DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 & 12 have been amended and examined as such.
Claims 3 & 11 have been cancelled as requested by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAGSPIEL et al. (DE 2020-0401871 U – Translation FPD #1) in view of PERVAN et al. (US 2014/0017452 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, HAGSPIEL et al. teaches a method for coating a surface of a workpiece, wherein the surface of the workpiece is a surface of a strip-shaped [i.e. floor panels] coating material (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 2-4, 19-20, 48-50, & 55 and Figures 6a & 6b, Reference #2, shown below), the method comprising the steps of: applying a first layer, the first layer having a first pattern; and applying a second layer to the first layer, the second layer having a second pattern (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 93-95 and Figures 6A-6B, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to understand the use of different coatings with spatially varying distribution would clearly represent at least a first pattern and a second pattern. Additionally, PERVAN et al. teaches a method for coating a surface of a strip-shaped workpiece [i.e. floor panel] (PERVAN et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 8-14) and specifically teaches multiple layers wherein a defined pattern is applied in layers to the surface to be coated by applying the first layer and the second layer (PERVAN et al. – Page 7, Paragraphs 133-135 and Figure 3a, Reference #P1 & #P2 and Figure 4a, Reference #P, both shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method for coating of HAGSPIEL et al. with the specific defined pattern applied in layers as taught by PERVAN et al. in an effort to provide a thicker wear resistant surface with advanced decorative effects all ad a reduced production cost (Page 1, Paragraph 18 – Page 2, Paragraph 22).
As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the first pattern or the second pattern is formed by gaps in the layer [i.e. pores, recesses, or depression] (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 21, 93, & 95).
As related to dependent claim 4, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach at least one of the applying the first layer or the applying the second layer is carried out with a UV ink or a UV varnish, or a solvent-based or water-based ink or varnish (HASPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 31, 37, & 53 and PERVAN et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 24-27).
As related to dependent claim 5, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach at least one of the applying the first layer or the second layer is carried out in one pass (HASPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 59 & 83 and Figure 5, shown below and PERVAN et al. – Figure 1a, shown below).
As related to dependent claim 6, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach after application of the first layer, an action is performed on the first layer to at least partially cure or dry the first layer (HASPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 27-28, 34, & 53 and Figure 5, shown above and PERVAN et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 25 and Figure 1a, Reference #23ain).
As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach at least one of the applying the first layer or the applying the second layer is carried out with an inkjet print head (HASPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 39-40 & 83 and Figure 5, shown above and PERVAN et al. – Figures 3b & 3c, shown below).
As related to dependent claim 8, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach the method further comprising setting parameters for application of the first and second layers, wherein the parameters comprise at least one of [i.e. inherent characteristics of inkjet printer control]: droplet spacing, droplet size, type of voltage pulse at the print head, opening time of a nozzle, opening cross section of a nozzle, pressure for ejecting a material for forming the first and/or second layer, or selection of a material for forming the first or second layer (HASPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 27, 39-43, & 83 and PERVAN et al. – Page 4, Paragraphs 60-63).
As related to dependent claim 9, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach a layer material of the first layer and a layer material of the second layer differ from each other (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 93-95 and Figures 6A-6B, shown above and PERVAN et al. – Figures 3a & 4a, shown above).
As related to further dependent claim 12, the combination of HAGSPIEL et al. and PERVAN et al. remains as applied above and above and continues to teach the action comprises at least partially curing or drying the first layer an air dryer, an IR lamp, or a UV lamp (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 27-28 and PERVAN et al. – Page 6, Paragraph 121 and Figures 1a, 3b, & 3c, Reference #23x, shown above).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAGSPIEL et al. (DE 2020-0401871 U – Translation FPD #1).
HAGSPIEL et al. teaches a device for coating a surface of a workpiece, the device comprising: a first application device for applying a first layer; a second application device for applying a second layer (HAGESPIEL – Figure 6a & 6b, Reference #24, shown above) to the first layer; and a control device configured to control the first application device to form the first layer with a first pattern and to control the second application device to form the second layer with a second pattern (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 39-43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to understand the use of different coatings with spatially varying distribution would clearly represent at least a first pattern and a second pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 17 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued “Hagspiel does not disclose the first coating has any specific pattern.” Examiner respectfully disagrees, HAGSPIEL et al. teaches a decorative print layer and any desired structure by selecting an appropriately colored sealing layer consisting of at least a first coating… and enhance the surface effects of the structuring and the first coating consists of at least two separately applied layers (HAGSPIEL et al. – Paragraphs 17, 52, & 78). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a specific pattern) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that “there is no teaching that this varying distributions forms a ‘defined pattern’ for gloss adjustment.” Examiner respectfully disagrees and requests Applicant review the rejection put forth previously and reiterated above and view figures 6-8 of HAGSPIEL. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., defined pattern for floss adjustment) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that “Hagspiel does not disclose coating ‘a surface of a strip-shaped coating material.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated previously, HAGSPIEL deals with floor panels which are inherently strip-shaped. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant view figures 6-8 of HAGSPIEL for further depiction of a strip-shaped floor panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PANKOKE (US 2020/0023662 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for producing a decorative surface, particularly a floor panel with multiple layers.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Meier can be reached at (571) 272-2149. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853