DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28, lines 1 – 2 recites “a control device”, however, claim 24, line 16 which positively recites “a control unit”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the “control device” is the same limitation as the “control unit” or separate limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 – 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US 2004/0195037 A1) in view of Merz (WO 03078235 A1).
For claim 15, Otaki et al. discloses a valve device for a steering apparatus of a vehicle, comprising:
a pump device 10 having a pump 10 for pumping a working medium (oil) to [a first output connection 8, 13a or a second output connection 9, 13b of the pump device] (page 3, paragraph [0026]), and having [a motor M for driving the pump] (page 3, paragraph [0020]); and
a valve 4 and/or a reservoir 15, wherein
[the valve and/or the reservoir is connected between the first output connection of the pump device and the second output connection of the pump device] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0023]), but does not explicitly disclose
the valve is a proportional valve.
Merz discloses an auxiliary power steering system comprising a pump 1; [an electromagnetic valve 2 which is designed as a proportional solenoid valve] (page 7, lines 22 – 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the proportional valve of Merz with the valve device of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a cost-effective manufacturing and advantageous use, while improving overall steering feel and steering precision.
For claim 16, Otaki modified as above discloses the valve device further comprising:
a first check valve 14, wherein
[the first check valve is connected between the first output connection of the pump device and the valve and/or the reservoir] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0026]), and/or
the first check valve and/or a second check valve 14 [is connected between the second output connection of the pump device and the valve and/or the reservoir] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0026]).
For claim 17, Otaki modified as above discloses the valve device [wherein the first check valve is configured to allow the working medium to pass through in the direction of the first output connection] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0026]), and/or
[the second check valve is configured to allow the working medium to pass through in the direction of the second output connection] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0026]).
For claim 18, Otaki modified as above discloses the valve device further comprising:
a third check valve 16 [which is arranged between the first output connection and a first valve connection 11 of the valve] (fig. 4), wherein
[the third check valve is configured to allow the working medium to pass through in the direction of the first valve connection] (page 5, paragraph [0037]).
For claim 19, Otaki modified as above discloses the valve device further comprising:
a fourth check valve 17 [which is arranged between the second output connection and the first valve connection] (fig. 4), [wherein the fourth check valve is configured to allow the working medium to pass through in the direction of the first valve connection] (page 5, paragraph [037]).
For claim 22, Otaki modified as above discloses the valve device [wherein the valve is configured to be fully opened when a fault and/or an electrical failure is detected in at least a part of the vehicle] (page 4, paragraph [0035]).
For claim 23, Otaki discloses a method for controlling a valve device 4 for a steering apparatus (power steering system) of a vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0022]) having a pump 10 for pumping a working medium (oil) to [a first output connection 8, 13a or a second output connection 9, 13b] (page 3, paragraph [0026]) and having [a motor M for driving the pump] (page 3, paragraph [0020]), [wherein the valve device is connected between the first output connection and the second output connection] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0023]),
the method comprising:
[outputting a valve opening signal (OFF signal), which represents an at least partial opening of the valve device] (page 3, paragraph [0027]), and/or
[outputting a valve closing signal (ON signal), which represents an at least partial closure of the valve device] (page 3, paragraph [0027]), but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the valve device is a proportional valve.
Merz discloses an auxiliary power steering system comprising a pump 1; [an electromagnetic valve 2 which is designed as a proportional solenoid valve] (page 7, lines 22 – 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the proportional valve of Merz with the valve device of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a cost-effective manufacturing and advantageous use, while improving overall steering feel and steering precision.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otaki (US 2004/0195037 A1) in view of Heiser (US 3,986,475 A) and Merz (WO 03078235 A1).
For claim 24, Otaki discloses a steering apparatus (power steering system) for a vehicle (page 3, paragraph [0022]), comprising:
a valve device for the steering apparatus, the valve device comprising a pump 10 for pumping a working medium (oil) to [a first output connection 8, 13a or a second output connection 9, 13b] (page 3, paragraph [0026]), a motor M [for driving the pump] (page 3, paragraph [0020]), and a valve 4 and/or a reservoir 15, [wherein the valve and/or the reservoir is connected between the first output connection and the second output connection] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0027]);
a first mechanism having an input shaft 1, which is couplable to a steering wheel SW, and having [an output shaft] (page 3, paragraph [0020]), which is couplable to a steering lever,
a torque transmitting element R, 2, [which is movable in a first direction and a second direction for transmitting a torque from the input shaft to the output shaft] (page 3, paragraph [0022]), and having a first working medium connection 2a and a second working medium connection 2, wherein
[the first working medium connection is connected to the first output connection for moving the torque transmitting element in the first direction using the working medium, and the second working medium connection is connected to the second output connection for moving the torque transmitting element in the second direction using the working medium] (fig. 4, page 3, paragraph [0022] and [0023]); and
a control unit 5 configured to:
[provide a valve opening signal (OFF signal) to the valve device for opening the valve device of the steering apparatus] (page 3, paragraph [0027]), and/or
[provide a valve closing signal (ON signal) to the valve device for closing the valve device] (page 3, paragraph [0027]), but does not explicitly disclose
the output shaft is couplable to a steering lever; and
wherein the valve device is a proportional valve.
Heiser discloses a hydraulic power system comprising a motor-driven hydraulic pump 12; a steering lever 20; a control servo valve 16; a rotary actuator 22 [having ends 22a, 22b controlling rudder movement] (col. 2, lines 27 – 29); [the rotary actuator attached to shaft 30a for rudder 30b] (col. 2, lines 36 – 41); but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the valve device is a proportional valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the output shaft and steering lever of Heiser with the steering apparatus of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for an alternative vehicle to be powered by the steering apparatus, thus improving overall usability of the system.
Merz discloses an auxiliary power steering system comprising a pump 1; [an electromagnetic valve 2 which is designed as a proportional solenoid valve] (page 7, lines 22 – 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the proportional valve of Merz with the valve device of Otaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a cost-effective manufacturing and advantageous use, while improving overall steering feel and steering precision.
For claim 25, Otaki modified as above discloses the steering apparatus [wherein the motor is configured not to move the steering lever when the valve device is open] (page 4, paragraph [0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20, 26, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not explicitly disclose:
the valve is directly connected to the reservoir; or
while a constant pressure is maintained in one of two cylinder chambers of the steering apparatus, the proportional valve is opened slightly by the valve opening signal such that the motor slowly rotates and all coils of the motor are subjected to uniform thermal load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 3/2/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 15 – 19 and 22 – 25 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections is made in view of Otaki (US 2004/0195037 A1) in view of Merz (WO 03078235 A1) and Heiser (US 3,986,475 A).
Conclusion
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611