DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-21 are pending in the application, claims 1-10 and 15-19 are withdrawn from consideration. Claim 21 has been added.
Amendments to the claims 11-13, filed on 13 May 2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Answers to Applicants' Arguments
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 13 May 2026, regarding the objections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims.
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 13 May 2026, regarding the 35 U.S.C. §112 and §103 rejections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims.
New and Repeated Rejections
Claim Interpretation
With Regards to Claim 11: The limitations of claim 11 are considered by the examiner to be "product-by-process" limitations. See MPEP §2113(I). As such, only the structure implied by the process steps and any distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. Therefore, claim 11 is considered for purposes of examination to have the following claimed structure --a segmented continuous sheet (5) comprising: a continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s) having a thickness and being composed of the unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to the longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in a resin matrix, and a continuous antiadhesive lining (2) applied to the face of the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s), the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom, characterized in that only the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s) comprises segments (4) cut over its entire thickness and disposed in staggered fashion, and the segmented continuous sheet (5) cut over its entire width and thickness--
With Regards to Claim 12: The limitations of claim 12 are considered by the examiner to be "product-by-process" limitations. See MPEP §2113(I). As such, only the structure implied by the process steps and any distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. Therefore, claim 12 is considered to have the following claimed structure --a discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) formed by a discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) and a discrete antiadhesive lining (2d), the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom, wherein cutting lines (6, 7), oriented obliquely with respect to a longitudinal direction (D), form a cutting angle (α) with the longitudinal direction (D); the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) having a discrete geometry inscribed in a rectangle of length (L) and of width (l) with a length-to-width ratio (L/l) less than or equal to 20 and comprising, the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) having a thickness and being composed of the unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to the longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in the resin matrix, and the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the face of the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds), characterized in that only the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) comprises the segments (4) cut over its entire thickness and disposed in staggered fashion, and the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) being a rectangular segment in contact with a like-sized segment of the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d)--.
With Regards to Claim 13: The limitations of claim 13 are considered by the examiner to be "product-by-process" limitations. See MPEP §2113(I). As such, only the structure implied by the process steps and any distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight. Claim 13 is considered to have the following claimed structure --a discrete segmented multilayer mat (80) comprising (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d), in which N ∊ ℕ and N > 1; characterized in that at least one discrete pre-impregnated ply is the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) of claim 12, wherein the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) is formed by the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) of said discrete impregnated segmented ply (8); the discrete segmented multilayer mat (80) comprising (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) of the unidirectional fibers embedded in the resin matrix, the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) being stacked one on top of the other, and the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the free face of each of a first and an (N+1)th discrete pre-impregnated layer, sandwiching the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d), the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) contacting and configured to be separated from the first and the (N+1)th discrete pre-impregnated layers without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom, characterized in that at least one of the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) are discrete segmented pre-impregnated layers (3ds) and in that at least one discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) has a triangular, trapezoidal or parallelogram geometry--.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With Regards to Claim 11: Claim 11 recites --pre-impregnated layer; and-- on line 9, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "pre-impregnated layer (3); and".
With Regards to Claim 12: Claim 12 recites --lining 2(d)-- on line 35, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "lining (2d)[[2(d)]]".
With Regards to Claim 13: Claim 13 recites --in a resin matrix-- on line 13, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "in the[[a]] resin matrix".
With Regards to Claim 13: Claim 13 recites --layer (3d) the discrete-- on line 15, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "layer (3d), the discrete".
With Regards to Claim 13: Claim 13 recites --layers 3d) being-- on line 40, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "layers (3d) being".
With Regards to Claim 13: Claim 13 recites --pre-impregnated layers,-- on line 43, which appears to be a typographical error; for clarity and consistency, it is recommend to correct this to read "pre-impregnated layers (3d),".
