [0163]) inside the element sealing area, the first light-receiving element including a first light-receiving surface facing the lid (a first light receiving surface of the monitor diode 21 faces a side surface of the housing cap 3, FIG. 12); and a second light-receiving element (a second monitor diode 20, FIG. 12, [0163]) inside the element sealing area, the second light-receiving element including a second light-receiving surface facing the lid (a second light receiving surface of the monitor diode 20 faces the same side surface of the housing cap 3, FIG. 12). PNG media_image1.png 336 486 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 326 484 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 316 522 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Hettler discloses the lid includes a recess (FIG. 12), and the recess includes an inner surface including a bottom and a side (FIG. 12). Regarding claim 3, Hettler discloses the inner surface of the recess includes a first reflective film (the housing cap 3 is made of metal and the side surface acts as a reflective film, FIG. 12, [0120]). Regarding claim 4, Hettler discloses the first reflective film is on the bottom and the side (the inner surface of the housing cap 3 acts as the first reflective film, [0120]). Regarding claim 5, Hettler discloses a sealing metal film (a weld seam S, FIG. 9, [0121]) on a facing portion of the cladding facing the lid, wherein the lid includes, inward from the sealing metal film on the facing portion, a second reflective film (14, FIG. 12, where 14 is a color filter, [0139]) continuous with the first reflective film. Regarding claim 6, Hettler discloses a sealing metal film (a weld seam S, FIG. 9, [0121]) on a facing portion of the cladding facing the lid, wherein the lid overlaps the sealing metal film on the facing portion in a transparent plan view and includes a third reflective film (14, FIG. 12, where 14 is a color filter, [0139]) continuous with the first reflective film. Regarding claim 8, Hettler discloses the recess includes the side sloping outward at a greater distance from the cladding (FIG. 12). Regarding claim 12, Hettler discloses a light emitter (FIGS. 7, 12 and 41), comprising: a substrate (a base plate 4, FIG. 12, [0119]) including a first surface (a top surface of the base plate, FIG. 12); a first light-emitting element (a first laser 6, FIG. 7, [0122]) on the first surface; a second light-emitting element (a second laser 7, FIG. 7, [0122]) on the first surface; a cladding (a common fiber cladding of fibers 73/74/75, FIG. 41, [0049], [0209] and [0212]) on the first surface; a first core (a first core of the fiber 73, FIG. 41, [0049]) inside the cladding, the first core being configured to receive light from the first light-emitting element (the first core of the fiber 73 is optically connected to the laser 6, FIG. 41); a second core (a second core of the fiber 74, FIG. 41, [0049]) inside the cladding, the second core being configured to receive light from the second light-emitting element (the second core of the fiber 74 is optically connected to the laser 7, FIG. 41); a first light-receiving element (a first monitor diode 21, FIG. 12, [0163]) on the first surface, the first light-receiving element including a first light-receiving surface opposite to a surface of the first light-receiving element facing the first surface (FIG. 12); a second light-receiving element (a second monitor diode 20, FIG. 12, [0163]) on the first surface, the second light-receiving element including a second light-receiving surface opposite to a surface of the second light-receiving element facing the first surface (FIG. 12); and a seal (a housing cap 3, FIG. 12, [0119]) sealing the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, the first light-receiving element, and the second light-receiving element . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al. in view of Cohen et al. (US PG Pub 2003/0002826 A1, 08/16/23 IDS) . Regarding claims 7 and 14, Hettler has disclosed the lid or the seal outlined in the rejections to claims 1 and 12 above except the lid is transparent, and the lid includes a fourth reflective film on an outer surface of the lid. Cohen discloses a seal (112’, FIG. 8, [0068]) that is transparent (112’ is made of transparent epoxy, [0068]) including a reflective film coated on an outer surface of the seal (“the surface, for example the exterior surface, of the optical element may be coated with a reflective material, such as a reflective metal,” [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid or the seal of Hettler with the transparent epoxy coated with a reflective film on the outside as taught by Cohen in order to maximize protection of the light-emitting and light-receiving elements and reflection of light from the lid or the seal toward the light receiving surfaces . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al . Regarding claim 9, Hettler has disclosed the lid outlined in the rejections to claim 4 above except the inner surface of the recess is dome-shaped. