DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 1/20/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 19-46 are withdrawn. Claims 37-46 are canceled. Claims 1-5, 7, 11-15, 18-20, 23, 25, 30 and 36 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the amended claim limitation of claim 1 overcomes the 112(f) rejection of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection 112(f) of 11/19/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the amended claim limitation of claim 11 overcomes the objection of claim 11.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 11/19/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues the amended claim 1 that includes language of the preconditioning device of claims 2 and 7 overcome the prior art, NETON and rejection of claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For claim 1, NETON teaches a device to make a multilayer paper product with multiple deformations (embossment) webs [0172]. NETON and BRADBURY teach the device passes cellulose [0160] sheet through a nip point that embosses the individual sheet layer [0220]. The device then bonds the layers together [0223]. NETON teaches the use of two distinct web plies (element 30 and 180) are supplied by separate roller pairs (elements 102/104 and 160) to the embossing region (element 166) [Fig 35]. This teaches the limitation of “A device for producing packaging material from paper, the device comprising: means for feeding comprising a first storage roller and associated rotary drive device arranged to feed a first paper web and a second storage roller and associated rotary drive device arranged to feed a second paper web to an embossing region and to a pressing region downstream of the embossing region in the feed direction of the paper webs”. NETON teaches the protrusions extend beyond the first layer plane [Fig 31] and are surrounded by bonding embossments (element 168) [Fig 33A]. This teaches the limitation of “[[with]] an embossing apparatus arranged in the embossing region of the device for embossing the first paper web, wherein the embossing apparatus is designed and set up in such a way that shaped regions are created from the first paper web and project beyond the first paper web and each being limited by a closed circumferential line in the paper web plane of the first paper web”.
NETON teaches a hot pressing roll that bonds the layers together without adhesive [0224] around the embossed protrusions [Fig 33A]. NETON teaches the precursor layers have cellulose fiber introduced [0160] and these fibers aid in connecting the layers by being bonded between layers to connect the two layers [0223-224]. This teaches the limitation of “a pressing apparatus arranged in the pressing region of the device for press- fitting the paper webs free of adhesive and free of connecting synthetic auxiliary material wherein the pressing apparatus is designed and set up in such a way that, in connecting portions between the shaped regions, paper fibers of the first paper web are connected to paper fibers of the second paper web with cellulose fibers or cellulose particles applied or introduced to at least one of the paper webs improving the connection of the paper fibers, and wherein the paper webs limit closed cavities in the region of the shaped regions”.
NETON teaches the web is first deformed by pressing to prepare the protrusions on the precursor material before embossing/nesting [0217]. This teaches the limitation of “[[with]] preconditioning means arranged in the feed direction upstream of the embossing region and/or the pressing region with at least one preconditioning apparatus for preconditioning the first paper web and/or the second paper web for embossing the first paper web or press-fitting the paper webs together”.
NETON teaches additional processing (preconditioning) before embossing but does not specify the form of preconditioning [0217]. BRADBURY teaches a similar cellulose based multi-ply material with embossments [0099]. BRADBURY also teaches that a solution with chemical strength agents and microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) are applied to the individual webs by a spray shower [0079]. The examiner understands the spray shower to use water. BRADBURY also teaches microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) mixture limits linting and strength enhancing agent helps retain higher amounts of the microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) on the web [0079]. BRADBURY also teaches a wet solution of microfibrillated cellulose is sprayed onto the sheet at any point in the process [0082]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the at least one preconditioning apparatus is designed and set up for applying or introducing a preconditioning liquid onto or into the at least one of the paper webs, which preconditioning liquid contains the cellulose fibers or cellulose particles, wherein the cellulose fibers or cellulose particles are or contain microcellulose and/or nanocellulose.” It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the structure of the NETON system to introduce microfibrillated cellulose to the web to produce a stronger web. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of reducing lint as taught by BRADBURY.
Applicant argues that prior art NETON in combination with BRADBURY do not teach the preconditioning of the amended claims.
The examiner notes that NETON teaches multiple preconditioning steps may be taken prior to embossing [0217]. This allows for preconditioning to included protrusion production to aid in fiber to fiber bonding as taught by NETON and an additional microfibrillated cellulose spray to aid in decreased linting (bonding) as taught by BRADBURY.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NETON (US 20170259524 A1) in view of BRADBURY (US 20180313038 A1).