With Regards to Claim 21: Claim 21 recites --lining (2) composed of-- on line 2, which appears to be a typographical error; it is recommend to correct this to read "lining (2) is composed of".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With Regards to Claim 11: Instant claim 11 recites --and the segmented continuous sheet (5) cut over its entire width and thickness-- in lines 23 to 24. As written, the claim is rendered indefinite because it can have two conflicting interpretations: (1) that said "cut" is in reference to the cutting to form the segments, which would rendered the claim further unclear since this would imply that the "continuous antiadhesive lining (2)" is also cut, but claim 11 already recites that said lining is left intact; or (2) that said "cut" is different from the cuts forming the segments, but this would also render the claim indefinite, because a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be adequately apprised as to the intended scope of the claimed invention (i.e., since the claims "segmented continuous sheet (2)" is continuous, it is unclear what said "cut" over the entire width and thickness are made in reference too). For the purposes of examination, the latter limitation will be applied with the addendum that said segmented continuous sheet is a continuous sheet cut from a longer continuous sheet (i.e., so long as a segmented continuous sheet is disclosed the claimed limitation will be considered taught). (Appropriate correction and clarification are requested.)
With Regards to Claim 12: Instant claim 12 recites --the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) being a rectangular segment-- in lines 33 to 34. Claim 11 further recites --cutting lines (6, 7) [...], oriented obliquely with respect to the longitudinal direction (D), [...] form a cutting angle (α) with the longitudinal direction (D)-- in lines 16 to 22. In that a rectangle is defined by having four right angles, a first pair of parallel opposing sides, and a second pair of parallel opposing sides of a length shorter than the first pair of parallel opposing sides, the claim is rendered indefinite because a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be adequately apprised as to the intended scope of the claimed invention (i.e., the shape of the discrete impregnated segment ply (8) as claimed has ends defined by the cutting lines (6, 7) that are oblique (neither perpendicular nor parallel) to the longitudinal direction (D), as such it cannot have a rectangular shape (i.e., a shape of a rectangle)). At most, the discrete impregnated segmented ply can be is a segment having a shape of a triangle, trapezoid, or a parallelogram. Therefore, for the purposes of examination the limitation will be treated to read "the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) being a triangular, trapezoidal, or parallelogram segment". (Appropriate correction is requested.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubry (FR 3078010 A1) in view of Kawabe et al. (US 2009/0291278 A1).
Regarding Claim 11: Aubry discloses a composite intermediate product comprising at least one layer of flat, rectangle shaped segments (ref. #11) oriented in a single direction, wherein the segments comprise fibers embedded in a thermoplastic material, the fibers are unidirectional in a longitudinal direction and arranged parallel to each other in the form of a sheet (ref. #15) which is cut into the segments of identical dimensions, and the segments of the same layer are positioned in a staggered pattern (figures 1 to 4, [Pg. 4: li. 7-33], [Pg. 5: li. 20-34], [Pg. 6: li. 19 to Pg. 7: li. 31], and [Pg. 9: li. 24 to Pg. 10: li. 19] of Aubry). Jerome also discloses that the stacked layers have clean edges from cutting, and that the layers are bonded to one another ([Pg. 5: li. 30-34] of Jerome). Specifically, Aubry provides for --a segmented continuous sheet (5) obtained by a method comprising, supplying a continuous single-layer sheet (1) comprising, a continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) composed of unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to a longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in a resin matrix; and cutting the continuous single-layer sheet (1) so as to form, in the continuous pre- impregnated layer (3), segments (4) disposed in staggered fashion and thus form a continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s); the segmented continuous sheet (5) comprising: the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s) having a thickness and being composed of the unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to the longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in the resin matrix, characterized in that only the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s) comprises segments (4) cut over its entire thickness and disposed in staggered fashion, and the segmented continuous sheet (5) cut over its entire width and thickness--. (NOTE: The limitation of the claim is considered by the examiner to be a product-by-process limitation. See MPEP §2113(I). As such, only the structure implied by the process steps and any distinctive structural characteristics imparted by the process to the final product are given weight.)
Aubry fails to disclose --a continuous antiadhesive lining (2) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom applied to a face of the continuous pre-impregnated layer; said cutting being performed in such a way as to leave the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) intact; and the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) applied to the face of the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s)--.
