DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 37-55, 57-68, 70, 72-73, 109 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 37-43, 46, 49-52, 58, 68, 70, 72-73, 109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh et al. (US 2021/0076417 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Bayesteh discloses a method for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network comprising:
obtaining one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determining one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
providing a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123),
and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams;
one or more receive beams of the one or more beams;
one or more radio detection and ranging (radar) reference signal (RS) resources transmitted by the first device (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120; radar signal, para. 0052-0053; sensing reference signal (SeRS), para. 0129; the examiner interprets the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal is associated with the carrier frequency of the transmitted sensing signal, which is a sensing signal transmission resource);
one or more time windows; or
one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device.
(2) Regarding claim 2:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more beams include one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the first device (The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifters, for example. Digital beamforming and hybrid beamforming are also possible. During beam sweeping, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals according to a beam sweeping pattern, where each sensing signal is beamformed in a particular direction, para. 0124); or
one or more receive beams of the first device, wherein the one or more motion state metrics are associated with measurements of quasi colocation (QCL)-Type D information associated with the one or more receive beams.
(3) Regarding claim 37:
Bayesteh discloses a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (sensing agent 122 discloses in figure 2C) comprising:
at least one transceiver (TX 222 and RX 224 as shown in figure 2C);
at least one memory (memory 228 as shown in figure 2C); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (processor 220 as shown in figure 2C), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
obtain, via the at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123), and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams;
one or more receive beams of the one or more beams:
one or more radio detection and ranging (radar) reference signal (RS) resources transmitted by the first device (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120; radar signal, para. 0052-0053; sensing reference signal (SeRS), para. 0129; the examiner interprets the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal is associated with the carrier frequency of the transmitted sensing signal, which is a sensing signal transmission resource):
one or more time windows: or
one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device.
(4) Regarding claim 68:
Bayesteh discloses a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (sensing agent 122 discloses in figure 2C) comprising:
at least one transceiver (TX 222 and RX 224 as shown in figure 2C);
at least one memory (memory 228 as shown in figure 2C); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (processor 220 as shown in figure 2C), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
obtain, via the at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123), wherein the one or more motion state metrics in the motion state report includes one or more of:
a doppler shift measurement of the first device;
a doppler spread measurement of the first device;
a speed measurement of the first device (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); or
a velocity measurement of the first device.
(5) Regarding claim 70:
Bayesteh discloses a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (ED 110 discloses in figure 2A) comprising:
at least one transceiver (transceiver 202 as shown in figure 2A);
at least one memory (memory 208 as shown in figure 2A); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver and the at least one memory (processor 200 as shown in figure 2A), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
obtain, via the at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123), wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics,
wherein the device is the first device, the device is one of a user equipment (UE) or a neighboring UE; and the network entity is one of a base station or a second UE configured to relay the motion state report towards the base station (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123).
(6) Regarding claim 73:
Bayesteh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a device configured for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network (Moreover, it will be appreciated that any module, component, or device disclosed herein that executes instructions may include or otherwise have access to a nontransitory computer/processor readable storage medium or media for storage of information, such as computer/processor readable instructions, data structure, program modules, Any such non-transitory computer/processor storage media may be part of a device or accessible or connectable thereto. Computer/processor readable/executable instructions to implement an application or module described herein may be stored or otherwise held by such non-transitory computer/processor readable storage media, para. 0048), causes the device to:
obtain, via at least one transceiver, one or more reflections of signals transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
determine, via the at least one processor, one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
provide, via the at least one transceiver, a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123),
and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams;
one or more receive beams of the one or more beams;
one or more radio detection and ranging (radar) reference signal (RS) resources transmitted by the first device (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120; radar signal, para. 0052-0053; sensing reference signal (SeRS), para. 0129; the examiner interprets the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal is associated with the carrier frequency of the transmitted sensing signal, which is a sensing signal transmission resource);
one or more time windows; or
one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device.
(7) Regarding claim 109:
Bayesteh discloses a device for supporting motion detection services in a wireless network comprising:
means for obtaining one or more reflections of signals (RX 224 of sensing agent 122 as shown in figure 2C) transmitted by a first device, wherein the signals are associated with one or more beams of the first device (The sensing nodes in the communication system 400 could implement monostatic and/or bistatic sensing. In the case of monostatic sensing, the transmitter of a sensing signal also receives a reflection of the sensing signal to determine the properties of one or more objects. In one example, the TRP 404 could receive a reflection of the sensing signal 460 from the UE 410 and potentially determine properties of the UE 410 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, para. 0118; Any or all of the UEs 410, 412, 414, 416, 418, 420 could be involved in sensing by receiving reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466. Similarly, any or all of the TRPs 402, 404, 406 could receive reflections of the sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466, para. 0119; The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifter, para. 0124);
means for determining (processing unit 220 of sensing agent 122 as shown in figure 2C) one or more motion state metrics based on the one or more reflections (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120); and
means for providing (TX 222 of sensing agent as shown in figure 2C) a motion state report to a network entity in the wireless network, wherein the motion state report includes the one or more motion state metrics (the sensing signal 466 could be reflected off of the UE 420 and be received by the UE 418. The UE 418 could determine properties of the UE 420 based on the reflection of the sensing signal, and/or transmit information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal to another network entity, such as the UE 420 and/or the TRPs 402, 406, para. 0123),
and wherein the motion state report indicates an association of the one or more motion state metrics to one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the one or more beams;
one or more receive beams of the one or more beams;
one or more radio detection and ranging (radar) reference signal (RS) resources transmitted by the first device (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120; radar signal, para. 0052-0053; sensing reference signal (SeRS), para. 0129; the examiner interprets the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal is associated with the carrier frequency of the transmitted sensing signal, which is a sensing signal transmission resource);
one or more time windows; or
one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device.