For claim 1, NETON teaches a device to make a multilayer paper product with multiple deformations (embossment) webs [0172]. NETON and BRADBURY teach the device passes cellulose [0160] sheet through a nip point that embosses the individual sheet layer [0220]. The device then bonds the layers together [0223]. NETON teaches the use of two distinct web plies (element 30 and 180) are supplied by separate roller pairs (elements 102/104 and 160) to the embossing region (element 166) [Fig 35]. This teaches the limitation of “A device for producing packaging material from paper, the device comprising: means for feeding comprising a first storage roller and associated rotary drive device arranged to feed a first paper web and a second storage roller and associated rotary drive device arranged to feed a second paper web to an embossing region and to a pressing region downstream of the embossing region in the feed direction of the paper webs”. NETON teaches the protrusions extend beyond the first layer plane [Fig 31] and are surrounded by bonding embossments (element 168) [Fig 33A]. This teaches the limitation of “[[with]] an embossing apparatus arranged in the embossing region of the device for embossing the first paper web, wherein the embossing apparatus is designed and set up in such a way that shaped regions are created from the first paper web and project beyond the first paper web and each being limited by a closed circumferential line in the paper web plane of the first paper web”.
NETON teaches a hot pressing roll that bonds the layers together without adhesive [0224] around the embossed protrusions [Fig 33A]. NETON teaches the precursor layers have cellulose fiber introduced [0160] and these fibers aid in connecting the layers by being bonded between layers to connect the two layers [0223-224]. This teaches the limitation of “a pressing apparatus arranged in the pressing region of the device for press- fitting the paper webs free of adhesive and free of connecting synthetic auxiliary material wherein the pressing apparatus is designed and set up in such a way that, in connecting portions between the shaped regions, paper fibers of the first paper web are connected to paper fibers of the second paper web with cellulose fibers or cellulose particles applied or introduced to at least one of the paper webs improving the connection of the paper fibers, and wherein the paper webs limit closed cavities in the region of the shaped regions”.
NETON teaches the web is first deformed by pressing to prepare the protrusions on the precursor material before embossing/nesting [0217]. This teaches the limitation of “[[with]] preconditioning means arranged in the feed direction upstream of the embossing region and/or the pressing region with at least one preconditioning apparatus for preconditioning the first paper web and/or the second paper web for embossing the first paper web or press-fitting the paper webs together”.
NETON teaches additional processing (preconditioning) before embossing but does not specify the form of preconditioning [0217]. BRADBURY teaches a similar cellulose based multi-ply material with embossments [0099]. BRADBURY also teaches that a solution with chemical strength agents and microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) are applied to the individual webs by a spray shower [0079]. The examiner understands the spray shower to use water. BRADBURY also teaches microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) mixture limits linting and strength enhancing agent helps retain higher amounts of the microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) on the web [0079]. BRADBURY also teaches a wet solution of microfibrillated cellulose is sprayed onto the sheet at any point in the process [0082]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the at least one preconditioning apparatus is designed and set up for applying or introducing a preconditioning liquid onto or into the at least one of the paper webs, which preconditioning liquid contains the cellulose fibers or cellulose particles, wherein the cellulose fibers or cellulose particles are or contain microcellulose and/or nanocellulose.” It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the structure of the NETON system to introduce microfibrillated cellulose to the web to produce a stronger web. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of reducing lint as taught by BRADBURY.
For claim 2, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. BRADBURY also teaches a wet solution of microfibrillated cellulose is sprayed onto the sheet at any point in the process [0082]. The Examiner understands this process involves applying water to the material. This meets the limitations of the instant claim of “wherein the preconditioning liquid is or contains water”.
For claim 3, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON teaches the material is preconditioned by hydroforming before embossing the material [0216]. The Examiner understands this process involves spraying water to the material. This meets the limitations of the instant claim of “wherein at least one preconditioning apparatus is designed and set up for spraying, nebulizing or evaporating a preconditioning liquid in such a way that the preconditioning liquid is sprayed, nebulized or evaporated onto the first paper web and/or the second paper web”.