Kawabe discloses a multiaxially reinforced laminate molding formed from reinforcing fiber sheets of reinforcing fibers and impregnated with a thermosetting resin as a matrix ([0001] of Kawabe). Kawabe also discloses a thermoplastic resin material substantially uniformly dispersed on one surface of the reinforcing fiber sheet and heat-sealed, wherein a release film is disposed on the thermoplastic resin material when passed between a heat roller and a press roller, and then taken up by a take-up roller, after which it can be unrolled and the release film removed (figures 3, 5, [0055]-[0057], and [0061] of Kawabe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the multiaxially reinforced laminated molding of Kawabe with the segmented continuous sheet disclosed by Aubry in order to have --a continuous antiadhesive lining (2) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom applied to a face of the continuous pre-impregnated layer; said cutting being performed in such a way as to leave the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) intact; and the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) applied to the face of the continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s)--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the multiaxially reinforced laminated molding of Kawabe with the segmented continuous sheet disclosed by Aubry, from the stand-point of preventing the reinforcing fibers from coming apart or becoming wavy ([0057] of Kawabe).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubry (FR 3078010 A1) in view of Kawabe et al. (US 2009/0291278 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Green (DE 2829234 C2).
Aubry in view of Kawabe is relied upon as recited above.
Regarding Claim 21: Aubry in view of Kawabe disclose the continuous antiadhesive lining (2), but failed to disclose it is --composed of a support covered by a silicone-based layer--.
Green discloses a prepreg comprising a release film comprising cellulose-containing paper with a silicone coating ([0125]-[0127] of Green).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the release film of Green with the continuous antiadhesive lining disclosed by Aubry in view of Kawabe in order to have the continuous antiadhesive lining --composed of a support covered by a silicone-based layer--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated the release film of Green with the continuous antiadhesive lining disclosed by Aubry in view of Kawabe, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP §2144.07.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubry (FR 3078010 A1) in view of Kawabe et al. (US 2009/0291278 A1).
Regarding Claims 12 and 13: Aubry discloses a composite intermediate product comprising at least one layer of flat, rectangle shaped segments (ref. #11) oriented in a single direction, wherein the segments comprise fibers embedded in a thermoplastic material, the fibers are unidirectional in a longitudinal direction and arranged parallel to each other in the form of a sheet (ref. #15) which is cut into the segments of identical dimensions, and the segments of the same layer are positioned in a staggered pattern (figures 1 to 4, [Pg. 4: li. 7-33], [Pg. 5: li. 20-34], [Pg. 6: li. 19 to Pg. 7: li. 31], and [Pg. 9: li. 24 to Pg. 10: li. 19] of Aubry). Jerome also discloses that the stacked layers have clean edges from cutting, and that the layers are bonded to one another ([Pg. 5: li. 30-34] of Jerome). Aubry further discloses forming a mat comprising a stack of layers of flat multi-fiber segments arranged in juxtaposition, wherein the orientation direction of the segments in each layer are the same, and the orientation direction of the segments in one layer have an angle of between +40° and +50° relative to the orientation direction of the segments of another layer onto which it is disposed (figure 4, [Pg.4: li. 14-21 and 22-24], [Pg. 5: li. 7-17], and [Pg. 6: li. 3-9] of Aubry). Aubry also discloses that the stacked layers have clean edges from cutting, and that the layers are bonded to one another ([Pg. 5: li. 30-34] of Aubry). Specifically, Aubry provides for --a discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) obtained by a method comprising: forming a segmented continuous sheet (5) by supplying a continuous single-layer sheet (1) comprising, a continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) composed of unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to a longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in a resin matrix; and cutting the continuous single-layer sheet (1) so as to form, in the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3), segments (4) disposed in staggered fashion and thus form a continuous segmented pre-impregnated layer (3s), the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) formed by a discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds); the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) having a thickness and being composed of the unidirectional fibers disposed parallel to the longitudinal direction (D), the unidirectional fibers being embedded in the resin matrix, characterized in that only the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) comprises the segments (4) cut over its entire thickness and disposed in staggered fashion-- {instant claim 12} and --a discrete segmented multilayer mat (80) obtained by a method comprising a) supplying a continuous strip (15) composed of the continuous single-layer sheet (1) or the segmented continuous sheet (5), b) depositing, on a face of the continuous strip (15) not including the continuous antiadhesive lining (2), a series of stacks each composed of N discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) stacked one on top of the other, in which N ∊ ℕ and N > 1, to form a continuous strip of discrete stacks, in which each stack is deposited on the continuous strip (15) by supplying N discrete pre-impregnated plies comprising the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) which comprises the unidirectional fibers embedded in the resin matrix, and depositing sequentially on the continuous strip (15) the N discrete pre-impregnated plies and optionally compacting the duly stacked discrete pre-impregnated plies, such that, the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) of a first discrete pre-impregnated ply is in contact with the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) of the continuous strip (15) on which the first discrete pre-impregnated ply is laid, the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) of the second to Nth discrete pre-impregnated plies are in contact with the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) of the adjacent discrete pre-impregnated plies with which they are in contact; and cutting the continuous strip (15) from the continuous strip of discrete stacks between two adjacent discrete stacks to obtain the discrete segmented multilayer mat (80) comprising (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d); wherein the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) is formed by the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) of said discrete impregnated segmented ply (8); the discrete segmented multilayer mat (80) comprising (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) of the unidirectional fibers embedded in the resin matrix, the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) being stacked one on top of the other, characterized in that at least one of the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) are discrete segmented pre-impregnated layers (3ds)-- {instant claim 13}.