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid of Hettler with a dome-shaped inner surface in order to maximize reflection toward the light receiving surfaces. Regarding claim 18, Hettler has disclosed the lid outlined in the rejections to claim 1 above except a lens in an optical path of light emitted from the first core and the second core. Hettler in a different embodiment discloses placing collimating lenses (35/36/37, FIG. 29, [0189]) associated with the lasers in order to collimate light output from the light emitter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light emitter of Hettler with placing collimating lenses in an optical path of light emitted from the first core and the second core as taught by the different embodiment of Hettler in order to obtain collimated output . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al. in view of JPH1039178A (hereafter JP’178) . Regarding claims 10 and 16, Hettler has disclosed the light emitter outlined in the rejections to claims 1 and 12 above except the inner surface of the recess includes a roughened surface, or the seal includes a roughened surface included in an outer surface of the seal. JP’178 discloses an optical transmission module (FIG. 1) comprising a cap (7, FIG. 1) including a roughened surface (20, FIG. 1) on an inner wall of the cap. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light emitter of Hettler with the inner surface of the recess including a roughened surface as taught by JP’178 in order to obtain moisture protection (see abstract of JP’178) . PNG media_image4.png 326 415 media_image4.png Greyscale 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al. in view of KITAGAWA et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0385044 A1) . Regarding claims 11 and 17, Hettler has disclosed the light emitter outlined in the rejections to claims 1 and 12 above except the lid includes a partition separating the first light-emitting element from the second light-emitting element and separating the first light-receiving element from the second light-receiving element, and the partition blocks light, or the seal includes a first seal sealing the first light-emitting element and the first light-receiving element, and a second seal sealing the second light-emitting element and the second light-receiving element. KITAGAWA discloses a photonic-device-mounting package (FIG. 2) comprising multiple lids (50, FIG. 2, [0026]) and light blocking walls (16, FIG. 2, [0026] and [0031]) serving as partitions between adjacent plural recesses (11, FIG. 2, [0026]) with corresponding light-emitting elements (2, FIG. 2, [0023]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light emitter of Hettler with the partitions as taught by KITAGAWA in order to prevent interference between adjacent light-emitting elements and light-receiving elements . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al. in view of JP08110446A (hereafter JP’446) . Regarding claim 13, Hettler has disclosed the light emitter outlined in the rejection to claim 12 above except the seal is surrounded by the cladding in a direction along the first surface. JP’446 discloses the seal (3, FIG. 20) is surrounded by the cladding (12, FIG. 20) in a direction along the first surface (along a top surface of 12, FIG. 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the light emitter of Hettler with the seal being surrounded by the cladding in a direction along the first surface as taught by JP’446 in order to emit in multiple directions . PNG media_image5.png 396 382 media_image5.png Greyscale 07-22-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettler et al. and JP’446 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cohen et al . Regarding claim 15, the combination has disclosed the light emitter outlined in the rejection to claim 13 above except the seal is transparent, and the seal includes a sixth reflective film on an outer surface of the seal. Cohen discloses a seal (112’, FIG. 8, [0068]) that is transparent (112’ is made of transparent epoxy, [0068]) including a reflective film coated on an outer surface of the seal (“the surface, for example the exterior surface, of the optical element may be coated with a reflective material, such as a reflective metal,” [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seal of Hettler with the transparent epoxy coated with a reflective film on the outside as taught by Cohen in order to maximize protection of the light-emitting and light-receiving elements and reflection of light from the seal toward the light receiving surfaces . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakanishi et al. (US PG Pub 2003/0169981 A1) discloses an optical communication module comprising a transparent resin seal surrounding a LD and a MPD and an optical fiber to receive output from the LD similar to the claimed invention (see FIG. 3). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YUANDA ZHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-1439. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MINSUN HARVEY can be reached at (571)272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 2 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 3 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 4 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 5 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 6 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 7 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 8 Art Unit: 2828 Application/Control Number: 18/277,509 Page 10 Art Unit: 2828