(8) Regarding claim 38:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more beams include one or more of:
one or more transmit beams of the first device (The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifters, for example. Digital beamforming and hybrid beamforming are also possible. During beam sweeping, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals according to a beam sweeping pattern, where each sensing signal is beamformed in a particular direction, para. 0124); or
one or more receive beams of the first device, wherein the one or more motion state metrics are associated with measurements of quasi colocation (QCL)-Type D information associated with the one or more receive beams.
(9) Regarding claim 39:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 38, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more motion state metrics being associated with the one or more beams is based on the one or more motion state metrics being associated with one or more of:
one or more radio detection and ranging (radar) reference signal (RS) resources transmitted by the first device along the one or more transmit beams, wherein each radar RS resource is associated with a specific transmit beam (The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifters, for example. Digital beamforming and hybrid beamforming are also possible. During beam sweeping, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals according to a beam sweeping pattern, where each sensing signal is beamformed in a particular direction, para. 0124);
one or more time windows associated with the one or more transmit beams and/or the one or more receive beams, wherein each time window is associated with the specific transmit beam or a specific receive beam; or
one or more physical layer (PHY) channels of the first device, wherein the one or more PHY channels are associated with a transmit beam of the one or more transmit beams.
(10) Regarding claim 40:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 39, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more radar RS resources include one or more of:
a downlink (DL) channel state information RS (DL-CSI-RS);
a DL positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) (as shown in figure 4, signal 430 is a DL signal, and paragraph 0052 discloses the sensing signal is for the detection of the location or position of an object; therefore, the examiner interprets the sensing signal is a DL positioning reference signal);
a synchronization signal block (SSB), wherein each SSB is associated with the specific transmit beam of the first device;
a sidelink(SL)-SSB, wherein each SL-SSB is associated with the specific transmit beam of the first device;
a SL-CSI-RS; or
a SL-PRS.
(11) Regarding claim 41:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 39, and Bayesteh further discloses to obtain the one or more reflections of the signals, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to obtain, via the at least one transceiver, reflections of the one or more radar RS resources transmitted by the first device (the ED 110 includes at least one processing unit 200. The processing unit 200 implements various processing operations of the ED 110. For example, the processing unit 200 could perform signal coding, bit scrambling, data processing, power control, input/output processing, or any other functionality enabling the ED 110 to operate in the communication system 100. The processing unit 200 may also be configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described in more detail herein. Each processing unit 200 includes any suitable processing or computing device configured to perform one or more operations. Each processing unit 200 could, for example, include a microprocessor, microcontroller, digital signal processor, field programmable gate array, or application specific integrated circuit, para. 0077).
(12) Regarding claim 42:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses to determine the one or more motion state metrics, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion measurement based on the one or more reflections; and determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion state metric of the one or more motion state metrics based on the first motion measurement (After a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object can be received and measured. These reflections can indicate certain properties of the object, non-limiting examples of which include range, location, shape, speed and velocity of the object. The range of the object (for example, the distance from the receiver of the radar signal to the object) can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal, and/or by using frequency modulation. The location of the object can be determined based on the range of the object and the direction that the radar signal was transmitted and/or received. For example, beamforming can be used to transmit radar signals in particular directions. The velocity and/or speed of an object can be determined based on a change in the objects position over time, and/or based on the Doppler shift of the received radar signal, para. 0052).
(13) Regarding claim 43:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 42, and Bayesteh further discloses the first motion state metric is the first motion measurement (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420 . The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal). Other types of information pertaining to the reflection of a sensing signal are also contemplated, para. 0120; it is up for interpretation that what the first motion state metric and the first motion measurement is amount the parameters mentioned in paragraph 0120, such as speed or velocity).
(14) Regarding claim 46:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses to obtain the one or more reflections, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to obtain, via the at least one transceiver, reflections of a first set of signals transmitted along a first beam (sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifters, for example. Digital beamforming and hybrid beamforming are also possible. During beam sweeping, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals according to a beam sweeping pattern, where each sensing signal is beamformed in a particular direction, para. 0124); and
to determine the one or more motion state metrics, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion measurement based on the reflections of the first set of signals (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, para. 0120, UE used for sensing, para. 0155); and
determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion state metric of the one or more motion state metrics based on the first motion measurement (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120, 0155).