Aubry fails to disclose --a continuous antiadhesive lining (2) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom applied to a face of the continuous pre impregnated pre-impregnated layer; said cutting being performed in such a way as to leave the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) intact; and cutting the segmented continuous sheet (5) transversely along two cutting lines (6, 7) parallel to cutting directions (d1, d2, d3), oriented obliquely with respect to the longitudinal direction (D), the segmented continuous sheet (5) being cut over its entire width and thickness, including the continuous antiadhesive lining (2), thus forming the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) formed by a discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) and a discrete antiadhesive lining (2d), and wherein the cutting lines (6, 7) form a cutting angle (α) with the longitudinal direction (D); the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) having a discrete geometry inscribed in a rectangle of length (L) and of width (l) with a length-to-width ratio (L/l) less than or equal to 20, the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the face of the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds), and the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) being a rectangular segment in contact with a like-sized segment of the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d)-- {instant claim 12} or --the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to a face of the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d), the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) contacting and configured to be separated from the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom, depositing sequentially on the continuous strip (15) the N discrete pre-impregnated plies by removing the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) of each discrete pre-impregnated ply, before laying a new discrete pre-impregnated ply on the latter, the Nth discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) has a free face on which is deposited the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d), thus forming the Nth discrete pre-impregnated ply; characterized in that at least one discrete pre-impregnated ply is the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) of claim 12, wherein the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the free face of each of a first and an (N+1)th discrete pre-impregnated layer, sandwiching the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d), and in that at least one discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) has a triangular, trapezoidal or parallelogram geometry-- {instant claim 13}.
Kawabe discloses a multiaxially reinforced laminate molding formed from reinforcing fiber sheets of reinforcing fibers and impregnated with a thermosetting resin as a matrix ([0001] of Kawabe). Kawabe also discloses a thermoplastic resin material substantially uniformly dispersed on one surface of the reinforcing fiber sheet and heat-sealed, wherein a release film is disposed on the thermoplastic resin material when passed between a heat roller and a press roller, and then taken up by a take-up roller, after which it can be unrolled and the release film removed (figures 3, 5, [0055]-[0057], and [0061] of Kawabe). Kawabe further discloses a thermoplastic resin material substantially uniformly dispersed on both surfaces of the reinforcing fiber sheet and heat-sealed, wherein a release film is disposed on both sides of the thermoplastic resin material when passed between a heat roller and a press roller, and then taken up by a take-up roller, after which it can be unrolled and the release films are both removed (figures 4 to 5, [0055], [0056], [0058], and [0062] of Kawabe). It also disclosed by Kawabe that a prepreg (ref. "P") formed of a laminated sheet (ref. "L"), wherein the laminated sheet is formed from reinforcing fiber sheets (ref. "S1", "S2", and "S3") after removal of their respective release films, where S2 and S3 are oriented at +45° and -45°, respectively, and cut into pieces having a predetermined length and sequentially stacked onto S1, wherein the laminated sheet is then heated and pressed to form the prepreg two which a release film is applied prior to rolling (figures 3 to 5 and [0055]-[0069] of Kawabe). Kawabe goes on to disclose a laminated sheet (ref. "L"), wherein the laminated sheet is formed from reinforcing fiber sheets (ref. "S1", "S2", and "S3") after removal of their respective release films, where S2 and S3 are oriented at +45° and -45°, respectively, and cut into pieces having a predetermined length and sequentially stacked onto S1, wherein the laminated sheet is then cut into pieces having a required size and stacked on one another at different orientation directions, which are then placed between two release films and then compressed forming the multiaxial reinforced prepreg (figures 3 to 5, 7A to 7C, [0055]-[0064], and [0074]-[0076] of Kawabe). (In the instant case, the upper most layer (ref. "S3") being angled at -45° would have the oblique angle (α) and would be considered equivalent to the claimed "discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds)" of claim 12.)
