DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed on June 30, 2026, the applicants have filed RCE. The applicants have also canceled claim 22 and furthermore, have amended claims 24, 25, 27, 28 and 36.
Claims 24-36 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (Molecules) in view of Kim (Anticancer Res.).
Song discloses Evodiamine derivatives as anticancer agents (see table 1 on page 15753). The compounds 2-2 and 2-3 (see page 15752) disclosed by Song meet all the limitations of instant claims when Evodiamine derivatives are represented by EV 101, EV 104 and EV 109 in instant claim 24 except that the compounds of Song are structural homologs (differ in length of carbon chain for variable R1) and furthermore, Song does not teach synergistic effect with other anticancer agents. However, Song does teach anticancer (cytotoxicity) effect of structural homologs (see compounds 2-2, 2-3 and 2-5 in table 1 on page 15753) while Kim teaches synergistic effect of Evodiamine in combination with cisplatin and paclitaxel in thyroid cancer (see tables 1 and 2 on page 6348 as well as figure 5 on page 6349). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat cancer with structural homolog compounds EV 101, EV 104 and EV 109 either alone or in combination with other anticancer agents with reasonable expectation of success.
7. Claims 24-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (J. Med. Chem.) in view of Kim (Anticancer Res.).
Wang discloses Evodiamine derivatives as anticancer agents. The compound 2 (see figure 1 on page 6678) disclosed by Wang meets all the limitations of instant claims when Evodiamine derivatives are represented by EV 304, EV 306 and EV 310 in instant claim 24 except that the compound of Wang has phenyl ring substituted with F (a halogen) instead of instant halogens Cl, Br and I and furthermore, Wang does not teach synergistic effect with other anticancer agents. However, F is also a halogen similar to Cl, Br and I while Kim teaches synergistic effect of Evodiamine in combination with cisplatin and paclitaxel in thyroid cancer (see tables 1 and 2 on page 6348 as well as figure 5 on page 6349). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to treat cancer with compounds EV 304, EV 306 and EV 310 either alone or in combination with other anticancer agents with reasonable expectation of success.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621