DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14-16, filed on 5/8/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102(a)92) rejection of claims 1-2, 37-43, 46, 49-52, 57-58, 64, 72-73, 109 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)92) rejection of claims 1-2, 37-43, 46, 49-52, 57-58, 64, 72-73, 109 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 68 and 70 filed on 5/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Since the response filed on 5/8/2026 did not provide amendment or argument with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of claims 68 and 70, thus the rejection of claims 68 and 70 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 68 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh et al. (US 2021/0076417 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 68:
Bayesteh discloses a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (sensing agent 122 discloses in figure 2C) comprising:
at least one transceiver (TX 222 and RX 224 as shown in figure 2C);
at least one memory (memory 228 as shown in figure 2C); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (processor 220 as shown in figure 2C), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
obtain, via the at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123), wherein the one or more motion state metrics in the motion state report includes one or more of:
a doppler shift measurement of the first device;
a doppler spread measurement of the first device;
a speed measurement of the first device (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); or
a velocity measurement of the first device.
(2) Regarding claim 70:
Bayesteh discloses a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (ED 110 discloses in figure 2A) comprising:
at least one transceiver (transceiver 202 as shown in figure 2A);
at least one memory (memory 208 as shown in figure 2A); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (processor 200 as shown in figure 2A), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
obtain, via the at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123), wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics,
wherein the device is the first device, the device is one of a user equipment (UE) or a neighboring UE; and the network entity is one of a base station or a second UE configured to relay the motion state report towards the base station (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 37-55, 57-67, 72-73, 109 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention describes a method for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network comprising obtaining one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device; determining one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections; and providing a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics, and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams; one or more receive beams of the one or more beams; one or more time windows; or one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device. The closest prior art, Bayesteh et al. (US 2021/0076417 A1) discloses a similar method, but fails to disclose the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics, and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams; one or more receive beams of the one or more beams; one or more time windows; or one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 10/7/2026