It is further disclosed by Kawabe that the reinforcing fiber sheets can have widths of about 310 mm, and that the multiaxially reinforced prepreg sheet can be cut to a required size to fit into a 320 mm width and 320 mm length mold (figure 6, [0071], [0082], and [0098] of Kawabe), but does not explicitly recite that the --discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) having a discrete geometry inscribed in the rectangle of length (L) and of width (l) with the length-to-width ratio (L/l) less than or equal to 20--. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made could have calculated the ratio to be less than or equal to 1 [= (320 mm)/(320 mm)]; which anticipates the presently claimed range of --less than or equal to 20--. See MPEP §2131.03(I). (In the instant case, the upper most sheet (ref. "S3") of the stack adjacent to the release film would have at least a triangle or trapezoid shape.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the prepreg of Kawabe with the segmented multilayer mat disclosed by Aubry in order to have --a continuous antiadhesive lining (2) contacting and configured to be separated from the continuous pre-impregnated layer (3) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom applied to a face of the continuous pre impregnated pre-impregnated layer; said cutting being performed in such a way as to leave the continuous antiadhesive lining (2) intact; and cutting the segmented continuous sheet (5) transversely along two cutting lines (6, 7) parallel to cutting directions (d1, d2, d3), oriented obliquely with respect to the longitudinal direction (D), the segmented continuous sheet (5) being cut over its entire width and thickness, including the continuous antiadhesive lining (2), thus forming the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) formed by a discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) and a discrete antiadhesive lining (2d), and wherein the cutting lines (6, 7) form a cutting angle (α) with the longitudinal direction (D); the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) having a discrete geometry inscribed in a rectangle of length (L) and of width (l) with a length-to-width ratio (L/l) less than or equal to 20, the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the face of the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds), and the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) being a rectangular segment in contact with a like-sized segment of the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d)-- {instant claim 12} or --the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to a face of the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d), the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) contacting and configured to be separated from the discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) without leading to a migration of the unidirectional fibers therefrom, depositing sequentially on the continuous strip (15) the N discrete pre-impregnated plies by removing the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) of each discrete pre-impregnated ply, before laying a new discrete pre-impregnated ply on the latter, the Nth discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) has a free face on which is deposited the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d), thus forming the Nth discrete pre-impregnated ply; characterized in that at least one discrete pre-impregnated ply is the discrete impregnated segmented ply (8) of claim 12, wherein the discrete antiadhesive lining (2d) applied to the free face of each of a first and an (N+1)th discrete pre-impregnated layer, sandwiching the (N+1) discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d), and in that at least one discrete segmented pre-impregnated layer (3ds) has a triangular, trapezoidal or parallelogram geometry-- {instant claim 13}. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the laminated reinforcing fiber sheet and stacked reinforcing fiber sheet laminate of Kawabe with the discrete segmented multilayer mat disclosed by Aubry, from the stand-point of preventing the reinforcing fibers from coming apart or becoming wavy ([0057] of Kawabe). (Furthermore, in that Kawabe discloses that the formed mat is cut to size to fit into a mold of 320 mm width and 320 mm length ([0098] of Kawabe), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the segmented multilayer mat of Aubry and Kawabe would desirably have a L/l ratio of about 1 and would be "discrete" as claimed.)
Regarding Claim 14: Aubry in view of Kawabe discloses that the unidirectional fibers of a given discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) from a reinforcement angle (β) lying between 0 and 180° with the unidirectional fibers of the discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) of the same discrete stack which are adjacent to and in contact with the given discrete pre-impregnated layer (3d) (figures 4 to 6 of Aubry; [0063] of Kawabe). (In the instant case, the layers are at angles of 45° and 90°.)
Regarding Claim 20: Aubry in view of Kawabe discloses that all the discrete pre-impregnated layers (3d) of a discrete stack are the discrete segmented pre-impregnated layers (3ds) whose cutting angles are 90° and whose reinforcement angles (β) are equal to the cutting angle (α) plus a multiple (n) of 45° with n = 0 to 4 (figures 4 to 6 of Aubry; [0063] of Kawabe).
Conclusion
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781