DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 22-39 of copending Application No. 18/723,323 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application 18/723,323 has been found to anticipate each and every element of the present invention for instance both providing a kit for use in inducing growth or regeneration of a damaged tissue portion of a subject, the kit comprising: a tissue enveloping hollowed element for enveloping a damaged tissue portion; one or more blood withdrawal devices for withdrawing blood from the subject; one or more blood collection receptacles for receiving the blood withdrawn from the subject; one or more coagulating agents; a coagulation assembly configured for mixing the withdrawn blood with the one or more coagulation agents for initiating a coagulation process of the withdrawn blood; and an applicator for introducing the incomplete coagulated blood into said lumen.
As set forth above, the present invention is not viewed to be patentably distinct from the co-pending application 18/723,323.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiberg et al. (US 20100076465 A1).
As to claims 1 and 7, Wiberg et al. discloses inducing growth or regenerating a damaged nerve portion of a subject (Abstract) comprising: a nerve enveloping hollow element having a lumen for enveloping said damaged nerve portion such that said portion resides in at least a portion of said lumen (conduit; Abstract; [0019]; Figures 2-3). Additionally, Wiberg et al. discloses “bioresorbable fibrin-based nerve repair conduit produced from tissue glue is provided. The term "bioresorbable" is used herein as an expression for a material that is resorbed by the body within a time period of a few months, when placed therein. The term "fibrin-based" is used herein to indicate that the main component of the conduit is fibrin but other components, especially blood or plasma components, may be present in the conduit. Tissue glue is used herein as a reference to a fibrinogen-containing mixture that is converted into fibrin. The tissue glue may be of endogenous origin, whereby it would be manufactured from plasma components of the patient's own blood, with the facultative addition of additional components, dependent on the cleavage system used for the conversion of fibrinogen into fibrin.”([0004]). As such, Wiberg et al. further discloses one or more blood withdrawal devices for allowing withdrawal of blood from the subject and one or more blood collection receptacles for receiving the blood withdrawn from the subject ([0004]).
Wiberg et al. discloses “Nerve repair conduits according to the invention may be fabricated from fibrinogen and thrombin containing fluids, e.g. from conventional, commercially available fibrin-based tissue glue, below referred to as fibrin glue (e.g. Tisseel.RTM.) according to the Examples below. Fibrin glue is used widely in surgical practice. It helps surgeons to adapt tissues and to obtain haemostasis in difficult situations. It has also been used in coaptation of nerve-ends with good results. Fibrin glue can be fabricated autologously from individual donors and is alternatively commercially available from different companies for clinical use. Fibrin glue can be diluted specifically to change its dissolving and coagulation characteristics. Fibrin glue also has good biocompatibility and has been used also in bone tissue engineering. The important active components in conventional fibrin glue, i.e. fibrinogen and thrombin, are also commercially available separately”([0019]). Thus, Wiberg et al. discloses “a coagulation assembly configured for permitting mixture of the withdrawn blood with one or more coagulation inducers for initiating coagulation process of the withdrawn blood” in order to fabricate fibrin glue for individual donors and affect the coagulation process and “an applicator for introducing the incomplete coagulated blood into said lumen” ([0004, 0019-0021]).
As to claim 2, Wiberg et al. discloses the coagulation assembly necessarily comprises a volume for introducing the withdrawn blood, said volume is contactable with one or more coagulation agents ([0004, 0019-0022]).
As to claim 4, Wiberg et al. discloses a film or sheet for placing over said damaged nerve portion for forming said nerve enveloping hollow element ([0005, 0012]).
As to claim 5, Wiberg et al. discloses said nerve enveloping hollow element is a nerve guidance conduit ([0016-0017]).
As to claim 6, Wiberg et al. discloses securing elements for securing said damaged nerve portion to the nerve enveloping hollow element (Abstract; [0003, 0016, 0032]).
As to claim 8, Wiberg et al. discloses regenerating a nerve in or across a damaged nerve portion, comprising: fitting a nerve guidance conduit having a lumen to envelope said nerve portion to reside in said lumen (conduit; Abstract; [0003-0005, 0016-0019]; Figures 2-3); and introducing a mixture of whole blood withdrawn from the subject with one or more coagulating inducers into said lumen prior to its complete coagulation ([0004, 0019-0021]).
As to claim 9, Wiberg et al. discloses said fitting comprises placing a film or sheet over said portion and enveloping said portion with said sheet to form said conduit ([0005, 0012]).
As to claim 10, Wiberg et al. discloses inducing growth of nerve fibers across a damaged nerve portion, comprising: fitting a nerve guidance conduit to envelope said nerve portion (conduit; Abstract; [0003-0005, 0016-0019]; Figures 2-3); and introducing a mixture of whole blood withdrawn from the subject with one or more coagulating inducers into said lumen prior to its complete coagulation ([0004, 0019-0021]).
As to claim 11, Wiberg et al. discloses the damaged nerve portion comprises cut nerve fibers (nerve stumps; [0003, 0016, 0032]; Abstract).
As to claim 12, Wiberg et al. discloses said nerve portion includes two cut nerve stumps that are surgically joined or brought into proximity (Abstract; [0003, 0016, 0032]).
As to claim 13, Wiberg et al. discloses placing a film or sheet over said portion and enveloping said portion with said sheet to form said conduit ([0005, 0012]).
As to claim 14, Wiberg et al. discloses said fitting comprises: introducing the two nerve stumps into said conduit, one from each end of the conduit (Abstract; [0003, 0016, 0032]); and bringing the two stumps into proximity to one another within said conduit (Abstract; [0003, 0016, 0032]).
As to claim 15, Wiberg et al. discloses said bringing, comprises securing the two stumps within said conduit by suturing ([0020, 0032]).
As to claim 16, Wiberg et al. discloses said introducing comprises filling a portion of the conduit's lumen with the mixture such that it comes into contacts with said nerve portion ([0003, 0008, 0017-0018]).
As to claim 17, Wiberg et al. discloses said nerve portion includes two cut nerve stumps and said introducing is carried out such that said mixture comes into tight contact with said stumps (Abstract; [0016, 0032]).
As to claim 18, Wiberg et al. discloses mixing the blood, prior to said introducing, with one or more autologous cells ([0003, 0008, 0017-0018]).
As to claim 19, Wiberg et al. discloses one or more autologous cells comprise Schwann cell ([0003, 0008, 0017-0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiberg et al. (US 20100076465 A1). Wiberg et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose introducing one or more anti-coagulation agents for mixing with the withdrawn blood. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the agents employed by the Wiberg et al. system to incorporate anti-coagulation agents, since anti-coagulation agents are extremely well known in the medical device art. Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the invention to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796