For claim 4, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON does not teach the use of cellulose in the hydroforming preconditioning process water. BRADBURY teaches a similar cellulose based multi-ply material with embossments [0099]. BRADBURY also teaches that a solution with chemical strength agents and microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) are applied to the individual webs by a spray shower [0079].BRADBURY also teaches microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) mixture limits linting and strength enhancing agent helps retain higher amounts of the microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) on the web [0079]. BRADBURY also teaches a wet solution of microfibrillated cellulose is sprayed onto the sheet at any point in the process [0082]. BRADBURY teaches the web is dried by direct contact with a YANKEE dryer [0070]. The examiner understands this contact with wet web would produce steam. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a preconditioning apparatus associated with the first paper web, is designed and set up for steaming the first paper web with steam”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the structure of the NETON system to introduce microfibrillated cellulose to the web to produce a stronger web. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of reducing lint as taught by BRADBURY.
For claim 5, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON teaches that individual webs are deformed by discrete layer [0215]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein each of the paper webs is associated with a separate preconditioning apparatus for separate, preconditioning of the paper webs”.
For claim 6, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON teaches that individual webs are deformed by discrete layer [0215]. NETON then teaches the webs are first deformed by hydroforming to prepare the material before embossing [0216]. NETON also teaches configurations where the layers have different concentrations (protrusion depth and fiber bunching) that interconnect the layers when offset before embossing [0006 and 0111]. This difference is caused by the layers being formed separately during preconditioning (prior to embossing). This teaches the limitation of “wherein the first paper web is associated with a first preconditioning apparatus which is arranged on the feed path of the first paper web to the embossing region, and wherein the second paper web is associated with a second preconditioning apparatus which is arranged on the feed path of the second paper web to the pressing region”.
For claim 7, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON does not teach the use of cellulose in the hydroforming preconditioning process water. BRADBURY teaches a similar cellulose based multi-ply material with embossments [0099]. BRADBURY also teaches that a solution with chemical strength agents and microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) are applied to the individual webs by a spray shower [0079]. BRADBURY also teaches microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) mixture limits linting and the strength enhancing agent helps retain higher amounts of the microfibrillated cellulose (CMF) on the web [0079]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the cellulose fibers or cellulose particles are or contain cellulose microfibers (CMF) and/or cellulose nanofibers (CNF)”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to modify the structure of the NETON system to introduce microfibrillated cellulose to the web to produce a stronger web. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of reducing lint as taught by BRADBURY.
For claim 8, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON teaches the embossments are made by combinations of male and female rollers with ridges and recesses [0199]. The examiner understands the rolls each rotate about individual axis. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a roller arrangement with an embossing roller, which is rotatably mounted about an embossing roller axis of rotation and has embossing projections on its circumferential surface for forming the shaped regions in the first paper web, is arranged in the embossing region, wherein the embossing roller is engaged with a counter roller which is rotatably mounted about an axis of rotation parallel to the embossing roller axis of rotation and has embossing recesses on its circumferential surface which are designed to be complementary to the embossing projections of the embossing roller”.
For claim 9, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 8, as above. NETON teaches the use of bonding roll system to press the plies together [0224]. The bonding rollers rotate around individual axis and are counter to one another [Fig 28]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a press roller which is rotatably mounted about a press roller axis of rotation is arranged in the pressing region and which, for press-fitting the first paper web with the second paper web, cooperates with a rotatably mounted counter roller, the axis of rotation of which is parallel relative to the press roller axis of rotation and spaced apart in such a way that a press roller gap is formed between the press roller and the counter roller for press-fitting the first paper web with the second paper web away from the shaped regions in the connecting portions of the paper webs”.
For claim 10, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 9, as above. NETON teaches the protrusions can be made from deformation using rigid-to-rigid embossing equipment that use a patterned surface (male) and a flat anvil (counter) surface same as the later embossments [0216]. This deforming process uses the same three roll system (104, 102 and 150) as the bonding system [0204 and 0224]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the counter roller of the embossing roller and the counter roller of the press roller are formed by a common counter roller, such that the roller arrangement has three rollers that are operatively engaged with one another”.
For claim 11, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 10, as above. NETON teaches the protrusions can be made from deformation using rigid-to-rigid embossing equipment that use a patterned surface (male) and a flat anvil (counter) surface same as the later embossments [0216]. This deforming process uses the same three roll system (104, 102 and 150) as the bonding system [0204 and 0224]. The male patterned rollers (102 and 150) are arranged in a line [Fig 28]. This arrangement teaches the limitation of “wherein the counter roller axis of rotation is arranged on a straight connecting line between the embossing roller axis of rotation and the press roller axis of rotation”.