(15) Regarding claim 49:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses to obtain the one or more reflections of the signals, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to obtain, via the at least one transceiver, a reflection of a signal transmitted on a transmit beam of the first device during a first time window (In the sensing period, each sensing agent sends a sensing reference signal (SeRS) which can be in-band or out-of-band with any communications signals that may be occurring. A sensing cycle, i.e. the period of time in which sensing is performed at the sensing agent, can be included in the uplink slots (for time divisional duplex (TDD)) or in uplink band (for frequency divisional duplex (FDD)) of an associated TRP to make sure the corresponding TRP is not transmitting at the same time. During the sensing cycle, knowing the SeRS sent by the sensing agent, each TRP can estimate sensing information through common methods in radar estimation. As SeRS potentially interferes with uplink transmissions, there are different ways of dealing with such interference, para. 0129, 0155); and
to determine the one or more motion state metrics, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to:
determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion measurement for the first time window based on the reflection of the signal transmitted during the first time window (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, para. 0120, UE used for sensing, para. 0155, sensing cycle, para. 0129); and
determine, via the at least one processor, a first motion state metric of the one or more motion state metrics based on the first motion measurement (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120, 0155).
(16) Regarding claim 50:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 49, and Bayesteh further discloses each time window includes a plurality of one of:
consecutive symbols of the signal (as shown in figure 3B and 3C, within the transmission frame 350 and 360, there are consecutive sensing symbol (S) with the frame, para. 0095); or
non-consecutive symbols in a slot of the signal.
(17) Regarding claim 51:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 49, and Bayesteh further discloses the first motion measurement includes one or more of:
a measured variation of an amplitude of the signal during the first time window;
a measured variation of a received signal strength (RSS) of the signal during the first time window;
a measured variation of a phase of the signal during the first time window; or
a quantized channel doppler response based on measured doppler shifts from the signal (The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal), para. 0120).
(18) Regarding claim 52:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 49, and Bayesteh further discloses the first motion state metric is the first motion measurement (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420 . The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows the original carrier frequency of the sensing signal). Other types of information pertaining to the reflection of a sensing signal are also contemplated, para. 0120; it is up for interpretation that what the first motion state metric and the first motion measurement is amount the parameters mentioned in paragraph 0120, such as speed or velocity).
(19) Regarding claim 58:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more motion state metrics comprises a motion state metric (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, for example. In some implementations, the TRP 406 transmits information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 to the TRP 402, and/or to any other network entity. The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal, para. 0120) associated with a first beam of the first device (The sensing signals 460, 462, 464, 466 are transmitted along particular directions, and in general, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals in multiple different directions. In some implementations, sensing signals are intended to sense the environment over a given area, and beam sweeping is one method to achieve this. Beam sweeping can be performed using analog beamforming to form a beam along a desired direction using phase shifters, para. 0124).
(20) Regarding claim 64:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses the one or more motion state metrics in the motion state report include:
a first motion state metric associated with a first beam of the one or more beams; and
a second motion state metric associated with a second beam of the one or more beams.
(21) Regarding claim 72:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, and Bayesteh further discloses a motion state of a user equipment (UE) is based on the one or more motion state metrics included in the motion state report (The TRP 406 could determine certain properties of the UE 420 based on a reflection of the sensing signal 464, including the range, location, shape, speed and/or velocity of the UE 420, for example. In some implementations, the TRP 406 transmits information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 to the TRP 402, and/or to any other network entity. The information pertaining to the reflection of the sensing signal 464 could include the time that the reflection was received, the time-of-flight of the sensing signal (for example, if the TRP 406 knows when the sensing signal was transmitted), the carrier frequency of the reflected sensing signal, the angle of arrival of the reflected sensing signal, and/or the Doppler shift of the sensing signal, para. 0120, 0155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 57, 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh et al. (US 2021/0076417 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 57:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, but fails to disclose wherein the indicated association to the one or more time windows includes an association to a start time and an end time of a time window associated with a transmit beam or a receive beam of the first device.
However, the indicated association to the one or more time windows is one of the options listed in claim 37. Since the rejection of claim 37 do not select this option, therefore, further limiting a non-selected option in claim 37 does not carry patentable weight and claim 57 is rejected.
(2) Regarding claim 64:
Bayesteh discloses all subject matter of claim 37, but fails to explicitly disclose the one or more motion state metrics in the motion state report include a first motion state metric associated with a first beam of the one or more beams; and a second motion state metric associated with a second beam of the one or more beams.
However, Bayesteh discloses in paragraph 0124 that the sensing signal is transmitted using the method of beam sweeping to send the sensing signal in direct directions. During beam sweeping, a sensing node could transmit multiple sensing signals according to a beam sweeping pattern, where each sensing signal is beamformed in a particular direction. Therefore, the determination of the properties based on reflection of the sensing signal involve determination of properties of sensing signal on different beam (direction), thus satisfied the claimed limitation of claim 64 for the benefit of avoiding scattering object by directing the sensing signal toward a sensing agent (para. 0126, 0155).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44-45, 47-48, 53-55, 59-63, 65-67 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fluhler (US 2017/0074973 A1) discloses coherent integration of fill pulses in pulse Doppler type sensors.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 2/9/2026