For claim 13, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 8, as above. NETON teaches all of the rollers can be heated individually [0190]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a heating device for heating the respective rollers is associated with the embossing roller and/or the counter roller for setting the temperature of the rollers”.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NETON (US 20170259524 A1) and BRADBURY (US 20180313038 A1) in view of THUNHORST (US 20060032580 A1).
For claim 12, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 9, as above. NETON does not teach the roll nip being adjusted. THUNHORST teaches a similar web pressed through rollers [0084]. THUNHORST also teaches the roller system is controlled by axially set arm that controls the roller height (z-axis) [0081]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a motor-driven adjustment apparatus is associated with the press roller for setting the gap width of the press roller gap along a linear axis running radially relative to the press roller axis of rotation”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the control system of THUNHORST into the structure of the NETON system to control the nip pressure. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of pressure control as taught by THUNHORST.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NETON (US 20170259524 A1) and BRADBURY (US 20180313038 A1) in view of KOTILAINEN (US 20170284024 A1).
For claim 14, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 8, as above. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but does not teach the use of sensors to detect the temperature. KOTILAINEN teaches a similar system to produce a cellulose based paper web with multiple rollers in a press section [ABSTRACT]. KOTILAINEN also teaches that the web is dried using an infrared light heating unit and hot air blowing unit [0065] with a non-contact temperature sensor when heating [0050]. The non-contact temperature sensor allows for mobile and wireless temperature control. This teaches the limitation of “wherein at least one temperature sensor is associated with the embossing roller and/or the counter roller, respectively, for detecting the temperature of the respective roller”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the heating system of KOTILAINEN into the structure of the NETON system to control the temperature during drying. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of wireless temperature measurement as taught by KOLITAINEN.
For claim 15, NETON and BRADBURY teach the device according to claim 1, as above. NETON teaches the temperatures of heated rolls but is silent to their use as dryers before the end of the process. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but does not teach the use of sensors to detect the temperature. KOTILAINEN teaches a similar system to produce a cellulose based paper web with multiple rollers in a press section [ABSTRACT]. KOTILAINEN also teaches that the web is dried using an infrared light heating unit and hot air blowing unit [0065] with a non-contact temperature sensor when heating [0050]. The non-contact temperature sensor allows for mobile and wireless temperature control. This teaches the limitation of “wherein drying means for drying the paper webs, that were press-fitted against each other in the pressing region, are arranged in the feed direction between the pressing region and a storage means for the finished packaging material”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the heating system of KOTILAINEN into the structure of the NETON system to control the temperature during drying. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of wireless temperature measurement as taught by KOLITAINEN.
For claim 16, NETON and teach the device according to claim 15, as above. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but is silent to the use of multiple dryers before the end of the process. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but does not teach the use of sensors to detect the temperature. KOTILAINEN teaches a similar system to produce a cellulose based paper web with multiple rollers in a press section [ABSTRACT]. KOTILAINEN also teaches that the web is dried using an infrared light heating unit and hot air blowing unit [0065] with a non-contact temperature sensor when heating [0050]. The non-contact temperature sensor allows for mobile and wireless temperature control. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the drying means has at least two drying apparatuses, which are spaced apart from one another in the feed direction”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the heating system of KOTILAINEN into the structure of the NETON system to control the temperature during drying. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of wireless temperature measurement as taught by KOLITAINEN.
For claim 17, NETON, BRADBURY, and KOLITAINEN teach the device according to claim 15, as above. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but is silent to the use of multiple dryers before the end of the process. NETON teaches the temperatures of the rolls but does not teach the use of sensors to detect the temperature. KOTILAINEN teaches a similar system to produce a cellulose based paper web with multiple rollers in a press section [ABSTRACT]. KOTILAINEN also teaches that the web is dried using an infrared light heating unit and hot air blowing unit [0065] with a non-contact temperature sensor when heating [0050]. The non-contact temperature sensor allows for mobile and wireless temperature control. This teaches the limitation of “wherein at least one drying apparatus is designed as an infrared radiation device and at least one drying apparatus is designed as a hot-air drying apparatus”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts at the time of invention to substitute the heating system of KOTILAINEN into the structure of the NETON system to control the temperature during drying. One would be motivated to modify the art based on the added benefit of wireless temperature measurement as taught by KOLITAINEN.
For claim 18 NETON, BRADBURY, and KOLITAINEN teach the device according to claim 9, as above. NETON teaches the roll can have a rubber surface [0216]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the press roller consists of an elastic, flexible material at least on its circumferential surface”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748